Customer reviews for "Cameron House"

There are 41 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mrs Drew who stayed here on 19/10/2019 Language Flag

The resort has coped very well with the impact of the fire at the main hotel. Whilst the refurbishment is continuing, guests at Cameron House Lodges have free use of the leisure club and thermal experience at The Carrick and, of course, the site is very quiet and peaceful. The lodges are well maintained and the views are beautiful.

Review No: 2 by Mr Eaves who stayed here on 22/09/2019 Language Flag

Everything about the lodge is excellent. It is the best timeshare unit I have ever stayed in.

Review No: 3 by Mrs McDonald who stayed here on 15/09/2019 Language Flag

Five star accommodation. Say no more!!!!!

Review No: 4 by Mr Ogden who stayed here on 15/09/2019 Language Flag

GREAT PLACE TO GET TO AND TO TOUR FROM. GOOD CLEAN ACCOMMODATION, WELL EQUIPPED AND COMFORTABLE WITH PLENTY OF ON - SITE AMENITIES. OFF - SITE PLACES OF INTEREST AND EXCELLENT SHOPPING FACILITIES AND RESTAURANTS NEARBY. BOATING TRIPS, SEAPLANE RIDES, FISHING, ETC. ETC.

Review No: 5 by Dr Garrow who stayed here on 18/05/2019 Language Flag

A high quality resort well located for golf hiking and fabulous countryside with the advantage of being only half an hour from Glasgow

Review No: 6 by Mrs McLean who stayed here on 18/05/2019 Language Flag

A wonderful resort in a beautiful location. Our 2 bedroom, sleeps 6 unit (Lodge 7) had 3 bathrooms and an exceptionally large open plan kitchen, dining and lounge on the upper floor. One of the best resorts we have stayed in. Would definitely go back again.

Review No: 7 by Mr & Mrs Nicoll who stayed here on 11/05/2019 Language Flag

Would recommend Cameron House one of the perfect locations especially when the weather is good

Review No: 8 by Miss Davies who stayed here on 05/05/2019 Language Flag

We had another week at Cameron Lodge. Our lodge 79 was excellent. In a good position for walking into Balloch. Still a lot of work going on around the site so unable to walk down to the Lake as before but not really a problem. Great that we were able to use the spa at the Carrick. This time we used the train into Glasgow on a dull day. Weather was mixed early on but this did not deter us and by the end of the week the last 2 days were glorious. Quite a long drive round to climb Ben Lomond. The Trossachs area is quite accessible and if you want to see Red Squirrels go to the Lodge at Aberfeldy where it is a short walk down to a hide overlooking a feeding area. Thanks again DAE. Looking forward to another visit in a year or so.

Review No: 9 by Mr Avery who stayed here on 30/03/2019 Language Flag

We enjoyed our stay very much ! Thank You Very Much !.

Review No: 10 by Mr & Mrs Bonnar who stayed here on 30/03/2019 Language Flag

Difficult to heat unit sitting area had two panel heaters but still found not enough to keep the heat also bathroom very cold due to it only having a heated towel rail and an electric down heater.

Review No: 11 by Mrs Mackay who stayed here on 09/03/2019 Language Flag

Lodge had been previously renovated to a very high standard. Always great to stay there and had the added extra luxury of visiting the Carrick Spa for the use of their facilities absolutely amazing never been anywhere like it before. Truly a pleasureful relaxed chilled week.

Review No: 12 by Mr Imrie who stayed here on 02/03/2019 Language Flag

It was our first time staying at Cameron House and we were very impressed. The staff were all excellent; friendly, efficient and helpful. As golfers, we really enjoyed playing the Wee Demon course on site - it is very well named. The lodge was very well maintained and furnished and extremely comfortable. Will definitely be back and would recommend to anyone.

Review No: 13 by Mrs Brown who stayed here on 09/02/2019 Language Flag

Fabulous accommodation. Only problem we had was that there was an issue with the water and when I phoned to say we had a very young baby and needed clean water for bottles etc all they sent was two rather expensive bottles of drinking water. Would have been more helpful to have had some cheaper water and more of it.

