Customer reviews for "db San Antonio Hotel and Spa"

There are 124 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Miss Degabriele who stayed here on 01/08/2020 Language Flag

Staff really nice and friendly. Food very good..The hotel is very Centre to all amenities. For sure we will go again

Review No: 2 by Mr Brincat who stayed here on 21/07/2020 Language Flag

The staff were all excellent, friendly and helpful at all times. The mattress of the pull out sofa was the most uncomfortable mattress I have ever slept on and is definitely not time-share quality. Another little thing that I requested was a dish drainer and sponge which for some reason were not available.

Review No: 3 by Miss Degabriele who stayed here on 21/07/2020 Language Flag

The hotel is very Centre tO all amenities and the staff very helpful

Review No: 4 by Signora Panetta who stayed here on 18/07/2020 Language Flag

Nonostante il periodo post-Covid , la nostra vacanza in questo hotel è stata soddisfacente e rilassante !

Review No: 5 by Mrs Sullivan who stayed here on 07/03/2020 Language Flag

Fabulous hotel. Great staff. Excellent food. Overall great experience. Will definitely go back.

Review No: 6 by Mr Postle who stayed here on 25/02/2020 Language Flag

DB San Antonio is a large well-above-average resort hotel. Very impressive 'marble' décor throughout, clean and surprisingly quiet for such a large operation. We were B&B but chose to eat in three of their restaurants - Guilez (large but fine for breakfast), Tagine (atmospheric, evening buffet), dBistro (a la carte), all were excellent. Other options were not far away - (Ta Pawla across the street, Victoria or the Plum Tree both 15 minutes walk). Facilities in the room were adequate with fridge, kettle, sink, iron. One issue was that we were advised not to drink the water though they said water stations were situated around the hotel - which we never found. Hand Gel pumps were everywhere. They provided basement car parking at reasonable cost - a real bonus as it would have been a nightmare trying to find street parking. The room and bathroom were clean, though we did have issue with the "decorative" cushions on the bed which we requested be changed. All the staff were excellent and were always smiling and willing to help and advise.

Review No: 7 by Miss Degabriele who stayed here on 18/02/2020 Language Flag

The hotel is located close to all amenities. Staff very helpful and the hotel very clean.

Review No: 8 by Mrs Anderson who stayed here on 08/02/2020 Language Flag

We found the San Antonio hotel to be a wonderful place. All staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming. Our room was superb, overlooking Buggiba Bay. We had a large bedroom and 2 bathrooms! Cafe Maroc was a lovely place for coffee, cake, drinks and excellent meals. The Breakfast Buffet was included for our stay and we enjoyed our breakfasts very much! A return visit is being planned! Thank You D.A.E !!

Review No: 9 by Mr Flojborg who stayed here on 07/01/2020 Language Flag

After several times visiting Malta, this resort is one of the best. Very much recommended.

Review No: 10 by Mrs Thomas who stayed here on 07/01/2020 Language Flag

Stay was excellent. There was an issue at check in with our dates but it was resolved quite quickly. Our room, a one bed apartment on the 7th floor was large and spacious, with a TV in the living room and the bedroom. Had street view but it was pretty quiet as out of season but in busy periods, could be noisy. The bathroom was large, with a bathtub with a shower attachment as well as a walk in shower. The wash basin was in a separate area. The small kitchen area consisted of a sink only, with a kettle and tea/coffee which was amply replenished each day, cutlery draw and a good size fridge and microwave oven in a cupboard next to it. Only enough to make a sandwich or heat up food or soup. Cleaner attended every day, towels changed daily.The free breakfast was excellent! Plenty of choice for a full English or continental with fresh fruit as well. Maintainence was excellent had an issue with the shower hose over the bath and was dealt with quickly. Small issue was the "eco" friendly with electricity and lights. If one person leaves the room and the other person does not walk around, a few minutes after the door is closed, all the lights go off! All in all, had a lovely stay and will definitely stay again.

Review No: 11 by Mr & Mrs Unwin Jones who stayed here on 04/01/2020 Language Flag

This is a very large hotel and not our usual choice but we could not fault it.We only sampled the included breakfast which we found to be excellent with plenty of choice.The staff we’re extremely helpful, courteous and friendly.The room was comfortable and large, the only down side was that our balcony looked out over the street.We weren’t too bothered though as the weather kept us from sitting out.Easy walking distance to the bus station where you can hop on a bus to all over the island for €1.50 and back on with the same bus ticket if within 2 hours.Also possible to purchase tickets or the week.We would recommend this hotel.

Review No: 12 by Mr Turner who stayed here on 04/01/2020 Language Flag

Apartment was spacious and the bed very comfortable. A microwave was in the partial kitchen but no suitable dishes to use in the microwave so its use was very limited. The TV programmes were very poor and there were no news programmes at all. Enjoyable stay in nice area.

Review No: 13 by Mr Vickerman who stayed here on 28/12/2019 Language Flag

This is a large hotel in a not great area of Malta. It was average to good without being outstanding ie breakfast was good...but not exceptional ie no smoked salmon or fresh strawberries in the fruit salad etc. The breakfast room was horrendously large and noisy, but as expected. it was nice to have breakfast included. The staff we met were very good from cleaners, to entertainment reps and receptionists and staff in restaurants. Our room was very large with 2 double beds The room could have done with some pictures, as it was a little bland and I would have liked some moisturiser, which is normally provided and I forgot mine. Shampoo was of poor quality. I gave it one go, and it left my hair like straw, but luckily had brought my own conditioner ( which was not provided). The kitchen area was very basic, but as we ate out his did not affect or holiday, although for others I think I hob would be valued. I was disappointed not to get a sea view, especially as the hotel I assume was not full, but understand not everyone can have a seas view. I think it could be hot in the summer as the room was quite hot in winter. The hotel caters very well for the wheelchair-bound, those who need sticks or struggle in any way regarding mobility. We thought Bugibba and St Pauls was not as nice as other areas, but the bus service is good and so getting away is easy. There are however good restaurants nearby and a nice friendly pub called The George opposite. Large group shows are not for us, but I did look in a couple of times and the standard was high. The indoor pool is small although I did use it twice and visited the steam room. The hotel is new, the staff are good, the food is as expected and they are doing the right thing to appeal to the masses. It was probably us that chose the wrong timeshare exchange as the group/mass entertainment /food etc idea is not really for us....but if it is for you...then you are in luck...the staff try very hard.

Review No: 14 by Mr & Mrs Jones who stayed here on 14/12/2019 Language Flag

Being owners at the resort we have stayed many times before and as before the overall standard of all aspects of the resort were excellent. Staff always cheerful and helpful, the shows we saw in the Cozy Bar were very entertaining. The food was excellent as always with a good variety to suit all tastes, we ate at the Tagine restaurant on one evening which was a particular highlight. Cannot praise this resort enough and we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone considering going, you will not be disappointed.

Review No: 15 by Mr Dooley who stayed here on 10/12/2019 Language Flag

This was our second visit to the San Antonio in St Paul's Bay. Although the resort was a lot busier than two years ago, we still had an excellent stay. The half board option is excellent, particularly as it allows three visits to two of the other restaurants, both of which are very good. The apartment was good with great sea views. The location of the hotel is a big bonus. The bus station is a few minutes walk away and the bus service is efficient, The fast bus TD3 to and from the airport is a better option than the X3 which takes ages because of the volume of traffic on the roads, We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Review No: 16 by Mr & Mrs Morgan who stayed here on 07/12/2019 Language Flag

Lovely hotel. Good position.Good food.

Review No: 17 by Mr Norton who stayed here on 07/12/2019 Language Flag

To say it was a big hotel, you felt like you were being herded into the dining room. One evening we walked in and were told we could not sit in the area we normally sat and when i asked why I was told there was a party of Maltese coming in, dining room staff just wanted us to eat and get out. I explained we were paying guests but obviously locals come first. Won't be going back. There is a 5 euro extra charge per day if you want to park your car in the hotel car park, we just parked in a residential parking area instead. Rooms were a little tired but ok. Maid service was good. Reception staff were good all though when we arrived we asked if possible could we have a sea view and were told its not up to them we had to ask dial and exchange.

Review No: 18 by Mr Pollard who stayed here on 07/12/2019 Language Flag

This hotel was superb , rated 4 star but more like 5 star , the rooms were spacious with mini kitchens & all necessary facilities . The breakfast choice was amazing , location just by the bus station & short walk to sea front . Staff so helpful , 4 restaurants to choose from if you wish to eat in hotel , but plenty of choice of food + supermarkets close by .

