Customer reviews for "Carlton Club"

There are 23 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr & Mrs Barnes who stayed here on 16/11/2019 Language Flag

We have spent a relaxing week here at the Carlton Cub, Bournemouth. We were very impressed with the helpfulness of the Timeshare Manager and we really appreciated being let into our unit earlier than anticipated. The unit itself was well laid out with only a couple of gremlins such as scaffolding outside the patio so that we could not use that door or the area itself, some screws missing from the middle hinge on the wardrobe door and a bottom oven which did not work. As you walked through the hotel to access other areas all of the staff greeted you with a" Good Morning" or Good Afternoon" which was a pleasant surprise - other places should follow this example. The bed was extremely comfy and the duvet was just right. The unit was warm and cosy, even the sofa bed was comfortable. The proximity of the hotel to the town was just right a short walk away, also it was really near the beach which even at this time of year was an attraction for a level walk beside the sea stretching in both directions. Bournemouth itself is a vibrant town and has lots to offer people of all ages and we would gladly go back to this area again for a holiday as we did not get time to explore everywhere.

Review No: 2 by Mrs Tostevin who stayed here on 10/11/2019 Language Flag

The Timeshare staff were Excellent. The reception and restaurant staff were average.

Review No: 3 by Mr Williams who stayed here on 06/10/2019 Language Flag

We enjoyed a wonderful holiday. The weather was mixed; after all, it was the beginning of October. We managed to find something to do every day. We got quite wet on occasions, but that was part of the fun. We found our apartment clean and tidy with a view across the garden towards the sea. We used the hotel restaurant once and enjoyed the meal. The staff there were friendly and helpful. They did forget to bring our desert and had to be reminded. They also had to be reminded twice to bring the bill. However, their friendliness and politeness made up for these minor lapses. We would certainly use this restaurant again on a future visit. The ambiance made us feel as if we were in a really up market establishment. We would recommend the Russell Cotes museum just down the road. It is not cheap, but well worth it. We would not recommend the Suncliff Hotel bar just up the road and not connected with the Carlton, as the décor is depressing and on the occasion we went they were extremely short staffed and had run out of real ale. If you are prepared to drive 40 miles, we can recommend the Abbotsbury Sub tropical garden and Swannery. The swimming pool is small and on the occasion we used it, there were swimming lessons going on for small children, which meant there was only one narrow lane for swimming. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and the accommodation and would definitely return. The minor negative points can easily be excused and in no way upset us. Congratulations to DAE and the Carlton for giving us such an enjoyable vacation.

Review No: 4 by Mr Wood who stayed here on 30/03/2019 Language Flag

We have stayed here several times before and as usual we really enjoyed it. Weather wise we picked the worst week of the year - very heavy rain and winds - but the location means that you can sit by the window and watch the world go by. Alternatively you can admire the well kept gardens or get to the center of Bournemouth by bus or car for entertainment/food etc very quickly. There is an Asda within walking distance as is the beach. We like to request upstairs apartments because the views are better but as far as we know all have sea views - however you can't see so much from the lower floors. As usual maintenance problems were dealt with very quickly. The cold water runs warm and it does need attention in the future but we get over that by buying bottled water. Hallmark have spent a lot of money on the Carlton Complex in recent years and we can tell. Thank you for a lovely break again.

Review No: 5 by Mr Biden who stayed here on 16/02/2019 Language Flag

looking forward to our next visit

Review No: 6 by Mr Honey who stayed here on 02/02/2019 Language Flag

Good apartment, an ideal location for coast walking, the town, and shops. Would recommend and we would be happy to go back for another stay.

Review No: 7 by Mr Clarke who stayed here on 07/07/2018 Language Flag

We have been a timeshare owner at The Osborne for many years and would like to say that our stay at the Carlton was in our opinion equal,if not better than that given to us at Torquay. Well done.

Review No: 8 by Mrs Izbicki who stayed here on 23/06/2018 Language Flag

Great location on cliff top with 180 degree sea views. East Cliff lift unfortunately still out of action after a major cliff collapse 2 years ago but one can still walk down to the beach, either via a zigzag path or directly down a mainly pedestrianised route to the pier and beach in about 15 minutes. In the other direction the cool green of Boscombe Chine is about 15 minutes walk. The apartment rooms are very spacious and the kitchen very well equipped. Lounge sofas a little tired but beds very comfortable. The pool is well looked after with a lifeguard on duty at all times. Plenty of sunbeds though not quite enough umbrellas. (It was a very hot week). A shallow children's pool is very useful as is the indoor jacuzzi and pool. Bar and restaurant above average with good service and a reasonably full menu. Happy hour from 5.30 every evening. The only lack was an onsite laundry facility; the published details say 'laundry' but this is use of the hotel's bag system, not at all suitable to young babies' washing needs. So we had to use a laundromat about 1.5 miles away. With no private outside space we could not easily dry hand-washed clothes. Altogether a definite recommendation for a visit to Bournemouth and the surrounding area.

