Customer reviews for "Brunston Castle"

There are 107 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr Mclaughlan who stayed here on 29/12/2018 Language Flag

We were expecting “Luxury “ accommodation but when we got was a average unit. The unit itself was clean, equipped with white goods but unfortunately no information on how to work them!! Decoration of the unit was basic with very little finishing touches ie nest of tables. Lighting in living area was unable to be dimmed therefore room had either to be fully light or in darkness apart from tv lighting. On site pool was particularly cold with a few people complaining on leaving. No onsite restaurant, although reception area is able to provide limited alcohol, tea, coffee and some hot panini. There was a bar/restaurant at the golf club which you were allowed to use but when we visited we were told was closing permanently as of the 1st January, this was not advised when we checked in. Information on the surrounding area and dining options were not givin with the information pack on arrival. Unfortunately we will not return to this exchange facility

Review No: 2 by Mrs Weston who stayed here on 29/12/2018 Language Flag

What has happened to Brunston Castle?! Stayed at Brunston last Christmas and loved it but what a difference a year makes! Our lodge had filthy sofas, mould on the television, mould on all the curtains, mould on some ceilings, a mouldy cafetière to name the worst. There were many other smaller issues. The whole lodge smelled musty. The manager did rectify what she could but admitted that the situation was unacceptable. We will not be going again!

Review No: 3 by Mr Mehta who stayed here on 15/12/2018 Language Flag

The experience was truly abysmal. The unit was dirty, carpets stained, and furniture inadequate. This is the first timeshare I have been to where they do not provide a bar of soap in the bathrooms or Fairy liquid in the kitchen. The resort management appear very miserly. There were no waste paper bins in each of the three bedrooms. Staff were unhelpful throughout. Utility fee was a flat £50 for the single week. I would recommend that DAE investigate this resort because it is not up to standard. Finally, the roads within the resort are damaging to your car and they should remedy the various potholes.

Review No: 4 by Mr Holden who stayed here on 08/12/2018 Language Flag

Brunston Castle is a lovely site and the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly.

Review No: 5 by Mrs Watson who stayed here on 08/12/2018 Language Flag

The lodges at Brunston Castle are set in stunning surroundings with beautiful views. The reception area is very nice with a good size, comfortable and nicely decorated café area serving a selection of food and drinks (including alcoholic drinks). There is a games room in reception (with pool, table tennis, chess etc) and DVDs available to rent at a small charge of £3. The pool area is very nice although could perhaps have a few more loungers. This wasn't an issue when we visited however, as it was very quiet in December. The lodge we were in was quite dated and in need of an upgrade but it was spotlessly clean, cozy and warm with comfortable beds and everything you need for a weeks stay. The Dine restaurant nearby offers stunning views, a well stocked bar, good service and the food was absolutely gorgeous! We ate here for most nights during our stay. All of the staff were lovely and very helpful and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

Review No: 6 by Mr & Mrs Fleming who stayed here on 01/12/2018 Language Flag

Great resort and ideal for meeting up with family . Staff were amazing and lovely restaurant at golf course. Swimming pool was lovely and grand kids had a ball. Lots to do around the area.

Review No: 7 by Dr Cheverton who stayed here on 10/11/2018 Language Flag

Southern Ayrshire was unknown territory for us, and November was not an entirely promising month for a holiday. However we had a lovely peaceful week and left with good memories and plenty of things we would have tried if we could stay longer. The village is set amid inspiring hills, with a river, woodland, golf course and ruined castle nearby. Down the road is the old coal mining village of Dailly, where Rev John Thompson worked (he of ' Jock Tamson and all his (14) bairns'). The place is steeped in history, and local man Ron does twice weekly rambles full of views and stories to introduce visitors to his patch. There are walks of all lengths and severities - with local maps to supplied. Everywhere you can find castle ruins, golf courses (including the famous Trump Turnberry course), beaches, views of the magical Ailsa Craig, forests and mountains. Robbie Burns and Robert the Bruce left their mark here. If you like bird watching ,this area is a treat; our highlights were merlin, peregrine, woodcock and eiders. Further afield you could visit Dumfries, Stranraer, Glasgow, and the Isle of Arran. The town of Ayr is said to have a great Retail Outlet but we did not make it that far! Downsides? There is a snack bar but no restaurant on site, so prepare for self catering or travel to local towns. Evening entertainment is sparse - though Barr (10 miles away?) Village Hall provided a hilarious evening we shall never forget. And if you go in November, be prepared for mud!

Review No: 8 by Mr Simpson who stayed here on 10/11/2018 Language Flag

Unit needs a new Toasterbut other than that very good indeed

Review No: 9 by Mrs Houlden who stayed here on 03/11/2018 Language Flag

An enjoyable week spent but the sitting room furniture is appalling. Sofa and chairs are really worn and grubby so felt our exchange of a 3 bedroom unit at Rannoch was unfair. Also in in ensuite shower room there is no heater or towel rail so therefore very chilly and damp towels with no where to hang them other than over the top of the very small shower unit.

Review No: 10 by Mrs Chalmers who stayed here on 03/11/2018 Language Flag

Fantastic time, lovely property with friendly staff. Made good use of the club house and enjoyed the facilities. This is the second we've visited and wil definitely come again.

Review No: 11 by Mr McCall who stayed here on 03/11/2018 Language Flag

Spotless accommodation and whole site area.

Review No: 12 by Mr McCall who stayed here on 03/11/2018 Language Flag

Spotless accommodation and whole site area.

Review No: 13 by Mr & Mrs Carter who stayed here on 03/11/2018 Language Flag

A lovely resort. Good for bike riding.

Review No: 14 by Dr Wardley who stayed here on 27/10/2018 Language Flag

We were very lucky with the weather for late October into early November, albeit with frosty nights, and had a good time. but .... The maintenance of the exterior of the lodges looks excellent, and internally it isn't bad bad at all, but they really need to do some updating and dressing. WiFi is just in the process of being installed in the lodges, but was not working for us whilst we were there, but that really is very late to the show. The heating in the lodge was entirely using electric heaters without timers, which is very frustrating. It meant that you either had to be too hot all night, with it on, or freezing first thing in the morning. We happened to have a lodge with a disabled shower room, but I pity any disabled person having to use it as the heating in hot was completely inadequate (from a heated towel rail with a mystifying controller and no instructions). The only way to have the room warm enough in the morning was to leave the door to the hallway wide open over night and the heating up quite high in the hallway. The living area just looked very dull, the decor and furnishings being shades of brown and there being no pictures or anything on the walls to brighten it up a bit. There were two pictures on the main bedroom wall, but oddly ticked into the corners and not capable of lifting the room. It just didn't feel at all homely.