Review No: 19 by Mr Wood who stayed here on 03/12/2019 Language Flag

Unit provides B&B at the hotel and any other food is purchased. Hotel is mainly an 'all inclusive' hotel and the two main restaurants are either buffet or bistro. We had two meals in the buffet and one in the bistro and both were very poor. Choice and quantity were good but as with many buffets food was not hot and varied in quality with many dishes over cooked. This was the same with the breakfast buffet. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had a problem with the bed in the unit and after the second night we complained and a new mattress was installed. Room was cleaned everyday and fresh towels provided. Hotel is VERY big but we were lucky that our week was in a lower season and we can not imagine what it could be like in the high seasons. Area around the hotel is not the best. Whilst close to the sea there was a lot of litter and very few shops or restaurants that we could find worth visiting. One restaurant right opposite the hotel entrance was EXCELLENT. The Ta' Pawla restaurant offered great fresh fish and maltise dishes with very friendly service at good prices. Wines reccommended by the waiter again were very good. Hotel also offered a good transport service. We booked transport to various places around the Island most days and this was a very efficient, cost effective service and on time every time. This was our first visit to Malta. We thoroughly enjoyed the places we visited but were very dissaponited with the general state of the Island. Garden areas were not looked after, there was a lot of litter and construction everywhere. New buildings were put in between old ones and everywhere it seemed that floors were bing added so it was not the 'pretty' island we expected. The main places for tourist visits were well worth it and St John's Cathedral in Valletta was one of our magical highlights.

Review No: 20 by Mrs Sabey-Thompson who stayed here on 16/11/2019 Language Flag

A stunning hotel, with the friendliest and most helpful staff. Our suite was beautiful, overlooking both the pool areas and the sea. The breakfast buffet was amazing, and had a vast choice of food to suit all tastes so we were able to try different things along with our usual breakfast menu! We will definitely be going back, maybe for the All Inclusive option next time!!

Review No: 21 by Mr Mcleman who stayed here on 15/11/2019 Language Flag

We were swapped into the DP from the Sunny Coast after we were doubled booked by DAE. Not a big thing as DAE did the right thing by us. The DP hotel is geared towards the all inclusive market, we were out of season but saw how they coped with a Maltese special event for pensioners and it was impressive. We enjoyed the free breakfast everyday which we would score 9/10. The hotel is quite noisy, for example music by the pool all day and you can hear people thumping around night and day, but again that is a hotel experience. The room was a good size and bed was OK (Still a bit firm) Disappointed that there was no facilities at all in the room to do any cooking, but as it was a best efforts swap will let that go. The fridge was exceptionally loud though so got switched off over night. We tried the all inclusive Moroccan/Indian restaurant with unlimited Wine/Beer etc. It was just OK. The spa is brilliant and very sensibly priced and would recommend treatments. It's a very modern hotel and the technology works really well. Something we thought should be copied by other hotels is they give you 2 glass bottles of water when you arrive but have a mineral water refilling station in reception meaning you don't have to buy plastic bottles of drinking water and carry them to your room. What a fantastically simple way of reducing plastic waste. Top marks to DP for this innovation. Thoroughly recommend taking the 20Euro/week parking onsite option as street parking would be a nightmare Only negative of the stay was trying to leave the car park before 6am when we had handed our parking pass into reception because they said we could press the button on the barrier then they would let us out. Definitely did not work as they intended and after a 20min sitting at the barrier someone from reception came down to let us out.

Review No: 22 by Mr Brown who stayed here on 12/11/2019 Language Flag

Our daughter and son-in-law went to this resort in Malta and in their opinion the quality 0f accommodation was the best they have experienced so far.

Review No: 23 by Mr Cole who stayed here on 12/11/2019 Language Flag

Lovely accommodation in the heart of the resort. Only problem was having to buy vouchers at the reception to buy a drink at the bar. These are non refundable so I'm stuck with them.

Review No: 24 by Mr & Mrs Madge who stayed here on 05/11/2019 Language Flag

Very pleased with San Antonio. Nice big spacious apartment. Comfortable bed and furnishings. Not set up for self- catering but free breakfasts of a high standard made up for that. There were basics in apartment for having light meals on your own. A microwave , sink and fridge available basic crockery and cutlery supplied. Restaurants good but you need to book for them except main self-service. Would go there again.

Review No: 25 by Mr Hollis who stayed here on 05/11/2019 Language Flag

Our first visit to Malta so we weren't really sure what to expect. This resort should be classed was a "Hotel" with timeshare accommodation. Hotel guests are generally staying on an " All Inclusive " basis and the hotel is geared up for that with the onsite restaurants providing food on an all inclusive buffet basis (drink & food). Disappointingly outside of the main dining room, of the four other restaurants, two were only open for 3 days in the week, the roof top restaurants and bars were closed the whole week. Whilst accepting it is not the summer, this should be advertised, either on the DAE or hotel website. The Pool area is great although may be a little tight for space in the warmer months. The 0/2 Studio room has reasonable space, but tiny balcony. The AC system, electrics and room fan are governed by the hotel systems, a motion sensor identifying when you leave the room and turning them off so I can imagine the room may get quite warm in the Summer. The only facilities are acceptable for a short stay (sink, fridge and microwave) but you would struggle to cater for yourselves if that's what you wanted to do.

Review No: 26 by Mrs Bayley who stayed here on 02/11/2019 Language Flag

Hotel was great we are a exchange customer 1 bed sleep 4 apartment over looking pool and sea With balcony 1 with table and chairs other with sun-beds lovely apartment comfortable and cleaned every day teabags etc replenished daily. Staff helpful, check-in smooth, hire pool towels which is a bonus for us girls can pack more clothes, nightly entertainment which we didn’t see just not for us, breakfast was always nicely cooked fresh and plenty of choices, didn’t use the hotel for any other meals but they were always packed. Pool area kept nice and clean plenty on sun-beds, reusable water bottles at 2.50 euros each which you can fill up as many times as needed which helps the environment great idea also saves money as no need to purchase water.

Review No: 27 by Mr Gore who stayed here on 22/10/2019 Language Flag

Absolutely fabulous from beginning to end, picked up from airport by a friendly driver in a lovely car, (same driver and car also collected us on return journey home ), young lady on reception very nice, friendly, check-in process very quick and efficient, room gorgeous. Hotel has everything you could possibly want on a relaxing holiday, all the members of staff were happy, smiling, nothing too much trouble, food in restaurant had so much choice and variety for the whole week. Entertainment was first class, was shocked by the professionalism of the acts, so enjoyable. This was our first stay since joining the Owners Holiday Club,"only in June this year", for this hotel. We were a bit sceptical (worried) whether everything was going to be provided what was explained (sold to us), worried that we'd invested in something that wasn't actually going to be "for real " We couldn't be more wrong We received an invite for the next day to meet with Pierre from Owners Holiday Club, a lovely welcome to check everything was ok, he also kindly went through the whole process of booking holidays with us as we were still a bit unsure of how to do it. Pierre also checked for us and booked our next stay in May next year (can't wait ). Myself and my husband couldn't find fault with anything, we are absolutely delighted with our investment. Thank you

Review No: 28 by Mrs Dugdale who stayed here on 08/10/2019 Language Flag

A wonderful holiday. really enjoyed all the facilities food in all restaurants excellent

Review No: 29 by Mrs Dugdale who stayed here on 08/10/2019 Language Flag

A wonderful holiday. really enjoyed all the facilities food in all restaurants excellent

Review No: 30 by Mrs Ealey who stayed here on 14/09/2019 Language Flag

Excellent resort. Food standards exceptional Very busy and impersonal Great location by bus station

Review No: 31 by Mrs Levin who stayed here on 03/09/2019 Language Flag

Very good hotel. True 4 stars plus. Good breakfast is a bonus

Review No: 32 by Mrs Doe who stayed here on 06/07/2019 Language Flag

It was our first visit to Malta the hotel and staff were brilliant and we’ll definitely return

Review No: 33 by Mr Davies who stayed here on 29/06/2019 Language Flag

Just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel. Excellent venue, unusual to have breakfast included in the stay, every thing you would want for breakfast, cooked, toast, cerial, pancakes, fruit. The hotel is excellent, kept spotless and staff very helpful. Pool area excellent and activities every day. Several restaurants to choose from. Rooms cleaned daily by friendly maids. Only a few minutes walk to the promenade. Overall a very enjoyable stay and we will certainly return.

Review No: 34 by Miss Farley who stayed here on 29/06/2019 Language Flag

Wow, what a great hotel. Free breakfast buffet was fabulous. We opted to pay for the all inclusive and weren't disappointed. This allowed us access to their own specialist restaurants which were all lovely. We had a room facing the road and with the doors shut we couldn't hear any traffic. Much noisier having a pool view room

Review No: 35 by Mr Hansson who stayed here on 22/06/2019 Language Flag

All you can ask for, It's here.

