Customer reviews for "Macdonald Villacana Club"

There are 26 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr Hogan who stayed here on 02/11/2019 Language Flag

We had a two bedroom two bathroom unit it was spacious clean and well maintained and adequately equipped for six people . The staff throughout were polite and efficient. The use of a car is recommended but buses are available to visit the local resorts. If driving yourself from Malaga airport locating Macdonalds can be problematic particularly in darkness. I didn’t use the in house catering as the local village has several good restaurants within walking distance. The sandy beach is on site . English tv is available, wifi is available at a cost €16 per week ( five devices) we found it reliable and good coverage . You do pay for electricity before leaving , I would imagine heavy use of the air conditioning in high summer could be expensive.The pools , sun beds , gardens were well maintained the unit we used had the use of a private roof terrace. Overall we had an enjoyable relaxing stay and would visit again

Review No: 2 by Mrs Cairns who stayed here on 19/10/2019 Language Flag

A great resort but if you are a timeshare swap you are definitely 2nd class!. My brother booked his holiday I did a swap. You do not get a welcome pack and have to pay for electricity if you're an owner or someone who swapped. Some people also got slippers. Electric is a 4.50 std charge plus usage plus vat. We paid 21 € and we didn't use the aircon, were out all day and most of the evening . It is expensive especially high season. We stayed above reception which had a roof terrace but no useable balcony attached to the apartment. We loved it but it could be a problem as everything had to be carried upstairs. The apartment was very clean and modern. Lots of kitchen equipment including cleaning products. Bed was comfortable The resort provided activities and trips out. The cafe/ restaurant was expensive. There are a few restaurants near the beach or in the villacana resort like " 90 miles" which provides good food but at a price. Cancelada is accessible over a bridge. Casa miguel was excellent. It is also a pleasant square for having a drink. Walk up from bridge to faramacia. A great base to explore the area. Directions are poor. Check google. Come off A7 at Cancelada just after the Mercadona and lidl. Then go over road bridge, take first right at roundabout at end of road bridge and left at roundabout at bottom of road. You should see signs to find way to resort. First right after luxury villa sign. We would go again.

Review No: 3 by Mr Willis who stayed here on 28/09/2019 Language Flag

A great complex. The units were of high order regards furnishings, etc. There are 2 pools you can visit and also a great bar and restaurant at the beach which is only a 5 minute walk. Only downside is there is no sheet changes, even on a 1 week trip. Note. You also have to pay for electricity. Still a great place to stay. Free parking.

Review No: 4 by Mr & Mrs Relf who stayed here on 10/08/2019 Language Flag

Lovely family resort, but pool area too small and sun loungers in need of replacement.

Review No: 5 by Signor Brovero who stayed here on 03/08/2019 Language Flag

The resort and the apartments are beautiful but the nice studio offered to DAE members had only a small sofabed which created sleeping problems. The solution was found by the resort personnel after 2 days (because of availability) and we received a really appreciated FREE upgrade to a bigger apartment. The presence of sofabed instead of a regular bed should be previously advised by DAE in their offers.

Review No: 6 by Mr Edwardes who stayed here on 13/07/2019 Language Flag

Overall I was impressed with my week at Macdonald Villacana Club and had a good and relaxing break. I have nothing but positive things to say about the staff, who were always friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The on-site restaurant is surprisingly good with a number of other options within a 15 minute walk. My only two criticisms would be that I was disappointed not to have a bbq facility within the apartment as this appears to be based randomly on the individual location with approx. a 50/50 chance and the tennis court, which could use work on the surface itself, is only open from 9.00 to 19.00 which is very much in the heat of the day during July. All in all I would certainly look to return again in the future.

Review No: 7 by Sr & Sra Leite who stayed here on 13/07/2019 Language Flag

Bom apartamento e boas zonas de piscinas, jardins e envolventes. O pessoal bastante simpático e acolhedor, O apartamento estava bem mobilado e a cozinha muito bem apetrechada. Gostaríamos de voltar.

Review No: 8 by Mr Ross who stayed here on 13/07/2019 Language Flag

While we are familiar with the Macdonald Group hotels, which we have always been happy with, this was our first venture into one of their resorts abroad and we found this resort to be outstanding. We would have marked the staff as excellent but for one, minor, issue. Otherwise, we found the staff to be extremely helpful and courteous. Looking forward to our next visit!!

