Customer reviews for "Melfort Village"

There are 72 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr Slark who stayed here on 16/11/2019 Language Flag

Great stay very comfortable unit complete with log burner 4 star standard and 5 star countryside. Highly recommended but be prepared for £100 electricity bill/log burner combined.

Review No: 2 by Mrs Wilson who stayed here on 05/10/2019 Language Flag

Lovely resort, right in Highlands , staff very nice and helpful. Monday Music nights great fun. Monday morning coffee info best weve attended , printed information given out , lots of leaflets to hand. Olwen clearly passionate about area and what it has to offer. Would go again.

Review No: 3 by Mr Mclean who stayed here on 05/10/2019 Language Flag

Glad to say that the complex has been well maintained over the years and my thanks to all the staff

Review No: 4 by Revd Bell who stayed here on 21/09/2019 Language Flag

Usual excellent standards all round

Review No: 5 by Mrs Wallwork who stayed here on 21/09/2019 Language Flag

We had a lovely, relaxing holiday. The only minor issues for us were that the garden had a broken gate which meant that it was not totally secure for the dogs, (we had three.) We also felt that more external lighting around the house and grounds would have been appreciated as the evenings were very dark. But the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful as were the other guests that we spoke to. lovely place, lovely holiday. We certainly would like to come again

Review No: 6 by Mrs Davies who stayed here on 10/08/2019 Language Flag

Delightful surprise to find such a lovely quiet place. Staff were extremely helpful, charming, and knowledgable about the area. Accommodation was very good indeed, everything required was supplied. Useful having a restaurant on site and it was very good. Swimming pool small but good, not that I used it. Putting green, tennis courts, games room and play area all useful distractions for children. Even a piano and an organ in the quiet snooker room. Sadly had to cut short our stay....., broken arm ...... monkey bars.... six year old..... however the staff were amazing, and quickly fixed the offending bars, but meant we couldn't use the pool or facilities so decided easier to be at home. We would be delighted to return sometime in the future, even for a long weekend. Also used the spa room for massages with Annie, and can also highly recommend her. Loch Melfort Village, if you are looking for a beautiful, quiet, getaway holiday with lots of activities in the surrounding scenic area, is delightful. I hope we get back.

Review No: 7 by Mr Reid who stayed here on 03/08/2019 Language Flag

My family’s 4th visit in 14 years. Excellent resort nothing too much trouble. We enjoyed tennis, spinning for mackerel on pier but just caught the one , crabbing very successful here too as was trout fishing on resort river with 5 fish caught including one sea trout all caught on a wet coachman. At Room on Top had great food above Kimelford store also as the Shower Of Herring. Kids enjoyed canyoning with Vertical Descent and time crabbing at Tayvallich a beautiful bay. Nice walks around the estate. All in all a very pleasant week

Review No: 8 by Mr Bitton who stayed here on 08/06/2019 Language Flag

An excellent resort, with very knowledgeable, informative and friendly staff. The accommodation was above average and the kitchen in particular was very well equipped, however, some of the carpets were looking as if they were getting near the stage where they might need replacing. The beds we used were extremely comfortable and the views from upstairs were glorious. It cannot be emphasised too strongly how important it is to have a car at this resort, if only to appreciate the beautiful drive alongside Loch Melfort to the resort. Would definitely stay here again if the opportunity arose.

Review No: 9 by Mrs Thomas who stayed here on 25/05/2019 Language Flag

Our second visit and we weren't disappointed. Very high standards of maintenance, lovely cottage and friendly helpful staff. Quarry cottage sits above the main reception area and has a good view over the grounds. We were particularly pleased to see logs and kindling for the wood burner and made good use of them on our one really wet day. Our only minor problem was lack of phone signal (nothing on Virgin mobile, very weak or none at all on ee) and intermittent wi-fi at times, but you don't go to Argyll for its technology! Overall an excellent swap and I'm sure we will come back again.