Review No: 15 by Mr Ogden who stayed here on 29/09/2018 Language Flag

Inadequate storage facilities in bedrooms. Only 1 bath/shower room and 1 very small toilet/handbasin room - not really suitable if 5 or 6 persons were staying at the unit. The furniture, furnishings and fittings were generally very utilitarian . No character at all. A few clothes hooks on the backs of bathroom and bedroom doors would be handy. There was nothing in the unit to mop up any water spillages on the hard floor areas of the kitchen and bathrooms. And to be told that there should be a charge for extra toilet rolls and dishwasher tablets ( over and above those in the unit given as a "Welcome pack") came as somewhat of a surprise. At our time share unit in Madeira, we have daily maid service, where beds are made daily, sheets changed twice a week, any used towels replaced and toilet rolls replaced as needed, floors cleaned and mopped twice a week. While we do not expect that type of service in the U.K., (you get what you pay for), but a charge for toilet rolls and dishwasher tablets? You have to be joking.

Review No: 16 by Mr Trevarthen who stayed here on 14/07/2018 Language Flag

Large unit (4 bedrooms) was comfortable with nice verandah deck with lovely furniture. This unit had not yet been refurbished and was looking a little jaded in places. Main bedroom was large but quite stark, consisting of double bed, one small pine wardrobe across the corner, pine dressing chest, pine bedside tables and a tiny mirror on wall that was only of use if you sat on the bed as was so low! Second double room was as same as previous but much smaller. The two twin bedrooms were downstairs and were both very small. Room for one small bedside table between both beds. There was a downstairs shower room/toilet and a main bathroom upstairs. Lounge dining kitchen area..... Nice size 2 leather sofas, also 4 chairs and coffee table. Large dining table / chairs. Kitchen nice with sufficient appliances, dishwasher. No washing machine....laundry room on site. Large tall fridge....small freezer was in downstairs storage cupboard, with iron/board, hoover and airers. Was nice for a weeks stay, but missing nice touches to make higher grade. Excellent guest lounge with comfortable furniture, WiFi and coffee shop facilities. Excellent meals at Dine the golf club restaurant. Not expensive.

Review No: 17 by Mr Smith who stayed here on 07/07/2018 Language Flag

Very comfortable, well equipped, lodges set in beautiful countryside. The on site restaurant "Dine" provides a varied menu of tasty dishes at reasonable prices, with a stunning view over the golf course. The service is very good and the staff are cheerful and friendly. An excellent location for a quiet retreat.

Review No: 18 by Mr & Mrs Lloyd who stayed here on 09/06/2018 Language Flag

Seems a big improvement since we last visited a few years ago. Lodge 51 was close to reception and facilities. Very well equipped and comfortable. Staff very good. Pool nice and warm. £46 fee a bit much in summer when no heating is required. Barrier entry system is antiquated. Don't know why it is necessary.

Review No: 19 by Mr Nightingale who stayed here on 02/06/2018 Language Flag

This is a fabulous resort the grounds are beautiful and immaculate, so is the cottage, quiet relaxing the pool area well maintained, the new lounge area stunning the staff friendly and helpful. Will definitely come back here we all loved it hoping that by the time we can come back the wifi will be sorted and they have a drinks license think it's needed to entice evening visits to the lounge plus a little entertainment would be good thanks for a great holiday

Review No: 20 by Mrs Llewellyn who stayed here on 12/05/2018 Language Flag

I am a wheelchair user and my husband is having difficulties as well, I have to commend the staff who were all so willing to help my husband. I have a mobility scooter and the battery has to be charged every day after use, the staff, whether gardening, maintenance, cleaning or from reception, would always be at hand to take the battery to and from the car. Certainly 5* helpfulness, above and beyond what is expected. The area is good for visiting so many places of interest, the setting of the resort is very good being in the countryside with a small village. This was our 5th visit to the resort but this time we were able to get a second week, so this made the long journey up from Wales worthwhile.

Review No: 21 by Mr & Mrs Townsend who stayed here on 05/05/2018 Language Flag

Just spend a week at Brunston Castle resort in Ayrshire Scotland, we were in a property for six people which was very good but I would think it would be a bit on the small size if there were six adults, as it was only two of us it was perfect, clean warm and well equipped if you had to spend much time in the property because of bad weather. The staff were, very good, friendly and know the local area very well. It was very quiet in May but ideal for getting around. The golf course looked very good and the grounds well maintained. The roads to and from the resort were in a terrible state of repair so you need to watch out for big pot holes everywhere you drive but worth the effort.

Review No: 22 by Mr Collier who stayed here on 05/05/2018 Language Flag

Oberall impression is of a very well run resort. We had two minor electrical issues, both of which were dealt with efficiently and courteously. Proximity of Golf Club is useful since it has a good bar and restaurant and friendly staff. We were a little disappointed in the surrounding area which although the countryside itself was extremely pretty the infrastructure neede significant attention. Potholes abounded,worse than I have ever seen, quite dangerous at times. Similarly the small towns and villages suffered from lack of investment, in contrast to the major cities. The two National Trust properties nearby are both very well presented and worth a visit.

Review No: 23 by Mr Cowlishaw who stayed here on 21/04/2018 Language Flag

A new modern timeshare site with excellent fittings and equipment. There is a comfortable lounge next to reception where you can get snacks and use the internet but this week they are fitting units in all of the cottages There is a very good golf club and club house almost on site which has a good restaurant available for lunches and evening meals. However you do nead a car as it in the country. There isn’t a local beach which you can walk to. At the moment the local roads are very poor with lots of potholes and there are some road closures and diversions. Sadly the weather was mixed with three days of rain and four of rain. We visited castles when it was wet. (Culzean was excellent and members of the National Trust for Scotland get it free. It is wheelchair friendly.) There a a very good folder of information on the local eating , entertainment, shopping, walking places and how to use the equipment in the cottages. We give it 9/10

Review No: 24 by Mr Mccallum who stayed here on 21/04/2018 Language Flag

Road network around resort desperately needs resurfacing. Connection of Wifi to each cottage is a great step forward. Thanks.

Review No: 25 by Mrs Moy who stayed here on 14/04/2018 Language Flag

We enjoyed a pleasant week in Brunston Castle. It is a little out of the way but a good base for day trips. We went to visit friends, took a day shopping to Glasgow and took the coastal route to Ayr which is lovely. A visit to Turnbury lighthouse and to the lovely seaside town of Troon are also pleasant outings. The complex is in Dailly which is 8 miles from Girvan where there are shops and places to eat but there is very little in Dailly itself. There is a shop. The Golf Club restaurant is opposite the complex and is good value for meals. There is a railway station in Girvan which is useful if you want to take a trip without the need to drive long distances every day. The accommodation is very good and is well heated so if the weather is inclement, you can be sure of a very comfortable atmosphere in the lodge on return from day trips. There is nothing to do in the evening except relax in the lodge, visit the restaurant in the Golf Club or travel into Girvan so this could be a negative for some. We were happy to relax each evening. The swimming pool and kiddies pool looked nice and the reception area is comfortable and is the only place to access the WIFI. Phone coverage is poor; we couldn't get Internet on the phone in the lodge and were lucky to get calls and texts as some don't get that I believe. Overall we were happy with a quiet break.

