Customer reviews for "The Lakeland Village"

There are 37 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr Cobley who stayed here on 05/09/2020 Language Flag

The Lakeland Village is a tired timeshare resort that really needs a face lift to bring it up to the level expected in today’s world. The dark wood and carpets really are uninviting and give a dark feel to the cottages. The bathrooms have been upgraded, as have the kitchen which has had new work surface and doors, leaving the original carcass in place. That said, it was spotlessly clean, the electricity was inexpensive and the location is brilliant for the southern lakes. It’s comfortable for two or a small family With car parking right outside your door. The views of the river are ever changing right outside your windows and its very dog friendly. In summary, tired but I’d happily go back.

Review No: 2 by Mr Tizick who stayed here on 22/08/2020 Language Flag

The five of us had a really nice holiday. We had Apartment 10 which was incorporated into the hotel. All the rooms were generous in size and all furniture and equipment excellent with plenty of storage room. Fridge, Dishwasher and Double Oven all used by us and easy to use. Didn't use the washing machine. There was plenty of room in the kitchen and lots of cupboard space. The shower was very small however. The view from the apartment was lovely - couldn't have wished for a better view of the river and waterfall. When we needed help with the key-safe on arrival the manager came promptly and Housekeeping likewise when we needed them. Never had to wait long for the lift and parking is good. Lovely pool and hot-tub. We enjoyed our stay - the apartment was nice to go back to after our days out. The only negative was the positioning of the key-safe - it was in a dark corner and too high, it could quite easily have been lower and nearer to a light.

Review No: 3 by Mr Brown who stayed here on 15/08/2020 Language Flag

Not our first visit to this resort, but always a delight. The staff were excellent, despite having to cope with the Covid -19 situation. Everywhere was spotless and the social distancing provisions, were well-planned and executed. The hotel's formal restaurant, offered an excellent dining experience on my birthday, with a lovely menu and good selection of wines. I thought very good value in terms of price, for the quality of the food and ambience. This resort is well located to explore the delights of the Lake District and worth a visit.

Review No: 4 by Mr Johnston who stayed here on 01/08/2020 Language Flag

Very comfortable, well maintained accommodation, in a delightful part of England.

Review No: 5 by Mr Jones who stayed here on 12/07/2020 Language Flag

We arrived the second week after lockdown easing and unfortunately only the rental properties had been opened up. No on-site facilities were open and along with remote check-in and check-out we are unable to comment on the resort as a whole. Accommodation in our two bedroom cottage was adequate. Although presented in a clean condition it would definitely have benefited from new furnishings, carpets and a brighter coat of paint. Due to the current situation only emergencies would be attended to during our stay, so the problems we reported in both bathrooms would be investigated on our departure.

Review No: 6 by Mrs Scott Cordingley who stayed here on 11/07/2020 Language Flag

We really enjoyed our week at this lovely resort. Things were a bit different due to COVID19 but our stay was still pleasant. Apartment 10 is a great unit and will we definitely return.

Review No: 7 by Mr & Mrs Farrell who stayed here on 08/03/2020 Language Flag

Very good accommodation nicely situated have been before would definitely recommended,location ideal for sight seeing.

Review No: 8 by Mr & Mrs Mendham who stayed here on 15/02/2020 Language Flag

We had a one bedroom ground floor apartment which unfortunately looked over a car park, not good. The apartment was within the hotel which was a good point. The restaurant is very good. Having the swimming pool was also very good especially in bad weather. The hotel and apartments are in a very quiet area good for walkers but a ride to get to Bowness or Windermere if you want shops.

Review No: 9 by Mrs Huyton who stayed here on 09/11/2019 Language Flag

Fabulous holiday!! In cottage 4, Fittings dated but spotless! Even had a sauna upstairs!!!! Right on the river, lovely terrace and garden, balcony to master bedroom!! Fantastic pool and health spa, Lovely meal in the hotel! Great location!