Review No: 10 by Mrs Richmond who stayed here on 27/04/2019 Language Flag

As Owners at Melfort Village we have often walked past this cottage and love to stay. Unfortunately due to disability it was out of the question. Now my husband has died this came up and could not refuse it. Right on the waters edge overlooking a beautiful sea loch. Only a quiet lane between gate and freedom. Cottage well equipped with not one but two new beautiful bathrooms. Well equipped kitchen and comfortable lounge. The huge rear garden is shared with adjoining property but together with a side garden and front gravelled enclosed front garden with bench, picnic table/seats. The evening sunsets where amazing. And we got our exercise by the pleasant walk to the office reception, gift shop swimming pool /gym and. Wonderful friendly restaurant which served. Beautiful meals every day. Parking was in an area set aside of the cottages only for us. And therefore not blocking our views from lounge, kitchen/dinning or two of the three bedrooms. Weather was chilly but fine and sunny most of our stay. Thanks Melfort and to DAE for yet again a perfect week. See you soon. For our Time.xx

Review No: 11 by Mrs Smith who stayed here on 27/04/2019 Language Flag

Excellent accommodation in a beautiful setting very good restaurant. Staff very welcoming and helpful

Review No: 12 by Mr & Mrs Cowburn who stayed here on 20/04/2019 Language Flag

Just had a great holiday at this resort, would definitely look to go back. Lovely area, yes you do have to drive to get to many of the 'tourist' spots (we find this to be the case in many areas of Scotland), but there are some lovely places nearby and many walks. We were in Wall 1 and it had lovely views and a sunny patio of an evening. The Wall cottages also have their own games room and launderette. We didn't use the restaurant, just because of the way our days worked out, so can't comment on that. They had a fun day on Easter Monday with plenty of acivities for the children. Olwyn was very helpful with suggestions of drives and places to eat. However, don't always rely on the websites of places. We found that even though we were there at Easter, some places hadn't swung into action, despite their promises. For a boat trip around the nearby Islands we used Barry from Jenny Wren, great knowledge and he said he is happy to be flexible with his trips, just send him an email and if he can, he will try to accommodate your request, a great way to see the islands. Great Curry shack called Black Rock Curry, Inverinan, check their website, can get some very good takeaway to 'cook at home' curries. Also look out for the pop up vegan cafe in Ardfern called catchacarrot.

Review No: 13 by Mr Bartlett who stayed here on 23/03/2019 Language Flag

Very nice resort with good facilities in grounds, local walks and biking, and very well placed for exploring lovely area and the west coast islands. Accommodation in stable block west was comfortable and well equipped. The only down side was electricity for the week costing an extra £70 for one week for 4 people and we were out a lot and turning heating off.

Review No: 14 by Ms Robertson who stayed here on 02/03/2019 Language Flag

We as a family have been going to Melfort Village for 30 years now.... It never disappoints. This was an extra weeks break through DAE, with my daughter and granddaughter. Cottages very well equipped, extremely comfortable. Melfort staff are always amazing, attend to every request no matter how what. Surrounding countryside beautiful, lots of lovely walks. Shower of Herring Restaurant on site, well worth a visit, atmosphere very welcoming, food excellent and well priced. In all we look forward to our next visit to Melfort Village..... hopefully soon.

Review No: 15 by Mr & Mrs Kerr who stayed here on 19/01/2019 Language Flag

DAE you’ve done it again! Another fab property in alovely quiet, picturesque setting. Farmhouse cottage 3. Exceptionally spacious and well maintained. Quality fixtures and fittings. Loved having the open fire - coal and logs readily available at reception. Reception staff, and in fact all staff we encountered were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Had a delicious meal at the Shower of Herring restaurant onsite. Really enjoyed the entertainment from the local musicians in the Shower of Herring too. Hope to get another exchange here in the near future. Thank you.

Review No: 16 by Mr & Mrs Markey who stayed here on 23/12/2018 Language Flag

Very friendly staff who could not do enough for us. We had our dog Roxi, a Germans Shepherd, with us and Melfort supplied toys and poop bags for her. As it was Christmas they supplied a Christmas tree and decorations. Haybarn Cottage had a wood burner, which we made full use of. We ordered the Christmas food pack from Duntarrin Foods, via reception, and the quantity and quality of the food was excellent. Will definitely be back. James and Linda Markey

