Customer reviews for "Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club"

There are 20 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr Collins who stayed here on 22/08/2020 Language Flag

The location is excellent and we had a very enjoyable holiday. Mainly because the weather was good, only one day of rain. The units are well presented but can't hide the fact the they are extremely dated. Some renovation work has taken place but they need much more. Also the double bedroom is small and the lack of a second bathroom in a unit that sleeps 6 is inadequate. We were surprised that there was not a welcome pack in the lodge or any instructions for any of the appliances. Obviously coved 19 restrictions currently mean that many of the facilities are not in use. We would question whether there are fish in the Lochan....we did not catch any and no one else was fishing despite the resort being full. In short, if you like Scotland this is a great place to stay, we would certainly stay there again despite the shortcomings.

Review No: 2 by Ms Waterson who stayed here on 05/10/2019 Language Flag

On site restaurant was amazing, great food. Pool was very small, the one at Spey Valley much better. A shuttle service would make this holiday perfect.

Review No: 3 by Mrs Dickson who stayed here on 28/09/2019 Language Flag

I was very disappointed with this resort. The cabins were cramped and smelt damp and fusty smelling. The paint work was grubby and chipped and the rooms so dark that we had to have the lights on all day. The bathroom had black mould around the shower. I had the worst Sunday lunch of my life in the restaurant and did not use it again.

Review No: 4 by Mr & Mrs Mednick who stayed here on 17/08/2019 Language Flag

The unit is extremely small for 6 people. It is just about adequate for 3 people. Double bed was a small double with only enough space to slide tightly into bed on each side. The other room was very small just enough space for one person. For two people it would be extremely tight. The wall between bedrooms was very thin. Kitchen utensils were poor and knifes were blunt. Furnishings were old and had stains and really should be thrown away. Nice big tv with DVD player. Table was tight with 3 people round it. It would have been extremely challenging for 6. Furniture in the living room was a sofa that could sit 3 people. Had to bring chairs in from other rooms. Furniture in bedroom was none except wardrobe The view from the conservatory was limited and not that special Swimming pool was nice and the grounds

Review No: 5 by Mrs Campbell who stayed here on 20/07/2019 Language Flag

A great base for relaxing and exploring.Helpful staff and a fabulous restaurant.Wildlife on the decking was very entertaining.The swimming pool looked great, but we didn't use it. The Chalets are very compact,especially the 2nd bedroom. Definately only suitable for one person or 2 younger children as the 2nd bed is a pull out trundle, which uses all the floor space. Kitchen was modern with good quality appliances. The only downside would be in the lounge.It was dark at all times of the day and would benefit from spot lights rather than centre pendant. Over all a great holiday in chalet 22.

Review No: 6 by Mr Lathe who stayed here on 29/06/2019 Language Flag

The bedrooms are little small for a family but were fine for my wife and I.The site was quiet and very relaxing and was a good base for exploring the Spey Valley area. Overall we were very pleased with the resort and hope to go there again in the future

Review No: 7 by Mr Marston who stayed here on 22/06/2019 Language Flag

Lovely spot for wildlife and walks.Inveness ,Aviemore ,lochs and whisky.Not really big enough for six people.

Review No: 8 by Mr Williams who stayed here on 15/06/2019 Language Flag

Absolutely awful accommodation. Certainly not like any Mac Donald resort I’ve ever visited. Has never been refurbished since built by the look of it. Ancient unattractive furniture, tiny bedrooms, really horrible. I went to visit my parents at the end of their stay. Had I been there at the beginning I would have been asking for their credit back immediately. I will definitely be complaining.

Review No: 9 by Mr Wood who stayed here on 25/05/2019 Language Flag

Having owned a week at Lochanhully for decades, it is home from home, with a very warm welcome on arrival, and the lodge was immaculate. The beauty of Lochanhully is the peace and beauty of the surroundings, with wildlife all around, including, deer, rabbits and ducks. I had a family of three baby rabbits, with their mother, coming within inches of the lodge. The numerous ducklings were a delight to watch. There is so much beauty around, with the Cairngorms only 20 mins away, and the west coast is within two hours drive through beautiful scenery all the way. The weather was rather cold, 6c, with plenty of sunshine, until the last 48 hours, when non-stop rain set in. I look forward to returning at the end of August.

Review No: 10 by Mr & Mrs Swindlehurst who stayed here on 18/05/2019 Language Flag

The Staff that we had contact with were very helpful and pleasant . The lodges as we know from other visits well equipped , clean, a little compact and a good base to tour the area from. As others have said though, 6 adults would find the lodges a little cramped. The surroundings are lovely with the Lochan and the woodland making it brilliant for wild life . At the time we visited there were many mallard ducks with ducklings every where . Jakes restaurant onsite although independent to the resort, is very well worth a visit or two or three whilst there 😁. Every one we came in contact with at Jakes was helpful and couldn’t do enough , the banter between everyone was great to see, but still keeping everything very professional. Food great too , eat in or take away . A great asset to the resort . All in all, the few days we stayed was pleasant ,unfortunately we had to leave earlier than planned .

