Customer reviews for "Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa"

There are 15 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr Assitt who stayed here on 09/11/2019 Language Flag

We stayed in Spruce 9 Lodge 2 bed unit sleeps 6 ground floor access with bed settee for 2 guests ,open plan kitchen, diner and lounge with outdoor balcony leading from rear lounge overlooking gardens, level access shower and toilet, separate bathroom with freestanding bath and twin bedroom to front and stairs to upstairs en-suite double room this unit has been renovated to a high standard throughout in Feb 2019 and is lovely and comfortable with quality fixtures and fittings the resort is being updated gradually so it would depend on allocation if you were fortunate to stay in a renovated unit. The only downside we can see and what as long term owners of Timeshare expect is there were very limited cleaning products in this unit eg : only 1 dishwasher tablet provided for a weeks holiday Timeshare guests have expectations of those things being provided for the duration of our stay £15 per week chargeable for Internet in lodges if you want it. Forest Hills Hotel is lovely which great views over Loch Ard towards Ben Lomond but little pricey for meals and drinks we feel more than should be as we have stayed at other MacDonald Hotels and they are more competitive and staff seem happier too and service more personal to guests .The Bistro was not open during our stay due to being out of season. Nearest village Aberfoyle is looking much nicer and the local villagers have taken over closed shops to try to rejuvenate the village which is lovely can recommend Maggies for delicious homemade preserves and cakes the ice cream shop next door, Station cafe the Aberfoyle butchers and deli has good meat,homemade pies etc and the Woollen Centre lovely soups too you also have a Co-op for provisions it is good to shop local as you are helping the community .....would we stay again definitely but would probably like to know which unit as we suspect some units are rental and maybe not furnished to the same standard as Timeshare guests are used to Thankyou DAE another great exchange

Review No: 2 by Mr Clough who stayed here on 07/09/2019 Language Flag

The quality of this resort has deteriorated significantly since we first visited 30 years ago. The interior of our unit was almost unchanged since that early visit, just worn, dated, and in poor repair. The ground floor bedroom felt damp and the mildewy smell made clothes unwearable, the off-peak water heater didn't work, and the oven overheated dangerously (although this was fixed promptly when we mentioned it). The gardens are still pretty but the site feels overdeveloped, and the hotel guests dominate.

Review No: 3 by Mrs Connelly who stayed here on 22/06/2019 Language Flag

The apartment Oak 11 was very spacious with a sauna in one of the bathrooms. Over two levels. A short walk from the hotel and leisure facility. Extremely comfortable beds. Great apartment. Superb location. Car essential. Four miles from nearest town Aberfoyle, but a beautiful run. Picturesque area. Decent sized swimming pool. Tiny jacuzzi. Steam room and sauna. Treatments bookable for those who wish. Food and drink here is expensive. A meal for two with soft drinks cost £62. Two alcoholic and two non alcoholic drinks in the bar cost £29. There are activities available. Beautiful for walkers. We found hotel staff didn’t seem to know what was available. We asked about a Scottish night advertised in the lodge and they didn’t know what we were talking about. It was a new member of staff who said she would find out. Hotel and lodge services need to talk to each other. We enjoyed our holiday and would recommend it.

Review No: 4 by Mr Rice who stayed here on 27/04/2019 Language Flag

unit was very nice, but the balcony was filthy, as was the outdoor furniture. No power showers!!

Review No: 5 by Mr Winter who stayed here on 01/12/2018 Language Flag

This is a great resort. Everything matched our expectations. Facilities were very good, staff friendly and maintenance staff excellent. Our unit was very spacious with great views of the lake and surrounding hills. Although we didn't actually use the leisure facilities we did have a good look at them. There was something for everyone; a gym, lovely swimming pool, squash court, table tennis and a putting green. The only blip was the downstairs bathroom. It needs updating and better heating, However, it is certainly a resort we would re-visit.

Review No: 6 by Mrs Brooker who stayed here on 15/09/2018 Language Flag

This is the second time we have been to Forest Hills and we find it very comfortable and welcoming. Perhaps it's only drawback is the last 4 miles of the journey along the road to the resort, this is very narrow and winding, it's not unusual to be confronted by a coach coming the other way but it certainly adds to the excitement! Unfortunately the weather wasn't brilliant as we were affected by the tail of a hurricane but we were warm and comfortable and had plenty of supplies is so it was quite nice to have a completely free day. Overall we would certainly and would be happy to visit again.