Review No: 14 by Mr & Mrs Mikkelson who stayed here on 03/02/2019 Language Flag

Stay in 3 different lodges. Always excellent in all aspects and unrivalled pistion and views on Loch Lomand. Staff are extremely helpful and always available

Review No: 15 by Mr & Mrs Mikkelson who stayed here on 16/12/2018 Language Flag

This is up there for the best accommodation of its type. Vary spacious, everything you require has been supplied, well lit and heated with great view from the lodge although still a lot of privacy. The position on Loch Lomand makes it special and it is easy to walk to the nearest small town and Shore Shopping Centre. Ideal for the Carrick Golf Club and Spa where the view from the infinity hydro-spa is something not to be missed. Look forward to returning soon

Review No: 16 by Mr & Mrs Durning who stayed here on 25/11/2018 Language Flag

Perfect family holiday for all ages.would love to go again at any time!

Review No: 17 by Dr Gemmell who stayed here on 06/10/2018 Language Flag

A most enjoyable week spent at Cameron House, only let down by the weather. Only one glorious day, the rest very wet. We had a One bed/sleep 4. No ensuite which when family came along raised a slight inconvenience. Lovely unit (39). The complimentary taxi service was a great bonus. All staff were great. Would go back but would prefer 2 bed which would have another toilet. Food was very good, a 20Pc discount was a great bonus and encouragement to eat there. Spa facilities excellent.

Review No: 18 by Mr Sanderson who stayed here on 07/07/2018 Language Flag

Stayed at Cameron House on 7th July 2018 for 7 nights. We had a fantastic time, the weather, lodge and resort were all excellent. The lodge had been refurbished to a high standard. All staff were efficient and nothing was too much trouble. The location at Loch Lomond is beautiful. The shops are a short walk from the resort as is the station where the trains run regularly to Glasgow or Edinburgh. Thank you to Dial and Exchange this is a first class resort.

Review No: 19 by Miss Davies who stayed here on 23/06/2018 Language Flag

Cameron House Lodges are in a fantastic location on the side of Loch Lomond. All well spaced around the resort. They are unaffected by the closure of Cameron House Hotel damaged by fire earlier in the year. We were invited to use the Spa facilities at the Carrick free of charge at this time. Possibly the best facilities of all the uk resorts. There are many activities locally from boat trips, good walking and even swimming from small beaches around the lake. Luss is a pretty village to visit and Falls of Falloch near Ardlui on the western side and or Balmaha and Milarrochy Bay on the eastern side. It is also possible to go further afield to Stirling and the Trossachs quite easily. However, Cameron House is also just perfect for a quiet, restful holiday. We would certainly love to have another exchange here again. Thanks DAE for another super exchange especially since we were able to combine the week with another exchange on Arran. Two weeks of dry, sunny weather in Scotland never been known before!

Review No: 20 by Mr Wallace who stayed here on 09/06/2018 Language Flag

This is a first class parkland resort in a beautiful loch side setting. Although the leisure facilities in the main hotel were closed following major fire damage last year, the resort had arranged for complimentary access to their sister Spa resort facilities close by which were excellent.

Review No: 21 by Mrs Smith who stayed here on 13/05/2018 Language Flag

Beautiful lodges with wonderful views of Loch Lomond. Friendly staff. A bonus if you get good weather. Which we did

Review No: 22 by Mr & Mrs Davenport who stayed here on 12/05/2018 Language Flag

Lovely lodges. Very well equipped. Beautiful surroundings. Plenty of places to visit in the vicinity.

Review No: 23 by Mr Ramsay who stayed here on 12/05/2018 Language Flag

Excellent holiday all round The use of Carrick Spa added to the experience The tranquil view of the Loch from our apartment was just beautiful

Review No: 24 by Mr & Mrs Bell who stayed here on 22/04/2018 Language Flag

WE have stayed at Cameron House Lodges a number of times and are never disappointed. The lodge was beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean and had wonderful views from the balcony. Sadly because of the recent fire in the hotel, we did not have internet or landline telephone however this did not spoil our holiday in any way. We would never tire of this wonderful holiday resort.