Review No: 11 by Mr & Mrs Kendle who stayed here on 13/04/2019 Language Flag

The Unit was clean and well maintained but very small for 6 people. The 2nd bedroom was NOT a twin bedroom at all. It had one bed in it and only a pull out bed from underneath. When it was pulled out there was no room left. The main bedroom was so small one could not walk up either side of the bed properly, except sideways. There was no carving plate, no carving folk and with only 6 of everything there were no spares at all - also no dishwasher. The hot and cold taps were loose in the bathroom sink. The dining area was an added on conservatory which was far too small to sit 6 people at the table comfortably. Overall we had a lovely stay and even though the Unit was clean and well maintained, it was too small in all the rooms except the one and only bathroom, for 6 people.

Review No: 12 by Mrs Caldow who stayed here on 08/03/2019 Language Flag

The lodge we stayed in was only suitable for 2 adults and 2 children, not 6 people. In fact only really comfortable for 2. Very small lodge . Despite that lovely woodland views and wildlife. Only 3 star, the TV reception was not that good but could have been the weather.

Review No: 13 by Mr Murray who stayed here on 01/03/2019 Language Flag

Enjoyed a recent stay at the Lochanhully Woodland Club. Its in a great location and our lodge was right on the edge of the resort so we had a forest behind us. Saw plenty wild life in the area. Great walks in and around the resort. The on site restaurant Jakes is first class. Great menu and the food was tops. Staff helpful and friendly. No doubt will return sometime.

Review No: 14 by Mr Robison who stayed here on 29/12/2018 Language Flag

We’re just back from a week there over New Year, 3 adults, one child, two dogs. Location is great, both to escape and to be near stuff if required, eg Aviemore & Inverness. Great base to explore the fantastic scenery & good base for skiers. That said, the independently operated Jake’s restaurant makes it - very friendly, wholesome food, nice atmosphere. Without that we would probably not even contemplate returning. The accommodations are dated and very small. Fine if you want a laugh, which we did but it got wearying at times(!). Little things are missing, especially for a Macdonald resort, eg tea/coffee starter pack. The conservatory feature is welcomed, but it’s your dining room room with a table the size of which makes it difficult to access and sit comfortably at. A smaller, fold down version would be more suitable. Not sure if Macdonald are treating this as a Cash Cow and a entry level location for new staff, but we left sensing that. All in all, a great location, in need of a refurb and more spacious rooms, plus more inclusive and welcoming staff. Like we said, without Jake’s, we would not recommend.

Review No: 15 by Mr Stewart who stayed here on 22/09/2018 Language Flag

Nice woodland/lakeland site (50 + cottages/chalets) just a short (10 min) walk to the village of Carrbridge, where Landmark is situated, and a short drive from Aviemore and the Cairngorm mountain range. You have to pay heating charges at the end of your stay (c. £5/day), but everything was fine, although the resort looks a little outdated and could do with a bit of a refresh. Recommended for a weekend rather than a longer break.

Review No: 16 by Mr Hill who stayed here on 14/04/2018 Language Flag

Nice wooden log cabin very adequate for our needs. Good kitchen well stocked with utensils. Each cabin has a sun room type area with the dining table inside. The floor was wooden and therefore quite slippery for the dining room chairs leading to a minor fall for one of our elderly guests. Luckily nothing serious. The only minor complaint being that there were no outside facilities to sit in the good weather..not always expected in Scotland however we did have a good week weather wise. All in all a nice place to stay in a good area to see everything. Also the village of Carr bridge was a short walk away with a pub allowing dogs (not allowed in the resort bar) but be careful when walking back at night as no street lighting!

Review No: 17 by Mrs Hine who stayed here on 07/04/2018 Language Flag

We did not use the facilities on site as the surrounding area took up all our time and energy

Review No: 18 by Mr Wood who stayed here on 07/04/2018 Language Flag

Lochanhully is a home from home, with a very warm welcome and excellent accommodation in lodges around the lochan. Sadly, because Jakes Bar, an independant business, has now taken over the clubhouse, there is no longer evening entertainment on site. However, it is only 10 mins by car to Dalfaber, now called Spey Valley Resort, Macdonalds sister resort at Aviemore, where the evening entertainment is provided.

Review No: 19 by Mr & Mrs Reed who stayed here on 23/02/2018 Language Flag

We have been to timeshare resorts in many countries, this was the worst stay so far.Ok we arrived very tired after our journey ‘cottage’ was Cold & took ages to get the heating to kick in and ages to heat up to a ‘warm’ temperature. We struggled all week to keep ourselves warm. The lounge/kitchen was very dark & lighting inadequate to read. Best lights in kitchen. Cramped bedroom,only table to sit up to eat in Conservatory, but freezing in there , so did not put heating on in there & tried to keep the curtains closed to try to keep warm. My husband was not well when we were there,& the cold ‘cottage’ did not help.

Review No: 20 by Mrs Rae who stayed here on 16/02/2018 Language Flag

Enjoyed a winter week at Lochanhully Woodland club. The weather was sunny and dry, which allowed us to explore the vast and varied walks in Lochanhully and beyond. Skiing mid week was great . Ski slopes quiet ,well groomed and no ques . Lochanhully was relatively quiet. Swimming pool , sauna and steam room to ourselves. Overall a great week ,fantastic weather with amazing Scottish scenery, a great place to base yourself to discover the Highlands. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Please Wait
Please Wait