Customer reviews for "Hope Barton Barns"

There are 33 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr Lake who stayed here on 10/07/2020 Language Flag

This was our first visit to Hope Barton Barns and what a great little gem of a place this is, staff all very friendly and helpful and did a first class job to look after us considering the current situation, the walk from the site to Hope Cove was also a delight and how lovely Hope Cove is, this was our first holiday with our dog and there are plenty of walks on site and also around the Cove, we stayed in the Roost a sleep 8 unit which was well furnished and my wife said it was one of the best bed's she had slept in for a long time, we cannot wait to hopefully book another week to stay at this little gem Peter E J L

Review No: 2 by Mr & Mrs Jordan who stayed here on 21/02/2020 Language Flag

Extremely nice place to holiday, a little remote but that was part of the attraction of booking here. Staff welcoming and complex very clean and idyllic. Dog friendly.

Review No: 3 by Mr & Mrs Lumb who stayed here on 07/02/2020 Language Flag

We have been to a lot of holiday ownership properties and feel that hope barton barns has got the best community and homely feel of any we have been to.A very friendly and welcoming property.

Review No: 4 by Revd Brown who stayed here on 17/01/2020 Language Flag

Lovely, quiet, dog-friendly Resort. We were blessed with 4 ( out of our 6 full ) days with wall-to-wall Sunshine - which for Devon in January borders on the miraculous !! The Monday Supper Party was absolutely delightful [ & delicious ]. With a choice of 3 Starters, 3 Mains + 3 Puds @ £10 a head this is excellent value and a great evening; one not to be missed. This was our first exchange into Hope Barton Barns, but hopefully not our last. Renewed thanks to all the Team at H.B.B. PRB

Review No: 5 by Mr Wood who stayed here on 17/01/2020 Language Flag

Hope Barton Barns was everything we expected and more. Hope Cove is in the countryside, the nearest towns are Kingsbridge and Salcombe but there is a very well stocked Co-op in nearby Malborough. Hope Cove has 2 beaches, the closer one within walking distance is shingle but Outer Hope is sandy and further away. There is a large car park in Outer Hope with a shop/pub and restaurant. We stayed in The Appleloft Barn – a 3 bedroomed barn suitable for 8 people (2 on a bed-settee in the lounge). The weather was perfect for us but if it is not good Hope Barton provides a range of activities – many more than you would normally expect for a complex of its size. We swam, did aqua fit, used the well equipped gym, played table tennis and table football. Unlike many self-catering complexes pool towels were available free of charge but there was no cleaning service during the week. However there was a washer dryer available for our use in the barn. Also whilst we were there a Monday evening 3 course meal was available along with a chilli and bar skittles evening and a quiz night. Frozen high quality meals were also available to purchase from a small shop in reception. A bar was open most evenings with a happy hour on several occasions. For smaller children there is a small play barn and they can help to let the animals (ducks/rabbits and goats) out of their pens at 8.30 am. We had a couple of minor problems with heating which were quickly resolved and indeed all of the staff we encountered were helpful during our stay. We found the barn to be warm and cosy but there was a standard fee for electricity which we expected. These barns are dog friendly and there were several dogs around – our daughter’s spaniel was very happy with his doggy treats on arrival although he only stayed for a very short period. Thank you DAE – we hope to return to Hope Barton Barns in the future.

Review No: 6 by Mrs Deans who stayed here on 06/12/2019 Language Flag

Relaxing winter week in beautiful rural part of South Devon within walking distance of stunning Hope Cove, National Trust paths, beaches and Downs. Farm is set inland in lush hidden valley, traditional stone barn units are really comfortable, warm, clean and well thought out with individual layouts, and views. Lovely warm indoor pool and welcome sauna available. Quiet low season time but pleasant social evenings in bar room with other guests and friendly staff. Very muddy path over fields to the sea in wet weather so just pack your wellies/walking boots and enjoy! Dogs made welcome. Loads of fantastic food, wonderful scenery and Xmas festivities in the local towns and villages including Salcombe, Dartmouth, Totnes, Kingsbridge, S Milton, Thurlestone and the National Trust properties including Greenway and Coleton Fishacre are beautifully decorated for Christmas and are a must see! Can't wait to go back!

Review No: 7 by Ms Parfitt who stayed here on 08/11/2019 Language Flag

Lovely stay and despite some initial problems we were very happy with the quality of accomodation and attitude of staff. Would visit again

Review No: 8 by Mr Clift-Jones who stayed here on 04/10/2019 Language Flag

Friendly and efficient welcome. All staff friendly and very helpful. Welcome Party and Supper Party well organised with excellent food. Super location, short walk to the beach with lovely cliff walks. A very enjoyable week despite poor weather.