Review No: 25 by Mr & Mrs Samson who stayed here on 21/04/2018 Language Flag

Firstly, I should say that in 2017 we visited Cameron House Lodges (before the tragic fire in December 2017) and it was outstanding. We were in a refurbished, detached lodge and everything was perfect. We enjoyed being back - the location is superb. However (as at April 2018) the Hotel is still cordoned off and this is likely to be the case until around Autumn 2019. This means that both car and pedestrian access to the Lodges is around the back of the hotel which is narrow and rather grim. [Previously the drive, or walk, was picturesque with the Loch on one side and the Hotel on the other.] Also, Wifi and Landline are not working as these were dependent on the Hotel but the mobile phone signal is very good. Due to the hotel being closed there are no leisure facilities on-site. Free access to the pool at The Carrick, a short car-ride away, is now complimentary and well worth visiting. On this occasion our Lodge was good but there were niggles: the kitchen needed some refurbishment; the hob was temperamental; the lighting on the upper floor (lounge/kitchen/dining area) was poor, etc. Little things that you don't expect from a 5* facility. However, if our last visit had not been so perfect we probably would not judge it quite so harshly. I have no doubt that we will return at some future date when all is back to normal.

Review No: 26 by Mrs Hood who stayed here on 15/04/2018 Language Flag

Another week spent in a lovely lodge at Cameron House - despite the mixed Scottish weather. Only complaint which I would make again is about the lack of dining onsite due to the recent fire but hopefully that will be remedied soon and phone lines and internet will also be back up and running in the near future. Only place to dine on site is at the Boathouse. This is a lovely restaurant in a great location but the menu is so limited and the prices are ridiculous (two coffees and two scones just under £12.00). Fish and chips £16 (for piece of frozen fish, table spoonful of frozen peas, portion of bought-in tartar sauce), bottle of supermarket white wine £35.00!! We would recommend that guests walk that little bit extra to Duck Bay Hotel where the choice of food and prices are so much better and it too is in a lovely location overlooking the Loch. All in all, we would return to Cameron House Lodges.

Review No: 27 by Mr Nurse who stayed here on 03/03/2018 Language Flag

Have visited this beautiful place a number of times but this time very sadly the first time since it suffered the horrendous fire 3 months ago. Police enquiry ongoing so no repair work has started at all so facilities were extremely limited

Review No: 28 by Mrs Ashworth who stayed here on 10/02/2018 Language Flag

The lodges at Cameron House are in the grounds of the hotel, which unfortunately suffered a fire just before Christmas. As a result, the facilities within the hotel building are not available, but the golf course and restaurant by the marina are still in operation. Arrangement have been made for lodge users to have free access to the facilities at the Carrick resort, about 2 miles up the road, and also the public swimming pool in Dumbarton (which is more suitable for children) The staff at Cameron House are trying their upmost to make your stay as enjoyable as possible under the circumstances, and we will be returning in May. Just one thing to note - at present there is no wifi access at Cameron House, but this is available at the Carrick should you need it

Review No: 29 by Mrs Hood who stayed here on 04/02/2018 Language Flag

Electricity charges make this resort very expensive to stay in winter. We paid £82.00 and my son was staying in 2 bed lodge but was working nightshift and therefore sleeping during the day. He was only using one bathroom and bedroom and then we joined for last two nights where we increased the heating a little to the other rooms. I dread to think if we had been using the lodge full time for the week as the lower ground floors are very cold. Apart from this, the lodges are very comfortable and well furnished and equipped. Sadly because of the fire at Cameron House, we were unable to use the facilities but we were able to use those at the nearby Carrick. Only place to eat onsite is the Boathouse Restaurant which is lovely but again pretty expensive so best to travel out a little to many of the lovely nearby restaurants around the Loch.

Review No: 30 by Mr & Mrs Will who stayed here on 12/11/2017 Language Flag

Superb stay in lodge 35 with outstanding views across Loch Lomond.Unit had everything one would want and was in excellent order through out.Had a very relaxing week here in November.

Review No: 31 by Mr & Mrs Weldon who stayed here on 28/10/2017 Language Flag

Had a wonderful week in Lodge 54. Arrived early quite happy to wander around but lodge was already available. Enjoyed watching the plane land and take off whlst having a swim. I often take extra knives, t-towels etc. but so well equipped did not need to take them out of the bag. Only item used was the slow cooker which was great for meals when we arrived back in the evening. This was easily the best accommodation we have had in 15 years. Only slight gripe was cost of electric. We took a reading of both meters at start of holiday and when we left and calculated the cost from the cost per unit which was on a list in the lodge which gave us a total of around £38. As we left before the office was open they charged the card and sent an invoice for just over £57 which was a bit of a shock but as we had been nice and warm accepted this buut would have queried it if we had been there.