Review No: 26 by Mrs Walker who stayed here on 14/04/2018 Language Flag

The resort is ideal for a golf and walking holiday. Other than that there is very little to do. The village of Dailly only has 2 public Houses and nothing else, no cinema or entertainment. The resort has a nice swimming pool but you have to pay a £5 deposit to use a towel and you are expected to keep the wet towel and reuse it for the rest of the week. The staff reluctantly took the towels back but "made a note" that we wouldn't be using the swimming pool again! No bar or on site shop. We called in at the golf club but this was empty and no-one appeared to serve us so we left without trying it out. There's a bus service from the village but a return ticket to Ayr costs over £8. Would be useful to have a car. Nice relaxing place with beautiful scenery surrounding the area.

Review No: 27 by mrs Dobson who stayed here on 14/04/2018 Language Flag

We enjoyed our stay at Brunston and will return

Review No: 28 by Mrs Bashford who stayed here on 14/04/2018 Language Flag

Quiet resort , ideal base for days out. Clean and comfortable . Annoyed at having to pay £46 upfront for electricity and utilities . There was only 2 of us and we were out every day so didn’t use that much electricity. If they have to charge have a meter and take readings . The bathroom shower was poor , could do with a upgrade . On the whole a pleasant stay because the weather was good so we did a lot of walking . A bit bleak I imagine in the winter though .

Review No: 29 by Mr Campbell who stayed here on 07/04/2018 Language Flag

Great location for exploring Ayrshire and Glasgow just over the hour away

Review No: 30 by Mr Tomczynski who stayed here on 17/03/2018 Language Flag

Reception and lounge areas recently refurbished. Very comfortable. Internet connection virtually not existent! Staff friendly and helpful. Lodge comfortable. Feel that £46 per week electricity charge excessive for two people. On arrival, location appears bit remote, but found many things to do, if enjoy walking. Many castles and ruins nearby. We enjoyed our break at Brunston Castle. Bit disappointed that the resort does not include castle building!

Review No: 31 by Mr Wagstaff who stayed here on 10/03/2018 Language Flag

A little out of the way, but we'll worth the traveling, if you research the area. Golf club excellent for a meal !

Review No: 32 by Mr & Mrs Peebles who stayed here on 03/03/2018 Language Flag

although we arrived a day late due to snowy conditions in our area. we had a lovely six days here and found the staff, particularly reception staff most helpful, courteous and efficient. We managed to visit older friends in Stranraer, a day trip to Ayr and a revisit to Culzean although to early for Castle to be open. Went down to the Mull if Galloway and enjoyed coastal scenery. The weather could have been better but it did not hold us back. Lounge area very comfortable. Mr & Mrs W Peebles Perth

Review No: 33 by Mr Edmondson who stayed here on 03/03/2018 Language Flag

This is our 7th time and everything there remains as good as the first time if not better. The refurbishment of the reception area is class and well worth a coffee and cake. Plenty of local walks and a golf course of great quality of your doorstep. Local and ties in Dailly village keep you supplied. Recommend eating at the golf club st evening and at Wildings in village Maidens

Review No: 34 by Mr Bridgman who stayed here on 24/02/2018 Language Flag

The resort is currently going through a refurbishment programme. Our lodge was spacious, clean and very warm. Externally the grounds are well kept and the lodges are well spaced out. Easy access to Ayr, Glasgow and the Isle of Arran - all worth at least one visit. The quality of the kitchen and some of the furniture was poor. There were few lamps around especially in the lounge area where the lighting (wall and centre lights) was dim. Our overall impression was that the quality of the unit was below the standard we have experienced in other places and countries.

Review No: 35 by Mr & Mrs Marks who stayed here on 03/02/2018 Language Flag

All in all this resort is an excellent place for visiting the Ayrshire coast.

Review No: 36 by Mr Sargeantson who stayed here on 03/02/2018 Language Flag

Arrival and checking-in on Saturday was smooth and helpful for us as exchange holiday folk who did not have a great knowledge of the place and the area (although we had done a bit of research beforehand of course). We were offered electricity for FREE for the week if we agreed to meet with one of the sales/customer service team for an hour or so on the Tuesday - already being owners elsewhere we knew it was to tickle our buying buds with SEASONS but we agreed (who wouldn't in Scotland in February?) Tuesday came and went quite happily without us buying into the SEASONS range of offers (we already have a week in Aviemore and another on Malta and DAE to dip into.....who needs more?) The SEASONS guys were very friendly and very pleasant towards us and not pushy at all (big TICK there for the SEASONS Training). The lodge was without doubt superb for our needs. The individual room style electric heating worked perfectly, the en-suite shower was a dream, the main bathroom (including an over-bath shower) was just as it should be, the kitchen (just off the dining and lounge area) was better than at home with what appeared to be fairly new oven, hob, fridge-freezer and full sized dishwasher (tablets included too). The lounge/diner itself was spacious, well equipped and most comfortable and led out onto a decking veranda which faced westwards - even in February we were able to sit out and enjoy the sunset with glass in hand for about half an hour. The swimming pool to the right of Reception was very welcome after a day trekking across the hills and through the woodlands. We also managed drives to the Girvan-Ayr coastline for some coastal walks and a day trip into Glasgow (a city NOT to be missed). Would we use Brunston Castle again? YES Do we recommend Brunston Castle? Oh YES.....even in early February!

Review No: 37 by Mr Hutchinson who stayed here on 13/01/2018 Language Flag

Our 2nd holiday here in 12 months. Lovely place, great comfy lodges, ours had been refurbished, as most have. Nice area to explore. Good walks around Culzean. About 30 mins from Ayr, passing Trump Turnberry on the coast road, & good day out to Mull of Galloway, past Stranraer, for spectacular views of Ireland & the Cumbrian coast. New reception area is fantastic, now has a coffee bar to relax in. Good that you pay utilities up front as then you are not worrying about a big bill at end, particularly if weather is very cold as ours was. Grounds are kept very tidy. Asda in Girvan for bulk of shopping is very handy. Roads around the area,that is the country roads, are full of potholes so be careful to miss them as you could incur a big car bill.

Review No: 38 by Mr Ferguson who stayed here on 06/01/2018 Language Flag

Everything in this resort was perfect. Staff were very helpful would go back again.

Review No: 39 by Mrs Ford who stayed here on 06/01/2018 Language Flag

We had a great stay at Brunston Castle. This was a good base to explore the surrounding area and there were some good walks nearby. The holiday cottage was well equipped and very cosy. It was good to pay the utility charge upfront so there were no nasty surprises when we left. All the staff we met were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and we were given good advice about places to visits and local restaurants.