Review No: 17 by Mr & Mrs Litchfield who stayed here on 16/12/2018 Language Flag

We arrived later than expected but we were greeted by Alison who was very friendly and explained how the resort functioned, she gave us the keys and informed us that there was welcome meeting on Monday Morning. We had Weighbridge Cottage and it had all the comforts of home so we settled in very quickly. Our first night we dined at the Shower of Herring, our hostess Kat was fantastic and the food was amazing. there was also an impromptu music night with local musicians and Olwen (who organised the meeting) also joined in. We attended the Welcome meeting and learned a lot about the area and other restaurant and hotel facilities, and after speaking with Olwen she kindly booked us into the Loch Melfort Hotel for our 50th Anniversary Dinner on 21st December, this was an absolutely fabulous location and the food was exceptional, this was another night where a band of local musicians all joined together for another great night of music and laughter. We did eat at Shower of Herring again on 19th and 22nd December and also at Cuilfail Hotel in the village on 20th December. During our weeks stay we visited Inverary, Mull of Kintyre, Oban, and Seil Island, all stunningly beautiful. We have visited briefly this part of Scotland before but with our stay this time and the weather being perfect we ,managed to get around very easy, so much so we will be looking to stay in the area again sometime next year. Melfort Village is in a stunning location and it was ideal for us as walkers and golfers although we did not take the clubs with us this time. All the staff were friendly and helpful and we cannot thank them enough for making our stay during our 50th Wedding Anniversary a very memorable one.

Review No: 18 by Mr Kellam who stayed here on 08/12/2018 Language Flag

The cottage allocated, Beechwood, was very clean and well appointed ideal for a family or group of 4. Situated right next to the Loch there are plenty of walks with great views and wildlife (we were fortunate to see an Otter swimming and a Red Squirrel) on our first outing. The local area is all about the great outdoors Lochs Hills Woodland and then Islands Seil in particular with its Bridge over the Atlantic!. Oban and Tarbert provided excellent fresh fish and the local Convenience store in Kilmelford albeit small had Venison something not to be missed. The staff at Melfort were extremely helpful very knowledgeable about the local area whether Shopping Bird watching or Walking information they had it and that really helps in an area which can be quite remote. Overall this is a very good resort and one that we would definitely recommend and would hope that we will return to.

Review No: 19 by Mr Sayer who stayed here on 24/11/2018 Language Flag

Fantastic location just south of Oban beautiful scenery and so peaceful. Accommodation is to a very high standard. Great location to visit the various nearby islands. A perfect place for a relaxing holiday at any time of year. Staff are so helpful can't wait to return.

Review No: 20 by Mr Emmerson who stayed here on 27/10/2018 Language Flag

We have just returned from Meltfort Village a day early because of the weather warning and it appeared that 4 more had already gone before us. However we had some good weather for this time of the year whilst we were there and had a lovely time. We were in the walled garden in unit 3. We had a great view from the front of the apartment of the Loch and sun shine for most of the day so the living area was bright and warm . The patio doors led onto the outside space where had it been warm enough one could enjoy the view whilst sitting at the outside table and chairs. The apartment was clean and had everything that one could want. The back of the property does not get any sun at this time of the year so is colder and needs more heating . However we found the cost of our heating at the end of the week to be very reasonable. The staff including gardeners, handy men and office workers were all helpful friendly and efficient. They all seemed to be very happy working here. There are many walks from the site and the Sunday welcome meeting provides lots of information about the area and places to visit. Thank you all for a lovely week. John and Lavinia Emmerson.

Review No: 21 by Mrs Roberts who stayed here on 20/10/2018 Language Flag

Lovely location lots of facilities on site. Staff exceptionally helpful and very knowledgeable.

Review No: 22 by Mrs Richmond who stayed here on 06/10/2018 Language Flag

A bittersweet stay this time at our timeshare village, been coming here since late 1990s and bought in 2002. But this time was different the scattering of my late husbands ashes, planting a tree and sighting of a memorial bench in his honor courtesy of the Melfort Club. As we were out of our time we stayed in a different cottage Farm one. Which , just like the other 32 properties, was very cosy, spacious , clean and well equipped. And when we needed bigger pans catering for at least 10 of us in two cottages. One huge pan was quickly delivered to our door. Staff whether a cleaner, Gardner, reception, management or restaurant everyone was so kind, helpful and obliging. Over the years strong friendships have formed not just with staff but also other Club members. Melfort has always been our own 'Brigadoon'. Or as I say Heaven on Earth. Perfect in every way ....family, friends, children and doggies. ALL are Welcomed. Well done Melfort and Dial an Exchange. Very proud of you all. Thankyou.xx

Review No: 23 by Mr Mccallum who stayed here on 22/09/2018 Language Flag

Such a quiet, beautiful spot, ideal for restful holiday. Kat in the restaurant is delightful. Music night on Monday was top class. This was our third visit and won't be the last.