Review No: 32 by Mrs Harvey who stayed here on 07/10/2017 Language Flag

A very pleasant week in an extremely well run timeshare within a beautiful area. Would definitely like to return.

Review No: 33 by Mr McHattie who stayed here on 24/09/2017 Language Flag

Cameron House is a stunning resort on the banks of Loch Lomond. The unit is well equipped with beautiful views over the Loch. The food in the various restaurants on the resort is excellent. The wine is over priced. A Sauvignon Blanc we ordered for £35 or so costs £8 in the shops. The staff are very variable. While it was good to see locals in many positions, they need better trained and/or managed. There were 3 or 4 who were brilliant but not enough for an establishment of this quality. We went on a Loch cruise which was great fun . There's a sea plane right outside the hotel which we didn't go on but looked like it would be a great trip over beautiful scenery. The Carrick/Cameron Club spa is a must. It is £39 for 2 hours (but not monitored so you get longer) in the pool and thermal experience. It is well worth a visit. While there are a limited number of places to eat within walking distance there are plenty supermarkets within a short drive - Waitrose is a good quality shop, Lidl is close by too. Alexandria is pretty run down, but we found a butcher where we tried several products. The steaks were passable, just, the lamb was good and the steak pies were the best we've had for a long time. We went to the golf driving range at the Carrick, which was £5 for 50 balls, not cheap for the quality of the range. The 9 hole Wee Demon golf course is £7 and good value. One last word - the cocktails in the Great Scot bar are fantastic. Sit outside on the balcony at a table which has an ethanol burner and watch the sun go down over Loch Lomond. It really doesn't get any better.......

Review No: 34 by Mr & Mrs Barnard who stayed here on 17/09/2017 Language Flag

Lovely well-maintained lodges set in mature parkland on Loch Lomond. Excellent plantings around the lodges give colour all year round. Staff helpful when asked but not very pro-active when it comes to telling you what's available on site. Welcome pack doesn't enlighten one much either - I suspect it's the sort of place that owners tend to return to year after year so they assume everyone knows what's what! Only discovered restaurant menus when checking out! Pretty expensive, even the casual dining options, so we didn't bother as there are plenty of places to eat out in Balloch and Glasgow's not far away (bus or train for those who don't want to drive in). The spa at the Carrick is special in that it's a dedicated spa so no sharing the changing room with screaming children - all very tranquil and good value though expensive. Half-hourly concierge service saves driving there and back. We're not golfers but the courses looked both scenic and very interesting to play. Fun to watch the seaplane coming and going from in front of the hotel; it used to fly over our house when they ran a service to Mull. The leisure centre has a very well-equipped gym with up to date equipment. Plenty of fitness classes. Two squash courts. Children's pool with flume plus a decent-sized pool for proper swimming. Sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. It's a short walk along a track from the estate to Lomond Shores at Balloch with Jenners, Hawkshead, etc, and a birds of prey centre plus ancient paddle steamer in the process of restoration which can be visited. Best way to see nearby Luss is to hire a bike from leisure centre and cycle the West Lomond cycle path. Some of it's beside the main road but mostly on the old road and very pleasant. Water buses add to possible cycle trips all along the loch. Stirling within easy reach ... if you can drive past Dobbies/Lakeland! We haven't managed to do so yet!! We left with lots of things still to do so we'll have to go back1

Review No: 35 by Miss Davies who stayed here on 10/09/2017 Language Flag

We spent a wonderful week in Lodge 35 at Cameron House with stunning views from our balcony of Ben Lomond and the Lake. Excellent resort in every way. Good for walking low level from the resort over to Balloch Castle or to the top of Ben Lomond and other Munros. Spa facilities were excellent at Cameron House or visit the Carrick Spa for a special treat. We would certainly love another exchange to Cameron house in the future. Thanks to Keya for finding this exchange for us. Definitely the best so far.