Review No: 40 by Mr & Mrs Croft who stayed here on 09/12/2017 Language Flag

Lacking in facilities ie.no clubhouse shop/sauna/steam room Only 1 activity offered ...guided walk No alcohol license at cafe

Review No: 41 by Mr Bentley who stayed here on 09/12/2017 Language Flag

Brunston castle is a really pleasant experience with excellent polite friendly and infornative staff. The location offers many dsytrip options with the pick of the bunch bring a day trip to the Isle of Arran ( dont miss the distillery visit which was superb) The golf club only 50 metres walk from the Brunston facilities offers evening meals at great prices and good food in a pleasant surrounding. We stayed in a four bedroom lodge which was spacious in the open plan lounge/kitchen/diner although needed updating it was fine. Main floor has one large double bedroom one smaller double bedroom a full bathroom and an entrance toilet then downstairs are two small twins and a shower room plus small feeezer. The only real Negative is the shocking energy saving lighting in the bedrooms which is so bad that we bought three lightbulbs to change do it was possible to read in the bedroom ( they really have to put in bedside reading lights it’s s BASIC REQUIREMENT the WiFi is being upgraded next season as it’s pretty poor but we will definitely return as the staff are 10/10 for helpfulness and all are really friendly A very relaxing visit

Review No: 42 by Mr Tobin who stayed here on 09/12/2017 Language Flag

We really enjoyed Brunston, it was freezing outside but the lodge was nice and warm. Nice touch to welcome with mulled wine. Only issue was the lack of a bar. I could imagine a roaring fire with a few whiskeys. The bar at the golf club is open to guests, but it was dreary and uninspiring (we did not try the food) and the only bitter was on a chiller pump so at lager temperature. Asked for Guinness instead but despite there being a pump, they only had cans so had to settle for Tenants lager. I think Brunston is missing a trick as there is plenty of room for their own bar, but instead only serve coffee. We did not use the pool but it looked nice, if small. Good for a short break and great views from Girvan across to Ailsa Craig and Arran but both Girvan and Ayr were not particularly attractive.

Review No: 43 by Mrs Alexander who stayed here on 09/12/2017 Language Flag

Had a nice week but the lodge we stayed in could be doing with a refurbishment. The resort I feel would benefit from having a restaurant and shop on site. We used the nearby golf club to eat which was lovely but had to go further afield for breakfast.

Review No: 44 by Mr Sneddon who stayed here on 09/12/2017 Language Flag

The accomodation on the outside is very nice but inside the furniture is very dated. The only source of music was a tiny radio that was pretty much unusable. The accomodation has an antiquated white meter heating system that means when yiu run out of hot water you need to wait until the next day. There is a water boost to give some hot water but it wont last long. Therefore having the possibility of 6 people wanting a bath or a shower is totally impractical. The shower is a mixer shower so no hot water no shower. There was no heating on upon arrival and it took nearly 2 hrs to finally feel warm. This was chalet 24 but the other we had was much better in all departments especially providing an electric shower. Its time to spend money on the living room decor. Finally not the fault of the resort but worth mentioning there is zero Vodafone signal for calls or data and no WIfi available in the lodges themselves. Wifi is available in the pool area.

Review No: 45 by Mr & Mrs Greig who stayed here on 09/12/2017 Language Flag

We had a lovely week at Brunston Castle. We were slightly disappointed that the Bar had no license. It had recently been refurbished and was very nicely done.. The accommodation was ok, but the lighting was very dim and we had to ask for an additional bed room light. The staff were very helpful, friendly and efficient. However a lack of name badges meant we could not identify them if we needed to. Overall an excellent break was had by myself and my party despite the weather.

Review No: 46 by Mr & Mrs Ellis who stayed here on 09/12/2017 Language Flag

Chalet sleeping 8 with only a single car parking space was a pain as was the single key for entry via lifting barrier. This meant the first couple back had to walk to reception to let the next one in, and so on for each coming back. The small car park within the site only had room for about 12 cars so when the site is busy then parking would be at reception and walk!!! Chalet was spacious and comfortable. A fixed heating charge meant that all electric radiators were on constantly, so much for saving power!!! For some reason a number of digital radio stations (Radio 2, 3 and 4) on the TV shut down at 5pm, not sure if site or Scots problem, and forgot to ask when left. A week of mixed weather but managed a number of local walks, not as well signposted as expected. A 'Ramble with Ron' was very entertaining. Local store is now McColls not Co-op but well stocked.

Review No: 47 by Mr & Mrs Gore who stayed here on 02/12/2017 Language Flag

This is our second visit to Brunston Castle Resort and again the site, accommodation and staff did not let us down. This is a little gem. The refurbish lounge area and bar was an added bonus. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We are looking forward to returning again in the not distant future.

Review No: 48 by Mr Handley who stayed here on 02/12/2017 Language Flag

An excellent choice for staying in this ares. The accommodation was very spacious and comfortable and warm for a winter break. Facilities in nearby golf clubhouse also good. Overall the resort highly recommended

Review No: 49 by Mr Ray who stayed here on 02/12/2017 Language Flag

Furnishings generally in need of refurbishment. Living room heating inadequate.

Review No: 50 by Dr Foster who stayed here on 25/11/2017 Language Flag

Didn't stay for a full week as we had to return home for family reasons. We were accompanied for the first weekend by four friends (would have been six but two had to pull out at the last minute) and the house (lodge, chalet?) was ideal for a group holiday - no en-suites but a bathroom (with toilet), shower-room (with toilet) and a toilet meant that there were facilities for all but a mass desperation! The lounge was large enough for convivial meals round a full size table, plenty of seating and an adequate kitchen for cooking for 8. A veranda added to the available space (though not perhaps at that time of year!). Electricity is paid by a flat fee upfront and the electric radiators throughout the property meant that it was always warm (too warm if all on full). Decor was a little sparse. Quite a large pleasant site, the units being surrounded by grass and trees. The units are a little close together, however, and the effect is that of a holiday park (which is what it is!) rather than of a country retreat. There is only one parking space per unit and this makes things a little awkward if a group has more than one vehicle. It was made clear, however, that additional parking at the unit for dropping off luggage would be OK. Generally, additional vehicles could be parked at the reception area and this was only a short walk from the unit we had (45). A one-way system is in operation round the site and the access road is guarded by an automatic barrier triggered by a card attached to the unit keys. The reception building itself is superb, having been recently refurbished. A wonderfully comfortable lounge is served by a small coffee bar and the windows look out, past the children's play area, to open country or to the pool. After our friends left we had the pool, sauna, pool table and table tennis to ourselves. Very pleasant but, In high season, I would think that the facilities would be very busy and this might make it not such an idyllic break!

Review No: 51 by Mr McLarty who stayed here on 18/11/2017 Language Flag

The 3 bedroom unit at Brunston Castle was excellent and the overall site well maintained. The gym was closed while we were there but this was as it was being substantially upgraded so this can only be a good thing. Over the seven days we found lots of local interest without travelling too far It is worthwhile commenting on a couple of points relating to access for people with more limited mobility - 1) the path to the main entrance (round to the the rear) had 3 sets of steps with no handrail or outside lighting (this was awkward and even dangerous) 2) the two bedrooms on the main level accommodation shared a bathroom where the shower was in the bath (impossible to access for some) though the bedroom accessed down a set of stairs did have an en-suite with shower (though no grab-rail to help those unsteady on their feet)

Review No: 52 by Mr Summers who stayed here on 18/11/2017 Language Flag

Most units have been updated and refurbished over the last year or so. Lounge area is new and very comfortable. Wifi available free.

