Customer reviews for "Macdonald Plas Talgarth"

There are 28 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr Handy who stayed here on 01/08/2020 Language Flag

The apartments are well overdue for an update & refurbish, they have been sadly neglected over the years which is not good & not what people are paying their maintenance charges for, suggest that you should should get in touch & get a plan of action implemented. We used the mini golf course which was great, the swimming pools were both closed due to the corona virus, no complaint there from me. We had a meal in the restaurant which was very good & the service was excellent. Overall we had a very good holiday & the weather was fairly kind, just the utter lack of maintenance & refurbishing of the apartments was very disappointing & needs urgent addressing.

Review No: 2 by Mr & Mrs Lovett who stayed here on 18/07/2020 Language Flag

Bungalow 20, close to pool, bar, restaurant and reception. Opposite pitch and putt. Wonderful views from lounge and main bedroom. Back garden leads to Coastal walk. Brilliant stay would go again.

Review No: 3 by Mr Wood who stayed here on 17/11/2019 Language Flag

Super location. The unit was was well furnished and clean . On arrival ( Sunday evening the duty staff were not very helpful) and it took us a while to find our accommodation on quite a big site. The hidden extras were a bit of a shock £75 for the dog, £15 for WIFI ( advertised as free on their web site) and Electricity charges about 20p a unit ( £66 pound for the week.it was a cold November week) However the bar and restaurant were very good. and the grounds were excellent. Lovely indoor pool area with steam room ,sauna and Jacuzzi.

Review No: 4 by Mr Belcher who stayed here on 09/11/2019 Language Flag

MacDonald’s Plas Talgarth is set in picturesque countryside in Wales. The resort is welcoming, homely and well maintained, and has excellent facilities to suit all ages. The restaurant and bar are first class, offering high quality cuisine and a good range of beverages. We can thoroughly recommend this resort.

Review No: 5 by Mr Chater who stayed here on 19/10/2019 Language Flag

Plas Talgarth is in a beautiful setting, but the accommodation and overall ethos of the resort was disappointing. There was an inadequate supply of crockery and cutlery - just six of every item so you had to keep unloading the dishwasher. Did request more, but was told this was not possible. There was an inadequate supply of cooking dishes and appliances. Knives were dangerously blunt and we had to ask for them to be sharpened. Bedrooms were too small. There was nowhere to dry clothes. There was a "pennypinching" approach - insufficient supply of toilet rolls. Only a few dishwasher tablets and one dishcloth and two tea-towels. Heating was inadequate. We had to pay £15 for wifi connection which was very weak and inconsistent. I feel that this money should be paid back to us. The rate of extra charges £75 for a dog and was excessive . Charge for hire of cot and high chair was also excessive so we bought our own. The accommodation was very clean and the site was attractive. Though some staff were polite and friendly, others were quite cool and distant The book in time was 5pm and this is not reasonable. You could pay an extra £29 for 3pm admission. i know for a fact that the accommodation we had was ready when we arrived at 4pm. There seemed to be an ethos of making an extra charge if it was at all possible. We would not consider going to this resort again.

Review No: 6 by Mr & Mrs Adcock who stayed here on 27/07/2019 Language Flag

We have been visiting for 2 or 3 weeks a year for the last 16 years and it has steadily gone downhill. We won't be visiting again. There are now so few units occupied by owners that it's predominantly online rentals. We saw several dogs running around without leads and could see dogs actually on beds in apartments! The restaurant/bar is franchised out and is nowhere near the standard expected at a timeshare resort. Many units and facilities are very dated and in need of upgrading. The summer rate for a Wifi & Electricity Pack is £45 per week (so the winter rate will probably be at least double that!) and all the facilities which used to be "free" are now chargeable, I.e. tennis (on a court in appalling condition), Pitch & Putt and even use of the swimming pool! If a family of 8 wants to go swimming every day, it'll cost you another £60+!! The area is still beautiful but Plas Talgarth is well below the standard at other Gold Crown resorts we have visited.

Review No: 7 by Mr & Mrs Shaw who stayed here on 13/04/2019 Language Flag

We have just returned after staying in Mansion 2 studio apartment I could only rate this as a two star apartment. The microwave was far too low about 18 inches from floor which was under recommended height for safety, the cooker hood was too low and constantly banging head on it when trying to cook on two ring halogen hob. The shelf in fridge door was partially hanging off, the glass holder in bathroom on wall was broken, the pulled down bed was extremely uncomfortable despite having a very thin mattress on it, a cover was supplied and to our horror and disgust we had to complain about it as it had a big stain about 12 inches by 3 inches which I can only assume was bodily fluids. This was addressed by staff and a clean one given. We didn't have one decent nice sleep as the bed was so hard and uncomfortable as you could feel the springs. We were under the impression that there would be a DVD player in the unit but there wasnt when we asked reception we were told not in a studio apartment. The fan in the bathroom was exceptionally loud so if you put light on during the night it would wake others up. There was no broom or floor mop so I certainly was not prepared to get on my hands and knees to clean kitchen and bathroom floors with dustpan and brush and cloth. Whilst we were there the external windows were cleaned. Inside the windows were filthy and I actually scraped black off them with my thumb nail. We also understood that we would have an allocated parking this was certainly not the case as most days when we got back from trips we struggled to park. We found out that the staff were parking in that area as was other residents who had allocated spaces. We did raise these issues with reception. They apologised and said that they think the apartment was due for an upgrade. We were so disappointed to think we exchanged a 5 star studio apartment for this place. On a good note the bar restaurant food was lovely. Needless to say we shall not be returning.

