Customer reviews for "The Lakeland Village"

There are 41 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr & Mrs Lloyd who stayed here on 16/06/2019 Language Flag

Very good resort with excellent leisure facilities and helpful staff.

Review No: 2 by Mr & Mrs Balfour who stayed here on 19/05/2019 Language Flag

Thoroughly delightful spot with good access to the Lakes and other attractions.

Review No: 3 by Mr Cobley who stayed here on 12/05/2019 Language Flag

The Lakeland Village is in a great location for the southern lakes with all attractions close by and easy to access. The resort its self is situated on the River Leven in a very attractive setting with easy access to the Lakeland Motor Museum which is worth a visit, as is its cafe which is excellent. The resort itself is well maintained with staff tending the gardens daily and the cottages themselves are spotlessly clean. There are a few negatives, the cottages are tired and really in need of complete refurbishment and the dark wood combined with dark carpets give a dark feel that desperately needs lifting. I guess its a common timeshare problem of how to keep things fresh and modern within the constraints of the maintenance fee and this resort certainly suffers from that. The A590 runs alongside the cottages and is a very busy road at all hours, and whilst the road noise inside the cottages is contained by the double glazing, it's very evident once you step outside, and if you sit on the patio, then its a constant soundtrack that you have to get used to. Finally, there was a old caravan parked across from the cottages that's lived in and we found this rather strange! Also, whilst the resort is dog friendly, the adjoining hotel isn't which is a real shame as you're not able to use it and there's a distinct absence of dog litter bins for a dog friendly resort. In summary, great location but average quality of cottages.

Review No: 4 by Mrs Henderson who stayed here on 06/04/2019 Language Flag

Just had a wonderful holiday at the Lakeland Village. The cottages are so comfortable and well maintained. The staff are very attentive if anything extra is required. The setting is beautiful with the river and the steam train passing by. Three generations of my family love coming here and want to book again for next year!

Review No: 5 by Mrs Smith who stayed here on 10/03/2019 Language Flag

This is a really nice unit and is situated close to many attractions. The problem with our unit was it was only 10 feet or so from the river and this raged through our entire stay and became white noise that could not be blocked out so this became a problem at night when trying to sleep. There had been heavy weather at the time so perhaps it was greater than normal but I think this could be a fast channeled river at the best of times. The unit was very cold on entering and felt like it had not been heated in a long time and took two days to warm. A man came and showed us how to use the timer and was very helpful, we are quite cold people and once it had warmed it was very adequate. There are dogs on site which was not a problem to us but may be to others.

Review No: 6 by Mr Nixon who stayed here on 03/03/2019 Language Flag

This is a lovely place and have every thing we needed for a quiet week away. The only facilities we used was the Friday evening Fish and chips for £9:95 - excellent! Our only quibble is the suite in the living room of Apt 47. In particular, settee is not comfortable. This does not greatly detract from what is lovely accommodation.

Review No: 7 by Mr Michie who stayed here on 09/02/2019 Language Flag

A really fantastic resort in a beautiful location. We would definitely return. The accommodation was immaculate, very well equipped and far exceeded expectations.

Review No: 8 by Mrs Sharkey who stayed here on 18/11/2018 Language Flag

Lovely accommodation, very we kept. Everything we needed. Area good. Would go again.

Review No: 9 by Mr Benton who stayed here on 27/10/2018 Language Flag

We were very pleased with accommodation and facilities on this well laid out site situated in a beautiful location. The staff we met were very helpful and friendly and we look forward to visiting again next year if possible.

Review No: 10 by Mr Marshall who stayed here on 07/10/2018 Language Flag

Overall this was a good swap. The lakeland village offered decent accommodation in a good position for the South and central Lakes area. The style of the rooms is slightly dated but everywhere was spotlessly clean. All the rooms were of decent size especially the lounge area and the view over the river was very pleasant. There was an informative welcome meeting (with wine!) which told you all you needed to know if this was first visit and we felt at all times that the staff were accessible and willing to help. The adjacent hotel (not actually part of the Lakeland village) offers a bar and restaurant and spa/pool/gym complex. We didnt try the restaurant but the bar area was ok without being exceptional. Food was good with offers on most nights that gave a drink/meal for about £12, but the atmosphere was a bit lacking. The spa etc was very good and offered a pool that you could swim lengths as well as a decent gym. The only drawback perhaps is that if you wanted to go to say Newby Bridge/Lakeside or other local pubs then you have to drive, taxis are hard to come by and there are no locally based providers. There is a bus service that runs but its very limited in the evenings.

Review No: 11 by Mr Davies who stayed here on 30/09/2018 Language Flag

Fantastic place suited our needs perfect. Enjoyed our stay. Week went too quick.