Review No: 7 by Mr McGennity who stayed here on 04/08/2018 Language Flag

The area and scenery were stunning with picturesque vistas in every direction. The hotel and resort were also very presentable although the entrance road was a little restricted with only one way in and out. Overall it is a good family resort, although the entertainment was limited. The downside for us was the catering. We ate in either the hotel restaurant or the bistro for all our evening meals and found them both pricy, particularily since the food standard was not the best. This was probably the only real disappointment of the holiday.

Review No: 8 by Mr Mutch who stayed here on 16/06/2018 Language Flag

To many trees obscuring view of the loch but still a nice place

Review No: 9 by Mr & Mrs Ogilvie who stayed here on 26/05/2018 Language Flag

Fantastic resort with breath taking views Staff were very friendly and welcoming, gym and swimming pool on site with tennis courts and football pitch. Bar bistro was excellent first time here but won't be the last. Sauna also in our lodge and we'll equipped

Review No: 10 by Mrs Walker who stayed here on 14/04/2018 Language Flag

An absolutely beautiful location & grounds but the lodge accommodation needs fully upgrading & refurbishing, it is very dated & well used. As the week I had deposited for exchange is on a 5* Resort, I was disappointed not to have a similar standard at Forest Hills. The staff at the Timeshare check-in were very helpful but the bartender at the Hotel had an unfortunate attitude & no customer care whatsoever.

Review No: 11 by Mr & Mrs Renton who stayed here on 14/04/2018 Language Flag

Enjoyed our stay in a beautiful area. The accommodation easily met our expectations. We had a very enjoyable meal in Rafters restaurant. Although not the responsibility of the resort, our holiday experience would have been improved if the road from Aberfoyle had a much improved surface.

Review No: 12 by Mrs Davidson who stayed here on 31/03/2018 Language Flag

Not the best visit this time! Stayed ihere last year but stayed in Ben lomond(one bedroom unit.was so good returned .Stayed in silver birch! Unit tired! Smelled of damp! Very cold and storage heaters inadequate to keep rooms warm! Furniture part it! Couches uncomfortable and beds too! Cut our week short and came home 3 days early! Disappointing and won’t return! On positive side resort staff very friendly and helpful!

Review No: 13 by Mr Thomas who stayed here on 03/03/2018 Language Flag

Forest Hills is a superb resort staffed by excellent people who appear to genuinely put the needs of their guests first. Sadly we missed the first few days of our break because of the heavy snowfall in late February early March that particularly affected North Northumberland. Despite the delay our accommodation was ready & waiting and odd tweaks we requested we administered quickly & efficiently. The surrounding area is stunning with excellent towns, loch walks, mountain & hill walking and the most glorious countryside. Excellent Tourist information services and wonderful local cafes & restaurants. The Queen Elizabeth Forrest & the Dukes Pass are a must. Fabulous information centre at the Forrest with a super cafe & knowledgeable friendly staff.

Review No: 14 by Mr & Mrs Kerr who stayed here on 24/02/2018 Language Flag

Unfortunately we were only able to stay four nights but had a lovely relaxing break in Oak 10, Forest Hills Resort. Accommodation was very spacious, refurbished with a lovely view. Varied entertainment programme. Didn’t use the pool so can’t comment. All in all we had a lovely time and look forward to returning.

Review No: 15 by Mr Mirrlees who stayed here on 23/12/2017 Language Flag

The age of the apartments must make it difficult to keep everything in working order but I am noting a few things that need repairing, We informed the staff of these problems during our stay so hopefully they will have been resolved. 1. The ground floor hall light didn't work properly (not just a faulty bulb) but would sometimes come on during the night. 2. The ground floor hall storage heater input charge controller did not work, when we arrived the heater was extremely hot and as I was unable to turn the controls down so I turned the heater off. I do understand how storage heaters work so this is not a case of operator error. 3. The sauna thermostat did not work, the sauna just got hotter and hotter until someone switched the heater off. One other unfortunate problem is the automatic door closers, I understand this will be a fire regulation but some people don't hold the door until it closes which results in a lot of door slamming, not only from the apartment you are using but from surrounding apartments as well. This can be a bit disturbing at bed times.
Please Wait
Please Wait