Review No: 36 by Mrs Cairns who stayed here on 08/06/2019 Language Flag

An excellent location. We had 701 which was a 1 bed sleeps 4 with privacy for 4 as it had 2 bathrooms. Air con was not room controlled as the controls would have you believe. It was warm and the ceiling fan needed to be on. 3 was best but it knocked and was too noisy on a night. Breakfast was excellent. Lots of choice and as much as you wanted. Beer 4 euros a can/ glass at bar. Beds were comfy. Kitchen described as mini was lacking in a chopping board or sharp knives to cut anything up. There was cutlery for eating and a bottle opener plus crockery. I asked for 4 large mugs which I got but they took the small cups away- odd. Fridge and microwave but you couldn't prepare any kind of meal but salad and that was a struggle. I did ask about kitchen utensils but they referred me to the owners club. Never bothered. No English TV except RT news from Russia with English news- disappointing. Limited wardrobe space/drawers if there were 4. We used the gym which was excellent. It had a lot of equipment. We have been here several times and like the hotel and location.lots of places to eat in the area.

Review No: 37 by Miss Hawes who stayed here on 04/06/2019 Language Flag

We've just returned from a week's stay here and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a Studio but if you plan to self-cater, you'll be disappointed. All we had was a sink in the corner, a microwave & a fridge, but no hob or oven. Just 2 of everything - mugs, small plates, large plates & forks, knives & spoons. No pots or pans or any dishes for the microwave. A big bonus though is that you get included a free (massive) breakfast buffet and at check-in, were given the option to pay 16 euros each to upgrade to half-board (including free soft drinks, wine or beer with your evening meal, which you help yourself to) or 39 euros to go All-inclusive. We opted for All-Inclusive but in hindsight, wished we'd done the half-board as you can easily fill-up at breakfast, and then sneak some food out for lunchtime (sandwiches, fruit, cakes etc). I didn't enjoy the wines but my hubby did - much too dry for me and I usually drink dry white wine at home and we found the spirits pretty weak, so we ended up ordering doubles each time, in order to even taste the alcohol. The food was great - always plenty of choice at each meal so everyone's well catered for. The complex is lovely - fabulous swimming pools and great (adult only) roof top bar & pool. There are also plenty of other bars around the hotel and a bit further afield too - if you leave the hotel and go left down to the prom, left again and just a few hundred yards away is the "The Square", which is full of bars and restaurants. Unfortunately we had an outside apartment, with just a view over a hotel opposite and a car park. We asked to change but they were busy, so couldn't offer another room, but you don't go on holiday to stay in your room, so weren't too bothered. We pre-booked a taxi from the airport through the hotel, which cost us 29 euros but there's an office across the road from the hotel that we booked our return trip with, and that cost 20. The staff were lovely and we'd definitely go back there again

Review No: 38 by Mr McDonald who stayed here on 18/05/2019 Language Flag

Although this is a nice resort/hotel, overall we have given it a high rating, it does have its drawbacks. The following should be noted. It is now very large and very busy with a mix of T/S and AI guests. When we were there, out of supposedly 5 restaurants only the buffet restaurant was open with another 2 only at the w/e and the other 2 not at all!. The Sky Bar was not open, they did serve drinks at the adults only pool from a temporary bar set up in one of the closed restaurants from 10:00am to 6.00pm. Bars: The "Kosy Bar" which is the main bar from 6:30pm to 9:30pm was given over to a kids "disco" which appeared to be uncontrolled mayhem! This left the only place to go for a drink to the Maroc Cafe which really was inadequate size; so we as a lot of others when out. I know its a numbers game for the hotel but it was busy and should have had more of the facilities open in late May, so I wondered what would be open in the off season? The hotel itself is immaculately clean, but when you venture outside? In all my days travelling I have never seen such a dirty, litter strewn mess in and around the whole of St.Pauls Bay, and not a rubbish bin in sight, it truly is disgusting. I would like to call it something else but...........It is a dustbin of a place. I just wish I could attach the photos I took, but I will l be sending them to the to the Maltese Tourist Board along with my comments and informing them after four visits to the island we will not be returning!

Review No: 39 by Mr Mihalik who stayed here on 30/04/2019 Language Flag

Saját és feleségem nevében elmondhatom a szálloda kiváló. Az elhelyezkedése tökéletes,buszpálya udvar 2 perc gyalog. Tengerpart szintén nagyon közel,a környéken szinte egymást érik az üzletek éttermek,szórakozó helyek. Két szeles napunk volt,de a többi jó meleg, a kinti medencék még hidegek voltak,nekünk. De a belső medence tökéletes meleg vizű,úszkálásra alkalmas. A szobánk a tengerre és a medencékre nézett,minden nap takaritottak. Esténként zenés programok voltak. Haza induláskor a csomagot megőrzik ha esti géped van. A szállodát is bele értve ez egy jó nyaralás volt. Máskor is vissza mennénk. Köszönet a szállodának,és a DAE-nak ezért a jó csere lehetőségért! Mihalik István

Review No: 40 by Mrs White who stayed here on 30/04/2019 Language Flag

We also got a very dark room where the lounge area looked on to a brick wall and was generally dark . Breakfast was included and ok . The management didn’t do anything about a noisy group gathered around the pool , and making whoopee till 00.30 am , not funny if you have children , I also suspect there were people in the next room smoking weed on the balcony !! Was like no other cigarette smell. Over all the area we felt was grubby , and lots of building work going on . The traffic is madness !,, we took an open top bus which took us about 2 hours to get to a fishing village / market. The rooftop pool has great vistas and have to be 16 up to use it . Loads of places to eat . Generally I think the hotel is ok , but the area leaves a lot to be desired . The room cleaner was excellent , and daily .my husband was stationed here in the Navy , and he’s also not that keen to return to this area, we would have visited more historic places but because the roads are so mad , took ages to get to them.

Review No: 41 by Mr Potts who stayed here on 27/04/2019 Language Flag

We recently stayed at the db San Antonio resort. I have to say this resort is one of the best exchanges we have had on Dial an exchange. The quality of the hotel certainly is 4 star from the impressive lobby to the spacious 1 bedroom apartment. The fact that the resort offers a superb buffet breakfast is certainly a great bonus. The only slight negative is the amount of works being carried out to the local roads, this is obviously out of the control of the hotel but to be honest there wasn't much noise that we noticed. We highly recommend the db San Antonio.

Review No: 42 by Mrs Schmitz who stayed here on 23/04/2019 Language Flag

Lovely hotel, and worth paying the extra for half board plus as can have beer wine and soft drinks with your dinner. Breakfast is included with the exchange anyway. Tea and coffee and milk cartons topped up every day and daily maid service Dressing gown available for hire €25 refund on return which was nice Pool towels €10 each for hire and refund which were also for the indoor swimming pool. Didn’t use so cant comment Evening entertainment OK depending on your taste but 9.30 start we found a bit late Only downside was the drilling and works going on to make a tunnel to the beach which is supposed to be finished by summertime ?? Transfers €5 each each way from Malta Transfers available in airport. Shuttle bus but we have just had a car to share sometimes. Cheaper than the main transfers depending on how many in the party. Bus tickets available from in airport or Bugibba bus station €15 for 12 journeys, just zap on bus entry, can share the ticket they are not individual, although can get bus roamer for the week at a different price. Bus journeys if less than an hour after you get on and re enter it doesn’t charge Be aware that around the area there are people trying to sell time shares on the pretence of free bus tickets etc. If you want to go that’s up to you but you don’t get something for nothing! The hotel also has English plug sockets. Not all restaurants open all year round.

Review No: 43 by Mrs Watson who stayed here on 20/04/2019 Language Flag

A lovely hotel with fantastic sea views. The unit we were assigned (701) was very spacious with 2 full bathrooms and 2 balconies. The food was excellent, with plenty of choice and different menus every day. Staff were very friendly and helpful and there was entertainment most evenings. The dancers were excellent and the quiz was great fun. There is a lovely roof top infinity pool for adults only but the water was EXTREMELY cold. The only strange thing is that the bar doesn't open until approx. 6.00pm, which means going to the pool bar or the café if you want a drink during the day, however this may have just been down to the time of year we visited. I would definitely recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if visiting Malta.

Review No: 44 by Mr & Mrs Ogilvie who stayed here on 20/04/2019 Language Flag

No complaints what so ever hotel is very modern and facilities are very good. Breakfast included is a big plus and it was very good prices in bar are fine vodka coke 2.5 euro. Cafe moroc coffee and cake 4 euro and was excellent plenty of bars around with live music and offers. Weekly entertainment seem to be fine and well supported. We would definitely come back here, staff very friendly and obliging. Bus station about 100 metres away and very cheap. Thank you again dial an exchange for another wonderful exchange. We

Review No: 45 by Mrs Owen who stayed here on 30/03/2019 Language Flag

This is definitely one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Breakfast is a delight, with lots of choices. Staff really friendly and very helpful. This is the second time I have stayed here and would do so again. Which says it all as far as I am concerned.

Review No: 46 by Mr Connor who stayed here on 26/03/2019 Language Flag

Excellent hotel. New,modern, food Excellent, big. A lot of building/roadworks in the surrounding area at the moment.

