Customer reviews for "Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa"

There are 23 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mrs Connelly who stayed here on 22/06/2019 Language Flag

The apartment Oak 11 was very spacious with a sauna in one of the bathrooms. Over two levels. A short walk from the hotel and leisure facility. Extremely comfortable beds. Great apartment. Superb location. Car essential. Four miles from nearest town Aberfoyle, but a beautiful run. Picturesque area. Decent sized swimming pool. Tiny jacuzzi. Steam room and sauna. Treatments bookable for those who wish. Food and drink here is expensive. A meal for two with soft drinks cost £62. Two alcoholic and two non alcoholic drinks in the bar cost £29. There are activities available. Beautiful for walkers. We found hotel staff didn’t seem to know what was available. We asked about a Scottish night advertised in the lodge and they didn’t know what we were talking about. It was a new member of staff who said she would find out. Hotel and lodge services need to talk to each other. We enjoyed our holiday and would recommend it.

Review No: 2 by Mr Rice who stayed here on 27/04/2019 Language Flag

unit was very nice, but the balcony was filthy, as was the outdoor furniture. No power showers!!

Review No: 3 by Mr Winter who stayed here on 01/12/2018 Language Flag

This is a great resort. Everything matched our expectations. Facilities were very good, staff friendly and maintenance staff excellent. Our unit was very spacious with great views of the lake and surrounding hills. Although we didn't actually use the leisure facilities we did have a good look at them. There was something for everyone; a gym, lovely swimming pool, squash court, table tennis and a putting green. The only blip was the downstairs bathroom. It needs updating and better heating, However, it is certainly a resort we would re-visit.

Review No: 4 by Mrs Brooker who stayed here on 15/09/2018 Language Flag

This is the second time we have been to Forest Hills and we find it very comfortable and welcoming. Perhaps it's only drawback is the last 4 miles of the journey along the road to the resort, this is very narrow and winding, it's not unusual to be confronted by a coach coming the other way but it certainly adds to the excitement! Unfortunately the weather wasn't brilliant as we were affected by the tail of a hurricane but we were warm and comfortable and had plenty of supplies is so it was quite nice to have a completely free day. Overall we would certainly and would be happy to visit again.

Review No: 5 by Mr McGennity who stayed here on 04/08/2018 Language Flag

The area and scenery were stunning with picturesque vistas in every direction. The hotel and resort were also very presentable although the entrance road was a little restricted with only one way in and out. Overall it is a good family resort, although the entertainment was limited. The downside for us was the catering. We ate in either the hotel restaurant or the bistro for all our evening meals and found them both pricy, particularily since the food standard was not the best. This was probably the only real disappointment of the holiday.

Review No: 6 by Mr Mutch who stayed here on 16/06/2018 Language Flag

To many trees obscuring view of the loch but still a nice place

Review No: 7 by Mr & Mrs Ogilvie who stayed here on 26/05/2018 Language Flag

Fantastic resort with breath taking views Staff were very friendly and welcoming, gym and swimming pool on site with tennis courts and football pitch. Bar bistro was excellent first time here but won't be the last. Sauna also in our lodge and we'll equipped

Review No: 8 by Mr & Mrs Renton who stayed here on 14/04/2018 Language Flag

Enjoyed our stay in a beautiful area. The accommodation easily met our expectations. We had a very enjoyable meal in Rafters restaurant. Although not the responsibility of the resort, our holiday experience would have been improved if the road from Aberfoyle had a much improved surface.

Review No: 9 by Mrs Walker who stayed here on 14/04/2018 Language Flag

An absolutely beautiful location & grounds but the lodge accommodation needs fully upgrading & refurbishing, it is very dated & well used. As the week I had deposited for exchange is on a 5* Resort, I was disappointed not to have a similar standard at Forest Hills. The staff at the Timeshare check-in were very helpful but the bartender at the Hotel had an unfortunate attitude & no customer care whatsoever.

Review No: 10 by Mrs Davidson who stayed here on 31/03/2018 Language Flag

Not the best visit this time! Stayed ihere last year but stayed in Ben lomond(one bedroom unit.was so good returned .Stayed in silver birch! Unit tired! Smelled of damp! Very cold and storage heaters inadequate to keep rooms warm! Furniture part it! Couches uncomfortable and beds too! Cut our week short and came home 3 days early! Disappointing and won’t return! On positive side resort staff very friendly and helpful!

