Customer reviews for "Langdale"

There are 20 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr Bartlett who stayed here on 06/01/2020 Language Flag

Very nice apartment with 2 bedrooms and bathrooms as well as extra bed and bathroom in lounge area. The drying cupboard came in very useful. The location is excellent with many walks straight from the door as well as easy to get to the rest of the lakes by car. The local walks are also very varied from easy rambles to straight up to high hills. The leisure centre has a very good sized pool and sauna. We were lucky to go in January when the lakes are very quiet and the weather can be not too bad. We did not eat out as Booths supermarket in Windermere and Keswick has very good range so we walked at day and cooked in on an evening but there are 2 pubs very close by.

Review No: 2 by Mr Exley who stayed here on 05/01/2020 Language Flag

The location of the resort is excellent as the surrounding countryside is beautiful but it is only 4 or 5 miles out of Ambleside where there are numerous restaurants and shops. The grounds are well maintained and picturesque. The lodges are clean and welcoming. Ours (number 2) overlooked a small tarn and was very close to the restaurant/pool/spa. The kitchen and bathroom looked very new and were well equipped. Electricity was charged separately but was not too expensive. We were informed by reception staff that from 11th January it will be included. Overall it was very good and we would return.

Review No: 3 by Ms Brastock who stayed here on 23/12/2019 Language Flag

We stayed at Chapel Stile apartment 9 which is not on the Langdale estate but a 10 minute walk away, next to the Wainwright inn. The views from the apartment were beautiful. The apartment itself was incredibly well equipped, with everything you could possibly need. The beds and bedding were so comfortable and the area so quiet, I haven’t slept that well in a long time! We didn’t use the pool area but did spend a day at the spa. It is small but when we were there (Christmas Eve) it wasn’t busy and there was even 20% off all treatments. There is a set price for treatments (£90) but this gives you access to the spa for as long as you like on the day of your treatment. We spent 5 hours there including a very good massage. We had lunch in the Wainwright which was good but didn’t visit the other restaurant on site We also appreciated the village shop which was an Aladdin’s cave for all those thing you have forgotten! Plenty of walks in the area - ask for a pack of maps at reception. On the negative side (minimal) check in was frustrating as they gave us the key about 3.30pm even though check in was not until 4pm but didn’t tell us that the cards won’t activate until 4pm. We walked back to the apartment to find the cards not working so had to return to reception and then they gave us access. All a bit unnecessary. Overall, I would return in a heartbeat, highly recommend.

Review No: 4 by Mr Marshall who stayed here on 10/08/2019 Language Flag

First class apartment like being at home wanted for nothing but weather could have been better.

Review No: 5 by Mr Smith who stayed here on 07/06/2019 Language Flag

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a most beautiful setting.

Review No: 6 by Mr Dixon who stayed here on 09/02/2019 Language Flag

Spa was very expensive, with all treatments priced at £90 for 55 mins and £45 if you wanted to spend time in the Spa, to us it was overpriced.

Review No: 7 by Mrs Belfield who stayed here on 09/02/2019 Language Flag

Langdale has been on our family wish list for a long time and didn't disappoint. Everything was fantastic, especially the leisure centre and Stoves, the bar/restaurant. Staff were friendly and efficient. Our lodge was very good, exceptionally clean and well-maintained.

Review No: 8 by Mr Tortoishell who stayed here on 09/02/2019 Language Flag

Excellent weeks holiday in an above average resort.

Review No: 9 by Mr Robinson who stayed here on 02/02/2019 Language Flag

Great resort. I was a little surprised to have to pay for gas and electricity- £31 for a week seemed excessive. However we had a great stay - this is an excellent resort in a fantastic location.

Review No: 10 by Miss Davies who stayed here on 21/10/2018 Language Flag

We have just returned from another great stay at Langdale and were very fortunate to have a week of lovely weather, plenty of sunshine although a little chilly but only to be expected at the end of October. The location is superb and there are low level and high level walks straight from the resort. It is a well equipped resort with a great Leisure Centre and also a Spa which costs £45 to use facilities. However, the resort Leisure Centre is perfectly adequate. Wainwrights Chapel Stile apartments have their own Sauna downstairs although we did not use it. We stayed at Wainwrights Inn Chapel Stile in Apartment 5 on this occasion. It is a compact apartment, very comfortable, some may think that furnishings may need updating but not a problem for us. Just rearranged seating to suit.. Kitchen appliances were good quality and plenty of cutlery, plates etc. Lovely bedroom with really comfortable bed. The only problem was that it was quite noisy at night because there is a huge fan just outside the window and also some kind of generator on the other side which seems to go underground perhaps to the leisure area. The answer to this problem is to make sure that the staff in the Wainwrights bar switch the fan off at night. The resort reception explained that it should be switched off in the kitchen after 10o'clock and the Bar after 11pm. We requested that the fan be turned off at night and this was a largely successful answer to the problem.