Review No: 53 by Mrs Falshaw who stayed here on 04/11/2017 Language Flag

Well appointed, warm, spacious and comfortable lodges in beautiful location. All staff helpful and friendly and very good facilities. Adjoining restaurant at golf club ‘Dine’ was good value, convenient and tasty. Good base for touring area and train to Glasgow. Can recommend a holiday here.

Review No: 54 by Mrs Brown who stayed here on 28/10/2017 Language Flag

Well presented site. Great friendly staff. Unit clean, well equipped and comfortable

Review No: 55 by Mr Denny who stayed here on 14/10/2017 Language Flag

The resort is lovely especially the on site facilities. Pool, cafe, reception, grounds, staff are all excellent. However, the accommodation is quite dated and needs some upgrading. Beds very nice and towels, linen etc all good quality. The kitchen utensils, pans etc rather cheap. Having said that, because of the excellent facilities on site, we would definitely go again. The site is particularly good for children.

Review No: 56 by Mr & Mrs Sanderson who stayed here on 07/10/2017 Language Flag

Despite the weather, we enjoyed our stay there making the most of what the area had to offer. We particularly were impressed with Dumfries House and estate. Culzean Castle and the Burns's Cottage and museum were also worth a visit. The main drawback to the unit,which had been excellently adapted for disabled visitors, was the poor lighting in the sitting room. This would have been easily remedied by the addition of a standard lamp so that one could read easily at night. Keith and Freda Sanderson.

Review No: 57 by Mr & Mrs Kane who stayed here on 30/09/2017 Language Flag

Beautiful very well maintained resort. If you want a good chill out holiday this place is so peaceful. We had a small problem with the house and it was sorted out within 10 minutes. Cannot fault it all the staff are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. A breath of fresh air, excellent

Review No: 58 by Mr Lee who stayed here on 23/09/2017 Language Flag

Needs substantial tarmac on roadways. Wifi not available in properties.

Review No: 59 by Mr Mackenzie who stayed here on 09/09/2017 Language Flag

We enjoyed our holiday at Brunston very much, any faults that we found were corrected immediately and we would go back again.

Review No: 60 by Mrs Morley who stayed here on 12/08/2017 Language Flag

We had a fantastic week at Brunston Castle. The area is stunningly beautiful and peaceful and we managed to do several amazing hikes, including climbing The Merrick, walking around beautiful Loch Trool and climbing up Goat Fell on the Isle of Arran. Being Scotland with slightly unpredictable weather, we did get fairly wet despite being well equipped as experienced walkers. However, as we were always coming back to a lovely warm and comfortable lodge at Brunston, it was all fine. We just had hot showers, dried out and got ready for the next adventure. Thank you to all the wonderful staff who made us so welcome. We would definitely like to go back.

Review No: 61 by Mrs Ashcroft who stayed here on 29/07/2017 Language Flag

Excellent resort and properties. An excellent location to explore the Ayrshire coast. Good for golfers and families. A fabulous week was had here 😀 Would love to go back again

Review No: 62 by Mr & Mrs Walker who stayed here on 22/07/2017 Language Flag

Second visit. Great resort. Well maintained except for pot holes in approach road and car park. Good swimming pool, games required deposit but were all free. Biggest disappointment was poor WiFi in clubhouse. As this was only WiFi on resort it got overwhelmed because everyone wanted to use it, especially if weather was poor. Unit great, don't usually get 3 bedrooms for 6 occupancy. If there could be a second shower room it would be perfect. Freeview T. V. was very limited. Utilities charge a little steep. Except for the fact we like to try different locations we would return.

Review No: 63 by Signor Brovero who stayed here on 22/07/2017 Language Flag

Posto splendido in grande parco e chalet molto accogliente, ben disposto e spazioso. Per amanti del golf sicuramente un luogo fantastico. Una sola piccola nota negativa: la reception e gli spazi comuni che chiudono alle 21. Un paio d'ore in più sarebbero sufficienti. La zona, non troppo turistica, è bellissima e la popolazione molto accogliente. Un'esperienza di genuina Scozia non adattata ed orientata al turista. Un apprezzamento particolare merita la qualità dei residence offerti e provati nei vari paesi del mondo da DAE che è stata sinora sempre eccellente.

Review No: 64 by Mr Cassidy who stayed here on 15/07/2017 Language Flag

Very well refurbished cottages. Excellent resort for golf, walking and for those interested in history. A most enjoyable holiday. Even the weather was kind to us

Review No: 65 by Mr Matheson who stayed here on 08/07/2017 Language Flag

Took the children (40s) and grandchildren (6y, 4y, & 2x5 months) for a week and everyone thoroughly enjoyed it. The facilities were great with pleasant lounge area, gym and a pool which was used every day. The golf course was attractive and reasonably priced.The catering in the golf clubhouse was excellent with children's menu which they could colour while waiting for the food to arrive. A local shop sold most things required but there is also an Asda in Girvan (6 miles). Brunston Castle is a good centre for visiting local attractions such as Girvan or Ayr beaches, Culzean Castle (which is terrific for kids with its play area/fort), Robert Burns museum and the town of Ayr with theatre and cinema all within 30 minutes drive. NB maximum occupancy is strictly enforced - 3 beds sleep 6.

Review No: 66 by Mr & Mrs Samuel who stayed here on 17/06/2017 Language Flag

With grateful thanks to Dial an Exchange, we had a great week at Brunston Castle in a 3 bedroom bungalow. It had obviously been refurbished & was beautifully clean & we found the reception staff really helpful & friendly. We really enjoyed one of Ron's guided walks (3 hours) which went so quickly as he made it so interesting. We wouldn't hesitate to go again as there was still a lot we didn't have time to do.

Review No: 67 by Mrs Welsby who stayed here on 29/04/2017 Language Flag

This resort was disappointing and not in the same league as Langdale or Lakeland Village where we are owners. The accommodation was clean and adequate but lacked character with very bland and uninspiring interior decor. A few pictures and colour in the soft furnishings would have helped considerably. The heating (electric wall heaters) and hot water systems were complicated with poor instructions. WiFi is only available in the reception area between 9am and 9pm and is very slow. The leisure facilities were in the process of refurbishment but the pool was available from 9am when reception opens. However, there is a strictly enforced ban on solo swimming which meant that my husband was unable to use the pool at all as no-one else was about. There are no private showers in the unisex changing rooms which is unacceptable. There was no evidence that this was being rectified in the refurbishment. There is no bar or restaurant on site but the golf club facilities are close by. Service here was variable. Although we enjoyed our holiday by virtue of amazingly good weather we would not choose to return to Brunston Castle.