Review No: 24 by Mr Sinclair who stayed here on 22/09/2018 Language Flag

Lovely holiday complex..we stayed in The Walled Garden .We had a great view and it was very peaceful. Lovely little restaurant on site ....great food at a reasonable price and we were well looked after by the fun friendly hostess. Nice swimming pool which I had to myself most of the time! A perfect place to relax but perfectly situated to enjoy what the beautiful surrounding area has to offer too . Hope to return.

Review No: 25 by Mr Corfield who stayed here on 15/09/2018 Language Flag

Pier House 1 is suffering from the lack of hot water every night for a bath. The resort needs to resolve the issue with SSE to arrange for the water to be heated in the late afternoon for say 3 hours rather than having to use the booster for several runs of 2 hours which is heavy on power. The Pier Houses would benefit from installation of Wood Burners rather than the open fires.

Review No: 26 by Mr Miller who stayed here on 30/06/2018 Language Flag

Excellent site especially for dog owners. Very welcoming for DAE customers. If you want a relaxing holiday this will suit you well. Plenty to do in the area if your wallet is full. Only drawback is the difficulty of accessing the sea lochs as there are few lay-byes and those which are there are separated from the sea by an unpenetrable barrier of plant life. Scenery is fantastic

Review No: 27 by Mrs Richmond who stayed here on 09/06/2018 Language Flag

A very Warm welcome from reception and straight into our cottage, lovely clean and home from home. Even a welcome pack of throws, doggy towel, treats and 2 bowls for my four legged friend. Melfort is certainly a resort for the dogs with loads of woodland or beaches to explore. . So lovely decided to stay another week despite the weather.xxxx

Review No: 28 by Mr Greenfield who stayed here on 12/05/2018 Language Flag

We had a wonderful time.

Review No: 29 by Mr Rodham who stayed here on 05/05/2018 Language Flag

We stayed in Garden Cottage which provided everything you could need. Two bedrooms and two bathrooms but no en-suite although this did not cause us any problems The morning talk on Sunday was very informative and came with a hand out which was needed given the huge amount of information provided. The staff could not have been more helpful We used the Shower of Herrings once and it was "OK" but no atmosphere and the meal was adequate. There is a small bar area and you can sit outside but a bar with no draught beer is not a bar!! Excellent holiday in the resort which has beautiful countryside all around and a number of walks from the centre

Review No: 30 by Mrs Swain who stayed here on 28/04/2018 Language Flag

Gave swimming pool average as there was a boiler problem and the water was cold. However I had booked Walled Garden cottages 1&8 for myself and friends as an exchange from Loch Rannoch and we had a marvellous week.The Shower of Herring was only open on our last night which was disappointing as a friend was celebrating his 77th birthday and wanted a meal. Looking forward to the next visit. Jean Swain.

Review No: 31 by Mr. Bowhay who stayed here on 28/04/2018 Language Flag

If you have a dog & enjoy walking it is a perfect location. The staff are helpful pleasant & knowledgeable.

Review No: 32 by Mr & Mrs Paton who stayed here on 24/03/2018 Language Flag

This is a wonderful resort with a special and unique feel and vibe. Wonderful staff and everything equipped with generosity...never just the bare minimum for number of guests. We used the adjacent Melfort house for the fine dining experience. Not to be missed ! I would only say we were disappointed that the shower of Herring maintained winter opening hours in this week leading to Easter, and as a result we didn’t use it as much as we would have otherwise. The wi Fi is very good, but don’t expect much mobile signal unless you are with the only provider there. Not a hardship really. This was our second visit and we will certainly go back. It’s a stunningly beautiful part of Scotland. We took the ferry from gourock to Dunoon, which led to a quiet, traffic-free journey via Loch Fyne, Inveraray and Lochgilphead, coming to Melfort from the south with its magnificent approach.