Review No: 47 by Mr Nixson who stayed here on 19/03/2019 Language Flag

This was a hotel room and not a studio. Having said that it meant that the double bed was comfortable and there was also a comfortable sofa and a small dining area. The problem was that the kitchen was a sink, kettle, microwave and fridge which worked for us as the big and pleasant surprise was that breakfast was included. The rooms only fault was that the air conditioning was not adequate and was also only in action when the PIR's detected movement, so would switch off over night or if reading where movement is limited. As we went in March we got over this by keeping the patio doors open, hence not as secure as we would have liked although we were in the 7th floor so no big risk, summer might be a bit different. The room safe was also complementary also a big plus. Downside was that the main reason we went in March was for Mediterranean sun and a relaxing pool and sun loungers. The main 3 pools area was closed for maintenance with no advance notice before we traveled, although no evidence that anything was happening was seen by us. There was an inside pool, really crowded for obvious reasons and so we did not use this, the rooftop pool was not our cup of tea as I do not like heights. So pretty disappointing. There was also lots of kango hammer activity in neighboring areas that made the experience worse although not the fault of the hotel.

Review No: 48 by Miss Anders who stayed here on 05/03/2019 Language Flag

Terrible place. Put on the 7th floor overlooking run down buildings and peoples washing, room was very basic indeed. It was ram packed full with 4 football teams which can not be helped. Lots of building work and the parking underground where they let you place the car was a building site. It was that bad we did not stay and booked alternative accommodation. The front appears on photos t

Review No: 49 by Mrs Hession who stayed here on 26/02/2019 Language Flag

SAN Antonio is a busy hotel but we found the staff very friendly and helpful. Cleanliness was superb and it was a bonus to find that breakfast was included when we arrived. Although the choice was the same each day it was good quality. The dining room was very noisy as so busy, we were glad not to be eating dinner there. The first room we were allocated was very small, dark and had a bad smell which worsened through the night. Despite being on the 7th floor noise from the bar travelled through some shafts apparently! We spoke to the DAE rep who made a quick call to reception and we were offered a new room on the 5th floor which was absolutely fine. We did manage to find a couple of decent restaurants nearby but we mainly had to travel to find good food. Overall a nice hotel with good facilities but there are nicer areas on the island. We had a good time.

Review No: 50 by Mrs Yates who stayed here on 26/02/2019 Language Flag

Another lovely holiday in a great hotel.

Review No: 51 by Mrs Aston who stayed here on 23/02/2019 Language Flag

Having had a bad accommodation experience years ago (not with DAE), it was such a lovely experience here at the dB San Antonio. The time share apartment was roomy with nice furniture and a massive bathroom that had a bath with shower and a separate shower. We had a one bed sleep four and there was plenty of space. The hotel is lovely with lots of seating areas, it’s own cafe that serves coffees,teas, alcoholic drinks and wonderful cake. The time share included breakfast but you do have the option to upgrade to half board or all inclusive. We chose all inclusive which covered all drinks and you get to eat in their speciality restaurants during your stay at not extra cost. We went to the Tangine and D’bistro and recommend both. All other meals are in the main restaurant which is self service buffet. The food, is very good with so many choices! The outside pools and area are well landscaped and maintained, there is a small indoor pool and spa. I shall certainly book this again.

Review No: 52 by Dr Webster who stayed here on 23/02/2019 Language Flag

Nice resort, in a somewhat tired area of Malta, breakfast included was great, but having to wear a coloured band during your stay is rather degrading . If your bag is all inclusive it's ok .

Review No: 53 by Mrs Horan who stayed here on 02/02/2019 Language Flag

Had a lovely holiday. Hotel excellent. Lots of daily and nightly entertainment. Night time shows v good standard. Bus station very close to hotel with links all over island. Only negative was weather which was cool and windy. DAE/ hotel can't control that though !!

Review No: 54 by Mrs Milner who stayed here on 22/01/2019 Language Flag

The apartment was a bit dated and needed modernising The kitchen appliances consisted of a microwave oven and kettle. The mattress in the main bedroom was dreadful, but the housekeeping manager had it changed for a better one. We think the main restaurant is one day going to be the source of a gastric illness or an accident. The food quality was excellent but the self service hygiene left a lot to be desired, sadly mainly caused by the tourists using the restaurant. The hotel supplied a hand sanitiser at the entrance to the restaurant, but we never saw anyone use it. As far as an accident is concerned at One breakfast they served over 800 persons!! although a large restaurant the seats and tables are fairly tightly packed and running children and elderly persons carrying hot plates do not mix. It would be a problem if there was a fire hazard in the kitchens because there was only one exit as we noticed the other exits to the pool area were locked. We were horrified by British tourists taking empty shopping bags into the restaurant especially at breakfast and filling them with fresh fruit and other food in spite of the signs that clearly said ' food must not be taken out of the restaurant' It is very sad, because these greedy people are taking advantage of the excellent value offered by this hotel. Where can you get a superb buffet meal dinner including unlimited wine and drinks and coffee for 16 Euros per person? ALL of the staff were helpful and welcoming. incuding the DAE staff. This is a nice hotel in a convenient spot but it does have a few criticisms.

Review No: 55 by Miss Long who stayed here on 22/01/2019 Language Flag

Regrettably, we were not too impressed with the DB San Antonio and decided to leave after a couple of nights. To be fair, the resort would have probably been more appropriate if the weather had been kinder and one was able to sunbathe. However, upon arrival, there was only one restaurant open and it was dingy and unwelcoming with the staff and remaining diners looking very glum. Not exactly a great start! There is very little to do in the town at this time of year, although the Aquarium was excellent. It was very "institutionalised" and as a guest you are just one of hundreds. Not our cup of tea, I'm afraid. We moved to a hotel in Valletta where there is plenty to see and do, as well as some great restaurants. Our recommendation - go there instead!

Review No: 56 by Mrs McCall who stayed here on 19/01/2019 Language Flag

Please see our review of 12.1.2019. Comments are the same. Lovely position; nice room....but no hob so not really self-catering. no utensils...not even a sharp knife to cut a tomato! Bed really comfortable; room warm (appropriate for winter) Breakfast provided which was a really nice treat. Think the hotel could be noisy / very crowded at the height of the season

Review No: 57 by Mrs Kirkup who stayed here on 12/01/2019 Language Flag

New in 2015 so everything good. Included breakfast excellent, but only bare minimum China and cutlery in unit plus only a microwave. Suggest you take some plastic picnic plates etc. and "borrow" extra cutlery from dining room. I asked for a chopping board to save worktop and a bowl to use in microwave, as no kitchen utensils provided. Hotel maid service every day and they supply coffee and tea as well. Hotel evening entertainment good and kids club. BUT wouldn't want to be here when hotel full and during school holidays! Go off season. Recommended.

Review No: 58 by Mr McGill who stayed here on 12/01/2019 Language Flag

One of the Best Hotels in Malta. This is the third time we have stayed in this hotel/Timeshares. It was just as good as our other stays here. It was very easy to get checked in, we had arrived early so we had a little wait while our room was being cleaned. The reception staff were very nice and told us everything we needed to know. We went for lunch while we waited, and the waiting staff at the Gueliz Restaurant are very good and friendly, and the food has a very good variety for everyone. While we were there we also booked a table for the Db Bistro Restaurant which has different types of steaks, and also different type of excellent meals. We were in a studio on the 7th floor which was very spacious and had everything we needed, and was cleaned thoroughly every day. The staff at the Maroc Cafe and at the Kosy Bar were very friendly and excellent with their fast service. There was excellent entertainment every night by all the artists/dancers/singers, it was like Sunday Night at the Palladium, and also the music/movies quiz night by Animation Team. The Animation Team who we met were made up of Catherine, Betty, Cesar, and their boss Franchesco were really very very friendly and welcoming, and we cannot praise them enough, they kept us entertained with their games when the weather was not very nice, and would go out of their way to talk to us. There was 4 [ 2 rooms ] of us in total, and we really enjoyed our stay here. We would highly recommend anyone to stay here

Review No: 59 by Mrs McCall who stayed here on 12/01/2019 Language Flag

Description given by DAE was correct.... and the unit itself was of a high standard, and very warm at this time of year...........................but we have never been to a timeshare before that had no hob unit, not even a sharp knife to cut a tomato with if you had a salad!!!! Puts up your holiday costs as one needs to eat! Liked the included breakfast - good quality food

Review No: 60 by Mrs Kirkup who stayed here on 05/01/2019 Language Flag

Huge hotel and would not want to be there when full go off season, but included breakfast is 5star and you can pay to upgrade to half board Inc drinks with eve meal for 15euro. I didn't as lots restaurants around. Cabaret in eves up to cruise standard excellent. Not used but kids club available etc plus other stuff aquaaerobics, darts, card playing, bingo etc. If want. Only a microwave/grill and get minimum cutlery and china -take some plastic picnic stuff. NO cooking stuff but asked for chopping board and bowl and got and borrowed a sharper knife from dining room. Near bus station. X3 bus from airport bus only 1.50 euro or get a card 21euro for 7 days unlimited travel. Highly recommended

Review No: 61 by Mr & Mrs Griffiths who stayed here on 05/01/2019 Language Flag

We used the hotel car park taking the 7day parking option for €20. Predominantly due to wet weather putting us off going out in the evening we also opted for the evening meal deal at €16pp/p night; (this deal has to be for the whole stay & pre-paid at reception); which proved excellent value. In addition to the main dinning room buffet service there is the option to dine in the Bistro once and the Indian / Moroccan Tangine restaurant twice. Wherever you eat wine and beer are on tap and included while in your chosen eaterie.

