Customer reviews for "Macdonald Plas Talgarth"

There are 29 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr & Mrs Hembrow who stayed here on 29/12/2018 Language Flag

We had a very enjoyable one week stay at Mc. Donald Resort , at Plas Talgarth . Everything was just perfect , from our accommodation , to the pool , gym and bar/ restaurant . Nothing was too much trouble for the staff . The grounds are kept in an impeccable state , and I would not hesitate to reccomend this resort .

Review No: 2 by Mr & Mrs Cassell who stayed here on 08/12/2018 Language Flag

This was our first time visiting this resort, we took our 2 Dogs. When we arrived the staff were very friendly, we were put in the Farmhouse 1 apartment, it was in an amazing location right near the reception area and the bar/ restaurant. It had a really nice small garden area which was perfect for the dogs. I had a swim & used the sauna & steam room they were very good.. The grounds at the Macdonald Plas Talgarth we’re very good for walking the dogs, it set in an amazing country side. Will definitely visit it again.. Lynn From Leicester

Review No: 3 by Mrs Smith who stayed here on 29/09/2018 Language Flag

We enjoyed our stay in a lovely bungalow, with a fantastic view of the hills and countryside. Our only critiscism would be that the resort advertises that it is dog friendly. Unfortunatley, it only allowed dogs in the bar OUT of meal times. We went to the Reception and queried this and the member of staff informed us that the bar is run by a franchise and is not part of the Macdonald Resort. We think this would be helpful if it is mentioned in the description of the resort details, as when we arrived at check-in time of 5.00 pm, we thought we could get some dinner, only to be told in a stern manner by the bar staff that the dogs could not be in the bar at all, not even on the tiled floors. We had to drive to the town and find somewhere to eat. When we found a restaurant/takeaway, they only took cash!! luckily we had enough with us. This was the only set back during the week, but we could have done without the hassle after a long drive.

Review No: 4 by Mr Feathers who stayed here on 15/09/2018 Language Flag

We found that the unit (V40) we stayed in was only very basic although it was clean and tidy but also cold and damp. The grounds were well maintained and the spa and swimming pool area were all well maintained although looking a little tired.

Review No: 5 by Ms Walker-Reeves who stayed here on 01/09/2018 Language Flag

We left our week away early. The weather was not great, (that’s not the resorts problem) but the apartment was damp, due to a dripping overflow pipe, which did not stop. Making the ground floor bedroom damp and cold, with no sun light entering the whole apartment and with very dark furniture and curtaining, it made the holiday rather depressing. We had Heron 7 in a block which looked like a army barracks from the 70s. The whole resort is very, very dated and we could not see any money going in to improve the whole resort. On a plus side the views and grounds up keep are well maintained. We did not use the restaurant but did order a takeaway pizza that again was not to our liking, no offer of bases, so only got given thick, not our choice. As my sister has been here three times, she seems to get a much nicer accommodation, and was disappointed to hear our view on the resort. Maybe as we have a small well behaved dog we have be penalised into which apartment you are given. Sorry but we will not be returning.

Review No: 6 by Mr Cronin who stayed here on 07/07/2018 Language Flag

Gorgeous site. Scenery absolutely spectacular. We were really lucky with a whole week of truly fabulous weather. You do need a car to fully appreciate the area.

Review No: 7 by Mrs Holton who stayed here on 20/05/2018 Language Flag

Plas Talgarth is a resort in the most beautiful setting, but does require some updating, such as furnishings and windows particularly. (Note: we're told the Windows were ordered about 4 months ago,but have yet to appear!) The beds were very comfortable! The Lapwing sleep 8 was very specious, had 3 bathrooms and a reasonably well fitted kitchen. We enjoyed trips out to Aberystwyth, Barmouth and particularly Aberdovey, which is beautiful and has stunning beaches. The whole area around the Mawddach Estuary is a paradise for walkers! Worthy of note if you want to eat out is the Black Lion at Derwenlas (about 5 mins drive from Plas Talgarth). Its old worlde and has delicious and very large portions. Reasonably priced and very friendly. If a weekend or high season would advise booking - 01654 703913. Also - totally worth going to - Shelleys Fish and Chips at Aberdovey! P.S. Shame Plas Talgarth charges £75 for dogs - especiallywhenyou have to sign a disclaimer saying yu will remove all dog hairs!!! Don't worry though they will supply you with a Dyson so you can clean up after your dog! Do they do that to families with children too?!!

Review No: 8 by Mr Brown who stayed here on 19/05/2018 Language Flag

The location was excellent and the layout of the complex was good. One serious criticism was the amount of water wasted before any hot water was obtained, once it came through it was good. The showers in the swimming pool changing room was either boiling hot or cold and despite informing the staff no improvement was made during our stay.