Review No: 33 by Dr & Mrs Winton who stayed here on 10/03/2018 Language Flag

We had a lovely time at Melfort Village in Mews 11 in the Walled Garden. The staff were friendly and efficient nothing was too much for them to arrange. We discovered there was no heating in the main bedroom but this was swiftly dealt with and a free standing heater was put in for us. The welcome meeting with Olwyn was extremely good and informative and ideas of places to visit was greatly appreciated. The entertainment from the locals including Olwyn on the Monday evening in the Shower of Herring Bar & Bistro was most enjoyable and we enjoyed the swimming pool which was kept very clean. We would certainly have no hesitation in recommending Melfort Village and its beautiful surroundings to others.

Review No: 34 by Mrs Richmond who stayed here on 03/03/2018 Language Flag

Garden Cottage at Melfort Village is a true home from home. It's clean and very comfortable with everything you need for you and your guests, spacious, cosy and even romantic when you get the roaring fire on a winters evening. We cheated and put candles in the grate and tea lights on the hearth plus a glass of wine (Or a wee dram of whiskey) Ample parking right outside the front door. And a wee cottage garden with a banking of snowdrops. Perfect Heaven! Enjoyxx

Review No: 35 by Mr Horne who stayed here on 24/02/2018 Language Flag

Beautiful resort and great views from the cottage the site is very well kept and a great place for a Holliday. will recommend

Review No: 36 by Mrs Horner who stayed here on 03/02/2018 Language Flag

We brought our two dogs and we all had a fabulous week - the accommodation is high quality, so warm and comfortable. The grounds and facilities are also excellent - there are weekly events, even during 'off-peak' periods. We can thoroughly recommend the music night and the gin/whiskey tasting. A beautiful location, just what you want for a relaxing week away. Thank you all.

Review No: 37 by Mr Robertson who stayed here on 03/02/2018 Language Flag

A very enjoyable stay at this small peaceful resort. The cottage was warm , comfortable and surprisingly spacious. The staff were pleasant and helpful and their attitude cotrbuted to our enjoyment. The swimming pool and gym although small were well maintained and welcoming. The area is renowned for its stunning scenery and it did not disappoint. We hope to visit again.

Review No: 38 by Mr Rae who stayed here on 27/01/2018 Language Flag

Wonderful location. We were in Pierhouse 1 which was on the shore of the loch with beautiful views down the loch. Recommend going to the welcome meeting. Olwyn provided so much information on things to do in the area around the resort. We had a lovely dinner in the restaurant on Monday evening and then enjoyed 3 hours of music provided by Olwyn, her husband and other local musicians - highly recommended. We also went to the gin/whisky tasting evening before eating again in the restaurant. A very informative experience. We visited a number of places suggested to us. The Argyll scenery is outstanding. Don't be afraid to take drives along single track roads - the views are so rewarding. Be prepared to stop at passing places to allow oncoming traffic to pass. We took the ferry to Mull (a 40 minute sail) and had lunch in Tobermory before completing a drive round both the top and central parts of the island. Keep a lookout for wildlife. A good set of binoculars is beneficial. We spotted a pair of eagles and herds of red deer. The staff at Melfort are so helpful and Olwyn is so enthusiastic about everything in the area. Kat gives a very good welcome to the Shower of Herring restaurant and the meals we enjoyed were excellent. My wife said she had never tasted such succulent butteflied chicken. We are owners at a resort with no restaurant facility on site and hope that Kat and her husband go on to provide owners and guests with such a valued service.

Review No: 39 by Miss Wren who stayed here on 27/01/2018 Language Flag

Lovely resort and very dog friendly We stayed in quarry cottage which was a detached bungalow with wood burner. It was extremely clean and well equipped. The beds were very comfortable. We used the swimming pool and hot tub and the games room and both were great. The staff were very friendly and helpful it was a lovely resort and we look forward to visiting again in the future.

Review No: 40 by Mr Dale who stayed here on 09/12/2017 Language Flag

Great place for touring the west of Scotland. Unfortunately unable to review bar and restaurant as closed at time of visit. Staff all excellent and helpful, the welcome meeting is informative and do not miss the music night.

Review No: 41 by Ms Sloan who stayed here on 09/12/2017 Language Flag

A lovely resort with very friendly and helpful staff. Great walks for the dogs in and around the resort. All in all a lovely place to recharge the batteries...thank you all so much.

