Customer reviews for "Hope Barton Barns"

There are 30 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mrs Harris who stayed here on 03/05/2019 Language Flag

We have had a lovely time at Hope Barton. We took our dogs with us and walked all over the place. Hope Cove is magical, the weather was kind to us. I wish more resorts would accommodate dogs but the few irresponsible owners spoil it for the rest. We would love to visit Hope Barton again at some time. Well done for being dog friendly Hope Barton.

Review No: 2 by Mr Murcott who stayed here on 15/03/2019 Language Flag

Loved it here hope to get another exchange

Review No: 3 by Mr & Mrs Medcalf who stayed here on 01/03/2019 Language Flag

Hope Barton Barns is lovely. Well equipped, comfortable accommodation, delightful situation about 20 mins walk from Hope Cove and handy for drives to myriad beaches, walking opportunities, towns and National Trust properties etc. The fridge and freezer items available from the on-site shop, plus bread, a few groceries and newspapers to order add conveniently to your options. Lovely walks on site for dog owners. This time we stayed in the Parlour - a studio barn conversion with mezzanine - petite but cosy and well-designed. We would be happy to stay at any time of year and hope to return.

Review No: 4 by Mr & Mrs Kirchheimer who stayed here on 01/02/2019 Language Flag

A lovely place with great staff. Excellent for dog owners and good too for families with children - say 4-14.

Review No: 5 by Mr & Mrs Barnes who stayed here on 11/01/2019 Language Flag

The resort is in an idyllic setting nestled in the scenic valley running down to Hope Cove. Access is via the country lanes , when you get to Malborough do not turn down Luckham lane as the sat nav directs you instead stay on the main road and turn off that opposite the petrol station. Alternatively take the Hope Cove turning that is labelled as not suitable for heavy vehicles , this way is a little wider and there are more passing places. The staff are very friendly and you can even go and watch the small collection of animals being fed. There are plenty of opportunities for meals in the evening here especially as the resort offers home cooked food which can be eaten in the bar or purchased and cooked in your accommodation. We stayed in the Byre which was well appointed although you may be advised to bring an extension cable as there are not many electrical sockets. It has to be noted that the chances of getting a mobile phone signal here are slim - you may need to use your laptop. This may be inconvenient for those of us who are self employed and need to have access to phone calls so go prepared. The Byre was spacious and the white goods are cleverly hidden behind custom built units . The shower had good pressure to it and was nice and hot .Our only problem was the heating system thermostat directly above our heads which operated from midnight to seven in the morning at intervals of every 10 minutes or more especially as the temperature outside kept dropping. We had to mention this to staff in the reception area as it did affect the amount of time we slept and we have been compensated. We developed a pattern of walking across the courtyard to the lovely pool. The temperature in there was above lukewarm so it was quite bearable. Once we had had a swim or sauna or both we them put our dressing gowns back on to go back to the Byre and had a shower there. This was easier than using the changing rooms which were fairly small.We will be happy to return there .

Review No: 6 by Mr Macdonald who stayed here on 11/01/2019 Language Flag

Cost of electricity had gone up to £35 for 2019 but paid £30 as told by dae. Very quiet site with lovely 1 mile walk over field to Hope Cove. No instructions for appliances. Our 3rd visit

Review No: 7 by Mr Fordyce McNeil who stayed here on 16/11/2018 Language Flag

Staff very helpful and parlour apartment excellent for 2 people

Review No: 8 by Ms McKenzie who stayed here on 09/11/2018 Language Flag

One of my favourite places to be. Cottages are beautiful. The Roost was excellent for six people. Very comfortable beds. Lots of storage. Bathroom and en-suite. Modern kitchen and appliances. Very good, efficient staff. Nice indoor pool with lovely warm water and a Sauna. Lots to see and do around the development. Country and seaside walks. Short drive to Salcombe a beautiful little seaside harbour with high end shops and restaurants. Not far from Dartmouth. Cinema in Kingsbridge 20 minute drive away. A good week enjoyed by everyone. Can really recommend. Rental units also available.

