Customer reviews for "Hilton Craigendarroch"

There are 65 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr & Mrs Reed who stayed here on 11/01/2020 Language Flag

We found the unit of Good Quality. The Electricity was On different tarifs thoughout a 24hr period , 2 types of heater in the unit and quite difficult to understand,and gauage how much we were likely to be charged at the end of the week. The unit was quite cold so had the heating on most of the time. We kept the Large Window curtains in the Bedroom closed all the time to reserve the heat. The large window in the Lounge also had a curtain that we did not open fully for the same reason. We got lost several times when we drove from our unit to the Reception/clubhouse in the evening. Plenty signs for the Lodges from the Reception, but NOT when going to the Reception from our Unit. We found ourselves turning round several times to get to the Bar/ restaurant/Pool area. MORE DIRECTIONAL SIGNS NEEDED>

Review No: 2 by Mr Hills who stayed here on 23/12/2019 Language Flag

This resort in my view is one of the top ones in the UK. The lodges are excellent being well furnished and well equipped. Ours had recently had bedroom and bathroom refurbishment and this was to a very high standard. I understand that further refurbishment is ongoing with living areas being next. Customer service is excellent. I asked if it would be possible to have some pint glasses as I like a beer and these were delivered to my lodge within minutes of my request. Staff at the resort are all friendly and helpful and the onsite Keiller lounge is ideal for a drink or a meal and means that no driving is involved. There is lots to see and do in the area but a car is essential as distances can be quite large. On the downside, energy costs in Scotland are very high so be prepared for a large utility bill at the end of your stay. There is no indication in the lodge of the amount of energy that you are using so, in cold weather, budget for around £15-00 per day for this. Despite having been to this resort numerous times, I still cannot get to grips with the heating system and find that I am either freezing cold or boiling hot! Oh for a simple on/off switch type system. We will return again and again to this beautiful area as we keep on discovering new things to do whilst at the same time revisiting old favourites.

Review No: 3 by Mrs Hocking who stayed here on 22/12/2019 Language Flag

Had a fantastic week here.Couldnt fault the place. Well equipped lodge .Lovely area for walks .Eating in the restaurant was reasonably priced. Coffee and cake £3:95. We found the staff friendly and helpful. Would definitely go there again.

Review No: 4 by Mr Wood who stayed here on 07/12/2019 Language Flag

Couldn't wish for anything more brilliant gets five stars from us

Review No: 5 by Mr Shearer who stayed here on 17/11/2019 Language Flag

This is a lovely resort in beautiful surroundings. The lodge was big and spacious and reasonably easy to heat even when the temperature outside was well below freezing. The leisure complex was great but the bars and restaurants are a bit pricey. However, Ballater is only 20 minutes walk away where there are plenty of alternatives. The wifi worked most of the time and was adequately fast as well as being free. We did have a problem with the TV, phone and wifi one evening which took rather too long to fix, and certainly longer that we were promised. We were also not kept informed of progress with the fix. However, it did eventually come back on but this rather spoiled our stay, although it won't stop us going back.

Review No: 6 by Mr Dixon who stayed here on 14/09/2019 Language Flag

Resort is excellent, grounds, pool, spa etc. Sadly the lodge was looking tired and in need of a deep clean inside and out.

Review No: 7 by Mrs Mcleod who stayed here on 25/08/2019 Language Flag

We were very satisfied with our overall experience at Craigendarroch and we look forward to our next visit in May 2020

Review No: 8 by Mr & Mrs Stead who stayed here on 21/07/2019 Language Flag

We enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was spacious and the position gave us privacy. The whole site was well laid out and no problem with parking. There area offered plenty of things to do and see. The town of Ballater is really lovely, with lots of little shops, cafes and resturants. It was a joy to walk round the town. Would visit again.

Review No: 9 by Mrs Rothwell who stayed here on 29/06/2019 Language Flag

Fabulous, high quality accommodation in a wonderful highland location.

Review No: 10 by Professor Wardle who stayed here on 16/06/2019 Language Flag

First time we have been to this resort. Really good position in the Highlands and fairly close to local shops. Disabled and Elderly may have issues with the hilly nature of the resort. Red Squirrels and Rabbits provide entertainment. Will definitely return to the resort.