Review No: 11 by Mr Thomas who stayed here on 03/03/2018 Language Flag

Forest Hills is a superb resort staffed by excellent people who appear to genuinely put the needs of their guests first. Sadly we missed the first few days of our break because of the heavy snowfall in late February early March that particularly affected North Northumberland. Despite the delay our accommodation was ready & waiting and odd tweaks we requested we administered quickly & efficiently. The surrounding area is stunning with excellent towns, loch walks, mountain & hill walking and the most glorious countryside. Excellent Tourist information services and wonderful local cafes & restaurants. The Queen Elizabeth Forrest & the Dukes Pass are a must. Fabulous information centre at the Forrest with a super cafe & knowledgeable friendly staff.

Review No: 12 by Mr & Mrs Kerr who stayed here on 24/02/2018 Language Flag

Unfortunately we were only able to stay four nights but had a lovely relaxing break in Oak 10, Forest Hills Resort. Accommodation was very spacious, refurbished with a lovely view. Varied entertainment programme. Didn’t use the pool so can’t comment. All in all we had a lovely time and look forward to returning.

Review No: 13 by Mr Mirrlees who stayed here on 23/12/2017 Language Flag

The age of the apartments must make it difficult to keep everything in working order but I am noting a few things that need repairing, We informed the staff of these problems during our stay so hopefully they will have been resolved. 1. The ground floor hall light didn't work properly (not just a faulty bulb) but would sometimes come on during the night. 2. The ground floor hall storage heater input charge controller did not work, when we arrived the heater was extremely hot and as I was unable to turn the controls down so I turned the heater off. I do understand how storage heaters work so this is not a case of operator error. 3. The sauna thermostat did not work, the sauna just got hotter and hotter until someone switched the heater off. One other unfortunate problem is the automatic door closers, I understand this will be a fire regulation but some people don't hold the door until it closes which results in a lot of door slamming, not only from the apartment you are using but from surrounding apartments as well. This can be a bit disturbing at bed times.

Review No: 14 by Dr Gregson-Green who stayed here on 05/08/2017 Language Flag

The resort is great for families. Lots of things to do. Beautiful scenery and loch.However, it is very isolated so stock up on your food and drink unless you want to keep driving to Aberfoyle. We found the lodge although well furnished and fitted, damp and smelly. We couldn't let our two young children sleep in the downstairs bedroom for 2 reasons. 1 it was too far from our upstairs bedroom, 3 fire doors away. 2. It was extremely damp and smelly. There was a moisture extractor on the window sill which was full. Outside the downstairs bedroom the floor had rotted away and it was only the carpet stopping us falling into the hole. Our bedroom wasn't much better with damp on the ceiling and around the window. We all have been waking up with poorly chests. The bedrooms were also dusty, with dust on the lamp bases and dressing tables. On the plus side the accommodation is large and with good fittings, bathrooms are nice and spacious. We checked in later at around 7pm and the hotel staff were less than friendly. No information about WiFi or whether we could use our owners discount card in the restaurants. The same experience on check out, wasn't even asked if we had enjoyed our stay. Yet moments before checking out an owner at the resort was being fawned over. I assume as we had exchanged we were considered not worth being polite to. We are owners up at Macdonald's in Aviemore and have always received a good level of service. This is one timeshare resort we will not be staying in again.

Review No: 15 by Mrs Davidson who stayed here on 05/08/2017 Language Flag

Luxury exchange in kinlochard! Appartment(Ben Lomond) had balcony overlooking the Loch! Very scenic! Quality of unit superb! Had all our needs! Swimming pool and jacuzzi fir use in the wet days! Only downside was lack of wifi and reception! Sometimes able to access in lounge in hotel! Need a car to get around! Remote and peaceful with lovely walks! Take your own food!local coop not up to much! Callander nearest fir tescos! Lovely Chinese restaurant there fir meal out! Would recommend this resort!