Review No: 12 by Mr & Mrs Richardson who stayed here on 22/09/2018 Language Flag

Lakeland Village is situated in an interesting location with views of the River Leven and the steam Railway. Lots of other amenities around the area, some within short walking distance. The properties and grounds are extremely well managed and it is always a pleasure to stay in Lakeland Village. We look forward to returning.

Review No: 13 by Mr Munton who stayed here on 08/09/2018 Language Flag

First impressions mean a lot to us - and first impressions at Lakeland Village were excellent. We were in cottage 6. Richard the manager checked us in and even came to our cottage to show us where all the switches were etc etc. The cottage was on 3 levels with magnificent views overlooking the River Leven. It had a west facing patio and also a balcony off the main bedroom, so great for a glass of wine in the late afternoon sunshine. There was dedicated parking for one car but plenty of other parking spaces. We had access to Cascades Health Club so a swim, steam and sauna was welcome every morning. Unfortunately the Whitewater Hotel next door is not dog friendly but there is an excellent village pub called the Anglers Arms about a 15 minute walk away that does excellent pub grub and is dog friendly. Lakeland Village is an excellent base for exploring the South Lakes. This was one of the best timeshare exchanges we have had in 20 years of ownership. Thankyou very much to Richard and Dial an Exchange.

Review No: 14 by Mr & Mrs Fleetwood who stayed here on 26/08/2018 Language Flag

The resort is in a lovely area outstanding views and close to shopping Ulverton is 7 miles from resort with 2 market days and good selection of shops. plenty of attractions to suit all ages.

Review No: 15 by Mr Spencelayh who stayed here on 07/07/2018 Language Flag

Lovely relaxing break, used the pool a few times and the dolly blue bar, both very good. Spa treatments available with 20% off if booked early. Weather was outstanding as the dry spell continued, used the BBQ and wood for a log fire, despite the heat! Well equipped kitchen. Very picturesque setting, welcome team very good and knowledgeable. Lots to do in the area. We would love to go back. Downside from our point of view in apartment 2, bearing in mind we had all the doors and windows open - Resort quite close to the A590 so there was quite a lot of traffic noise. Very close to the local boarding kennels, dogs got quite excited around feeding times, so lots of barking. Other apartments might be better placed.

Review No: 16 by Mr Lovesey who stayed here on 10/06/2018 Language Flag

Staff were helpful beyond the call of duty. Unit was spotless like new. Can highly recommend it.

Review No: 17 by Mr Clark who stayed here on 02/06/2018 Language Flag

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Lakeland Village. The cottage we had was excellent and the Sunday welcome meeting pointed us in the direction of 2 trips which we took and which were first class-especially the 10 lakes bus tour!

Review No: 18 by Mr Wallis who stayed here on 11/03/2018 Language Flag

Excellent resort for accessibility to all areas of Lakes. Many attractions within immediate area. Site facilities adequate. Cottage very spacious and comfortable. After two exchanges in different units, would gladly return many times. Niall, John and Elizabeth Wallis

Review No: 19 by Mr Jackson who stayed here on 10/03/2018 Language Flag

The property is easy to find and in a convenient location. There are dedicated parking spaces, one per unit that are separate from the hotel. We were on the 4th floor, although most units are situated either side of the river. The weather during our stay, which was early March was cold and wet. The bar food was very good and reasonably priced. We did not eat in the restaurant as the menu wasn’t to our liking.

Review No: 20 by Mrs Marks who stayed here on 03/03/2018 Language Flag

comfortable accommodation in lovely surroundings. Easily accessible from the motorway.

Review No: 21 by Mr Donaghey-Liddle who stayed here on 17/02/2018 Language Flag

We have stayed here before and will certainly stay again. The hotel staff were friendly and courteous as always. The lodge itself was lovely although sadly we had one on the few that wasn’t on the riverside but that didn’t spoil anything at all. Locally there is plenty to do and access to fairly easy walks right on the doorstep. The restaurant in the Whitewater Hotel was excellent. The food is exceptional and the staff the same. We had the three course meal at a very reasonable price (definitely recommend the lamb rump). Overall a very nice resort with plenty to do and friendly staff.