Review No: 9 by Ms Walker-Reeves who stayed here on 04/10/2019 Language Flag

Had a good time, met some very nice people. Accommodation very much needs updating, bringing into the 21st century. We loved the location

Review No: 10 by Mr Cole who stayed here on 20/09/2019 Language Flag

Disappointed we had to pay a £35 resort fee-must have missed that but don’t understand why we have to pay it. Gym dirty and with broken equipment. Bar area really tired and very dated. Does this resort deserve its rating- I don’t think so, would not go again and feel really ripped off

Review No: 11 by Mr & Mrs Bowley who stayed here on 13/09/2019 Language Flag

This is a lovely property set in a beautiful area. It is, however, very remote, which contributed to our decision to return home early. Our vehicle developed a problem and we didn't feel that it was possible to get it sorted out where we were. We were bitterly disappointed as we had several places lined up to visit and the weather was absolutely gorgeous - talk about an Indian summer, it was like a good week in July! However, it wasn't to be and we did at least have a lovely weekend. The staff were very helpful about this. We can't really comment on the swimming pool as we didn't use it, but it looked inviting. As already mentioned, the area is remote and there is no mobile phone signal. There is a landline in each unit and excellent free wifi. The walk down to Inner Hope Cove over the fields is stunning. We did manage a day exploring parts of Dartmoor and the nearest towns of Kingsbridge and Salcombe. If circumstances permit, we would certainly like to return one day.

Review No: 12 by Mrs Harris who stayed here on 03/05/2019 Language Flag

We have had a lovely time at Hope Barton. We took our dogs with us and walked all over the place. Hope Cove is magical, the weather was kind to us. I wish more resorts would accommodate dogs but the few irresponsible owners spoil it for the rest. We would love to visit Hope Barton again at some time. Well done for being dog friendly Hope Barton.

Review No: 13 by Mr Murcott who stayed here on 15/03/2019 Language Flag

Loved it here hope to get another exchange

Review No: 14 by Mr & Mrs Medcalf who stayed here on 01/03/2019 Language Flag

Hope Barton Barns is lovely. Well equipped, comfortable accommodation, delightful situation about 20 mins walk from Hope Cove and handy for drives to myriad beaches, walking opportunities, towns and National Trust properties etc. The fridge and freezer items available from the on-site shop, plus bread, a few groceries and newspapers to order add conveniently to your options. Lovely walks on site for dog owners. This time we stayed in the Parlour - a studio barn conversion with mezzanine - petite but cosy and well-designed. We would be happy to stay at any time of year and hope to return.

Review No: 15 by Mr & Mrs Kirchheimer who stayed here on 01/02/2019 Language Flag

A lovely place with great staff. Excellent for dog owners and good too for families with children - say 4-14.

Review No: 16 by Mr & Mrs Barnes who stayed here on 11/01/2019 Language Flag

The resort is in an idyllic setting nestled in the scenic valley running down to Hope Cove. Access is via the country lanes , when you get to Malborough do not turn down Luckham lane as the sat nav directs you instead stay on the main road and turn off that opposite the petrol station. Alternatively take the Hope Cove turning that is labelled as not suitable for heavy vehicles , this way is a little wider and there are more passing places. The staff are very friendly and you can even go and watch the small collection of animals being fed. There are plenty of opportunities for meals in the evening here especially as the resort offers home cooked food which can be eaten in the bar or purchased and cooked in your accommodation. We stayed in the Byre which was well appointed although you may be advised to bring an extension cable as there are not many electrical sockets. It has to be noted that the chances of getting a mobile phone signal here are slim - you may need to use your laptop. This may be inconvenient for those of us who are self employed and need to have access to phone calls so go prepared. The Byre was spacious and the white goods are cleverly hidden behind custom built units . The shower had good pressure to it and was nice and hot .Our only problem was the heating system thermostat directly above our heads which operated from midnight to seven in the morning at intervals of every 10 minutes or more especially as the temperature outside kept dropping. We had to mention this to staff in the reception area as it did affect the amount of time we slept and we have been compensated. We developed a pattern of walking across the courtyard to the lovely pool. The temperature in there was above lukewarm so it was quite bearable. Once we had had a swim or sauna or both we them put our dressing gowns back on to go back to the Byre and had a shower there. This was easier than using the changing rooms which were fairly small.We will be happy to return there .

Review No: 17 by Mr Macdonald who stayed here on 11/01/2019 Language Flag

Cost of electricity had gone up to £35 for 2019 but paid £30 as told by dae. Very quiet site with lovely 1 mile walk over field to Hope Cove. No instructions for appliances. Our 3rd visit

Review No: 18 by Mr Fordyce McNeil who stayed here on 16/11/2018 Language Flag

Staff very helpful and parlour apartment excellent for 2 people

Review No: 19 by Ms McKenzie who stayed here on 09/11/2018 Language Flag

One of my favourite places to be. Cottages are beautiful. The Roost was excellent for six people. Very comfortable beds. Lots of storage. Bathroom and en-suite. Modern kitchen and appliances. Very good, efficient staff. Nice indoor pool with lovely warm water and a Sauna. Lots to see and do around the development. Country and seaside walks. Short drive to Salcombe a beautiful little seaside harbour with high end shops and restaurants. Not far from Dartmouth. Cinema in Kingsbridge 20 minute drive away. A good week enjoyed by everyone. Can really recommend. Rental units also available.