Review No: 8 by Mrs Grannan who stayed here on 06/04/2019 Language Flag

This property has a lovely rural setting, especially nice with good weather. There is nothing in the village (which is a walkable distance) other than a very good pub/restaurant, so transport is essential. It is 3-4 miles in either direction to find a shop of any kind. The farmhouse unit is fine for 2-3 people but 4 adults would be crowded. The beds however were very uncomfortable as were the pillows! A lovely spot with easy access to local sandy beaches.

Review No: 9 by Mr Davies who stayed here on 26/01/2019 Language Flag

Nice place to relax at,

Review No: 10 by Mrs Gray who stayed here on 19/01/2019 Language Flag

This was a wonderful experience at this resort. We chose it because we could take our 2 dogs. I requested a unit that would be suitable for them and we were allocated Farmhouse 1 which had a small grassed area immediately outside - very convenient. It was also very close to the dog walk - once on the walk we were able to let them off leads. It is a lovely walk with fabulous views over the estuary. The only gripe we had was that the bedroom was small and had 2 single beds, which we put together. This made sleep quite uncomfortable and we would have preferred a standard double bed which would have been more comfortable and given a little more space in the bedroom.

Review No: 11 by Mrs Quin who stayed here on 12/01/2019 Language Flag

Great place to visit, great food in the restaurant. Walk to main road and there is a bus service along the coast road or to Machynlleth. Train station in Machynlleth where you can travel to Aberystwyth or again along the coast as far as Pwllheli great train journey to take in views of the countryside.

Review No: 12 by Mr & Mrs Hembrow who stayed here on 29/12/2018 Language Flag

We had a very enjoyable one week stay at Mc. Donald Resort , at Plas Talgarth . Everything was just perfect , from our accommodation , to the pool , gym and bar/ restaurant . Nothing was too much trouble for the staff . The grounds are kept in an impeccable state , and I would not hesitate to reccomend this resort .

Review No: 13 by Mr & Mrs Cassell who stayed here on 08/12/2018 Language Flag

This was our first time visiting this resort, we took our 2 Dogs. When we arrived the staff were very friendly, we were put in the Farmhouse 1 apartment, it was in an amazing location right near the reception area and the bar/ restaurant. It had a really nice small garden area which was perfect for the dogs. I had a swim & used the sauna & steam room they were very good.. The grounds at the Macdonald Plas Talgarth we’re very good for walking the dogs, it set in an amazing country side. Will definitely visit it again.. Lynn From Leicester

Review No: 14 by Mrs Smith who stayed here on 29/09/2018 Language Flag

We enjoyed our stay in a lovely bungalow, with a fantastic view of the hills and countryside. Our only critiscism would be that the resort advertises that it is dog friendly. Unfortunatley, it only allowed dogs in the bar OUT of meal times. We went to the Reception and queried this and the member of staff informed us that the bar is run by a franchise and is not part of the Macdonald Resort. We think this would be helpful if it is mentioned in the description of the resort details, as when we arrived at check-in time of 5.00 pm, we thought we could get some dinner, only to be told in a stern manner by the bar staff that the dogs could not be in the bar at all, not even on the tiled floors. We had to drive to the town and find somewhere to eat. When we found a restaurant/takeaway, they only took cash!! luckily we had enough with us. This was the only set back during the week, but we could have done without the hassle after a long drive.

Review No: 15 by Mr Feathers who stayed here on 15/09/2018 Language Flag

We found that the unit (V40) we stayed in was only very basic although it was clean and tidy but also cold and damp. The grounds were well maintained and the spa and swimming pool area were all well maintained although looking a little tired.

Review No: 16 by Ms Walker-Reeves who stayed here on 01/09/2018 Language Flag

We left our week away early. The weather was not great, (that’s not the resorts problem) but the apartment was damp, due to a dripping overflow pipe, which did not stop. Making the ground floor bedroom damp and cold, with no sun light entering the whole apartment and with very dark furniture and curtaining, it made the holiday rather depressing. We had Heron 7 in a block which looked like a army barracks from the 70s. The whole resort is very, very dated and we could not see any money going in to improve the whole resort. On a plus side the views and grounds up keep are well maintained. We did not use the restaurant but did order a takeaway pizza that again was not to our liking, no offer of bases, so only got given thick, not our choice. As my sister has been here three times, she seems to get a much nicer accommodation, and was disappointed to hear our view on the resort. Maybe as we have a small well behaved dog we have be penalised into which apartment you are given. Sorry but we will not be returning.