Review No: 11 by Mr Masson who stayed here on 15/06/2019 Language Flag

Have just spent a thoroughly enjoyable week at Craigendarroch - excellent leisure facilities including restaurants. The Lodge was very comfortable very quiet and surrounded by beautifully landscaped area - rhododendron in full bloom! Ballater a perfect spot for a relaxing holiday with many interesting walks close by.

Review No: 12 by Mr & Mrs Lloyd who stayed here on 18/05/2019 Language Flag

Great resort and lodge. Pool and facilities very good. Could do with some disabled changing rooms.

Review No: 13 by Mr & Mrs Richardson who stayed here on 05/05/2019 Language Flag

We loved everything about this complex and will look forward to returning. The Lodge was very comfortable with lovely views and I especially appreciated the practical drying unit. We used the sports complex which was clean and welcoming and ate in the restaurant with guests, both were very good. The vicinity has lots to offer for a week, stunning scenery and excellent golf at Aboyne and Ballater.

Review No: 14 by Mr & Mrs Froom who stayed here on 28/04/2019 Language Flag

The resort is in a lovely setting and well worth the visit. Staff are friendly and helpful. The lodges are well kept.

Review No: 15 by Mr Elliot who stayed here on 30/03/2019 Language Flag

Well equipped, well maintained resort with friendly, helpful staff. We enjoyed the restaurant and the activities organised for the children

Review No: 16 by Mr Bushill who stayed here on 23/03/2019 Language Flag

The resort is in a fantastic location with great scenery on Royal Deeside. We enjoyed walking along the river and forest trails. The area is rich in history and we enjoyed days out withing easy reach of the resort The accommodation provides a home-from-home feel and on site facilities were of a high standard.

Review No: 17 by Mr & Mrs Kerr who stayed here on 17/03/2019 Language Flag

Excellent, spacious and very well equipped accommodation. High quality fittings and furnishings. The bathroom and shower rooms were all newly refurbished. WiFi great. If I had one slight negative point to make it would be in relation to the main tv. No guide on the tv to tell you what was on the different channels. A wee bit frustrating. Otherwise first class. Have been before and hope to return in the near future. Thank you Dial an Exchange. You’ve come up trumps again! ( p.s thanks to DAE we’ve met up with friends that we hadn’t seen for around thirty years. We keep in touch at Christmas but hadn’t met up .... till last week. They had exchanged with DAE too and were, unbeknown to us, also at Craigendarroch. We were in lodge 69 - they were next door in lodge 68! That was the icing on the cake for our holiday. Thanks DAE. Friends reunited! )

Review No: 18 by Mr & Mrs McCreath who stayed here on 02/02/2019 Language Flag

We enjoyed a very relaxing week in a first class 3 bedroom villa. Everything you could want is in the property and there is so much to see and do in a beautiful area. The recently re-opened Station is well worth a visit and the Rothesay Room for lunch a great experience at a reasonable cost, dinner is pricey. The weather was sub-zero with blue skies most of the week but the lodge was warm and cosy to return to. We left the heating at the pre-set 3 offpeak times which resulted in an electricity bill of almost £90 for the week but considering the outside temperature this was reasonable. Already looking forward to our next visit.

Review No: 19 by Mr Hutchinson who stayed here on 02/02/2019 Language Flag

One of the best Scottish exchanges weve done. fantastic scenery, great place & bar prices not over the top as in other places. We were very lucky to get lots of snow but clear roads to drive around on. We were very frugal with the heating in the lodge after reading some of the other comments on electricity bills at end of week. Ours was £68.02, for a 2 bedroom, which we did think was steep, as were out every day & the heating was set on eco mode most of the time we were in, but it was February & it was a cold week. It was the most we have ever paid in an exchange lodge in Scotland. Having said that, I wouldn't let this put me off a return visit to a beautiful place.

Review No: 20 by Mrs Bytheway who stayed here on 27/01/2019 Language Flag

Last week there was a significant fall of snow and the ground staff are to be highly commended for the sterling job done, going round the estate several times during the afternoon of the snow fall clearing the drives and gritting to allow guests to access to their lodges. The resort is well placed for local attractions and the village is still in recovery mode with some new shops opened in the last year after the devastating flood a few years ago. The Railway Station Museum and Tourist Information Centre is restored and fully open and well worth a visit. Afternoon tea is to be recommended, booking is required.