Review No: 9 by Mr Rhead who stayed here on 04/05/2019 Language Flag

Really enjoyed our time at Macdonald Villacana It provides excellent choice of 4 restaurants with access to the beach Although the surrounding area did have 2 deserted hotels these did not distract from the venue or vista Overall I would recommend this resort.

Review No: 10 by Mrs Sayles who stayed here on 16/03/2019 Language Flag

An excellent resort, beautifully maintained with charming staff.

Review No: 11 by Mrs Evans who stayed here on 26/01/2019 Language Flag

We loved being back in this resort after a 31 year gap - it was as lovely as we remembered. however i do think it is disappointing and unfair when a resort decides to close the restaurant and bar facilities, albeit an 'out of season' time of year - it is still nevertheless what people expect ...all facilities open when using a resort

Review No: 12 by Mr Mawby who stayed here on 10/11/2018 Language Flag

Our two bedroom apartment met our expectations in that it was clean, spacious and well equipped. The resort is a little way out of Estepona, probably a 12 minute drive. The grounds were absolutely stunning and were kept immaculate on a daily basis. We used the restaurant for some lunches and the food was of good quality and reasonably priced. Happy hour was incredibly good value for drinks. Our only concern was the proximity of our apartment (101) to the A7 main coastal road. It was incredibly noisy from 06:30 until past midnight. If you have a chance to stay here then make sure you seek an apartment as far away from the road as you can.

Review No: 13 by Mrs Leach who stayed here on 06/10/2018 Language Flag

All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. They had obviously taken our request into account as I have mobility problems and looking around the resort our apartment was certainly the most convenient for us. We found the bed a bit hard, but as soon as we asked for a mattress topper it was supplied and the bed was remade. It is a beautiful resort and so well maintained most impressive. The only slight disappointment was that the snack bar /drinks bar was only open from 10am to 7pm with food served until 4pm when 'Happy Hour' started. In the evening there was a good restaurant just off site. I understand the other site restaurants etc., are open in high season but this was early October, not exactly low season. However the small shop was open every day. We had a most enjoyable, restful week there, thank you.

Review No: 14 by Mrs Davies who stayed here on 16/06/2018 Language Flag

Villacana Club is so stunning due to the architecture of village and gardens but also the facilities -the pool area, bar ,entertainment and excellent food is of high standard.Also staff are friendly and helpful.So homely and inviting for all ages.It is also about 5 mins walk from beautiful beach.Will definitely return

Review No: 15 by Mrs Rich who stayed here on 19/05/2018 Language Flag

I'm submitting my review late, due to something called procrastination.. We had a wonderful week at the Villacana resort. Typical of the resorts in the area, but with a very friendly feel & the 'entertainment staff' made one feel very welcome. There were walks to the nearby village arranged, a wine tasting at one lunchtime which was good fun, a quiz hour & arranged coach trips to nearby sights, some very reasonably priced. So all of that was good. The villa itself was very clean & well equipped. We were surprised that there was only one bathroom (and toilet) for a villa that could sleep 6. There was a mini kitchen on the top level, which could easily be split into a second shower room & loo I would think. We didn't rate the bar food too highly, it was pretty basic, though the staff were very obliging. The main restaurant has been closed for some time apparently, but we found a couple of wonderful places to eat in the nearby village of Cancelada. All in all, one of the better holidays we've had with DAE. Thank you!

Review No: 16 by Mr Dakin who stayed here on 14/04/2018 Language Flag

A beautiful villa and lots of space. Beautifully clean and prepared. Friendly staff and very clean resort. We would visit again.