Review No: 9 by Mr Tidy who stayed here on 21/04/2018 Language Flag

First class. We had a first class week and hope to return in the future.

Review No: 10 by Dr & Mrs Calverley who stayed here on 27/01/2018 Language Flag

Shame the restaurant was closed but we were pre warned and offered a swap.Site s very empty.

Review No: 11 by Mr Harding who stayed here on 20/01/2018 Language Flag

We had a wonderful stay at Macdonald Plas Talgarth, during January. The unit was in the Mansion House and was very warm and comfortable. The only problem was that the hot water took a long time to run through, probably because there weren't many other people in the building using the water! Otherwise we were very cosy. The kitchenette was suitable for our needs. The situation of the resort is perfect; not too far from Machynelleth and in a lovely valley. There is a coast path running right through the property, well worth doing. Unfortunately, being January, and after prolonged rain, we found it very wet underfoot, but would certainly give it another go! We took the train which runs along the coast and stopped off at Harlech to view the castle. The railway line follows the coastline so closely we felt we could drop off into the sea at times. There is so much to see and do in the area. We thoroughly recommend Macdonald Plas to anyone and look forward to coming again.

Review No: 12 by Mr & Mrs Goldthorp who stayed here on 06/01/2018 Language Flag

Surprised and delighted by the quality of this venue. We stayed in Farmhouse 1 with the only downside being no heating left on prior to arrival when temperature was 2.5 degrees

Review No: 13 by Mr & Mrs Brown who stayed here on 06/01/2018 Language Flag

This was our fourth visit to the site we like it very much and are happy with everything. This year it was very very cold when we got there and we were unable to make our usual use of all the facilities as we got colds. Would recommend a visit to a anyone who yearns for some peace & quiet in beautiful scenery. Market day is Wednesday and all the butchers meat is vegetarian. A member of staff suggested train trips which we have enjoyed watching the world go slowly by .

Review No: 14 by Mr Burton who stayed here on 30/12/2017 Language Flag

Excellent location and beautiful surroundings. Staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation and facilities are spotlessly clean and well kept. The mansion house 9 apartment was well placed for the facilities but in need of a little updating. Would certainly visit again as had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Review No: 15 by Mr Rigg who stayed here on 11/11/2017 Language Flag

Although it was a studio two arm chairs would be better as well as the bed settee

Review No: 16 by Mr & Mrs Slatter who stayed here on 04/11/2017 Language Flag

A nice resort with very good facilities. All the staff are most welcoming and friendly. A great situation for exploring mid Wales.

Review No: 17 by Mr Baker who stayed here on 29/10/2017 Language Flag

Previous we have stayed and all the Scottish Macdonald places and this was our third stay at this resort. The first was many years ago and the accommodation was poor. The second in 2002 much better and on this occasion it was about the same but the facilities have improved. The pool looked good but we did not use it. The three tennis courts looked good from a distance but proved to need attention to the surface, but our party had two sessions on them. We never saw any other users. Site not full. Some minor problems with the apartment were reported to the management.

Review No: 18 by Mr Bryan who stayed here on 21/10/2017 Language Flag

We stayed at Talgarth last year and we enjoyed the location and the accommodation so much we decided to book again. We knew the location of the various types of accomodation and as we were allocated three bedrooms by Dial An Exchange, i telephoned Talgarth spoke to a very pleasant and helpful lady and explained we had been allocated Villa 27 last year and so enjoyed the superb position overlooking the valley towards Pennal and the mountains beyond she kindly reserved Villa 26 for us, which was next door to no 27. We loved the area so much we would not hesitate to return there again. P.S the local pub in the village is excellent for a drink and food.

Review No: 19 by Mr Lewis who stayed here on 03/09/2017 Language Flag

This was our third exchange holiday at Plas Talgarth . Our unit Lapwing 10 could only be described as superb as it had three bedrooms and three bathrooms . The staff were friendly and most helpful and we were joined by three family members from Manchester. The meals that we had in the bar were chosen from a very large and varied menu and were excellent. The nearby town of Machynlleth is a very good shopping centre and has a 600 year old street market on a Wednesday .The seaside resort of Aberdyfi is 7 miles away and one can walk for miles on the beach. The area is steeped in history and you can walk into the village of Pennal and visit the ancient church and nearby historical houses. We hope to return there in 2018

Review No: 20 by Mr Robertshaw who stayed here on 02/09/2017 Language Flag

The furnishings were a little tired, but the unit downstairs had recently been refurbished so it may well be that refurbishment is planned