Review No: 21 by Mrs Williamson who stayed here on 30/12/2018 Language Flag

We arrived 30th December and had a week of magnificent walking weather. Attended the Hogmanay party at Craigendarroch and enjoyed the atmosphere. Very good lodge, excellent staff and facilities, fab location, can’t wait to go back. DAE, thank you yet again.

Review No: 22 by Mrs Kirk who stayed here on 02/12/2018 Language Flag

Hilton Craigendarroch was a pleasure to visit - it was an excellent choice for a holiday away from it all. Only downside was we didn't get any snow!! I would highly recommend this resort and hope to visit again next year.

Review No: 23 by Mr Robertson who stayed here on 18/11/2018 Language Flag

Excellent property. Warm and comfortable even in poor weather conditions. Accommodation spacious. Grounds well maintained. Staff helpful and efficient. Love to return.

Review No: 24 by Mr & Mrs Clarkson who stayed here on 04/11/2018 Language Flag

We enjoyed our stay. However a few things that could be looked into Balcony decking needs attention, Water pressure poor for shower, hot water takes to long to heat while washing hands, Resetting internet every 24 hours should be available through out full stay, Would be better if there was a three seater sofa.

Review No: 25 by Mrs Innes who stayed here on 16/09/2018 Language Flag

We really enjoyed our week at Craigendarroch. We have been there before on exchange, and so knew the place well. The weather was interesting! The very windy day on Wednesday seemed to be better in the Ballater area than it was here at home in Edinburgh, where travel was seriously disrupted. The only disruption we had was some temporary power supply problems, in common with most of the country, but this did not cause us any difficulties personally. The other days we were fortunate to have some spells of lovely weather, including a fantastic drive home on Sunday, so we have lots of photos from such a beautiful part of Scotland. Many thanks once again to DAE for a great holiday. Anna & David Innes

Review No: 26 by Mrs Morris who stayed here on 16/09/2018 Language Flag

The middle terrace unit was very dark and considerably less floor space than we were expecting, and we did not feel it was a fair exchange given the luxury unit that we relinquished. Tv system was not at all great and storm damage to the system meant we were left with a totally inadequate service for the rest of the week. Double bed consisted of two single mattress put together and no mattress protector fitted. The tumble dryer did not work. Aside from this we enjoyed the wonderful ambience of the resort and the excellent facilities it afforded, in an area of outstanding natural beauty close to Balmoral. The villages of Ballater and Braemar are within very easy travelling and have a good choice of local shops. Ideal base for touring this area with plenty to do.

Review No: 27 by Mr Place who stayed here on 15/09/2018 Language Flag

Beautiful setting in lovely oak and birch clad woodland. Lodges all have private allocated parking and do not overlook each other to any great extent. Bar and lounge area and club room in magnificent building set in beautiful grounds. ALL staff pleasant and friendly. All together a wonderful place to holiday.

Review No: 28 by Mrs Edwards who stayed here on 01/09/2018 Language Flag

We enjoyed a return visit to Craigendarroch last week. Our 1 bedroom lodge had lots of space for 2 people. When there were 4 for a few days it was a bit more cramped. Although showing it’s age a bit the accommodation is in very good condition with modern bathroom and kitchen appliances. The facilities are very good as is the Keiler Lounge and Bistro. Meals are good and not overly priced. Drinks however are a bit of a rip-off. We would have visited more often if they were not so expensive. Ballater is a lovely small town. Some very good coffee stops with home baking as well as a handful of restaurants and pubs. Great place for a week.

Review No: 29 by Mrs Davidson who stayed here on 22/07/2018 Language Flag

Stunning views and walks around the resort. Pool area fun and good for all ages. Some attention to detail when cleaning was needed but nothing major. Pull out sofa is excellent. Overall would highly recommend Hilton craigendarroch and hope to come back again soon.

Review No: 30 by Mrs Williamson who stayed here on 22/07/2018 Language Flag

Excellent resort. We visited in July 2018, it was so good we are going again next week for New Year. Cannot fault it in any way. Many thanks.