Review No: 42 by Mrs Hogg who stayed here on 02/12/2017 Language Flag

This part of Argyll is a lovely place to be in all seasons. Unfortunately the on site restaurant has been closed for some time now and this is a loss because there is no entertainment apart from a Monday evening when a group of musicians jam together and it is nice to enjoy a meal out and a glass of wine without having to drive. There are many beautiful places to visit in the area but many of the little coffee shops are closed for the winter or take a Monday or Tuesday off and some of the hotels too so a bit of research would be advisable before you set out for the day. We had a delicious lunch at The Lord of The Isles at Craobh Haven and a trip to The Chocolate Factory in Oban was a delight. In my view the union jack rug in the games room should go as it could cause offence to many and a Scottish theme would be more appropriate on a site based in Scotland. The electricity bill was £49 for one week even though we did not use the heaters in the bedrooms or bathrooms. When I first went to Loch Melfort the bird feeders were filled regularly by the staff but now they do not even fill the ones in the communal areas and if you want to feed the birds you have to buy the seed from reception. This does not seem fair on the birds. I have been to Loch Melfort several times now and with a little bit of tweaking it could be my very favourite resort. The scenery was the greatest attraction and when we had a little snow it was stunningly beautiful.

Review No: 43 by Mr Murphy who stayed here on 02/12/2017 Language Flag

Fantastic site. Great location. Accommodation is top quality. Staff great. Facilities brilliant.

Review No: 44 by Mrs Clark who stayed here on 25/11/2017 Language Flag

Melfort as ever was wonderful. The staff work very hard to make everyone’s holiday experience very special and they are much appreciated. The resort standards have risen and the village strives to improve year on year, which it has done. November was a good choice with lovely cold clear weather, great for walking dogs and taking photographs. We loved it , again.

Review No: 45 by Mr Moss who stayed here on 18/11/2017 Language Flag

A wonderful place to be based to visit one of the least commercialised areas of Scotland. Despite the inclement weather we had plenty to occupy us and waking up to snow on the mountains was an added bonus.

Review No: 46 by Mr Thompson who stayed here on 11/11/2017 Language Flag

This was our third exchange into Melfort Village in the space of the last 12 months and we are booked to return in 2018. An excellent resort with friendly, responsive staff and superb facilities including a very good on-site restaurant. And when you add in the magnificent west coast scenery and the fact that Melfort is a dog-friendly resort this represents our idea of a perfect place to spend a holiday.

Review No: 47 by Mrs Innes who stayed here on 28/10/2017 Language Flag

We love Melfort Village. The situation on the West Coast of Scotland gives the opportunity for trips North, South or West by boat! The views are lovely and the autumn colours can be exceptional. We enjoyed he musical entertainment on Monday, and we also had a meal twice in the "Shower of Herring" restaurant, which was very good. The staff are really helpful and friendly. Thanks again for a lovely holiday.

Review No: 48 by Mrs Jaffrey who stayed here on 14/10/2017 Language Flag

What a wonderful place! Comfortable, cosy and surrounded by beautiful views. There is lots to do in the surrounding areas but having a car is a must, as there is no public transport locally. The cottage in the Walled Garden was lovely and had all the kitchen utensils that you'd ever need. The communal freezer was super helpful for the dogs food! We just loved it here and hope to return again soon. Our best DAE exchange to date! Tip: take a torch, as the grounds are very dark in the evening.

Review No: 49 by Mrs Bannatyne who stayed here on 07/10/2017 Language Flag

A very relaxing week despite poor weather. There's loads to do on the Resort, we used the pool and played table tennis. A great music night on Monday in the Shower of Herring, local musicians and a friendly atmosphere - and free! The woodburner in the apartment was fantastic. We had an exceptional night at Melfort House, recommend it wholeheartedly but you must book in advance. The food was sublime and the other guests that night very interesting. Wouldn't hesitate to return, it's on a par with Craigendarroch in our opinion.

Review No: 50 by Mr Mccallum who stayed here on 23/09/2017 Language Flag

Outstanding resort in a beautiful part of Scotland.