Review No: 9 by Mr Hayward who stayed here on 23/06/2018 Language Flag

we were quite impressed with the whole outlook of the resort however we soon discovered that the water supply was of very poor,primarily the taste of the water was not at all pleasant. The house keeper did check on our second day and we reported that the cold water tap produced hot water and vice versa. The house keeper stated she would report this matter to the plumber and it would be attended to the following day but the matter was not attended to for the whole week ,we were informed that there would be no way of getting in touch with the housekeeping team as they were not available for the rest of the week due to days off .We had to obtain bottled iced water for drinking purposes which we found unsatisfactory.I would be pleased if you would produce this matter to the resort. regrds bobh

Review No: 10 by Professor Leopold who stayed here on 23/06/2018 Language Flag

Timeshare unit was excellent and timeshare dedicated staff very helpful. Let down by experience in hotel especially the restaurant which we stopped using after two nights because the service was so poor. Mirimar hotel just down the road much better. Lots of things to do in Bournemouth.

Review No: 11 by Mr Crocker who stayed here on 24/03/2018 Language Flag

The time share apartments, of which I estimated there are eighteen in number, are situated in a purpose built six storey extension to the Carlton Hotel on East Cliff. Our exchange was into the Windsor suite which was on the second floor with sweeping views of the sea and coast as far as the Isle of Purbeck in one direction and the Isle of Wight in the other. The apartment had two very large bedrooms, each with its own bathroom, situated on either side of the lounge area. All three rooms had large picture widows and there was ample seating in all three rooms in which to sit and watch the world go by. To the rear of the lounge was the dining area and to the rear of this, overlooking the carpark, was the fully equipped kitchen. The apartments are lavishly equipped and to some extent over equipped. For example we counted over 50 drinking glasses of different shapes and sizes which I am sure 90% of which would never be used when the usual stay is for a period of one week. All the amenities of the hotel are available to time share guests who also get a discount if electing to eat in the hotel. Each apartment has a designated parking space. There are bus stops in both directions situated immediately opposite the hotel with buses travelling west to Bournemouth and Poole and easterly buses going to Christchurch where there is a street market on Mondays. The down side is that the buses are only once per hour however it is only about a fifteen minute walk into the centre of Bournemouth. There used to be lift access to the beach opposite the hotel but unfortunately, due to a cliff fall, the lift has been removed but the is still access via a zig-zag pathway. I have no hesitation in recommending the Carlton Club.

Review No: 12 by Ms Mackrory who stayed here on 17/02/2018 Language Flag

Well positioned, high standard, well equipped. apartment overlooking the bay, and not far from Bournemouth shopping centre. The Mirimar Hotel, nearby, does a fabulous Sunday lunch. Nice walk down to and along the pier. Hotel facilities are good but did use this time. My second visit and I would definitely go again.

Review No: 13 by Mrs Harris who stayed here on 13/01/2018 Language Flag

We had a lovely week here. The apartment was spacious and comfortable, well equipped and with wifi. We were on the 6th floor and had a wonderful view of the sea. Bournemouth wasn't the geriatric hub I thought it would be, a very tasteful, cosmopolitan resort with lovely beaches, gardens and shops. Every thing is within walking distance too. We certainly would love to return to the Carlton Club at a later date.

Review No: 14 by Mr Wood who stayed here on 12/11/2017 Language Flag

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at these apartments, this time in the Braemar Suite which has 1 bedroom and is the smallest one we have used. Having said that it was more than big enough for 2 of us. Without repeating all we have said in our previous 2 reviews we always like the Carlton apartments because the location is excellent and the apartments/facilities/services are excellent compared to many of the others we have stayed in. The wi-fi is more than above average (no problems here as in many exchanges), and the bus services are quick, frequent and efficient – in fact we left our car in the car park most of the week. One minor fly in the ointment is the cold tap water which basically is never cold in the late afternoon but we overcame this by buying bottled water which we can put up with because of so many pluses. We will continue to return again and again to these apartments.

Review No: 15 by Mr Marks who stayed here on 07/10/2017 Language Flag

Superb location on seafront. Apartment unexpectedly large with excellent facilities . Only downside was plumbing in Goodwood suite meant cold water not readily available from taps. Solved by using fridge. Best was quality of furnishings particularly the bed that is large and comfortable. Hope we can get the opportunity to go again.

Review No: 16 by Mr Donaghy who stayed here on 23/09/2017 Language Flag

I have to say that the apartment I occupied called the Wedgwood on the lower ground floor was probably the best I have ever stayed in. The size of the apartment was immense, with a very large lounge/dinner and equally large bedroom, large bathroom with sunken bath and shower overhead, plus a separate shower as well, impressive. It had its own private patio area with loungers and table and chairs, there was also access to a private shared garden purely for timeshare people. This coupled with the splendid town of Bournemouth, the beautiful beaches and a very good bus service to outlying areas made it a joy to visit.

Review No: 17 by Mr Sherman who stayed here on 09/09/2017 Language Flag

Had a great time even though it was a very windy week.We seemed to avoid the showers and had some lovely walks.Neil went out of his way before we arrived to see where we could charge my mobility scooter if needed but discovered Maplins sell a charger that you can use in the car while you are on the move. We had only just settled in when housekeeping rang to check everything was OK and did we need anything. Very comfortable beds and amazing views.It is always our first request for an exchange. I left my something by the side of my bed but Sheila (the housekeeper) found it and posted it with no problems. We will be returning as love it so much.