Review No: 31 by Mr Daly who stayed here on 30/06/2018 Language Flag

The resort is first class, set in beautiful gardens that are well tended. The whole area is spotless. The accommodation was of an extremely high standard from kitchen fittings to tasteful furnishings. The dining room serves food that would surpass any 5 star hotel with staff helpful and friendly. We used the swimming pool and the beauty salon and again these were first class. The area is lovely with lots of interesting things to see, we spent a great day at Balmoral castle were I was able to hire a mobility buggie to get around the grounds, wonderful for anyone, like me, with walking difficulties. Cannot wait to go back. With its high position on a hill you get lovely vistas.

Review No: 32 by Mr Mossie who stayed here on 17/06/2018 Language Flag

well maintained grounds

Review No: 33 by Mr Third who stayed here on 19/05/2018 Language Flag

Everything was first class, the area was beautiful and the weather was lovely. All the staff were very helpful which made the stay so wonderful . Unable to rate the pool as we never used it.

Review No: 34 by Mr Hills who stayed here on 06/05/2018 Language Flag

Craigendarroch is probably our favourite timeshare in the UK. We would go here at anytime as it is peaceful, well maintained and welcoming. The lodges are equipped to a high standard and are comfortable. Reckon on between £5 and £10 per day for electricity as rough estimates for summer and winter use. (sleeps 4) A car is really essential as touring round you will probably cover quite a few miles and here comes our only real criticism of the resort - Your car parking spaces are far too small! please make them bigger as a matter of urgency as when parked, it is nearly impossible to get in and out of the car. We had a great time and will be back again without a doubt.

Review No: 35 by Mr Munn who stayed here on 14/04/2018 Language Flag

Great location. Lovely walks. Informative guides at Braemar Castle and the Braemar local historical group guided walk was very interesting.

Review No: 36 by Mrs Alexander who stayed here on 14/04/2018 Language Flag

I exchanged into Craigendarroch having been an owner in the past and unfortunately I found the lodge had not been maintained to a standard I expected. Everything looked a little tired and worn compared with the hotel which had been updated to a good standard. The lodge had not been thoroughly cleaned with dirt and dust behind furniture, residue of cleaning product left around the bath, crumbs in the toaster and dirt around the seals in the freezer. The TV was very small for an 8 person lodge and because of the way it was connected to the hotel it was not possible to access catch up or Netflix. In the spa the jacuzzi and steam room were out of order for the whole week. Craigendarroch is such a special resort in a beautiful part of Scotland I would still recommend it as a place to visit.

Review No: 37 by Mr Assitt who stayed here on 14/04/2018 Language Flag

Craigendarroch is a lovely resort set in beautiful grounds just outside the village of Ballater.We have been visiting here for over 25 years and we love the area for walking ,fishing and enjoying the beautiful scenery and historic Castles. The lodges have been built a long time and whilst the lodge we had this time had upgraded bathrooms with underfloor heating which were lovely the bedrooms and kitchen need renovating to the high standard time share guests expect when on an exchange also felt that the housekeeping was not to the usual high standard we had experienced before. During the holiday there was some maintenance work going on around the pool area with some facilities not being open really feel that the ladies showers and changing rooms need to be renovated inline with the standard of the rest of the hotel.

Review No: 38 by Mr Stringer who stayed here on 10/03/2018 Language Flag

A lovely resort. Excellent leisure facilities, lovely restaurant and bar and really lovely staff. Highly recommended.

Review No: 39 by Mr & Mrs Edwards who stayed here on 10/02/2018 Language Flag

A really nice resort but we were not made aware of the fact that they were replacing the windows in the pool area for 5 days and it was really cold. Also we have asked them to clarify their policy on children using the jacuzzi and steam and sauna. There were so many children in the jaccuzi that we could not get in it . The steam room wasn't any use either due to children opening the doors getting in and out. These children were all under 16 years of age . As a parent myself I would never have allowed my children to use these facilities but I do think the resort staff should have enforced their policy as I'm sure they should not have been in there. The fact that th pool windows were open to the elements wasn't even mentioned at the welcome meeting!!! In past years they have put entertainment on on the Friday night but there was no entertainment any night apart from a quiz on the Thursday night. We have always enjoyed this resort but I think they should have made people aware of the window replacement.