Review No: 51 by Mrs Jessamine who stayed here on 23/09/2017 Language Flag

We had a lovely stay at Melfort . It is a most peaceful place set admist trees and lakes. Wonder ful for walking and the dogs seemed happy..The welcoming meeting was very friendly and informative and we made good use of the suggestions given. Our apartment was very cosy and warm. All the equipment was of a very good standard .The place was very clean and well cared for. There was a plentiful supply of cleaning equipment provided, which sounds silly but it is frustrating when you have to go out. To buy dishwasher tablets etc.. I would highly recommend Melfort as a place to go to to unwind. You do need a car though and short distances take longer because the roads are narrow and twisty.

Review No: 52 by Mr Ogden who stayed here on 23/09/2017 Language Flag

We found this resort to be well equipped with quality furnishings and very well equipped kitchen. We were there the last week in September and the weather was as could be expected at time changeable although it did not spoil our holiday any way. The area is very picturesque with plenty of interesting places to visit. we will certainly go there again.

Review No: 53 by Mr Bentley who stayed here on 23/09/2017 Language Flag

Really loved this resort, the farmhouse unit was well equipped, very clean and warm. The Shower of Herring pub was very well managed by Kat and Adam, the service was excellent, you could see they were trying very hard and I hope they make a success of it. The food was fine but not amazing. Overall 8/10 Hope to book the same unit for next year. Only criticism the bullets point leaflet of places to go had not been checked after typing and there were some obvious errors, but that is from an obsessive!

Review No: 54 by Mr Felts who stayed here on 02/09/2017 Language Flag

Stayed at 1 bedroom Coachman's Cottage which has recently been refurbished with good quality bathroom, kitchen, lighting and 2 comfortable sofas in sitting room with TV and WiFi. Very cosy to come back to after day out in the rain and knowing that on-site restaurant 'Shower of Herring' is available with good food at reasonable prices. Walled garden appreciated by dog. Very helpful staff with good local knowledge of nearby attractions and ferries to islands. Definitely need a car to explore the area.

Review No: 55 by Mr Sowerbutts who stayed here on 26/08/2017 Language Flag

We had an great time at Melfort Village.Everybody is most helpful, in particular the staff in reception. and the lady in charge of the restaurant, who on a very busy Monday night, when some staff did not turn up for work and the locals provide entertainment, worked very hard to keep everybody happy. Hope to visit again next year.

Review No: 56 by Mr & Mrs Taylor who stayed here on 26/08/2017 Language Flag

lovely place to stay and tour the local western islands the site staff can help you plan your day with advice on local walks and advice on ferries for day trips Monday evening has some local musicians giving excellent entertainment with music and songs good restaurant and bar with excellent service and good food at a good price site provides;- tennis courts, large green for various ball games, games rooms, swimming pool etc

Review No: 57 by Mrs Hutchison who stayed here on 12/08/2017 Language Flag

Stayed here May 2016 with friends .We again had a very pleasant time despite a lot of rain. Enjoyed musical evening at on site restaurant .So much lovely scenery near by and Olwen in reception so helpful and knowledgeable about area. Definately attend welcome meeting to learn about local beauty spots and places to visit. Would be delighted to return.

Review No: 58 by Mrs Sutcliffe who stayed here on 29/07/2017 Language Flag

A clean and comfortable resort but very outdated, spoiled by the size of the pool and gym restricting access when more than a few people wanted to use. Staff were very nice and helpful. Need a car, little to do in immediate area especially when it rains.

Review No: 59 by Mrs Ritchie who stayed here on 01/07/2017 Language Flag

A tranquil resort in spectacular surroundings. Very comfortable accommodation with beautiful views. Within easy reach of many Historic Scotland monuments and National Trust properties. Great walks around Crinan Canal. Restaurants, hotels and cafes in area are in abundance, all with lovely scenery. Oban is within reach and ferries can be taken to Mull and other West Coat islands. This timeshare is ideal for couples and families, having plenty of play areas for children, tennis, swimming pool, putting green, etc.

Review No: 60 by Mr Girdham who stayed here on 24/06/2017 Language Flag

Fantastic week, accommodation unbelievable.

Review No: 61 by Mr Girdham who stayed here on 17/06/2017 Language Flag

Fantastic week, accommodation unbelievable.