Review No: 62 by Miss Degabriele who stayed here on 25/12/2018 Language Flag

The hotel is very center in Bugibba.There are alot of restaurants. Buses are very close and easy to go to any part of Malta.The hotel is clean The staff very helpful

Review No: 63 by Dr Sharma who stayed here on 15/12/2018 Language Flag

This is an excellent family friendly resort with friendly hotel staff and facilities. I would especially recommend attending the entertainment programme in the kosy bar. It's located well with decent shops near by. Kids club staff were great and my kids really enjoyed the service. For vegetarians they need to improve the choices in the resteraunts . I wouldn't recommend half board for vegetarians. Barring this had a great experience.

Review No: 64 by Mr & Mrs Nicoll who stayed here on 08/12/2018 Language Flag

Having stayed in various hotels in Malta the San Antonio must have the worst TV reception in the area we reported the poor reception during our stay this time and during our last stay but are still waiting for it to be rectified all the other hotels have more channels in English and are better quality when you get bad weather you need the television to watch if they could sort this problem there would be less problems for there guests. As a suggestion i would like to see two chairs in the room instead of sitting on the bed

Review No: 65 by Mrs Walker who stayed here on 04/12/2018 Language Flag

Positively an excellent experience. Staff so friendly and helpful. Interesting selection of food. Room was spacious.Cleaned daily Would recommend without reservation

Review No: 66 by Mr Larsen who stayed here on 01/12/2018 Language Flag

Lovely stay with friendly people and good service. Breakfast buffet fantastic. Good placement near bus terminal. To be used everyday for visits to the island and Gozo

Review No: 67 by Mr Mantle who stayed here on 27/11/2018 Language Flag

Although instructions supplied for journey from airport to hotel if travelling by hire car, the quality of the instructions left a lot to be desired. They took no account of road works, one way systems or Indeed travelling in heavy rain, darkness and traffic congestion. A journey that should have taken 40 mins ended end up close to three hours. Instructions need seriously re looking at. Room ok but disappointed with view over car park. When asked why this room for a DAE client told somebody has to have this room, not an answer I expected from the DAE guest services. With a full hotel which it seemed to be, manic at breakfast, and although food selection great and no complaints with this, the number of guests eating at one time was like feeding time for the masses. Didn't help with several large conferences taking place through the week creating even more disruption. Weather conditions prohibited any sitting round the pool or I need using the pool, but obviously not a problem of the hotel. Seasonal Closures of some of the other restaurants at the hotel restricted choice for dining, therefore eating off site was the option, which we used for the seven day stay, and enjoyed the alternatives. Liked the computerised lifts for floor selection. Car parking acceptable at hotel, but didn't expect to have to pay as a guest. Refurbishment to hotel well spent, as ambiance good, although limited seating in reception, due to number of guests. Same for the evening entertainment, limited seating, unless arrive minimum of 30 mins pre show. Pre purchased Voucher payments for drinks, seems to work well. Generally a good holiday, but guess would be better in the summer months.

Review No: 68 by Mr Bragg who stayed here on 27/11/2018 Language Flag

The db San Antonio Hotel and Spa was a very nice hotel, the staff were very helpful with all questions asked. Rooms were clean, in fact, all areas were clean. Food was very good. My only question about the running of the hotel is, why are there no Maltese housekeeping staff?

Review No: 69 by Mr Thomas who stayed here on 27/11/2018 Language Flag

Db San Antonio is an excellent hotel with great facilities and restaurants. It provides a range of accommodation options and discounted meal benefits. The maid service and staff are friendly & professional, attempting to fully meet guests needs. The location provides good access for Gozo, Mdina, Mosta & Valletta and has a good range of local facilities. All buses are €1.50 for open tickets with 2hr usage windows and the bus station is minutes from the hotel. The walk around the bay to St Paul’s Island is worth it or simply combine catching a bus and walking. The National Aquatic Centre in is also nearby and ok. Good range of local restaurants & takeaways if you want a change. The on-site Spa is worth a visit and offers excellent room discounts for treatments. The Gym is good and well equipped but popular so pick your time well. The indoor pool is small with limited changing space, I think this is the main area for improvement. It’s probably not an issue in season with extensive outdoor pools & an adult only rooftop pool. Our only significant quibble was we stayed in room 177 which, whilst well presented and spacious is above the restaurant and has a waste/drainage access panel in the bedroom by the TV and therefore experienced some noise disturbance. Overall this is an excellent hotel which with minor tweaks could be exceptional. I would imagine it is exceptionally busy in season. We stay late November early December 2018 and found it fairly busy even at this time of year.

Review No: 70 by Mr & Mrs Monaghan who stayed here on 24/11/2018 Language Flag

Very good site and good communication and excellent service

Review No: 71 by Mr & Mrs LAMBERT who stayed here on 20/11/2018 Language Flag

A modern hotel with good facilities, excellent staff and good sized bedroom. Good location near the front and close to shops and bars, a good selection nearby of cafes and restaurants. A varied selection of food at breakfast all very tasty. Only disappointing was poor selection of British TV channels in room.

Review No: 72 by Mr Strauss who stayed here on 13/11/2018 Language Flag

Wi-Fi fell out all the time and had to be re-established. We had problems with the hot water that could not be reached before we had run the water for 5-7 minutes out of the shower - it's a waste of water.

Review No: 73 by Mrs Poplett who stayed here on 13/11/2018 Language Flag

A very pleasant, comfortable 4* hotel in a not particularly interesting part of Malta. The studio room on the 6th floor was spacious, modern and well appointed with daily cleaning and change of towels and linen.Being on a B and B basis, we found the breakfasts to be excellent with a huge choice of cooked options and an impressive continental selection. The outdoor pool looked amazing though the indoor pool was less so being too small for a 600 + bed hotel. We didn't care for being allocated coloured wristbands and having to purchase tokens for drinks at the bar. The hotel is mainly on an all inclusive basis and therefore caters for a certain type of clientele ! A car is not essential as there are frequent bus services mainly to the capital Valletta and tours can be organised to other places of interest such as Gozo and Mdina and Rabat. If you do hire a car however, be aware that the roads are extremely busy and full of huge potholes. Make sure you take out excess insurance cover before hiring any car and take plenty of photographs before driving off. We would recommend Malta as a winter destination with warm days at 18-22 degrees C ( mid November), there is sufficient sightseeing for a week and it is relatively inexpensive to holiday there. If we returned to Malta we would stay in or near Valletta or Mdina but regretfully not in Bugibba where the hotel is situated.

Review No: 74 by Mrs Dando who stayed here on 06/11/2018 Language Flag

Beautiful resort - excellent breakfast buffet - evening meals available in the resort and also large variety and choice a few minutes from the hotel. Only a few yards to bus station and the very cheap fares 1.50€ per journey or 12 journey discounted ticket or 7 day ticket which meant absolutely no need for a car.

Review No: 75 by Mrs Blood who stayed here on 06/11/2018 Language Flag

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff and rooms had excellent quality beds, bathrooms etc.

Review No: 76 by Ms Sheeley who stayed here on 27/10/2018 Language Flag

Stay here for autumn half term, busy but not affecting enjoyment. All staff friendly and helpful (exception tourist agent in reception) as are all Maltese I met. Weather warm but some rain and cloudiness. Restaurant selection is excellent and varies. As an exchange you get only b&b (seems a swizz!) so I upgraded to half board at 16euros per day. Room spacious called a suite but a large room with table and kitchenette, 7th floor with pool /sea view bed dense foam and all furniture of good quality. Small report to toilet cistern quickly repairs. Handy location for sea front (no real beach) and bus station so you can get about by public transport effectively. Indoor pool, gym and sauna ok. Room was not ready on arrival approx. 4pm so had to wait. A few policies a bit restrictive such as drink vouchers only in 5 euro batches and no refund. Better information on what's on for members/owners would help as it take several days to work out ow things work. Other restaurants difficult to get bookings for, but make a nice change.

Review No: 77 by Mr McGough who stayed here on 27/10/2018 Language Flag

Had a lovely week here. Staff were on the whole very friendly. Hotel really clean and light.

Review No: 78 by Mr Twigger who stayed here on 25/09/2018 Language Flag

Excellent hotel.Dont be put off by any negative comments .We were treated very well by all the staff that we met from the cleaners to the excellent bar persons.The accommodation ,food and everything about the property was excellent.I would not hesitate to return and suggest that the people who give negative comments are a waste of space.I did not get a chance to speak to any of the FAR staff as they were always busily engaged

Review No: 79 by Mrs Hoskins who stayed here on 22/09/2018 Language Flag

Highly recommend this resort. Staff friendly and helpful throughout. Was an extra bonus having breakfast thrown in as well and ended up paying 16 euro each per day for half board. This was an extensive buffet, the chance to use the other restaurants on site and house wine and beer included. An exceptional holiday. Would definitely go again if we get the chance.