Review No: 36 by Mrs Davies who stayed here on 05/08/2017 Language Flag

Beautiful setting and very good lodges. Plenty of room for two but I think four would struggle for a week. The hotel is nearby and the facilities good, particularly the pool except for the resident bat, who on the last day we were there took to dive bombing the pool! I am terrified of bats so made a quick exit. We attended the 'Welcome event which was a total waste of time. No representatives there, just dining room staff telling you what their menus were - I can read. First time ever after 15 years of timeshare that no representative from the resort has attended a meeting. The grounds are beautifully maintained and provide lovely strolls with resident rabbits, geese and ducks to entertain. The resort is in a beautiful spot right on the lake. No discount given for exchange visitors - only owners. Lovely area with interesting places to visit nearby.

Review No: 37 by Prof. Krasner who stayed here on 01/07/2017 Language Flag

We were delighted to swap our lodge 58 on week 35 for lodge 12 for the week starting July 1. That allowed us to attend a 50th reunion of our year of graduation in the hotel It was helpful that there were no stairs in the semi bungalow. The flower/bush bed outside the front door was very weeded but was attended to during our stay.The carpets were stained in several places in the living area. There were no bin bags to replace the ones that were full. The bath/ shower is not particularly disabled friendly and is a little dangerous getting in and out. Having said all that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will come back again and again

Review No: 38 by Mr Lennon who stayed here on 10/06/2017 Language Flag

We experienced minor housekeeping problems with cleaning, missing items on inventory and a dishwasher with a blocked pump. Furnishings, fixtures and fittings were as expected and the lodge was in a good location. Beds were extremely comfortable. I did strike us as a little strange that we were provided with crystal wine and water glasses yet admonished to wash these by hand. We booked and ate in the Boatyard restaurant on arrival evening and though the food was reasonable it was not exceptional. I was surprised to find that a 10% service charge had been added and even more surprised to see provision for me to give a TIP! in addition to the service charge when I signed to charge against my lodge. The resort is bereft of any activity which is free to the visitor with the exception of the swimming pool, any other activity cost money. My most serious comment I leave to the end; At the time of our check in we were asked to provide authorisation by credit card for up to £200 to cover any expenditure charged against our lodge during our stay. This is common practice in my experience when staying in hotels where generally £50 is authorised by card up front. Hotels do not actually take the £50 it is merely authorised! It is and continues to be my understanding that Cameron House Resort conveyed to me the same message ie. That the £200 would NOT be taken from my credit card. You can imagine my horror when on Monday the 19th of June, 2 days after leaving the resort, I check my credit card and find that £200 was taken by Cameron House Resort on the 10th June. This amounts in my view to Unauthorised borrowing from unsuspecting customers I contacted the resort on Tuesday 20th and am not satisfied with their explanation however the £200 was duly credited to my card as a result of my call. The question is; How frequently does this happen and how many customers remain unaware to their cost! Please investigate

Review No: 39 by Mrs Hood who stayed here on 23/04/2017 Language Flag

Lovely resort and good quality lodges. We were lucky to have great weather which enhanced our holiday week. Service in bars and restaurants could be improved bearing in mind the grading and standards of this hotel and resort.

Review No: 40 by Mr Assitt who stayed here on 12/03/2017 Language Flag

Lovely lodge with side views of Loch Lomond,recently renovated bathrooms with underfloor heating and great showers which are a big improvement Lodge 60 needs a kitchen refurbishment but was more than adequate for us just dated in style and not the pictures they feature on the Cameron House website. We had a lovely holiday and the beds we're extremely comfortable and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff we spoke to from lodge services,leisure staff ,bar staff and not forgetting the wonderful maintenance team who managed to deal with any fault we experienced very efficiently and speedily which is what as Timeshare owners for over 30 years you expect staff who know the Lodges and their little quirks etc. We had a fantastic week with friends and even took the train from Balloch to Glasgow and left the car behind which was a great day out. Thank you Dial an Exchange for yet another wonderful holiday.

Review No: 41 by Mrs Kelly who stayed here on 27/11/2016 Language Flag

A superb resort, all facilities handy. Lodges well spaced apart, in grassy/tree surroundings, many overlooking the 9 hole golf course.
Please Wait
Please Wait