Review No: 40 by Mr & Mrs McCreath who stayed here on 04/02/2018 Language Flag

We had a very enjoyable week in Lodge 85. Attractive resort and quiet during our stay. Had 2 meals in the restaurant - good without being exceptional. The snack bar was not operating during our stay due to refurbishment but previously had been good value for money. Lots of lovely walks -Loch Muick definitely worth a drive up to - deer, eagles etc on the way up. Enjoyed walking around Ballater - The Bothy in Ballater is excellent for coffees/lunch and for something special the Rothsey Room is not to be missed (booking essential).Further afield the Falls of Feuch restaurant near Banchory is well worth a visit. Electricity was £75 for the week but we were never cold despite sub-zero outside temperatures. Will definitely return.

Review No: 41 by Mr Temperton who stayed here on 04/02/2018 Language Flag

We had a wonderful stay at Craigendarroch, the restaurant, the staff and all the other facilities were first class, the only downside was the final Electricity bill which was over £100 we did not use the sauna or dishwasher and only used the washing machine on one occasion, we did not alter the heating settings and we were very frugal with the lights. it does seem a bit steep to me.

Review No: 42 by Mrs Bytheway who stayed here on 28/01/2018 Language Flag

Craigendarroch Resort is a good base to explore Deeside and beyond. It offers a variety of outdoor pursuits which are easily accessed. As well as the resort activity bulletin supplied on arrival the Lodge Welcome Team have compiled a local "What's On" Bulletin which gives the opportunity to be involved in the local area and the team are available for advice to help plan your holiday. The village is slowly recovering from the devastating floods two years ago.The station museum and café in the square, which was devastated by fire some time before the flood, is taking shape too.

Review No: 43 by Mrs McDonald who stayed here on 30/12/2017 Language Flag

Electricity charge was too high. The units were on timers and they came on at the wrong times. Sometimes it was cold.

Review No: 44 by Mrs Earl who stayed here on 23/12/2017 Language Flag

We had a lovely week over the Christmas period. All staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Though the restaurant was very busy you were made to feel that you were the only one in the restaurant. Christmas meal in the restaurant was excellent as was all the other meals that we had in the restaurant. We also had a couple of bar snacks and again the food was very good value. If you are intending to stay at this resort you will need a car to get around, but there are plenty of walks to be done. If you intend to visit Aberdeen you will need transport as this was a 1.5 hour drive away from where we were staying. I would certainly recommend this place to people and would certainly think of going there again, and I have taken lots of photos to show my friends who do exchange holidays.

Review No: 45 by Mr Hills who stayed here on 22/12/2017 Language Flag

Craigendarroch is probably our favourite UK exchange destination and we have been here a number of times. The units are of very high quality but do now need a little updating. When this is done, perhaps the single beds could be upgraded to 3 feet wide as they were a little snug! It would be nice if the Scots adopted the English and Welsh system of charging for electricity at cost as the price can be quite high particularly in the winter months and you have no idea of the total until check out. Having said that, it was less than £10 per day in December so not that unreasonable but we did use it a bit sparingly. Heating controls are very confusing and it is very difficult to get temperatures right in all areas. Views from all of the properties are stunning and there are a lot of things to see and do in the area but a car is really essential and mileages can be quite high. Food prices are reasonable in the Keiller lounge and the food is very good and always nicely presented. On a personal note, we do not like food bills etc being added to our tab and prefer to pay cash as we go. We will certainly return to this resort time and again as it really is what timeshare is all about - good accommodation - plenty to do - excellent scenery - good attentive helpful staff.

Review No: 46 by Mrs Eastwood who stayed here on 09/12/2017 Language Flag

Best lodge I have stayed in ever through this system

Review No: 47 by Mr Severn who stayed here on 11/11/2017 Language Flag

This is one of the best time shares we have ever visited in the 30 years that we have been doing exchanges.

Review No: 48 by Mrs Caldow who stayed here on 11/11/2017 Language Flag

Lovely resort close to Ballater. Comfortable accommodation but a few issues with cleaning i.e. Plates put away dirty, greasy frying pan, toaster had not been cleaned. No rinse aid or salt in dishwasher. Very expensive electricity. Only late times for adult swimming in the spa.