Review No: 18 by Mr & Mrs Orpin who stayed here on 09/07/2017 Language Flag

After reading the more recent reviews on this site we were apprehensive about the standard of accommodation we were going to. However, we were pleasantly surprised with the large refurbished 1 bed apartment over looking the gardens and sea. There was no scaffolding or workmen. The parts of the hotel we used looked ok to us. Excellent mid week clean, change of bed linen and towels. We disliked Bournemouth Town Centre and that end of the promenade. Walk towards Boscombe and it is quieter. For a longer walk. go past Boscombe and you can walk all the way to Southbourne on the promenade. Plenty of places to stop for a drinks/ toilets and at the end is a cafe. Visit The Russell-Cotes House, Gallery and Garden a short distance from the Carlton.

Review No: 19 by Mr Bowe who stayed here on 13/05/2017 Language Flag

On our first visit last November repair work was being done and the noise was tolerable unlike the second occasion in February when scaffolding was being erected and the noise was considerable. This was our third visit and the scaffolding was still in place awaiting further work to be carried out at a later date. Obviously we had restricted views, but that being said, once the essential work is completed the views should be wonderful. We still had an enjoyable stay and the timeshare staff were very helpful. The car park has been enlarged which should help stop hotel guests using the parking bays reserved for Carlton Club members as happened on our last visit. Highly recommended.

Review No: 20 by Mr & Mrs Key who stayed here on 18/03/2017 Language Flag

The resort was very good the quality of everything was good.Would recommend it .The best apartment we have ever stayed in. Thankyou very very much.

Review No: 21 by Mr Wood who stayed here on 18/03/2017 Language Flag

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at the Carlton Club timeshare apartments, this time we stayed in the Sandringham penthouse. We were warned that there might be some noise from builders working on the building but we assumed they had already done the work on the 6th floor – in any event we didn’t see much of them and the noise didn’t bother us. The Sandringham has a private lift, 2 bedrooms with en-suites (one with a roil-top bath), a double width lounge, a dining room and a smallish kitchen with the bonus of a dishwasher. It also has 2 reserved parking bays but another guest used one of them so our visitors weren’t able to use 1 on 1 day. As we said in our review in January 2016 the Carlton Club apartments are in a superb location overlooking the beach, the apartments are the biggest we have ever stayed in and it is approximately 15 minutes walk to Bournemouth shopping centre. We can’t comment on the facilities because we didn’t use them apart from the free internet access but the staff were always pleasant and helpful. We must admit that some of the furniture is starting to look tired but it is obvious that the owners are spending a lot of money on the hotel and apartments and presumably they will get around to the inside in due course. We understand that the windows are next on the list for replacement – just as well because the apartments are quite hot with only small opening front windows – the opening windows are better at the rear - and the heating system is antiquated, not easily adjustable and mis-matched. Finally the utility charge is still £18 which is more than reasonable for an apartment of this size. In our opinion the size and location of these apartments more than makes up for any minor deficiencies we came across and we would certainly not hesitate to go back again.

Review No: 22 by Mr Mould who stayed here on 11/03/2017 Language Flag

The above ratings are a bit irrelevant because the main issue about this resort at the moment is the scaffolding and associated work all along the front of the building. When we booked the week we were advised that the building work would start in April but later we were told via DAE that the work would have started by the time of our visit. However for various reasons it was not feasible to cancel. So I would advise anyone to avoid the Carlton Club and, even when the work is finished, don't expect sea views from the lower floors.. The view from our apartment was restricted not only by the sloping garden but also the dusty windows and the scaffolding. During the working day there was the noise from the building work and the danger of falling masonry onto the patio to which, of course we were not allowed access. We understood that the timeshare apartments are undergoing a programme of improvements. Whether or not these internal works had reached our unit , I'm not sure but many of the features were a bit dated or not working properly. Overall the place was reasonably comfortable including the king size double bed. Among a long list of faults/ irritations i would mention the following: no Scart lead to connect the DVD player to the TV; cold water taps which never produced really cold water; hot water taps the same in reverse; a large ugly waste bin in the kitchen which got in the way of anything you wanted to do; doors which had to be chocked open to allow convenient access; wardrobe sliding doors which crashed in to the frame - (no rubber stoppers??); draughts from the living room window etc. etc. On suggesting to the Timeshare manager - Neil Darvill - that refunding the £18 service charge would be a friendly gesture in the circumstances I was peremptorily rebuffed. Unlike his staff who were generally helpful, I was very surprised by his attitude which has further encouraged me to recommend that people do not exchange, rent or buy here.

Review No: 23 by Mrs Usher who stayed here on 04/03/2017 Language Flag

The Carlton hotel is in need of updating. it does not provide lunches on any day of the week which is a great disappointment. However, the timeshare section and quality of units, size, and comfort, is above average. It's location is excelent. So the timeshare element warrants 5 stars!
Please Wait
Please Wait