Review No: 20 by Mr Wickham who stayed here on 05/10/2018 Language Flag

Ideal for a very relaxing stay in this beautiful part of Devon. The accommodation met all our needs but with 2 of our party having disabilities, the stairs were a bit of a problem ( I believe one or two cottages are on one floor) aa was the shower which was over a bath, as, I believe, is the case with almost all of the cottages. The facilities on site include a comfortable, well stocked bar and small shop where pre-prepared meals are available. The site seemed very child friendly. The setting for the cottages is idyllic; access to the nearest beach, Hope Cove, which also has a very good pub and cafe are is 10 minutes on foot, 2 minutes by car and another very nice beach with ample car parking, Thurlestone Sands, is 5 minutes away by car. The heart of Dartmoor is an hour or 30 miles away; the picturesque towns of Dartmouth, Salcombe, Kingsbridge and Totnes are all within easy reach as are a couple of steam railways. The nearest large supermarkets are 20 minutes away in Kingsbridge.

Review No: 21 by Mr & Mrs Bonner who stayed here on 16/03/2018 Language Flag

we had a wonderful stay here even though we were snowed in for two days. Accomodation very warm clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Swimming pool really great. Beautiful area to walk. Great place to take a dog.

Review No: 22 by Mr Harris who stayed here on 09/03/2018 Language Flag

Family holiday heaven.

Review No: 23 by Ms McKenzie who stayed here on 09/03/2018 Language Flag

A brilliant week. All the staff go out of their way to be polite and helpful. The accommodation is smart and well maintained. Swimming pool warm and walks wonderful. The supper party on Monday was delicious and the quiz great fun. A really good place to have a holiday.

Review No: 24 by Mrs Hughes who stayed here on 23/02/2018 Language Flag

Lovely week at Hope Barton Barns in a beautiful part of the Devon countryside. Our week started with beautiful weather but came to an early end by the beast from the east. The accommodation is lovely and resort has lots on site to keep children entertained. There are lovely walks round the farm to exercise your dog and it’s only a 15-Min walk into Hope to the beach with a local pub and post office There are quite a few walks you can go on without having to drive anywhere with beautiful scenery. The resorts offers food on arrival day in the bar area and has few themed evenings . We had lovely 3course meal in the bar on one of the evenings plenty of delicious home cooked food. I would definitely return to this resort if we were lucky enough to get an exchange.

Review No: 25 by Mr Furley who stayed here on 26/01/2018 Language Flag

Lovely working farm, good for walking , local pub worth a visit. Would go back, imagine on hot summer day difficult to beat if you like the coastal farm holiday away from the crowds.

Review No: 26 by Mr Haward who stayed here on 26/01/2018 Language Flag

A unique experience. The fabulous interaction between the staff and visitors will remain in my memory for a long time. Then there is the little shop with its tempting meals. The Bar and Restaurant where everything was reasonably priced. If we had taken children, they would have loved it too.

Review No: 27 by Mr Eggleton who stayed here on 19/01/2018 Language Flag

We enjoyed our stay at Hope Barton Barns despite the weather! Cosy and comfortable accommodation in beautiful surroundings with very friendly and helpful staff. Many scenic coastal resorts nearby, Hope Cove a short walk away and Plymouth within easy reach. We very much hope to return to Hope Barton in the near future.

Review No: 28 by Mr & Mrs Sismore who stayed here on 19/01/2018 Language Flag

This is our second visit to the same unit at Hope Barton Barns (January 2017 and January 2018) and we were delighted with the accommodation, the overall standard of the fixtures/appliances in the unit and the resort location/facilities. Hope Cove is a tiny but vibrant village. With a detailed map you can find your way down narrow lanes to the neighbouring coastal resorts/beaches and it is just short trip to local towns. Businesses can be closed/refurbishing in January but it did not distract from an excellent week. Dogs are allowed at Hope Barton Barns and also at many local bars and cafes - but only on the beach from October to March, so another reason to visit out of season.

Review No: 29 by Mr Surguy who stayed here on 05/01/2018 Language Flag

Hope Barton is a very relaxing place to stay rolling hills and sheep for energetic people lots of walking.The roads are very narrow with passing places and Kingsbridge was the nearest big town.

Review No: 30 by Mr Pemberton who stayed here on 15/12/2017 Language Flag

Hope Barton a delightful place to relax, take the dogs, stroll across the fields along the beach to pub and cafe.

Review No: 31 by Mrs Dando who stayed here on 24/11/2017 Language Flag

Stayed in Shippon. Sleep 6 with 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom - very cramped if 6 adults - only 4 lounge seats. One of the best club houses we have experienced with excellent meals and events.

Review No: 32 by Mrs Biggins who stayed here on 10/11/2017 Language Flag

Hope Barton Barns- situated in a stunning location with well maintained grounds. The staff were helpful and approachable. The journey to the location could be daunting for some drivers going along single track lanes with occasional passing places. We found the welcome pack useful and the local bacon included was excellent. Supplies at the reception shop included pre-prepared meals which we found excellent. Although we only used the bar once the atmosphere was friendly but comfortable seating was minimal. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

Review No: 33 by Mrs Foster who stayed here on 03/11/2017 Language Flag

As we were unable to use this week our granddaughter took two young children and they all had a wonderful time
Please Wait
Please Wait