Review No: 49 by Mrs Rothwell who stayed here on 04/11/2017 Language Flag

The craigendarroch is a resort of exceptional quality located in a fantastic locality. The accommodation is spacious and well equipped and very comfortable. The pool area is well maintained and a pleasure to use.

Review No: 50 by Mr & Mrs Barnard who stayed here on 07/10/2017 Language Flag

Superb lodges of interesting design, carefully sited amongst mature (some Victorian) trees and landscaped grounds which looked lovely in autumn and would probably look just as good for different reasons in May due to thoughtful plantings. Great sightings of red squirrels below, around and on our balcony! Staff very friendly and helpful in reception, bar and leisure centre. We really felt welcome. A nice touch is a small bottle of milk in the fridge (as well as the usual tea/coffee to get you started). Much appreciated after a long drive (and it IS a long drive, no matter where you come from, unless it's Aberdeen!). Lovely walks in the area and there are plenty of activities available. I recommend the Braemar historical walk. The welcome meeting was well attended (not the case everywhere) and very useful information from local businesses. I ended up spending a delightful afternoon learning Spey casting on the Don. It's short walk into Ballater which is now recovering well from the floods. Don't miss the wonderful butcher shop or the Garden Deli. Such genuinely friendly staff though they must have their patience sorely tried in the height of the tourist season! The station restoration should be finished by spring and will look splendid. If you want Balmoral, it's closed from end July for a few months while the Royals are in residence but we'd not planned to visit anyway. We hope to return next autumn (the tree colours were splendid) and I'm saving up to go fishing again with my genial guide!

Review No: 51 by Mr Fleming who stayed here on 16/09/2017 Language Flag

Extremely high standard in every respect. Lovely spacious accommodation .Utensils to cover everything and crockery/ cutlery/glasses to cover every contingency, unlike some other timeshares I have visited

Review No: 52 by Mr Hammond who stayed here on 20/08/2017 Language Flag

Enjoyed stay and found every one very pleasent.

Review No: 53 by Mr Mossie who stayed here on 16/07/2017 Language Flag

Overall a most enjoyable stay for what was our fourth visit and we will certainly return again.

Review No: 54 by Mr & Mrs Froom who stayed here on 10/06/2017 Language Flag

We had a great time at Craigendarroch, the lodge was excellent. Staff very good and helpfull. The are has a lot to offer.

Review No: 55 by Mr & Mrs Lloyd who stayed here on 03/06/2017 Language Flag

Stayed in early June. First class resort. Apartment 100 was immaculate with parking close by. Found heating difficult to operate. Leisure area very clean and warm with excellent steam room and sauna. Lovely area with plenty of activities.

Review No: 56 by Mr Read who stayed here on 27/05/2017 Language Flag

We have been members at this resort for 6 years now and this is not a 5 star crown any more. Cleaning is very poor overall and staff do very little to put this right when we complianed. Staff used to go out of their way to help you now the just do as little as possilbe this include the mangers. Overall very disappointed with the service I have stayed in better 3 stars resorts.

Review No: 57 by Mr Paine who stayed here on 20/05/2017 Language Flag

Resort was laid out to give maximum privacy to the lodges and views from our lodge (Lodge 12) were lovely. The Lodge was spacious, comfortable and very well equipped. The gardens and trees were to be admired. The staff in the Keiller Brassiere and Restaurant were very efficient, attentive without being a nuisance; the prices were reasonable and the food was delicious and beautifully presented. We would certainly recommend this resort. The surrounding area is also very beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed motoring about.

Review No: 58 by Mr & Mrs Miall who stayed here on 13/05/2017 Language Flag

The Estate is lovely and the staff are great, the accommodation could be great but there were a lot of little things that let it down, we left a list of 16 things that needed attention, these ranged from a broken hook on the back of the bathroom door a broken lampshade with sharp edges to no shower curtain in bathroom which we had to request and they wanted us to fit it ourselves, to the side of the oven that holds the oven racks being broken which we did not know and when using the oven the side collapse and dinner went everywhere and my husband burnt his arm only a small burn. The whole place was dusty, cold and smelt damp. the accommodation was disappointing.