Review No: 10 by Mr Cole who stayed here on 15/09/2019 Language Flag

Lovely house and very clean and tidy ,great location and as a dog friendly resort a real bonus . The resort is a bit of a trek to the shops nothing local , nearest town for shops is Ulverston but some great pubs for food around the area .All in all a super place we have visited twice now and will be back !

Review No: 11 by Mr Manyweathers who stayed here on 07/09/2019 Language Flag

Hi overall we were satisfied with the holiday , but it does need a up grade in all departments. The duvet had seen better days and the downstairs shower try was in bad repair . The staff in the restaurant were polite and helpful [that was when we could understand what some of them were saying] The reception staff were ok in most cases but not all showed the politeness as you would expect from a receptionist especially when leaving . she was to engrossed in the internet to ask us if we had a good holiday and wish a safe journey [but that just me] The view from our cottage were stunning and I would still recommend lakeside to anyone who can climb three flights of stairs for seven days [and nights] Reg Manywathers

Review No: 12 by Mr Cobley who stayed here on 17/08/2019 Language Flag

The Lakeland Village is in a great spot and convenient for the South Lakes. The resort sits on the banks of the river and is great for a relaxing break, although you need a car as it’s pretty remote. The staff are very helpful as are those at the adjoining hotel. The accommodation whilst spacious and clean, is basic and very dated and really in need of a refurb ... if you see through that, then it’s a good resort to stay at, but if it’s a spot of luxury you crave, then here’s not the place. Having said that I’d return and accept its failings in return for its location.

Review No: 13 by Mr & Mrs Lloyd who stayed here on 16/06/2019 Language Flag

Very good resort with excellent leisure facilities and helpful staff.

Review No: 14 by Mr & Mrs Balfour who stayed here on 19/05/2019 Language Flag

Thoroughly delightful spot with good access to the Lakes and other attractions.

Review No: 15 by Mr Cobley who stayed here on 12/05/2019 Language Flag

The Lakeland Village is in a great location for the southern lakes with all attractions close by and easy to access. The resort its self is situated on the River Leven in a very attractive setting with easy access to the Lakeland Motor Museum which is worth a visit, as is its cafe which is excellent. The resort itself is well maintained with staff tending the gardens daily and the cottages themselves are spotlessly clean. There are a few negatives, the cottages are tired and really in need of complete refurbishment and the dark wood combined with dark carpets give a dark feel that desperately needs lifting. I guess its a common timeshare problem of how to keep things fresh and modern within the constraints of the maintenance fee and this resort certainly suffers from that. The A590 runs alongside the cottages and is a very busy road at all hours, and whilst the road noise inside the cottages is contained by the double glazing, it's very evident once you step outside, and if you sit on the patio, then its a constant soundtrack that you have to get used to. Finally, there was a old caravan parked across from the cottages that's lived in and we found this rather strange! Also, whilst the resort is dog friendly, the adjoining hotel isn't which is a real shame as you're not able to use it and there's a distinct absence of dog litter bins for a dog friendly resort. In summary, great location but average quality of cottages.

Review No: 16 by Mrs Henderson who stayed here on 06/04/2019 Language Flag

Just had a wonderful holiday at the Lakeland Village. The cottages are so comfortable and well maintained. The staff are very attentive if anything extra is required. The setting is beautiful with the river and the steam train passing by. Three generations of my family love coming here and want to book again for next year!

Review No: 17 by Mrs Smith who stayed here on 10/03/2019 Language Flag

This is a really nice unit and is situated close to many attractions. The problem with our unit was it was only 10 feet or so from the river and this raged through our entire stay and became white noise that could not be blocked out so this became a problem at night when trying to sleep. There had been heavy weather at the time so perhaps it was greater than normal but I think this could be a fast channeled river at the best of times. The unit was very cold on entering and felt like it had not been heated in a long time and took two days to warm. A man came and showed us how to use the timer and was very helpful, we are quite cold people and once it had warmed it was very adequate. There are dogs on site which was not a problem to us but may be to others.