Review No: 21 by Mr & Mrs Sherwood who stayed here on 02/09/2017 Language Flag

Finding the resort is tricky if you have a Satnav that doesn't accept the full postcode. Just to say it is in the village of Pennal, and perhaps give directions to Pennal from Machynlleth, would be more helpful. There are quite a few extra charges along the way when exchanging from (say) a Seasons contract, and these begin to mount up. The charge for electricity for instance, when extrapolated over a 52-week year, would have been double that for an avarage all-electric domestic dwelling - especially in view of the fact that we used the room-heaters and towel-rails hardly at all. The resort and surrounding countryside are delightful if you are seeking peace and solitude, and the rural views from the rear balconies of Heron are superb; the design and orientation is such that these can be enjoyed in all weathers. The general advice to guests should be to head North for days out, rather than South or East. Driving across country to the Marches is very long-winded and laborious, even on the better-than-English Welsh roads!

Review No: 22 by Mr & Mrs Booth who stayed here on 12/08/2017 Language Flag

Stayed in a 3 bedroom four story villa, which was very spacious with two bathrooms The villa was very clean on arrival with plenty of utensils including a dishwasher and plenty of crockery for a party of six. The resort has plenty of activities for children including golf, tennis courts, table tennis and indoor bouls, plus an indoor and outdoor pool, although the outdoor one was closed most of the week due to maintenance required on the boiler. Plenty of places to visit within a short drive away and the beech at Aberdyfi was excellent for children.

Review No: 23 by Mr & Mrs Hirst who stayed here on 20/05/2017 Language Flag

Rear ground floor flat in Mansion House. The outer door handle was dropping off when we arrived. Noise from car park outside penetrated through old windows.

Review No: 24 by Mrs Hopper who stayed here on 18/03/2017 Language Flag

We stayed in bungalow 14 which has a lovely view and parking right outside the door. This is the first time in a bungalow and it felt quite small, fine for two but has beds for six which would be a squeeze. It's time the heating was upgraded to be on a timer to deal with cold mornings. Electricity charges are high but better than the villas. Plas Talgarth is in a lovely area with beaches and hill walks within easy reach. Some nice new craft shops in Machynlleth and the glass blower at Corris is really good.

Review No: 25 by Mr Severn who stayed here on 04/02/2017 Language Flag

Unit 4 Manor House is small and definitely not large enough for 4 people. However for 2 it is fine - well furnished, beautiful and clean and a credit to the resort. The gardens are a delight and bar food excellent and well priced. Plenty to do in the area especially as spring arrives - a visit to the Red Kites is a must.

Review No: 26 by Mr & Mrs Brown who stayed here on 14/01/2017 Language Flag

Our third visit to Macdonald plas, we hope we shall be lucky enough to return again.We had a very hard earned rest and are ready to continue our very busy lives . We were thoroughly looked after. If you go do go on the train to Phwelli it is a really interesting day out must be lovely when the sun shines.

Review No: 27 by Mr & Mrs Will who stayed here on 17/12/2016 Language Flag

Unit we were moved into without any reason given and not unit on exchange paperwork was needing a deep clean.Cobwebs on lamps high dusting not done etc.On check-in asked to get meter read day before we were due to leave as we were only staying 5 nights this was not done.Had to wait come back at later time.Staff at reception a bit brusk in attitude no friendly welcome.

Review No: 28 by Revd Brown who stayed here on 10/12/2016 Language Flag

Pets "permitted" accurately summarises this Resort's attitude to dogs accompanying their owners here. What with all the "Thou shalt / thou shalt not's" - one gets the impression bringing your pet pooch with you is just about tolerated: 'Pets Welcome' would hardly be accurate. Incidentally beware of the charge levied ( £75 ) for the privilege. It might just be cheaper to pop him or her in kennels for the week.!! With sheep in many fields surroundin Plas Talgarth, a designated, fenced-off Exercise Area where dogs could be let-off the leash, (such as you'll find @ "Melfort Village" in Scotland, for example), would be a marvellous facility. Perhaps Management, accumulating all their excessive pet-fees, are working towards this.? A cheery thought anyhow.!

Review No: 29 by Mr Quirk who stayed here on 26/11/2016 Language Flag

Critical : - The initial reception staff were somewhat brusque. The kettle was extremely noisy. The apartment is on the 1st floor and there is no lift - absolutely not practicable for wheelchair users. Positive : - The restaurant next door was excellent Excellent choice of books and jig-saws available Very elegant and comfortable
Please Wait
Please Wait