Review No: 11 by Mr Tee who stayed here on 16/09/2018 Language Flag

This was our first visit to the Langdale estate and found it to be an excellent location and well equipped resort. The lodge was well equipped but felt that the soft furnishings in the lounge area were in need of an update. Overall an excellent resort.

Review No: 12 by Mr Chalmers who stayed here on 08/09/2018 Language Flag

Staff were very helpful the lodges was very nice but bedrooms would have been better if they were a bit larger the rooms were very small

Review No: 13 by Mr Smith who stayed here on 04/08/2018 Language Flag

Very good resort. Setting absolutely fantastic. Facilities and lodges of a very high standard. Had dinner in Wainrights' Inn and Stove restaurant. The latter very much over rated. Lots to do. Very much enjoyed our stay.

Review No: 14 by Miss Nixon who stayed here on 10/06/2018 Language Flag

I was so pleased to be offered the chance to go to Langdale and the visit excelled my expectations. From the weather to the people there was nothing that disappointed myself and friend that went with me. I live in hopes that the opportunity to go there again. Comes along. Thank you to Keya at DAE Frances Nixon

Review No: 15 by Mrs Mcknight who stayed here on 10/03/2018 Language Flag

Beautiful peaceful location, the apartment is set in gardens overlooking the lake and has everything you would need for a weeks stay plus more. Although it isn't situated on the Langdale complex it is only a couple of minutes drive to use the facilties. Should you wish to visit the restaurant or local pub on a night the road back to the apartment is unlit and extremely dark although a torch is provided in the apartment.

Review No: 16 by Mrs Davies who stayed here on 27/10/2017 Language Flag

An excellent resort providing comfortable accommodation. Restaurant is good, with helpful staff. We will visit again.

Review No: 17 by Mr Nix who stayed here on 30/09/2017 Language Flag

Langdale is a beautiful resort, the lodges set in woodland and secluded. Our only criticism was that the main lounge of Llodge 77 seemed dark, a bit claustrophobic and the furnishings were dull. We would have preferred a bit more colour and better lighting. As the weather was wet and windy we spent a lot of time in the lodge, so we probably noticed these things more. Our lodge was having the outside painted and, although the painter was very courteous, we felt that this should have been carried out when the lodge was empty. Again, because of the weather we were inside more than we would have expected. The restaurant was smart and the food we had was good, however, a visit to The Wainwright was disappointing. It was very dark and dingy and there was some noisy construction work going on in the bar. It was almost redeemed by the quality of the food, the fish and chips was very good. The fish was outstanding and tasted very fresh. We suppose our view is coloured by our long term experience of Craigendarroch, which is outstanding.

Review No: 18 by Mrs Ashbridge who stayed here on 12/08/2017 Language Flag

We stayed in Apartment 4 of the Elterwater Hall on Langdale Estate. We had a great time in a beautiful apartment with amaxing views and the great facilities at Langdale. The pool and spa are excellent. Lovely walks in the area and only a few miles from Ambleside, Windermere, Keswick, Bowness, and Kendal. Two pubs with good food within walking distance. Hope we can stay here again.

Review No: 19 by Miss Davies who stayed here on 02/07/2017 Language Flag

We have just returned from an exchange week at Langdale and it is definitely the best exchange we have taken. Location, location, location! We stayed in a Chapel Stile apartment on this occasion and although a short walk along the road from main part of estate it suited us very well. Quiet, adjoining Wainwright pub, lovely garden to sit in, super views, close to small shop and cafe, very well appointed in the apartment. There is a sauna, steam room, billiard room, drying room downstairs for the use of aoartments. There is plenty of good walking without using the car. The roads are very narrow if you choose to drive over the passes but it is possible to take a longer route via Ambleside. The Spa was excellent without upgrading £45 to use the new luxury spa. We would certainly grab the change to stay at Langdale again! Actually although it was in July the weather was not particularly good, constant rain on second day, cloud every other day but one but we know the Lakes and what to expect and there was plenty to do in the area and on the Estate. The Brittania Inn at the opposite end if the Estate in Elterwater is also recommended. Thanks again DAE and especially to Keya for arranging the exchange. Jane and Rob

Review No: 20 by Mrs Geddes who stayed here on 25/03/2017 Language Flag

Very well equipped rustic lodge, newly refurbished bathroom, bedroom and kitchen area. New neff appliances, instructions a bit daunting. Lounge area somewhat dated and dark. Mossy banks and access to beck. SUrroundings well kept and facilities, bar and restaurant excellent there was no daily maid service and you have to pay for electricity etc used, both included in our home resort Very eco friendly resort.
Please Wait
Please Wait