Review No: 17 by Ms Cosentino who stayed here on 27/01/2018 Language Flag

Apart from the weather which was a little ‘hit and miss’ (it was January) so couldn’t expect high temperatures. We had a nice week here. Unfortunately we didn’t discover the jewel in the crown until our penultimate day. The resort was bigger than we realised and at the bottom near the beach was a lovely bar with the most gorgeous view of the pool and sea, luckily the sun was shining that day which made it all the better. It’s in a lovely spot although not a lot in the nearby village of Cancelada, although we had a few cosy nights there. Overall an enjoyable week and would certainly go back. Have to give a mention to Lisa who complimented us on the most gorgeous sangria made with prosecco. Only downside was having to pay 38 euros for a week of electricity which I though was extremely expensive, never had to pay for that before and we have visited a few resorts over the years. As we left early we didn’t realise so left without paying only to receive an email informing us when we arrived home. I think they could improve the information on the resort and it’s amenities by supplying a book in the rooms, that way we would have made the most of the lower end of the resort. Nerry and Mark

Review No: 18 by Mrs Davidson who stayed here on 21/10/2017 Language Flag

Lovely resort but due to staff shortages the bar closed at 6pm and the kitchen at 4pm. Reduced kids club. But what we did attend was fun. Lisa does a fab job. Bar staff friendly. Overall a great holiday.

Review No: 19 by Ms Brunse who stayed here on 21/10/2017 Language Flag

We warmly recommend Macdonald Villacana Club in Estepona, Spain. Very kind staff, excellent appartements and very nice pool with beautiful surroundings.

Review No: 20 by Mr McIntyre who stayed here on 14/10/2017 Language Flag

all fantastic, will be re booking for next year. only down side is that the bar and restaurant close at 6pm daily, not really of any benefit to residents.

Review No: 21 by Mrs Warrener who stayed here on 07/10/2017 Language Flag

We stayed for a week in October - grounds lovely and still in bloom. All outside areas excellently well maintained including pool areas. Beach was glorious and clean. Restaurants on site were all of a high standard and prices were comparable with UK. We ate in the village across the main road, Cancelada - all the restaurants there were excellent .Food was of a much better quality than most in UK. We used local buses and taxis ( all metered). There's a Lidl over the footbridge and up to the right - we did one shop there and topped up from the site supermarket. We also went on the some of the organised excursions - all well organised. We had a great week are only compliant , it wasn't long enough. So our thanks to DAE for a lovely holiday and we would definitely return .

Review No: 22 by Ms Weekes who stayed here on 16/09/2017 Language Flag

An excellant relaxing resort,.. highly recommended..

Review No: 23 by Mr Milne who stayed here on 17/06/2017 Language Flag

Lovely resort but very few bars and restaurants within walking distance.

Review No: 24 by Mrs Raynes who stayed here on 20/05/2017 Language Flag

Having previously stayed in a Town House (excellent) we had this time a 2 bed apartment with a wonderful roof terrace. Perfect for a peaceful break.

Review No: 25 by Mr & Mrs Taylor who stayed here on 22/04/2017 Language Flag

We didn't hire a car. Flew to Malaga airport caught bus to Marballa 8.2Euros, then taxi to resort 30 euros. For Aldi, Mercadonna,& Supersol Supermarkets; leave resort turn right and walk 50/100 yards to pedestrian bridge. Cross bridge then walk in same direction past a 2nd bridge 100yds? then another 50 yds to all 3 supermarkets. in rthe order listed above Daily travel 1) walk out of resort turn left and there is a bus stop. Bus to Marbella every 1/2 hour 2.8 euros. Stay on to get to the bus statio terminus where you can walk down town, catch a bus to fuengerolla 3.27euros, or bus to airport 8.2 euros 2) walk out of resort turn right walk down to pedestrian bridge cross bridge and wait at stop for bus line 2 travel to Estepona for 1.4 euros. travel back with same bus only one fare for any stops 1.4 euros 3)As 2 but get of at Estepona bus station opposite or almost opposite Carrefour supermarket. From this bus station you can travel to Algeciras for 7.4 euros bus every 1 or 2 hours. You can also travel from their by bus to La Linea, Malaga, Madrid, Barcelona, Jerez, Cadiz..... After those trips we returned to the pool to cool of as the temperatures were mostly 28DegC

Review No: 26 by Mr & Mrs Leach who stayed here on 25/03/2017 Language Flag

We would be very happy to go to this resort again as it was nicely positioned and maintained to an excellent order. We didn't have a car but used public transport. The actual ambience of the resort is very pleasing with the beautiful gardens and seating area near the pool which is laid out on grass with trees around.
Please Wait
Please Wait