Review No: 68 by Mr & Mrs Dyson who stayed here on 29/04/2017 Language Flag

Had a wonderful time been many times before but was so impressed with the grounds and they way that they are kept staff were great and they worked so hard. The lodge was nice had been refurbished the weather was great meant we could sit on our balcony. Used the pool twice it was good had it to ourselves. The golf club had a lovely restaurant and the food was good and well priced. This is a great part of Scotland to visit so many lovely places near at hand. Will be back.

Review No: 69 by Mr & Mrs Weldon who stayed here on 29/04/2017 Language Flag

First time at Brunston Castle. The lodge (no 70 for wheelchair access) was excellent and had plenty of room for moving around with very well equipped bathroom but only an extra toilet and no additional shower which did not worry us as we used the showers in the pool area after swimming but could be a problem with 6 people if they didn't want to use these. The grounds were immaculate and two small problems we had were quickly dealt with. The downside, certainly for two of our guests, was lack of internet connection as only available in the small reception area. For us the main problem was lack of a communal area where you could meet other guests but on the whole we had a good time and the weather was excellent.

Review No: 70 by Miss Pye who stayed here on 29/04/2017 Language Flag

Despite, due to refurbishing work, no laundry or sunbed the resort is well kept and plenty of space between the lodges so fairly private. We had one of the adapted units which had plenty of room to store a small scooter in the hall and the shower was spot on. Even had plenty of sunny days. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Will definitely be returning.

Review No: 71 by Ms Dillon who stayed here on 22/04/2017 Language Flag

The most significant factor about this resort is the lack of wifi in the lodges. We were with a party of 4 all of whom wanted to use their internet for various reasons and all had to use my husbands phone data which ran out quickly. In this day and age when even 80+ year olds are on the web, it was a significant detraction. The beds were very hard. None of our party slept well the entire stay due to this. My mum was so exhausted from lack of sleep she had to go to bed in the afternoon when she got home, which is unheard of. There was confusion re our lodge, when booking I was told we would be allocated a 2 bathroom property but we were allocated a 1 bathroom which would have been unacceptable for our party. This was quickly resolved but irritating nonetheless. The lodges restrict parking spaces for 1 car only. Our space was very small and luckily we had a car that fitted but it created a hassle if we needed to get onto the boot as we had to move the car forward. If we had an estate or people carrier we would not have fitted the space. It was based in a lovely area and the golf course looked fabulous. the surrounding roads are in desperate need of repair with lots of pot holes and bumps. This is not helped by the race-track antics of many local van drivers which was disconcerting. We took full advantage of our National Trust cards visiting Culzean, Threave, Burns Museum and Broughton House (whichthe highlight for all in our party. Really enjoyed our stay aside from the negative comments above, but will not be returning for those reasons. It may not affect others but just a word of warning for those who it may affect.

Review No: 72 by Mrs McHenry who stayed here on 22/04/2017 Language Flag

Great golf course almost on the doorstep of the lodges Lovely walks plus easy access to coast. Close to dark sky area, plus an observatory. Wi-fi only available in the reception, which is open from 9am-9pm

Review No: 73 by Mrs Vernal who stayed here on 22/04/2017 Language Flag

The staff at Brunston Castle were friendly and extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and they all had a welcoming smile when you went into Reception. We would certainly return to this resort as there are still things on our to do list, but we ran out of time.

Review No: 74 by Mrs Casling who stayed here on 15/04/2017 Language Flag

Excellent, friendly and very relaxing resort. A good place to get away from it all with plenty to do in the local area, or just relax and enjoy the few facilities on site. Food in the adjacent restaurant Dine is well worth a visit and a trip to Culzean Castle a must. Staff are very helpful and friendly. A great holiday destination if you want to escape the hustle and bustle of a busy life.

Review No: 75 by Mrs Kidd who stayed here on 25/03/2017 Language Flag

The accommodation was anything but luxurious Lounge furniture dated ,worn Stained.l bad to report kitchen hob which had melted knobs which were staying on when it stated off.kitcben was dated.bedrooms bathrooms of good standard Clean and comfortable.patio in good condition pity about old plastic furniture on it.leading falling off patio doors.handle fell off Lounge door. One tV in Iounge postage stamp size.as this resort is in a rural area with no entertainment a decent sized tV is a must.I stayed Saturday night went home Sunday returned Monday and collected our belongings.I paid £35 for electricity up front which is very reasonable if you're staying for a week expensive for our one night If I had not been expecting a high standard of accommodation as advertised things would have been ok , average,clean,simple accommodation.I swapped a gold crown resortt where pets are welcome for basic facilities,no pets.Staff were welcoming and friendly.I had telephoned to check accommodation before arriving and was advised property's are not made available until day of arrival.,this should have been a red flag.iI have been exchanging for many years with good results.This was the second property available to us on arrival we didn't stay in the first shabby dated property we were shown to,allocated this one as a replacement very quickly.We passed 1st property on our way to dinner and some poor unfortunate family were residing in it,obviously we got their accommodation.We normally don't complain and would have put this down to experience but this was a very expensive experience. .Brunston Castle was a big expensive down.

Review No: 76 by Mrs Cowie who stayed here on 18/03/2017 Language Flag

We had a great week at Brunston Castle and will definitely be back, a very well appointed resort with really helpful friendly staff, our unit was spotless our one had not been upgraded but was still very nice, they are all getting an upgrade. The pool / gym were so clean and nice, the only down side is communal showers and changing space / cubicles which again were spotless. Remember and take shampoo and shower wash as this is not provided Lots to see and do around the area and good walking right from Daily. If you want to eat out the golf club right on site serves lovely food and is very reasonable.

Review No: 77 by Mr Ross who stayed here on 11/03/2017 Language Flag

The accommodation allocated was a well equipped bungalow. Unfortunately to get to the reception area to walk to it from our accommodation which must have been the furthest away, it was a hilly walk. As the site appeared to be half empty, we went back and requested a transfer to nearer the clubhouse before we had unpacked or used the facilities. The staff said we would need to wait until they could contact the manageress who eventually flatly refused. As I had a recent heart bypass, this isolated us unless we were driving. Another downside is there is no bar on site and to walk to the village, even if fit would take half an hour to the nearest pub, and the same for bus stops to go anywhere. I now realise why there are always so many weeks available on this site. We would never return as it s one of the worst locations and most unhelpful manageress we have ever had from DAE and we left midweek.

Review No: 78 by Mr Malowana-Murphy who stayed here on 25/02/2017 Language Flag

We enjoyed our stay at Brunston Castle. The unit was well maintained both internally and externally. The 6 person two story unit was clean and comfortable. My wife and I only used the upper floor as this is where the kitchen, lounge, two bedrooms and balcony are situated. The main bedroom and bathroom are on the ground floor. There was also a separate toilet on the upper floor. The electric heaters were more than adequate for our needs. The swimming pool, sauna and gym were in good condition and very quiet at this time of the year. However no loan swimming is allowed and the facilities are not available until 9:00am each day. The lounge area is comfortable and the Wifi is good but is only available in the lounge and reception areas. The weather was good, most days were dry some days were sunny and it was never freezing. The people to whom we spoke said the area is generally mild. There are two shops in Dailly where food provisions etc are available and are within walking distance. Garvin about half an hour away by car has a greater number of shops and quite a few places to eat in or take away food. Of course there are a number of small bars dotted around the town. We took a trip to Stranraer and three trips to Ayr by car. The coastal route is particularly good. Some of the road surfaces had patches on patches, so be careful but most are good. Also watch out for the speed cameras. All in all a very good week except when I opened some of my Emails.