Review No: 80 by Mr & Mrs Nichols who stayed here on 18/09/2018 Language Flag

We found the San antonio hotel and spa one of the best resorts we have been to. Definitely a 4 star accommodation and service, with very friendly staff throughout the hotel. Good location for visiting other parts of malta. Would certainly recommend this hotel and looking forward to coming again

Review No: 81 by Mr Craigie who stayed here on 08/09/2018 Language Flag

This unit only had shower over bath, the shower head is far too low, needs to be at least 30cm higher. Reception staff are great especially Michael.

Review No: 82 by Mr Stead who stayed here on 04/09/2018 Language Flag

Excellent hotel and amenities,everything about this hotel was superb. In a short walking distance there are numerous restaurants to choose from if you decided to eat out, but the food in the hotel was excellent. Will go to this hotel any time

Review No: 83 by Mr Nelson who stayed here on 04/09/2018 Language Flag

This is our third time at this hotel and would highly recommend it.

Review No: 84 by Signora Bianchi who stayed here on 03/07/2018 Language Flag

Hotel stupendo con personale gentilissimo, appartamento nuovo, grande e molto bello. La struttura è straordinaria, piscine varie ma quella al 10 piano è stupenda, con una vista suggestiva; prima colazione inclusa è ricchissima. Posizione dell'hotel vincente, al centro e soprattutto vicino al capolinea degli autobus , tanto da poter girare Malta con facilità! Ci torneremo di sicuro. Una struttura così bella e comoda rende la vacanza perfetta! Grazie DAE! Ombretta Bianchi

Review No: 85 by Signora Milito who stayed here on 03/07/2018 Language Flag

Resort accogliente ben organizzato con tanti servizi ;abbiamo troscorso una vacanza fantastica speriamo tornarci Presto ; ringrazio la DAE di averci dato questa opportunità.

Review No: 86 by Mr Adamson who stayed here on 30/06/2018 Language Flag

This is a very good hotel and wee enjoyed our stay. Depending on what you are looking for from your you may judge this quite differently . We were lucky to be given a lovely room with a view of the pool and over the bay 5th floor.If you happened to get a street view it's not a quiet or particularly pretty area overall . This is a large and busy hotel but if you plan and work things you can still find quiet areas to chill out ( roof terrace - adult only and cafe Maroc... usually relaxed). The main dining area caters for a large amount of people and does it very well (breakfast was good and had quite a variety) but you have to stand your ground .People are in food mode and are on a mission to get it pretty quickly and sometimes without much thought for others, again if you watch you can find the quieter areas. The main pool area doesn't open till 9 so no towels allowed on loungers at 6.30.. so again plan ahead and you'll get somewhere to relax This is a family hotel so plenty kids having fun so don't expect a silent retreat if that's what your after. The evenings entertainment was of a high calibre overall, excellent signing and dancing shows of various themes ..best I have witnessed in a hotel and usually on for around an hour. POINT OF NOTE.We received a letter from holiday ownership.com when collecting our key. An appointment was booked to meet a chap at the dae lounge We didn't want to attend at that time and I became suspicious that it was a sales meeting . We spoke to a lady (desk at side of main door )to initially change time and also raised the point I under no circumstances wanted a sales talk. She said it was to make sure everything was ok ...when questioned again about selling she said "it might" . She said there would be a letter put through our door....fortunately this never happend. Are D.A.E aware this happening? Would sum up by saying this appears a well run Hotel in an ok area ...and we enjoyed it. Make sure it's what you want !!

Review No: 87 by Mr Douglas who stayed here on 26/06/2018 Language Flag

Although the place was very well kept, I have one complaint about the Air Conditioning in the bedroom. In the reception area it was always nice and cool. However in the Bedroom the average temp. was about 25+c which was far to warm for a comfortable nights sleep. Myself, I would have preferred the temperature to be about 21 - 22c.

Review No: 88 by Mrs Russell who stayed here on 12/06/2018 Language Flag

Hotel staff at this hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. We arrived very late but reception was open 24/7 and we were quickly checked in. Our room was very nice, spotless and comfortable. The only downside was that building works was going on outside our balcony (nothing to do with our hotel) so we couldn't leave the balcony door open as the workman started very early! The pool areas are very clean with plenty of sunbeds. Breakfast was amazing and lots of choice so our day started well. Sadly the skyline of this magical island is one of cranes and building sites which is ruining its charm. That said, the Maltese people are very kind and friendly and hospitable. I have been to Malta many times years ago and the growth of new buildings and hotels is quite overwhelming.

Review No: 89 by Mrs Bradshaw who stayed here on 19/05/2018 Language Flag

I would lie t kno who is ultimately responsible for allocaion or change ing rooms , is it d a e , hallmark or the hotel, 5th one. Malt 3rd time t db sanantonio , we hav a highland lodge at rannoch with excellent accommodation full equipped kitchen for self Cateres etc , previous visits to db have been good like for like accommodation, not on this occasion tho , we were here in Feb and asked if they knew which room we’d b in , told 705 happy with this as we knew this was same standard as we’d had on our 2 previous visit , but we were shown t a room for all inclusive guess and if a much lower standard which stank , humidifier in which tells me hotel knew of problem I asked for different room was shown similar one which didn’t smell by was not of standard we used to and feel we should have had , when we asked wh not 705 as we’d been old in feb and indeed the room shown on our welcome pack from d a e , . D a e blamed hotel , hotel blamed d a e , long story short we were on a wild goose chase for 3 days unable to unpack until the Monday ( wed arrived sat) we had been told we na get room 705 in the tues ? That meant we would’ve been unpacking on the 4h day of a 7 day break which we think is unacceptable so when they said on the mon that we could now stay in the second room we’d been given we decided to do so so we could get settled , however the room had no crockery cutlery glasses etc , why would anyone swap from the standard of accommodation we have to a room with no self catering facilities it’s something that needs to be addressed as we could not get an explanation from either parties at the hotel indeed they denied ever telling us in Feb that we were going. Be put in 705 , very dissapointing

Review No: 90 by Mr & Mrs Kellett who stayed here on 28/04/2018 Language Flag

Everything was good can't wait to go again thanks. Stella and derek.

Review No: 91 by Mrs Holt who stayed here on 28/04/2018 Language Flag

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the staff were both helpful and friendly. The hotel itself far exceeded our expectations, although we disliked the compulsory wrist band arrangement. Breakfasts were amazing and we will definitely be back. Thankyou.

Review No: 92 by Mrs Watters who stayed here on 21/04/2018 Language Flag

Staff friendly and helpful throughout the hotel would return anytime

Review No: 93 by Mrs Prowse who stayed here on 14/04/2018 Language Flag

Very basic apartment. Beds not up to standard. Sofa bed mattress was approx 4” thick and well past its sell by date. Main mattress was also hard and needed exchanging. Complained on two occasions, they put another mattress on top of the other, total disaster.......result very little sleep and a very bad back. For such a nice hotel it is a shame that it was let down by this.

Review No: 94 by Mrs Sharples who stayed here on 07/04/2018 Language Flag

The resort was a good base from which to explore the beautiful and interesting island of Malta. Although the apartment was comfortable and reasonably well appointed, we were very disappointed with it's position. The balcony did not have a sea view and overlooked a building site, which was noisy and operational first thing in the morning. When we asked if there was an alternative, we were told that DAE does the allocations and there is nothing that the resort can do about it. We found that breakfast was included, which was initially a positive surprise, but we tried it once-the dining room was noisy and chaotic and the food inedible, so for us, not much of a perk!

Review No: 95 by Ms Hare who stayed here on 31/03/2018 Language Flag

The Timeshare Units are part of the Hotel. The food in the restaurants is wonderful, with plenty of choice as buffet style except for the Bistro. Daily made service is included and there are no electricity fees. A very relaxing holiday and the Hotel is well placed for sightseeing, being close to the Buggibba Bus Station. Furnishings are modern, with excellent bathroom. Highly recommend this property for visiting Malta.

Review No: 96 by Mr Taylor who stayed here on 06/03/2018 Language Flag

Everything about this resort was terrific . The only thing that let it down in our case was that we were in a room overlooking a building site next door. We were on the third floor so got most of the noise. With the double glazed balcony windows closed, very little could be heard except when they were drilling. But to sit on the balcony was not an option if peace and quiet was required. Fortunately in March the sun never came onto the balcony so we just went out to the sea front, and found a sheltered spot.