Review No: 18 by Mr Nixon who stayed here on 03/03/2019 Language Flag

This is a lovely place and have every thing we needed for a quiet week away. The only facilities we used was the Friday evening Fish and chips for £9:95 - excellent! Our only quibble is the suite in the living room of Apt 47. In particular, settee is not comfortable. This does not greatly detract from what is lovely accommodation.

Review No: 19 by Mr Michie who stayed here on 09/02/2019 Language Flag

A really fantastic resort in a beautiful location. We would definitely return. The accommodation was immaculate, very well equipped and far exceeded expectations.

Review No: 20 by Mrs Sharkey who stayed here on 18/11/2018 Language Flag

Lovely accommodation, very we kept. Everything we needed. Area good. Would go again.

Review No: 21 by Mr Benton who stayed here on 27/10/2018 Language Flag

We were very pleased with accommodation and facilities on this well laid out site situated in a beautiful location. The staff we met were very helpful and friendly and we look forward to visiting again next year if possible.

Review No: 22 by Mr Marshall who stayed here on 07/10/2018 Language Flag

Overall this was a good swap. The lakeland village offered decent accommodation in a good position for the South and central Lakes area. The style of the rooms is slightly dated but everywhere was spotlessly clean. All the rooms were of decent size especially the lounge area and the view over the river was very pleasant. There was an informative welcome meeting (with wine!) which told you all you needed to know if this was first visit and we felt at all times that the staff were accessible and willing to help. The adjacent hotel (not actually part of the Lakeland village) offers a bar and restaurant and spa/pool/gym complex. We didnt try the restaurant but the bar area was ok without being exceptional. Food was good with offers on most nights that gave a drink/meal for about £12, but the atmosphere was a bit lacking. The spa etc was very good and offered a pool that you could swim lengths as well as a decent gym. The only drawback perhaps is that if you wanted to go to say Newby Bridge/Lakeside or other local pubs then you have to drive, taxis are hard to come by and there are no locally based providers. There is a bus service that runs but its very limited in the evenings.

Review No: 23 by Mr Davies who stayed here on 30/09/2018 Language Flag

Fantastic place suited our needs perfect. Enjoyed our stay. Week went too quick.

Review No: 24 by Mr & Mrs Richardson who stayed here on 22/09/2018 Language Flag

Lakeland Village is situated in an interesting location with views of the River Leven and the steam Railway. Lots of other amenities around the area, some within short walking distance. The properties and grounds are extremely well managed and it is always a pleasure to stay in Lakeland Village. We look forward to returning.

Review No: 25 by Mr Munton who stayed here on 08/09/2018 Language Flag

First impressions mean a lot to us - and first impressions at Lakeland Village were excellent. We were in cottage 6. Richard the manager checked us in and even came to our cottage to show us where all the switches were etc etc. The cottage was on 3 levels with magnificent views overlooking the River Leven. It had a west facing patio and also a balcony off the main bedroom, so great for a glass of wine in the late afternoon sunshine. There was dedicated parking for one car but plenty of other parking spaces. We had access to Cascades Health Club so a swim, steam and sauna was welcome every morning. Unfortunately the Whitewater Hotel next door is not dog friendly but there is an excellent village pub called the Anglers Arms about a 15 minute walk away that does excellent pub grub and is dog friendly. Lakeland Village is an excellent base for exploring the South Lakes. This was one of the best timeshare exchanges we have had in 20 years of ownership. Thankyou very much to Richard and Dial an Exchange.

Review No: 26 by Mr & Mrs Fleetwood who stayed here on 26/08/2018 Language Flag

The resort is in a lovely area outstanding views and close to shopping Ulverton is 7 miles from resort with 2 market days and good selection of shops. plenty of attractions to suit all ages.