Review No: 79 by Mr Rowlands who stayed here on 25/02/2017 Language Flag

Very good site and unit

Review No: 80 by Mr Hutchinson who stayed here on 04/02/2017 Language Flag

Spent a great week here in February. This was our first visit & I don't have anything bad to say about the place. The lodge we stayed in has recently been upgraded, new kitchen, furniture & redecorated throughout. Very comfy beds. Good views from lodge. Weather was very sunny but cold most of week. We paid £42 utility fee on arrival, so was able to use heating without worrying about a huge bill at the end of week. The bar/restaurant was closed whilst we were there, so can't comment on food. Large Asda in Girvan for food shopping. Visited the Isle of Arran whilst we were there, lovely trip on ferry from Ardrossan & nice island to drive around. Also Culzean Castle gardens were a pleasure to walk around. Will definitely return to Brunston Castle.

Review No: 81 by Mr & Mrs Lawson who stayed here on 03/12/2016 Language Flag

Great resort. The only comment I have is that it could do with better lighting around the units parking areas. It is very difficult to see when you are reversing into them. Even white lines outlining the space would be useful.

Review No: 82 by Mrs Ward who stayed here on 26/11/2016 Language Flag

on first inspection it was in good condition... we found that the grouting in the en suit shower was very dirty and the shower door seals hanging off letting water to flood the floor... in the kitchen the screws affixing the dishwasher door were sticking out approx 25 mm causing a hazard.. the washing machine door hinges were loose we found dirty washing under the bed and cosmetics at the back of the cupboards, obviously the houskeeping needs tightening up......the fridge interior was solid ice.....overall our holiday was very good but the accommodation is AVERAGE........

Review No: 83 by Mr Ross who stayed here on 12/11/2016 Language Flag

A number of minor, but frustrating, items holds the accommodation back from better scores.Where,above, I have scored "Average" this should not be misread as faint praise damning my appraisal. The "average" scoring is a mark of the general quality of timeshare/hotel/motel/holiday accommodation to be had overall, marking a widespread upward trend.

Review No: 84 by Mrs Meechan who stayed here on 12/11/2016 Language Flag

Very relaxing week , pool and sauna very good , Beds very comfortable clean throughout , . A hot tub would make a nice surprise ,. Not a lot to do

Review No: 85 by Mr Rayner who stayed here on 05/11/2016 Language Flag

A lovely complex. Friendly helpful staff in a lovely location. The bungalow was spacious clean and had everything you need. Only negatives were kitchen equipment . Cooker very little control compared to modern ones. Could benefit from non stick pans etc. Bedrooms could do with more bedside tables and lamps. Also a few pictures on walls to brighten the place up. Lastly maybe standard lamps in lounge or reading lamps otherwise you had to use main lights which are harsh. But overall adequate for a weeks stay. Thank you.

Review No: 86 by Mr Laing who stayed here on 05/11/2016 Language Flag

We were welcomed by very friendly reception staff who quickly went through all we needed to know it was very helpful. We understood all we needed to enjoy our week there. When we entered our lodge it was exceptionally clean and had everything in it to enjoy our holiday well equipped and plenty of space. We reported the clock not working and it had a new battery within minutes you can't ask better service than that. When we enquired about booking the golf club for a meal the receptionist dialled the no for us. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was so friendly from the housekeeping to the maintenance. We will definitely be going back. Lots of info on touring and towns and castles to visit in the lodge plus menus for eating out. There was a lovely wi fi sitting room with tv coffee machine drinking water and books to read DVDs to hire and absolutely loads of brochures on the area. The swimming pool looked lovely very big with toddler pool too indoors so lots of time to use it as opening times were all day. Also there was a games room with table tennis and pool table. There was a gym upstairs and lots of outdoor play area for kids. Well worth a visit.

Review No: 87 by Mr & Mrs Mitchelson who stayed here on 05/11/2016 Language Flag

Lovely cottages in lovely setting. Very clean, warm and comfortable. Nice reception area and swimming pool, games room and coffee/ internet lounge. Kitchen could have done with a few more casserole dishes for oven and microwave as there was only one very small casserole for 6 people. No inventory for what should be there. Had a great week with friends.

Review No: 88 by Mr Niblett who stayed here on 05/11/2016 Language Flag

A beautiful place though quite remote. You have to travel a distance to visit places - 11/2 hrs for the Falkirk Wheel (highly recommended) and about the same for Lock Lomond. The largest wind farm in the UK was just over an hour away. Accommodation was of a good standard but we had two cars and one had to be parked in the overflow car park outside reception. This meant that someone had to walk up a steep road to collect the car - not the best in the rain! I was not allowed to park opposite the accommodation in a vacant space as the accommodation was not occupied. Apart from that and if you only have one car I would recommend the resort.

Review No: 89 by Mr & Mrs Mitchell who stayed here on 29/10/2016 Language Flag

Lovely location, quiet and peaceful. The cottage was clean and well furnished and well heated for the time of year. There was use of a swimming pool and local golf restaurant if you wanted to use it. Staff were friendly and available if needed. We just wanted a base to explore the area, good if you like walking and wanted to explore Galloway forest, likewise a short distance from the coast. Would recommend if you are looking for a quiet relaxing break away from hussle and bussle.

Review No: 90 by Mr Rigg who stayed here on 29/10/2016 Language Flag

One or two minor things reported but not dealt with before we left. But otherwise a very pleasant stay in lovely surrounds.

Review No: 91 by Mr Dennis who stayed here on 29/10/2016 Language Flag

We last visited this resort in 2008 and the standard is not as high now.

Review No: 92 by Mrs Chalmers who stayed here on 29/10/2016 Language Flag

My in laws stayed here for a week at the end of October 2016. They had a lovely time, the facilities were great in the unit, spacious, clean and well equipped. The grounds and resort area are well maintained and the staff did everything they could to make their stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The location is ideal for exploring the local area. We would definitely recommend this resort for families and couples.

Review No: 93 by Mrs Hodgson who stayed here on 29/10/2016 Language Flag

Brunston Castle is a lovely resort in a beautiful area. We enjoyed drives up to Ayr & beyond and a lovely day in Portpatrick. The Galloway forest was glorious in the Autumn colours. The Balkenna tearoom was good for meals, also the nearby Golf Club provided a good choice with nice views. I love visiting this resort.