Review No: 17 by Mr Cronin who stayed here on 07/07/2018 Language Flag

Gorgeous site. Scenery absolutely spectacular. We were really lucky with a whole week of truly fabulous weather. You do need a car to fully appreciate the area.

Review No: 18 by Mrs Holton who stayed here on 20/05/2018 Language Flag

Plas Talgarth is a resort in the most beautiful setting, but does require some updating, such as furnishings and windows particularly. (Note: we're told the Windows were ordered about 4 months ago,but have yet to appear!) The beds were very comfortable! The Lapwing sleep 8 was very specious, had 3 bathrooms and a reasonably well fitted kitchen. We enjoyed trips out to Aberystwyth, Barmouth and particularly Aberdovey, which is beautiful and has stunning beaches. The whole area around the Mawddach Estuary is a paradise for walkers! Worthy of note if you want to eat out is the Black Lion at Derwenlas (about 5 mins drive from Plas Talgarth). Its old worlde and has delicious and very large portions. Reasonably priced and very friendly. If a weekend or high season would advise booking - 01654 703913. Also - totally worth going to - Shelleys Fish and Chips at Aberdovey! P.S. Shame Plas Talgarth charges £75 for dogs - especiallywhenyou have to sign a disclaimer saying yu will remove all dog hairs!!! Don't worry though they will supply you with a Dyson so you can clean up after your dog! Do they do that to families with children too?!!

Review No: 19 by Mr Brown who stayed here on 19/05/2018 Language Flag

The location was excellent and the layout of the complex was good. One serious criticism was the amount of water wasted before any hot water was obtained, once it came through it was good. The showers in the swimming pool changing room was either boiling hot or cold and despite informing the staff no improvement was made during our stay.

Review No: 20 by Mr Tidy who stayed here on 21/04/2018 Language Flag

First class. We had a first class week and hope to return in the future.

Review No: 21 by Dr & Mrs Calverley who stayed here on 27/01/2018 Language Flag

Shame the restaurant was closed but we were pre warned and offered a swap.Site s very empty.

Review No: 22 by Mr Harding who stayed here on 20/01/2018 Language Flag

We had a wonderful stay at Macdonald Plas Talgarth, during January. The unit was in the Mansion House and was very warm and comfortable. The only problem was that the hot water took a long time to run through, probably because there weren't many other people in the building using the water! Otherwise we were very cosy. The kitchenette was suitable for our needs. The situation of the resort is perfect; not too far from Machynelleth and in a lovely valley. There is a coast path running right through the property, well worth doing. Unfortunately, being January, and after prolonged rain, we found it very wet underfoot, but would certainly give it another go! We took the train which runs along the coast and stopped off at Harlech to view the castle. The railway line follows the coastline so closely we felt we could drop off into the sea at times. There is so much to see and do in the area. We thoroughly recommend Macdonald Plas to anyone and look forward to coming again.

Review No: 23 by Mr & Mrs Goldthorp who stayed here on 06/01/2018 Language Flag

Surprised and delighted by the quality of this venue. We stayed in Farmhouse 1 with the only downside being no heating left on prior to arrival when temperature was 2.5 degrees

Review No: 24 by Mr & Mrs Brown who stayed here on 06/01/2018 Language Flag

This was our fourth visit to the site we like it very much and are happy with everything. This year it was very very cold when we got there and we were unable to make our usual use of all the facilities as we got colds. Would recommend a visit to a anyone who yearns for some peace & quiet in beautiful scenery. Market day is Wednesday and all the butchers meat is vegetarian. A member of staff suggested train trips which we have enjoyed watching the world go slowly by .

Review No: 25 by Mr Burton who stayed here on 30/12/2017 Language Flag

Excellent location and beautiful surroundings. Staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation and facilities are spotlessly clean and well kept. The mansion house 9 apartment was well placed for the facilities but in need of a little updating. Would certainly visit again as had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Review No: 26 by Mr Rigg who stayed here on 11/11/2017 Language Flag

Although it was a studio two arm chairs would be better as well as the bed settee

Review No: 27 by Mr & Mrs Slatter who stayed here on 04/11/2017 Language Flag

A nice resort with very good facilities. All the staff are most welcoming and friendly. A great situation for exploring mid Wales.

Review No: 28 by Mr Baker who stayed here on 29/10/2017 Language Flag

Previous we have stayed and all the Scottish Macdonald places and this was our third stay at this resort. The first was many years ago and the accommodation was poor. The second in 2002 much better and on this occasion it was about the same but the facilities have improved. The pool looked good but we did not use it. The three tennis courts looked good from a distance but proved to need attention to the surface, but our party had two sessions on them. We never saw any other users. Site not full. Some minor problems with the apartment were reported to the management.
Please Wait
Please Wait