Review No: 59 by Mr Hills who stayed here on 07/05/2017 Language Flag

A firm favourite with us. Excellent resort with a good bar and restaurant on site. A car is essential to make the most of the area and to visit the best attractions may involve some quite long drives but they are worth the effort. Wifi is free but irritatingly you have to re log in every 24 hours and as you can imagine, you are always doing something important when it expires! Electricity is charged at the end of the stay and there is no indication as to usage prior to checkout and it is NOT cheap in comparison with home usage. We would return her anytime as it is one of the best resorts in the UK

Review No: 60 by Mr Powell who stayed here on 30/04/2017 Language Flag

This area of Deeside is absolutely beautiful and the lodges are placed in the lovely wooded grounds of the resort. The unique village of Ballater is only about a couple of miles from the Lodges which are well equipped and most of our general needs for self catering were included. There is a large swimming pool, a smaller childrens' one and a toddlers pool, together with Sauna, Steam and a Gym. We found the Keiller Lounge very accommodating especially with children and the food was excellent for both adults and small kids. The Keiller Brasserie was especially enjoyable and again the food was excellent, particularly the steak night when we enjoyed melt in the mouth Chateaubriand. There are plenty of places, Castles and Gardens around to visit especially Balmoral with the wonderful River Dee running through most of this area. The gardens at Kildrummy Castle are well worth a visit. Very relaxing and would certainly return for another break.

Review No: 61 by Mr Squires who stayed here on 29/04/2017 Language Flag

Best we have been to Unfortunately due to my ill health we had to cut our stay down and come home on the Wednesday, most disappointed..

Review No: 62 by Mr Assitt who stayed here on 19/03/2017 Language Flag

Stayed in a 2 bed lodge number 2 which has a lot of steps to access but has lovely views over the top of the hotel down the Dee Valley so for us the location was quiet and perfect. The lodge itself has had the bathrooms upgraded and the showers great due to pumps being installed along with underfloor heating in the bathrooms which is a hug every improvement and makes it very comfortable, one of which did not work and was very cold,we were not informed that this was a fault until we lodged it with maintenance and lodge services were not aware of this either or the fact that it was not being looked at until after the 6th April which did not help our holiday or the next guests and there seems to be a lack of communication between maintenance, Hilton facilities and Timeshare lodge services we were told we should have been informed but that does not help really as all staff involved with that lodge should know what repairs are needed or planned there was also a radiator not working too which was replaced on the Friday evening. Hilton Craigendarroch is a special place for us as we have holidayed there for years but the Lodges are looking well worn and the kitchen and general furniture need replacing as do the beds and bedroom furniture,also the leisure centre showers need updating as they are grubby looking and plastic shower curtains are so outdated and unhygienic now for communal showers. Hilton and Craigendarroch need to start to spend money on the refurbishment to keep to the high standard guests have always expected and received the longer they leave this refurb the more costly it will be.........would we stay again definitely as it is still a lovely location with great walks from the door and the village of Ballater needs the support especially after the 2015 floods which they are still recovering from. Thank you Dial an Exchange for another lovely holiday exchange with your company and the efficiency all your staff give.

Review No: 63 by Mr Lawson who stayed here on 12/03/2017 Language Flag

Stayed in lodge 68, week 11 which was middle of March 2017. Lodge was terraced and set in large landscaped gardens. Good amenities on site with outdoor tennis court. The lodge was costly to heat, with the electricity charges seemingly operating randomly off low or high tariff. The kitchen, lounge diner were upstairs and were warm. Downstairs the bedrooms could be cold especially in the evening and during the night. Heating in the bedrooms was via old fashioned electric heaters. Modern en suite bathrooms were also cold. Towels were a problem with one bath and one hand towel allocated per person per week, although more could be obtained at a cost. The area of Ballater is good for activity holidays like walking cycling etc.

Review No: 64 by Mr Elliot who stayed here on 11/03/2017 Language Flag

A well-run, well-maintained facility close to the town with friendly local staff. A good base for visiting the castles of Deeside and Aberdeenshire. Good walks, hill-climbing and quiet roads for cycling.

Review No: 65 by Mr & Mrs Kerr who stayed here on 04/03/2017 Language Flag

Couldn't fault it. Excellent lodge. Great welcome meeting. Loads of great walks to do nearby. Weren't able to stay the full week so look forward to returning sometime in the future.
Please Wait
Please Wait