Review No: 22 by Mrs Hughes who stayed here on 20/01/2018 Language Flag

Lovely dog friendly accommodation.The staff are extremely helpful nothing too much trouble Been to this resort many times and always enjoy staying there. The gym and pool at the leisure centre are excellent the only disappointment is the showers in the changing rooms. Definitely recommend staying at this resort

Review No: 23 by Mrs Michie who stayed here on 09/12/2017 Language Flag

Great resort. Cottage no. 3. has great garden space for the summer months and a lovely view over the river. Spacious and comfortable accommodation, though if staying in the colder winter months take up the offer of wood or coal for the open fire. Our only complaint would be that the cottage hadn’t been heated in advance of us arriving, meaning we spent the first evening feeling very cold (we hadn’t ordered wood/coal). Once we got the fire going along with the heating we were very cosy. (We did visit in the coldest week of the year, so far). The leisure facilities were very good. Would definitely go back. Make sure you visit the lovely village of Cartmel

Review No: 24 by Mrs Daniell who stayed here on 19/11/2017 Language Flag

lovely place to stay,relaxing although there were floods around the area.Also I was unable to use the pool as I was unwell,trying to recover from a car accident.It was lovely having the car museum on site,very interesting.I would recommend this place.

Review No: 25 by Mr & Mrs Holmberg who stayed here on 28/10/2017 Language Flag

The position of our unit was excellent with views of the river and a waterfall from all bedrooms and the lounge. In particular we left a fur jacket behind by mistake and the staff notified us that it had been found and returned it very quickly. Three days after leaving the site we received it back in Essex.

Review No: 26 by Dr Cheverton who stayed here on 08/10/2017 Language Flag

Lakeland Village is an excellent base from which to enjoy the Lake District. Set south of Windermere, just out of the National Park, on the banks of the River Levens, the resort consists of a collection of whitewashed chalets on the banks of the River Levens, with Cascades - a Leisure Centre with swimming pool and spa- and Whitewater Hotel which has a bar and restaurant open to village residents. The chalets are beautifully clean and very well equipped. Nearby there is a Car Museum and the Haverthwaite Railway, and we managed some pleasant local walks, but you really need a car to access the delights of Windermere and the Lake District National Park to the north, or to explore south - including Holker Hall, Cartmel and Ravenglass.

Review No: 27 by Dr Taylor who stayed here on 20/08/2017 Language Flag

We enjoyed our holiday thankyou - however we had 2 items of food and beverages on our bill ( total £64-31p.) that that was nothing to do with us. Although the receptionist knocked it off the bill, I wasn't convinced that she believed me, even though she said she did.I contacted you this morning and you assured me it is nothing to worry about but I would still like an explanation, to stop me worrying, how this came about. An explanation would have been helpful from the receptionist at the time, she only said that she had no paperwork and made no attempt to find out more,I just don't want people to think that I am lying. It was surely something that should have been resolved there and then. ( I think me and my husband would have had to be very hungry and thirsty to spend all that money before lunch time and then go to Coniston and have another lunch at 12-15 !!!!!!) We stayed in apartment 39, Yours sincerely, Susan Taylor.

Review No: 28 by Miss Davidson who stayed here on 25/06/2017 Language Flag

A well equipped lodge suitable for 5 people. A vast improvement on the Lakeside lodge in Ambleside which should not be used for more than 5 people.

Review No: 29 by Mr Storey who stayed here on 24/06/2017 Language Flag

This was undoubtedly one of the best resorts we have stayed in. We have literally no negative comments to make. Staff were so helpful and friendly. Position of cottage excellent, being near to numerous walks and places of interest. Would most definately visiit again.

Review No: 30 by Mr Stanley who stayed here on 18/06/2017 Language Flag

This was our first visit to Lakeland Village and we were very impressed. We had a perfect week weather wise and the cottage was situated with a terrace & garden overlooking the river. The quality of the furnishings & accessories was very good & most seemed to be new. We did not use the restaurant or The Dolly Blue Bar but they looked very nice. The staff at The Whitewater Hotel were very helpful. Would certainly be happy to stay here again.

Review No: 31 by Mrs Camburn who stayed here on 11/06/2017 Language Flag

Much care given to anticipate the needs of the visitors

Review No: 32 by Dr & Mrs Winton who stayed here on 10/06/2017 Language Flag

We had a very enjoyable time at Lakeland Village and found the holiday accommodation cottage 22 comfortable in a nice setting with easy access for touring the Lake District. The bedrooms were a little dated but otherwise everything was fine. Although the place could accommodate 6 with a pull down bed, I would say it was ideal for 2 - 4 guests but no more. There is no shortage of places to visit including the steam train ride to Lakeside and ferry crossing over to Bowness - this was a great day out. We took advantage of the offer provided by the Whitewater Hotel of having 3 dinners and 3 breakfast in their dining room or bistro bar. This struck a nice balance between eating in and dining out. We also made a booking through the resort for 'Sail and Dine' which was was absolutely fabulous. We were collected from the resort, taken to Bowness on Lake Windermere where we boarded a small yacht with another 2 couples for an evening sail, then we anchored for a most enjoyable dinner with drinks, sailed back and then driven back to our resort. John, the owner of Sail and Dine was the ideal host who catered for everyone - it was a spectacular night and would highly recommend it without hesitation.