Review No: 27 by Mr Spencelayh who stayed here on 07/07/2018 Language Flag

Lovely relaxing break, used the pool a few times and the dolly blue bar, both very good. Spa treatments available with 20% off if booked early. Weather was outstanding as the dry spell continued, used the BBQ and wood for a log fire, despite the heat! Well equipped kitchen. Very picturesque setting, welcome team very good and knowledgeable. Lots to do in the area. We would love to go back. Downside from our point of view in apartment 2, bearing in mind we had all the doors and windows open - Resort quite close to the A590 so there was quite a lot of traffic noise. Very close to the local boarding kennels, dogs got quite excited around feeding times, so lots of barking. Other apartments might be better placed.

Review No: 28 by Mr Lovesey who stayed here on 10/06/2018 Language Flag

Staff were helpful beyond the call of duty. Unit was spotless like new. Can highly recommend it.

Review No: 29 by Mr Clark who stayed here on 02/06/2018 Language Flag

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Lakeland Village. The cottage we had was excellent and the Sunday welcome meeting pointed us in the direction of 2 trips which we took and which were first class-especially the 10 lakes bus tour!

Review No: 30 by Mr Wallis who stayed here on 11/03/2018 Language Flag

Excellent resort for accessibility to all areas of Lakes. Many attractions within immediate area. Site facilities adequate. Cottage very spacious and comfortable. After two exchanges in different units, would gladly return many times. Niall, John and Elizabeth Wallis

Review No: 31 by Mr Jackson who stayed here on 10/03/2018 Language Flag

The property is easy to find and in a convenient location. There are dedicated parking spaces, one per unit that are separate from the hotel. We were on the 4th floor, although most units are situated either side of the river. The weather during our stay, which was early March was cold and wet. The bar food was very good and reasonably priced. We did not eat in the restaurant as the menu wasn’t to our liking.

Review No: 32 by Mrs Marks who stayed here on 03/03/2018 Language Flag

comfortable accommodation in lovely surroundings. Easily accessible from the motorway.

Review No: 33 by Mr Donaghey-Liddle who stayed here on 17/02/2018 Language Flag

We have stayed here before and will certainly stay again. The hotel staff were friendly and courteous as always. The lodge itself was lovely although sadly we had one on the few that wasn’t on the riverside but that didn’t spoil anything at all. Locally there is plenty to do and access to fairly easy walks right on the doorstep. The restaurant in the Whitewater Hotel was excellent. The food is exceptional and the staff the same. We had the three course meal at a very reasonable price (definitely recommend the lamb rump). Overall a very nice resort with plenty to do and friendly staff.

Review No: 34 by Mrs Hughes who stayed here on 20/01/2018 Language Flag

Lovely dog friendly accommodation.The staff are extremely helpful nothing too much trouble Been to this resort many times and always enjoy staying there. The gym and pool at the leisure centre are excellent the only disappointment is the showers in the changing rooms. Definitely recommend staying at this resort

Review No: 35 by Mrs Michie who stayed here on 09/12/2017 Language Flag

Great resort. Cottage no. 3. has great garden space for the summer months and a lovely view over the river. Spacious and comfortable accommodation, though if staying in the colder winter months take up the offer of wood or coal for the open fire. Our only complaint would be that the cottage hadn’t been heated in advance of us arriving, meaning we spent the first evening feeling very cold (we hadn’t ordered wood/coal). Once we got the fire going along with the heating we were very cosy. (We did visit in the coldest week of the year, so far). The leisure facilities were very good. Would definitely go back. Make sure you visit the lovely village of Cartmel

Review No: 36 by Mrs Daniell who stayed here on 19/11/2017 Language Flag

lovely place to stay,relaxing although there were floods around the area.Also I was unable to use the pool as I was unwell,trying to recover from a car accident.It was lovely having the car museum on site,very interesting.I would recommend this place.

Review No: 37 by Mr & Mrs Holmberg who stayed here on 28/10/2017 Language Flag

The position of our unit was excellent with views of the river and a waterfall from all bedrooms and the lounge. In particular we left a fur jacket behind by mistake and the staff notified us that it had been found and returned it very quickly. Three days after leaving the site we received it back in Essex.
Please Wait
Please Wait