Review No: 16 by Mrs Stutt who stayed here on 27/05/2017 Language Flag

The resort is of the same good standard as existed during the years that we owned there. However, there is a huge down side if eating in the resort. There used to be a pleasant bar and bistro where the prices were reasonable, The present Rafters bar and bistro still serves good food at reasonable prices. However, a 175ml glass of wine costs almost as much as the retail price of a 75cl bottle of the same wine. This excessive mark up in a restaurant of this type is unacceptable and has left a lasting bad taste in the mouth!

Review No: 17 by Mrs Ritchie who stayed here on 18/03/2017 Language Flag

Large 2 bedroom lodge sleeping six, with sauna and three bathooms. Beautiful setting beside Loch Ard with view of the mountains. 4 miles from Aberfoyle which has Co-operative store, pharmacy, restaurants, hotels, Wool Centre, etc. Grounds invaded by a herd of wild goats which was reluctant to leave. Pleasant restaurant staff in Rafters and good entertainment provided throughout the week. This resort is to be thoroughly recommended.

Review No: 18 by Mr Jossaume who stayed here on 11/02/2017 Language Flag

We've swapped weeks to Forest Hills before and were happy to do so again. The resort is in a beautiful scenic area and manages to balance feeling remote and tucked away, yet not too far from the bright lights. The ground floor lodge we stayed in this visit is mostly comfortable and well maintained although its probably in need of a refurb quite soon. The living room has a huge picture window that looks out over the gardens and loch. If you like bird watching you could spend the entire week in your armchair counting off the different varieties of finches, tits and numerous others (including a large group of ducks). Theres a decent sized television and a DVD player although no WiFi which these days is a bit of a must. If you want to connect to the world wide web you have to decamp to the hotel of leisure block. Theres also no mobile phone signal unless you are on Vodafone. This may be a blessing to some and an inconvenience to others The kitchen is equipped with all you need to self cater and also has a Nespresso coffee machine if you want to bring your own capsules. A good sized dining table is in the living area and in summer, a table and chairs for the patio area. Master bedroom has a superking bed which definitely need the mattress renewing as it feels pretty worn out. The downstairs twin beds could do with the same change. Plenty of bathrooms/shower rooms and toilets for 6 people. Food in Rafters leisure block bistro is quite good and theres a range of games including a full size snooker table, darts, pool table, air hockey, kids DVD area and such. My only complaint is that this bar must be the only one in Scotland not to have any malt whisky (or Iron Bru!!). Didnt eat in the main hotel restaurant but the lounge areas are very comfortable. The pool and its spa features are another area in need of some investment. Water was a bit chilly. The spa pool is very small and often only worked reset by staff. Staff are all very pleasant and

Review No: 19 by Mr Richards who stayed here on 04/02/2017 Language Flag

Great Holliday lovely clean Lodge set in landscape grounds . Club house serving drinks and meals ,also the same in the on site hotel. Spa swimming pool etc all beautifully kept,nice place for a great Holliday ,have been three times ,love it

Review No: 20 by Mrs Beveridge who stayed here on 28/01/2017 Language Flag

Very nice apartment, staff very friendly and helpful. Staff in nearby hotel were very welcoming. Several activities arranged for guests. Would definitely recommend this resort and apartments.

Review No: 21 by Mr & Mrs Pickles who stayed here on 17/12/2016 Language Flag

Very good resort helpful staff

Review No: 22 by Mrs Nellyer who stayed here on 10/12/2016 Language Flag

We had a great time at Forest Hills. The property we stayed in was very clean and well equipped. Decor and furnishings although good quality are looking a bit tired and could do with updating. Loved the games table, nice glassware and kitchen facilities. Having a sauna in the property was amazing. Found the staff very pleasant and helpful. We were not able to use the pool however as we were not informed on check-in that it would be closed for a period during our stay and unfortunately this was the time we decided to visit the pool. It would have been open later during our booked week but we were not able to stay for the full week.

Review No: 23 by Mr Spittle who stayed here on 10/12/2016 Language Flag

Saying that it is a very good resort works against me exchanging future weeks there. However, I must say it is one of the best and basically cannot be faulted. Weather perhaps could be better but the resort cannot be blamed for that. Anyway, what should one expect for December in that part of the British Isles!
Please Wait
Please Wait