Review No: 33 by Mr Gair who stayed here on 16/04/2017 Language Flag

A relaxing quiet location that offered the opportunity to explore the southern lakes and provided a base from which to walk, drive and generally explore the local area

Review No: 34 by Mr Waterman who stayed here on 25/03/2017 Language Flag

Very warm, helpful reception on arrival. Delightful cottage right on riverside with private terrace and balcony. Well equipped and good quality furnishings in unit. Log fire. Quiet location, near main hotel with all amenities, including attractive "Dolly Blue Bar2 with terrace on river. Recommended.

Review No: 35 by Mr Doidge who stayed here on 25/02/2017 Language Flag

My wife and I had the pleasure of occupying Apt 17 within the main hotel bldg. The apt was first class and worthy of the 4* rating. Would highly recommend this property.

Review No: 36 by Mrs Smith who stayed here on 18/02/2017 Language Flag

Our first visit to Lakeland village. Impressed at size of the 1bed sleep 4 (no9) apartment. This apt did not have a view of river, but as we visited in February 2017 for 3nights only, and weather was cold and wet, we weren't too disappointed. Dolly blue bar nice and cosy, meals really nice and staff very friendly. Other larger bars quite nice - although a bit on quiet side- probably due to low season. Didn't have time to use the good size swimming pool, or jacuzzi, sauna, or gym and table tennis. Backbarrow nice and handy for newby bridge -recommend lunch/dinner at The Swan, and afternoon tea at Lakeside ( for special treat)

Review No: 37 by Mr Dearnley who stayed here on 14/01/2017 Language Flag

Very impressed with this property it was well provided and cared for We would be very pleased to return

Review No: 38 by Mrs Sanderson who stayed here on 29/12/2016 Language Flag

A lovely setting next to the river rapids at the White water hotel. Lots of pride in the history of the area as previously mill and Dolly Blue detergent factory. Transport museum and railway nearby. Had a nice walk up the Massick Heights (the hill above the resort) with views over Countryside to Morcome Bay. Pool, sauna, steam room and hot tubs all in good clean working order. There is a beauty salon too. We missed out on the New Year's Eve Gala as full booked, but bar with good food was still available. Afternoon tea looked amazing. Cider was £4 a pint. Our apartment unit 28 had an open fire, which was wonderful. Fuel from the resort is very reasonably priced, cheaper than Asda. If I have one criticism, it is that the kitchen unit doors are due a Refurb. They are designer Poggenpohl quality, but beginning to look dated and shabby, although it was clean. The rest of the place looks recently Refurbished. We have stayed before and will be back. A great place to base your holiday.

Review No: 39 by Mrs Watson who stayed here on 22/12/2016 Language Flag

We stayed in a two bedroom cottage for Christmas week and right from first contact staff seemed keen to go the extra mile to make our stay perfect. We were able to exchange our allocated unit in advance for a dog friendly cottage which had a small garden (with patio and garden furniture) running down to the river bank. The cottages were flooded last Christmas but have been refurbished to a good standard including installation of a pull down (murphy) bed in the dining area. We loved having the real fire in the open plan lounge/diner/kitchen. It was the little touches that made the difference - full size fridge/freezer, TV on swivel arm so it could be seen from all areas of the living area, plenty of cutlery and crockery and even tupperware for pack-ups and picnics. Staff brought a child gate so we could ensure the dog stayed downstairs in the hall overnight and torches made early morning and late night dog walks easier. We loved being able to walk 300 yards up the road to a path into the forestry where a short steep climb brought you out into open views over Morecambe Bay. The gym was adequate and the pool warm. There was a lack of private changing areas at the pool especially when a man walked into the ladies! We did not go to the hotel bar but enjoyed the welcome reception and quiz in the coach house which also had a range of books, games, jigsaws and DVDs available to borrow for free. The garage at Newby Bridge stocks all the basics you need to get you started on your holiday foodwise. Locally there is so much to see and do though a car is needed. For a short walk with spectacular views over Windermere, Gummers How is just five minutes drive away. Ulverston has plenty of good dining options without the touristy mark-ups!

Review No: 40 by Mr Wallis who stayed here on 22/12/2016 Language Flag

Excellent resort, would gladly return many times. Very easy travelling to all areas of Lakes , many attractions in immediate area. Mr and Mrs Wallis,West Midlands

Review No: 41 by Mrs Riva who stayed here on 19/11/2016 Language Flag

After reading reviews prior to checking in I was very much looking forward to arriving & receiving a warm welcome. Reception staff not at all interested & felt as if checking in was an inconvenience. However things improved the accommodation was absolutely brilliant. The leisure centre staff were delightful, friendly and professional. A wonderful week despite the somewhat shaky start.
Please Wait
Please Wait