Review No: 9 by Mr Wickham who stayed here on 05/10/2018 Language Flag

Ideal for a very relaxing stay in this beautiful part of Devon. The accommodation met all our needs but with 2 of our party having disabilities, the stairs were a bit of a problem ( I believe one or two cottages are on one floor) aa was the shower which was over a bath, as, I believe, is the case with almost all of the cottages. The facilities on site include a comfortable, well stocked bar and small shop where pre-prepared meals are available. The site seemed very child friendly. The setting for the cottages is idyllic; access to the nearest beach, Hope Cove, which also has a very good pub and cafe are is 10 minutes on foot, 2 minutes by car and another very nice beach with ample car parking, Thurlestone Sands, is 5 minutes away by car. The heart of Dartmoor is an hour or 30 miles away; the picturesque towns of Dartmouth, Salcombe, Kingsbridge and Totnes are all within easy reach as are a couple of steam railways. The nearest large supermarkets are 20 minutes away in Kingsbridge.

Review No: 10 by Mr & Mrs Bonner who stayed here on 16/03/2018 Language Flag

we had a wonderful stay here even though we were snowed in for two days. Accomodation very warm clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Swimming pool really great. Beautiful area to walk. Great place to take a dog.

Review No: 11 by Mr Harris who stayed here on 09/03/2018 Language Flag

Family holiday heaven.

Review No: 12 by Ms McKenzie who stayed here on 09/03/2018 Language Flag

A brilliant week. All the staff go out of their way to be polite and helpful. The accommodation is smart and well maintained. Swimming pool warm and walks wonderful. The supper party on Monday was delicious and the quiz great fun. A really good place to have a holiday.

Review No: 13 by Mrs Hughes who stayed here on 23/02/2018 Language Flag

Lovely week at Hope Barton Barns in a beautiful part of the Devon countryside. Our week started with beautiful weather but came to an early end by the beast from the east. The accommodation is lovely and resort has lots on site to keep children entertained. There are lovely walks round the farm to exercise your dog and it’s only a 15-Min walk into Hope to the beach with a local pub and post office There are quite a few walks you can go on without having to drive anywhere with beautiful scenery. The resorts offers food on arrival day in the bar area and has few themed evenings . We had lovely 3course meal in the bar on one of the evenings plenty of delicious home cooked food. I would definitely return to this resort if we were lucky enough to get an exchange.

Review No: 14 by Mr Furley who stayed here on 26/01/2018 Language Flag

Lovely working farm, good for walking , local pub worth a visit. Would go back, imagine on hot summer day difficult to beat if you like the coastal farm holiday away from the crowds.

Review No: 15 by Mr Haward who stayed here on 26/01/2018 Language Flag

A unique experience. The fabulous interaction between the staff and visitors will remain in my memory for a long time. Then there is the little shop with its tempting meals. The Bar and Restaurant where everything was reasonably priced. If we had taken children, they would have loved it too.

Review No: 16 by Mr Eggleton who stayed here on 19/01/2018 Language Flag

We enjoyed our stay at Hope Barton Barns despite the weather! Cosy and comfortable accommodation in beautiful surroundings with very friendly and helpful staff. Many scenic coastal resorts nearby, Hope Cove a short walk away and Plymouth within easy reach. We very much hope to return to Hope Barton in the near future.

Review No: 17 by Mr & Mrs Sismore who stayed here on 19/01/2018 Language Flag

This is our second visit to the same unit at Hope Barton Barns (January 2017 and January 2018) and we were delighted with the accommodation, the overall standard of the fixtures/appliances in the unit and the resort location/facilities. Hope Cove is a tiny but vibrant village. With a detailed map you can find your way down narrow lanes to the neighbouring coastal resorts/beaches and it is just short trip to local towns. Businesses can be closed/refurbishing in January but it did not distract from an excellent week. Dogs are allowed at Hope Barton Barns and also at many local bars and cafes - but only on the beach from October to March, so another reason to visit out of season.