Review No: 97 by Mr Smith who stayed here on 27/02/2018 Language Flag

The room allocated was alongside a number of rooms that were being renovated. While there was no significant impact on our room, getting to the room meant walking along a corridor where the smell of sealants, etc was quite noxious. Also, the room overlooked a building site, not the greatest of views. Whilst everyone would like a room with a good view, it is understood that it is impossible to achieve this. However, it is considered that exchange clients are not treated as well as owners within the resort - this was confirmed by the on site sales staff who stated that priority will always be given to owners on the resort. The resort clearly prefers all inclusive guests and uses a non cash system - tokens need to be bought and used in exchange in the bar and coffee shop. These tokens are non-refundable which means that if you have any tokens left at the end of your holiday they are worthless. It may be prudent to warn future exchange guests of this system. On a more positive note, the breakfast was excellent offering a wide range of food. The hotel is well situated within Bugibba close to the waterfront and its many cafes and bars. The hotel is also a very short walk to the Bugibba bus station offering cheap travel to other areas of Malta. Again, exchange clients may find this useful.

Review No: 98 by Mrs Willcox who stayed here on 27/02/2018 Language Flag

The apartment was good but we could not use the balcony as a car park is being built right outside we lay in bed and watched crane putting concrete in so close to our room noisy and dusty in the kitchen area just a microwave and fridge freezer and sink very limited cutlery not even a bread knife we did ask to move but it didn’t happen on the plus side the breakfast was excellent and also the evening shows very professional I am there again end of April with two girlfriends asked for single beds and a better view hope this happens

Review No: 99 by Mr Kay who stayed here on 24/02/2018 Language Flag

Fabulous hotel with great amenities. The staff are freindly. The food and entertainment are excelent. The resort is with in easy reach of the bus station so you can tour the island at your own pace. Would highly reccomend this resort.

Review No: 100 by Mr Whitmarsh who stayed here on 20/02/2018 Language Flag

On arrival the hotel appeared very luxurious and the staff were friendly and helpful. We were given room 177 which was spacious, but dark, cold and we soon found the shower wasn't working. As the holtel was full we were not able to change rooms that day. After much discussion between hotel managers and DAE staff we were eventually moved to room 747 which was a smaller suite, but much brighter and more comfortable. It took up most of a day to achieve the move, however. The hotel is situated in a very convenient location for restaurants, supermarkets the sea and promenade and the bus station, which we found ideal. The hotel also has three restaurants within it and the inclusive breakfast was really excellent. The outdoor pool area is lovely, but it was too cold for us to use it or even sit out, unfortunately. The indoor swimming pool was dire! It was in the basement and was very small, old fashioned and in great need of renovation. We would stay there again but only in April or May, when we should be able to use the outdoor pool area. We understand now that Malta is usually cold and wet in Feb/March.

Review No: 101 by Mr Robertson who stayed here on 30/01/2018 Language Flag

We have just recently returned from the San Antonio Hotel & Spa. We had an enjoyable week and the hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfasts which were included in our timeshare week had something for everyone - fresh fruit, breads, cooked food, pastries, cereals etc., and everything was warm and fresh. Entertainment provided nightly for anyone wanting to go. Plenty of places to eat nearby the hotel, you must try the pea pastries (they are available in the hotel bistro) but just a few doors up from the hotel you can get these fresh for only 30 cents - a bargain. Will definately return to this timeshare exchange and can highly recommend to anyone wanting to visit this hotel.

Review No: 102 by Mrs Hughes who stayed here on 27/01/2018 Language Flag

Hotel location close to promenade with restaurants, couple of bars close by. Cafe and Bistro restaurant in the hotel very good. We were bed and breakfast and good choices of food, clean. Tables bit close together, like big canteen but staff friendly, however wouldnt like to be around in the busy season. Common areas inside and out were spotless. Felt reception staff could have been more helpful - asked for extra large bath towel, still waiting; complained twice about behaviour of a extremely large football group of boys from Sweden and their noise in corridors and rooms - nothing done. Room location difficult most balconies set in, for many no sun, although good views.

Review No: 103 by Mr Limmack who stayed here on 20/01/2018 Language Flag

This was a studio-type unit in a large hotel in Bugibba, St. Pauls Bay. A buffet-style breakfast was provided as part of the booking and upgrade to all-inclusive was possible at a reasonable price if required. For those who did not intend to travel outside the immediate area this was very good value. The hotel itself was pleasant and in a decent location, close to the sea and bus station (if required). Very helpful staff and reasonable facilities in unit. There was an extensive buffet breakfast of good quality with plenty of space for guests. The only dinner we ate there was in the Moroccan/Indian restaurant which provided a buffet facility of good quality and excellent value (drinks included). The only slight 'gripe' about the room was the absence of comfortable seating but there was sufficient seating in the lounge. No waiting for lifts due to an up-to-date system. St. Paul's Bay itself looked a bit rundown although this might be a function of the timing of our visit(winter). Cheap local bus service available nearby into Valetta. Mdina, Gozo etc at a terminus point so would generally guarantee a seat.

Review No: 104 by Mr Newton who stayed here on 20/01/2018 Language Flag

Very good hotel with excellent breakfast. Bus terminal nearby and good restaurants. Not all the restaurants in the hotel were open so we ate out which was fine. Good mobility access including charging point for mobility scooter. Some lifts do not go to the lower ground floor or swimming pool so you have to ask the staff first to use the right ones. Would recommend the hotel

Review No: 105 by Mr Marshall who stayed here on 06/01/2018 Language Flag

We had previously stayed at the San Antonio Hotel in September, but on half board which was much better. On this occasion as it was an exchange we were only offered Bed & Breakfast which was a swizzle as our banked weeks were half board. The Hotel was obviously far less crowded in January, and the weather although pleasant was a lot cooler than during the season and the pool area remained unused but well maintained. The food selection offered at breakfast was superb, with so many wonderful options. Eating out each evening was a bind and quite expensive over the course of the week, the room was very nice and the balcony overlooked both the pool and had a sea view. Overall we enjoyed our stay, but would not go in January again and would only go back on half board. As previously stated the banked week at this hotel was for half board and we felt cheated that Dial Exchange only offered us B & B accommodation.

Review No: 106 by Mr Favell who stayed here on 06/01/2018 Language Flag

This is a huge aparthotel with good sized rooms, good bathrooms and basic kitchen facilities. The front rooms have nice sea views from their balconies, but sun only on one side all day in winter - might be better in summer. Lovely pools, but too cold in January and a very chlorinated indoor pool. We had a nice sunny room, but unfortunately there was an extraction pipe running behind the bed and bathroom which was working all night, so very little sleep. We managed to get it turned off once only, so asked to change rooms, which we did to a quieter smaller one for our last three nights, but no sun! Breakfast was quite good, but we were glad not to be half board, as there some very good and reasonable restaurants nearby. The hotel was about half full, but seemed quite busy, so I would imagine it's pretty noisy and crowded when full. Not nearly as good as the much smaller Diamond Club Calypso in Lanzarote, where we were in November!

Review No: 107 by Mr Finlayson who stayed here on 02/01/2018 Language Flag

Central hotel, near bus station with good routes. Hotel was lovely, with clean comfortable facilities.

Review No: 108 by Mr Howe who stayed here on 23/12/2017 Language Flag

Superb stay at this most comfortable hotel, I particularly liked the friendly staff, a number of whom I knew from a previous stay. The apartments are spotlessly clean with daily maid service, choice of hotel restaurants is good as is the hotel location, few minutes from the bus station to get you to all parts of the Island and plenty of shops and restaurants nearby should you wish to dine out. They laid on a variety of entertainment for us over the Christmas holiday, a band, a choir and dancers and I am always impressed when the General Manager Mr Dingli is visible in all parts of the hotel and available to all guests Although the weather was not good over the holiday period, this was more than made up for by the warmth, friendliness and hospitality in the hotel. I thoroughly enjoyed my holiday and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel...............I just might be looking to do it all over again next Christmas!.

Review No: 109 by Mrs Owen who stayed here on 23/12/2017 Language Flag

This was the very best hotel I have ever had the privilege to stay in as a timeshare swap. I would recommend db San Antonio to anyone wanting to go to Malta for a holiday. Staff are above average with helpfulness. There's something to see and do every evening so you don't get bored. Really loved this place and will defo go again.

Review No: 110 by Mr & Mrs Mikkelson who stayed here on 16/12/2017 Language Flag

We had a lovely time at this resort.Thank you to the owner for their hospitality very much appreciated.We were on a breakfast rate in this all inclusive resort and really enjoyed it .Thank you.We bought bus passes 21 euros each that gave us island wide travel via the bus station next door.We also booked Heritage passes cheaply and visited all the amazing Heritage sites on Malta and Gozo We also enjoyed all the bars and late night entertainment like the Elvis Tributes which were a laugh Great to do all the tourist fantastic history things in the day and chill out in the bars at night Booked to go back already

Review No: 111 by Mr Dooley who stayed here on 02/12/2017 Language Flag

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at the San Antonio hotel in Malta. It far exceeded our expectations and was in a great location for using the buses. We opted to pay extra for half board and this was such great value particularly as breakfast was already included. The food was excellent and the option to use three other smaller restaurants on site was a bonus. The Tagine was particularly good. The apartment was very good but only had a microwave for cooking so was limited. Tea and coffee were provided together with a kettle. Items were replenished every day. The apartment was serviced every day also. Activities were taking place almost every day although only a few participants at some. The Animation team were friendly and always enthusiastic. One minor thing to do with the apartment was that it had an adjoining door to another room. (presumably to make it bigger for a larger party.) The sound carried through the door and we were unlucky enough to have someone next door who never seemed to leave the room and constantly had the television on. It was only a problem when we would have liked a bit of quiet and normally most people would have not been in the room all the time!! When we had our television on, it was not a problem. We would recommend this hotel highly and would not hesitate to return!