Review No: 62 by Mr & Mrs Morris who stayed here on 20/05/2017 Language Flag

An avid DAE customer. We found Melfort a really lovely location, We would rate as one of the very best we have been to, now runnibg into double figures. The ambiance of the villahe with the space between units was very well thought out. Yes , a great holiday experience. Negatives We found the furniture, if you were spending time sitting down, as we did for one day due to the weather, very short in the leg thus quite uncomfortable. But it did not spoil our visit. Thank you. Michael and Mary Morris WR10 2 NZ,

Review No: 63 by Mr Glaze who stayed here on 13/05/2017 Language Flag

We stayed in Coachmans East, which is a first floor apartment above the maintenance store. It's spacious, comfortable and well fitted out and is a real sun trap - we had to turn the heating off completely and open the windows when it was about 16 degrees outside but sunny. The log burner in the cottage never got used. Staff were very friendly and the welcome meeting very useful as a guide to the area (although to our regret we never did manage to visit all the superb cafes in the area). The pool is nice, but you can't really have more than 4 people doing lengths or it gets a bit tight. The bar is bright and looks recently decorated - the food is excellent and portions on the large size when eating in (the Balmoral chicken a particular highlight). There are several walks from the door and a handy leaflet is provided for these. We'd recommend the higher level walks (5 and 7) for stunning views out over the islands (on a good day). May is the best time to see the local gardens with their rhododendrons out in full bloom - Arduaine (4 miles away) was superb (and very busy). A car is really required to see the area - we took trips out to Loch Awe and Kilmartin as well as Arduaine. The nearest main shop is in Oban although the village shop in Kilmelford is in walking distance and does the essentials (really nice biscuits!). This was our first trip here and we intend to come back.

Review No: 64 by Mr Thompson who stayed here on 29/04/2017 Language Flag

This was our second visit to Melfort Village and a week of dawn to dusk sunshine made it truly memorable. The scenery of the Argyll coast and the islands is stunning and the resort itself is superb - the best we have ever stayed in by some margin. The individual units are comfortable and extremely well equipped, the site is beautiful and very well maintained and the staff are friendly and very helpful. During our two visits we met and chatted to many long-term owners - people who had held weeks at Melfort for 20 years or more - and they were, without exception, enthusiastic and very positive about the resort. The on-site bar and restaurant serves excellent food and there are many other local restaurants and pubs serving excellent food at reasonable prices - including some very good seafood. Overall a terrific holiday and we are booked to go back for our third visit in November.

Review No: 65 by Mr & Mrs Durning who stayed here on 22/04/2017 Language Flag

Great holiday.great for older members and very young members who were in my company. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The setting was superb. I would love to visit again.

Review No: 66 by Mr & Mrs Russell who stayed here on 15/04/2017 Language Flag

Very nice place to go, hidden gems to visit. Ferries from. Oban to all of western isles. Onsite restaurant excellent food at reasonable prices.

Review No: 67 by Dr Cargill who stayed here on 25/03/2017 Language Flag

Beautiful location, well appointed cottages, extremely helpful staff, great holiday place although the road to it seems long and tedious especially near the end with multiple twists and turns to concentrate on! Worth it though! Fuel costs reasonable with electric storage heaters - usual disadvantage of too hot in the morning and cooling off in the evening.

Review No: 68 by Mr Spreadbury who stayed here on 25/03/2017 Language Flag

Lovely location and good central place for coastal visits. Only problem - distance from anywhere. Good walking area.

Review No: 69 by Mr Campbell who stayed here on 04/03/2017 Language Flag

Lovely location, shower of Herrings on site good food and pleasant service. Oban a few miles away with a variety of shops and harbour nearby.

Review No: 70 by Mrs Morrison who stayed here on 04/03/2017 Language Flag

Melfort village continues to maintain its excellent standards with regard to accommodation and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

Review No: 71 by Mrs Blake who stayed here on 25/02/2017 Language Flag

What a lovely holiday village. It is immaculately kept as are the units. We stayed in Weighbridge Cottage which wanted for nothing. The swimming pool and hot tub were lovely to relax in. The staff went above and beyond to be helpful - thanks guys. Must rate this as the best exchange we have had so far. A week of near perfect sun and blue skies also helped to make this a truly memorable holiday. The surrounding area is just stunning. We will be back, given half the chance. Julie, Rod and Rafa

Review No: 72 by Mr Macintyre who stayed here on 25/02/2017 Language Flag

Small friendly resort. Good local walks. Plenty of activities in the region but be perpared to drive.
Please Wait
Please Wait