Review No: 18 by Mr Surguy who stayed here on 05/01/2018 Language Flag

Hope Barton is a very relaxing place to stay rolling hills and sheep for energetic people lots of walking.The roads are very narrow with passing places and Kingsbridge was the nearest big town.

Review No: 19 by Mr Pemberton who stayed here on 15/12/2017 Language Flag

Hope Barton a delightful place to relax, take the dogs, stroll across the fields along the beach to pub and cafe.

Review No: 20 by Mrs Dando who stayed here on 24/11/2017 Language Flag

Stayed in Shippon. Sleep 6 with 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom - very cramped if 6 adults - only 4 lounge seats. One of the best club houses we have experienced with excellent meals and events.

Review No: 21 by Mrs Biggins who stayed here on 10/11/2017 Language Flag

Hope Barton Barns- situated in a stunning location with well maintained grounds. The staff were helpful and approachable. The journey to the location could be daunting for some drivers going along single track lanes with occasional passing places. We found the welcome pack useful and the local bacon included was excellent. Supplies at the reception shop included pre-prepared meals which we found excellent. Although we only used the bar once the atmosphere was friendly but comfortable seating was minimal. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

Review No: 22 by Mrs Foster who stayed here on 03/11/2017 Language Flag

As we were unable to use this week our granddaughter took two young children and they all had a wonderful time

Review No: 23 by Mr & Mrs Reynolds-Breeze who stayed here on 21/07/2017 Language Flag

We had a lovely summer holiday at Hope Barton Barns. This was our 2nd exchange with DAE and we were not disappointed. We stayed in the 'Sumor House' which was beautiful and spacious - really couldn't have asked for more. It was a lovely short walk into Hope Cove which had a great pub/restaurant! The only negatives for us were that the on site bar had limited opening hours and other than walking into Hope Cove you did need to use your car as you are quite isolated. We would definitely recommend Hope Barton Barns and would love to return in the future.

Review No: 24 by Ms Atkinson who stayed here on 09/06/2017 Language Flag

We could only stay for 5 nights due to other commitments, how disappointed we are. The place is so lovely it really does deserve a 7 night stay. We absolutely loved everything about this place accommodation, facilities, and amazingly friendly staff and hope to return again soon. The whole place is dog friendly which suited us and our dog perfectly, we now need to fit a stable door at home so the dog can see out all the time.

Review No: 25 by Mrs Wright who stayed here on 19/05/2017 Language Flag

We had a very nice time ,staff very helpful and friendly.The views were lovely we go again if we get the chance Madeleine Wright

Review No: 26 by Mr & Mrs Cade who stayed here on 14/04/2017 Language Flag

Excellent , homely , in the middle of National Trust Land & 2fields to walk to Hope Cove's very small village & beaches Six

Review No: 27 by Mr & Mrs Steer who stayed here on 13/01/2017 Language Flag

This is our fifth visit to Hope Barton and we were not disappointed. So comfortable and relaxing and our dog is welcome. We had excellent weather for the time of year. Would recommend The Church House Inn at Churchstow for a carvery, advisable to book on a Sunday and Salcombe for ice cream.

Review No: 28 by Mrs Pirie who stayed here on 06/01/2017 Language Flag

As good as ever. However it would be useful in advance to know date members pay a standard charge of £25 for heating regardless of length of stay.

Review No: 29 by Mrs Leader who stayed here on 15/12/2016 Language Flag

Our stay at Hope Barton Barns was a wonderful, relaxing break. The staff team provide discreet friendly service, the natural environment gives the resort a peaceful, restorative feel. A daily swim and sauna, gentle walks and cosy, spacious accommodation provided all we needed to sustain our Christmas shopping in Totnes, and nearby Hope Cove gave us perfect sea views and refreshing sea air. Altogether a brilliant way to prepare for Christmas! We really do want to come back soon.

Review No: 30 by Mrs Wilson who stayed here on 18/11/2016 Language Flag

Lovely stay. Resort well established. Good activities offered on some evenings, ie 3 course meal on Monday nights, food and quiz night Tuesdays. General area lovely, lots to see & do. Would visit again.
Please Wait
Please Wait