Review No: 112 by Mrs Hurley who stayed here on 25/11/2017 Language Flag

Good resort within easy access of shops, restaurants bus station etc. Although the apartment was well equipped there was no information on using DVD player, microwave or finding an English news program on the TV. We had to get a maintenance man to come to show us how. The balcony was very small with a high concrete rail so it was like sitting in a box !! Not that the view would have been worth seeing anyway as we directly overlooked a busy building site. Not the relaxing quiet holiday that we were expecting.

Review No: 113 by Mr & Mrs Gronset who stayed here on 24/11/2017 Language Flag

A pleasant and well run hotel with very helpful and pleasant staff. It has been recently renovated and is of a good standard. The included buffet breakfast offered an extensive range of food of good quality. Apart from a micro wave oven there were no cooking facilities in the apartment but the hotel has four restaurants and there are plenty more in the surrounding area. Anyone considering staying here should be aware that although only 15 km from Valletta the bus takes nearly one hour because the roads are so congested with traffic. If you want to stay mainly in the resort that’s fine, but if like us, you want to travel around most days to the many interesting places on the island, a more centrally situated hotel might be more convenient.

Review No: 114 by Mr Banton who stayed here on 21/11/2017 Language Flag

NOT TIMESHARE AS WE KNOW IT! If you want an all inclusive resort that has minimalist accommodation, then this could be for you. If, however, you like to do your own thing, relaxing in comfort, with some privacy, and full cooking facilities, it definitely is not. We were allocated apt 728, a spacious I bed unit with king size bed, adequate wardrobes, with sea and pool view balcony off. Living space had round dining table and 4 chairs, wardrobe, sofa bed and tv/dvd.Kitchen had sink, kettle fridge and microwave. Also had a balcony. The orientation of the hotel meant that neither balcony had sun at any time. The bathroom was well presented with separate shower cubicle in addition to overbath unit. The downside was actually getting hot water...it was there, and it was very hot once it finally arrived, it took 15minutes on one occasion, and although complaints brought out the handyman and a lot of waffle, it remained inconsistent throughout the fortnight, which brings me back to the beginning at reception 'you can pay your second weeks eco tax when you move' Moving for the second week had not been mentioned in correspondence with DAE, not good enough having to spend 30 minutes going through paperwork after a full days travelling, went all you want is a nice hot bath!

Review No: 115 by Mrs Case who stayed here on 21/11/2017 Language Flag

The Db San Antonio Hotel was of a very High standard The food was of a great variety very good standard if a little too complex of sauces. However having four restaurants make this an interesting place to eat We had a problem with the booking originally but once sorted out and upgrading from B&B to Half Board gave us the chance of enjoying good evening meals without searching outside.

Review No: 116 by Mr & Mrs Meaney who stayed here on 18/11/2017 Language Flag

Very satisfied with all of the above .the only downside for me was having banked our week with you for last year package banked was half board plus then when we arrived we were asked to upgrade to half board.I would have expected having banked a week it would have been like for like obviously not.

Review No: 117 by Mrs Sullivan who stayed here on 18/11/2017 Language Flag

The San Antonio is a lovely hotel which caters for all needs. The food in the restaurant was very good with a wide choice for breakfast (this was included in the exchange). The bed was massive and very comfortable, although if you don't like a firm bed then you would be disappointed. We would definitely return to this resort as it was very near to all the relevant amenities we were looking for. The hotel staff could not have been more accommodating. The weather was brilliant which made our stay very relaxing. If you like to use public transport then the 21 euro bus card is a must as you can use it as many times as you like for a week.

Review No: 118 by Mr Banton who stayed here on 14/11/2017 Language Flag

Not for us! This was our last exchange, and unfortunately, it was far from the best. Lets start with the check-in...it took two members of staff and an older gentleman I took to be the manager to perform what should have been a simple operation. We arrived a day 'late' and were leaving a day early, emailed to the resort and confirmed. More confusion was created by 'someone' not advising us that we would be moving apartments for the second week, which was not something we were keen on doing - we don't travel light! After much discussion regarding this and how to cope with the eco tax, we were assured that someone would confirm the outcome. We were allocated 728, a 1 bed unit in the south west corner of the north facing 'U' shaped complex, with two balconies, the black hole, off the lounge, facing the opposite wing, and one with sea and pool views off the bedroom, each with small table and two chairs. Due to the orientation, the sun never shone on either balcony. The unit was minimalist in the extreme, kitchen we were aware was not for cooking, brew kits replaced daily, when room cleaned, Telephone and free safe, were good points, as was king size bed, and UK sockets. What was not good was the water temperature, it took up to twenty minutes of running all taps and shower to get it hot - first complaint - that's what you need to do! second complaint - it must need bleeding, third complaint, its because the hotel is not full. On the plus side, the buffet breakfast was very good, spoiled slightly by some illogical siting of items causing confusion, and oh! the noise, not helped by a low ceiling. The location is very convenient for local restaurants and the bus station, and close to easy walking on the prom. The main issue seems to be that the hotel tries to cover too many bases, with ageing locals milling about, events taking place, significant influx of bodies at the weekends, and wall to wall sunbeds round the unheated pools.

Review No: 119 by Mr & Mrs Kerr who stayed here on 11/11/2017 Language Flag

First class hotel and resort.stayed in a one bed apartment which had separate sitting/ dining/ mini kitchen area. Only microwave, fridge and sink but the excellent free breakfast more than compensated for that. Full daily room service. It was first class as was the evening entertainment. So professional. Full programme of activities during the day available. We were always out during the day so can't comment further. Used room service twice in the eve. Quick and tasty. We'd a really wet day. Found a quaint cinema within walking distance showing current releases in English. Think it was called the empire cinema. So cheap for film and you can take wine into Cinema in Coca-Cola disposable cups. It too was as cheap as chips. Having read reviews of the hotel before we went I was concerned about the noise from the building works in front of our accommodation. Pleased to say it didn't affect/disturb us at all. We ate in the Indian/ Moroccan restaurant within the hotel - excellent. 10% reduction for B and B guests. Could wax lyrical about the actual hotel but as I broke my elbow in Malta, and it's the hand I type with, I'm going to stop now ( first class service provided by the hospital too!). Fantastic value for money, first class hotel. Very happy to recommend.

Review No: 120 by Mrs Schuster who stayed here on 11/11/2017 Language Flag

As an appendix to the information available I would point out that there is evening stage entertainment and the dancers/singers/acrobats are top artists so dress up and enjoy. Although the hotel is large, there are 6 elevators which are programmed for efficiency. The restaurants are excellent and offer buffet meals at € 20 per person if you make your reservation on the device in the lobby in time. As a big MINUS for us was that in the timeshare exchange room 275 we heard every scrape of the chairs in the Gueliz restaurant - from breakfast until 23:00 - torture!

Review No: 121 by Mrs Harkness who stayed here on 04/11/2017 Language Flag

first class timeshare with excellent facilities with one potential BIG problem.one bedroom units all have double bed with no option to split into twin beds. no problem if you travel with a partner.I travelled with a friend. hotel made up sofa bed in the lounge but not until we complained.bed comfortable but heavy. this meant we had no lounge area for whole vacation.large percentage of units despite sea view get no sunshine on the balconies..

Review No: 122 by Mr Pirt who stayed here on 31/10/2017 Language Flag

We were tagged on arrival with a wristband. However we cut the tags off after one night and no one objected or queried why. The apartment was clean and tidy and very nice but a little light on furnishings. It was all a little too clinical and lacked the personal touch that a smaller place would give. I can' t really fault the place but ???????

Review No: 123 by Mrs Peat who stayed here on 28/10/2017 Language Flag

This is a lovely hotel but huge and very busy and noisy. It is very suitable for families and groups and the rooms are large and well appointed. Being middle aged with grown up children we made the mistake of going in half term week and can only imagine that it is much quieter at other times. The main restaurant for breakfast is very large and noisy but the food is good and you can help yourself to whatever you want. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout the hotel and it is well positioned to use the local buses and for restaurants and shops.

Review No: 124 by Mrs Matthews who stayed here on 24/10/2017 Language Flag

This result hotel has lots to offer with a good chose of restaurants and bars onsite. There are also several pools and pools bars. It’s in a busy tourist area and very close to the bus station so it’s easy to get around the island.
Please Wait
Please Wait