Review No: 94 by Mrs Lander who stayed here on 29/10/2016 Language Flag

We had a super break, chose an excellent week and loved Brunston Castle. The only small critiscism was that one of the throws on the bed had a rather dirty mark on it! Other than that it was much enjoyed, thank you

Review No: 95 by Mr Third who stayed here on 24/09/2016 Language Flag

Had a wonderful time at Brunston Castle even though we had to cut short our stay because of family coming from Norway to stay with us at home.We visited many lovely old mansions and castles. The only draw back was the weather which no one can control. We recommend Brunston Castle for a very nice relaxing holiday.

Review No: 96 by Mr & Mrs Knapp who stayed here on 03/09/2016 Language Flag

We expected a 3 bedroom chalet but were given one with 4 bedrooms so we had plenty of room when some friends came to stay. Ayreshire is a lovely county with lots of places to visit. The golf club had a good restaurant and there were other pubs nearby..

Review No: 97 by Mrs & Mr Bennion who stayed here on 03/09/2016 Language Flag

This was our second exchange to Brunston Castle and staff very thoughtfully allocated us the same cottage we'd occupied last year. The weather smiled on us, and we thoroughly enjoyed our week, this time exploring some of the area to the south of Girvan, down the peninsula to the Stranraer area. Highly recommended are Logan Botanical Gardens, and we also spent a relaxing day at Pebbles Spa just a few miles south of Girvan at Lendalfoot. We were extremely satisfied with our exchange and I'm sure we'll return to Brunston.

Review No: 98 by Mr Campbell who stayed here on 03/09/2016 Language Flag

Very nice area friendly staff, golf course 5minutes walk away very reasonable priced with a driving range next to the carpark. Restaurant good choice of food and child friendly. Weather could have been better but didn't spoil the holiday.

Review No: 99 by Mr Assitt who stayed here on 27/08/2016 Language Flag

Brunstan castle lodge did not meet our expectations for a timeshare exchange the lodge we stayed in needed updating,with refurbishments to all rooms along with redecoration the en suite shower ceiling was black with mould. Although the lodge was for 6 there was only comfy seating 4.

Review No: 100 by Mrs McBride who stayed here on 27/08/2016 Language Flag

My first impression of Brunston Castle Resort was that of a well maintained, quiet and family oriented resort. The property a 4 bedroomed lodge was clean and comfortable with everything provided for myself and my guests (all adults) to have an enjoyable holiday and we did. We used the pool and it was lovely. Clean and not too busy with some loungers for the guests who wanted to swim but enjoy a rest when it suited them. The small lounge had a coffee machine, loads of info on places to visit and free WiFi. We ate regularly at DINE the golf club restaurant and the food was excellent. Well prepared, well presented, reasonably priced and the staff were very pleasant and polite. On the whole we enjoyed our stay at Brunston Castle and would certainly return. Would certainly recommend.

Review No: 101 by Mr & Mrs Caddy who stayed here on 20/08/2016 Language Flag

Lovely quiet setting. Lodges placed in different directions to give an element of space between each one. Lack of cutlery in our lodge. We didn't use the pool or gym. Games room good. My husband used Brunston castle golf course and loved it. Laundry machines easy to use. Enjoyed spotting wildlife in and around the resort.

Review No: 102 by Mrs Hinnrichs who stayed here on 23/07/2016 Language Flag

A lovely rural location within driving distance of many interesting attractions. I recommend the Robert Burns museum in Ayr. It's got something for everyone, as Burns would have wished. It's probably a holiday that requires a car though, unless you only want to spend your time golfing at the next door course or sitting about. You will be struggling to surf the net as the wifi is erratic, confined to the lounge area and very slow. There were a lot of children at the resort and it would have been good for them to have a kids club. The outdoor play area is nice and big and lots of space for them to run about. If you are self catering the cooking implements are fairly minimal and I would bring my own knives if I went back. I had to buy a hand held blender from the nearest Asda as I needed one for my breakfast smoothie. Food wise, the local co op in Dailly has a good range f fresh food and the Post Office, yes the Post Office, has an amazing array of filled rolls, very cheap. The coronation chicken is the best I have ever eaten, though it s not recommended to eat it while driving along, as the filling goes everywhere. The Post Office also sells locally produced meat and we loved the black pudding. High spot of my trip was Culzean Castle. It is fabulous and the guides are fantastic. It is haunted and I can vouch for that. Spooky! Great holiday, great staff.

Review No: 103 by Mr & Mrs Relf who stayed here on 23/07/2016 Language Flag

very helpful staff and the size of the unit was above expectations, although a little tired. Location of site is not ideal, especially if arriving from the south (England) as journey time from M6/M74 junction is nearly two hours. Apart from swimming pool and gym there are no other facilities and during our stay it rained everyday and we ran out of things to do. Good location if you like golf and walking!

Review No: 104 by Mr Walsh who stayed here on 16/07/2016 Language Flag

We spent a lovely time here. The unit is spacious and has everything you'd need and expect. Only one bathroom but 2 toilets which was great. You are surrounded by beautiful countryside, valleys & hills (so don't expect great reception on your phone!). The roads which were single tracks and you thought you never wanted to drive on again only added to the experience. Lovely to see so many different (broadleaf) trees, with the hedgerows in tact for wildlife. Not a lot to do on resort (no evening entertainment or things during the day for children) or in the surrounding area but come here to escape the rat race, relax and wildlife spot. We got the swimming pool to ourselves most nights and it was always lovely and warm and clean! Heads of Ayr park if you have children is a must visit, Culzean Castle is lovely. Pick up the "walks leaflet" on Straiton and you'll find a small café (The Buck) which does delicious caramel shortcake and home baking- we enjoyed a seat on the bench outside in glorious sunshine before and after our walk. We felt the golf course food was a bit pricey for what it was; we enjoyed the China Moon in Girvan (Sunday is order whatever you want for one price as long as you don't waste food), delicious; Souters is a lovely thatched cottage with decent food.We didn't spot Kingfishers (mentioned on the walk leaflet) but during our visit saw Heron, Deer (frolicking on the golf course just before dusk), a hedgehog who came to visit our apartment patio, tiny little calves and lambs, pheasants, too many birds to mention. If your idea of heaven is sitting with a glass of Pinot Grigio on your patio watching swift swooping for insects then book here. All in all a great base to explore the surrounding area.

Review No: 105 by Mrs Davidson who stayed here on 02/07/2016 Language Flag

Brilliant place. Have returned several times since

Review No: 106 by Mr Patrick who stayed here on 25/06/2016 Language Flag

A well laid out resort whose facilities, especially the swimming pool, are above average. This is a beautiful part of Scotland, all you need is good weather, which was sadly in short supply during our visit.

Review No: 107 by Mr Brown who stayed here on 25/06/2016 Language Flag

Resort is fine for a quiet break. We were in a 3 bed chalet with 4 adults. One wardrobe in one of the rooms otherwise chest of drawers. Bathroom had no hangers for clothes. The only other niggle is that they only give one key per chalet. Not very convenient for 4-6 persons who want to be out and about separately. Putting green as advertised was needing cut. Would I return. No.
Please Wait
Please Wait