Customer reviews for "WimPen El Marques"

There are 40 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr Boyd who stayed here on 17/01/2020 Language Flag

Lovely Stay. Apartment spotless.

Review No: 2 by Mr & Mrs Morris who stayed here on 07/01/2020 Language Flag

Lovely welcome from very helpful reception staff, apartment was great two bedrooms & two bathrooms, two balconies with sun beds, it had everything you needed, welcome pack of water etc was very useful with even a bottle of wine included, sheets & towels changed midweek along with cleaning of accommodation , free pool towels too. Would definitely recommend & stay again. It is quite a hilly area but the supermarket was just across the road so not far to carry shopping.

Review No: 3 by Mr Whitmarsh who stayed here on 03/01/2020 Language Flag

We have stayed at this resort before and like Los Gigantes as a resort. The Marques is situated ideally; it isn't far from supermarkets, shops and restaurants and not far from the seaside resort either. There are plenty of options for eating and entertainment very nearby. Our apartment was a one bed apartment for 4 people, but it was very small and we were glad there were only two of us. The furniture was comfortable and the kitchen was very well equipped for self catering. There was a very good welcome pack left for our arrival, which included washing up liquid, tea and coffee and milks and biscuits. There was a washing machine in the apartment which was modern and worked well. The pool area is large and the pool is lovely, with plenty of sunbeds. The pool bar was open and although we didn't eat in the restaurant, the food looked appetising. The apartments are across the road from the pool and reception area, which isn't a problem, but the buildings of the restaurant, reception, beauty/therapy room are all going to be replaced in the near future and a lift installed, so guests need to be aware that major work will be undertaken at some future date. That said, we would recommend this resort as a good holiday destination.

Review No: 4 by Mr & Mrs Stewart who stayed here on 06/12/2019 Language Flag

We stayed in a one bed apartment at the end of a 6 week stay in Tenerife . This is a quality resort well managed and maintained . I do like to have animation during the day but the lack of it did not in any way spoil our stay.Keep up the good work

Review No: 5 by Mr Ferguson who stayed here on 27/09/2019 Language Flag

My wife and I had a wonderful time here although the area is on steep hills The only downside we had was that I had not rented a car and a taxi from the airport to the resort and back is 50 Euro each way.

Review No: 6 by Mr & Mrs Parsons who stayed here on 20/09/2019 Language Flag

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Wimpen el Marques and would highly recommend this resort to others. The staff were all very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The appartment was well equipped and comfortable, the swimming pool of a good size and well positioned within the complex and the food in the pool restaurant / bar excellent. Despite the fairly steep climb up to the resort from Los Gigantes, the location was excellent because of the superb views of the coast and the cliffs from our balcony. No complaints at all. Thank you for the much needed relaxation offered.

Review No: 7 by Mr & Mrs Hobbins who stayed here on 06/09/2019 Language Flag

A very enjoyable stay in a charming area. Contrasted with the other side of the island, around Los Christianos, the area is quieter but the shops re only five minutes walk away and there are some charming walks to the nearby villages. Also, there are several reasonable restaurants immediately available. The only criticisms we have to make are that there are no 'phones in the apartments, and we were pestered several times by charity collectors at the poolside! My wife and I think that this practice should be stopped to avoid embarrassing the guests - however worthy the causes may be. It would be more appropriate to place collection tins on the reception counter!

Review No: 8 by Mr Glancy who stayed here on 30/08/2019 Language Flag

All pretty good at this resort. Only detrimental point is that it suffers from noise from the adjacent (back) main road.

Review No: 9 by Signor Bolognesi who stayed here on 09/08/2019 Language Flag

Abbiamo soggiornato 2 settimane nel resort e siamo stati accolti molto bene , un servizio di alta qualità pulizia impeccabile sia nelle aree comuni che negli appartamenti , abbiamo avuto un problema con la lavatrice e abbiamo comunicato alla reception il tipo di problema , ritornati dal.mare abbiamo trovato una lavatrice nuova di zecca , esperienza da ripetere

Review No: 10 by Mr & Mrs Allsebrook who stayed here on 09/08/2019 Language Flag

Excellent property obviously a little dated with rooms etc, bar and wool area being completely revamped next year with a new building, plans look amazing. Great location much further up the coast than we have been before, very quiet superb. Only negative difficult to walk about quite hilly.

Review No: 11 by Mr Mcguire who stayed here on 05/07/2019 Language Flag

Apartments was lovely size and very clean. Just a shame that we were ground floor at the back. Looking onto to brick wall with a path for everyone to walk to other apartments. No privacy at all and sitting area wasn't really large enough for table with all 4 chairs out for us all to sit at. If I was guaranteed a front facing apartment with a view I would visit again as kids loved pool etc..Unfortunately they can not tell you until arrival which apartment you will be in. Did seek to be moved if possible but not possible.

Review No: 12 by Mrs Morton who stayed here on 18/06/2019 Language Flag

Top class resort with friendly and helpful staff. Well located providing you have no mobility issues. Hilly both sides of resort which is how you get the beautiful views from any apartment at the front. Been three times now and will be returning.

Review No: 13 by Miss Clarke who stayed here on 18/06/2019 Language Flag

My daughter and I loved our duplex apartment (entrance plus patio, bedroom and bathroom downstairs; kitchen, lounge, toilet and large patio with lovely views upstairs. It was big enough for us two, maybe a tad small for 3 adults or with children. Those with lots of gadgets, especially with chargers, will find the lack of plugs a nightmare and you pay for the electricity you use. Great resort area, lovely swimming pool, helpful staff, fabulous food with a well priced half board option. on a hill with Los Gigantes a 10 minute walk down one sideto the marina from where lots of boat trips leave and a larger hill down to Puerto Santiago on the other. Both with lots of bars, restaurants and shops. Communal buildings are due to be updated in a couple of years, if not before, to include a lift and a new roof.

Review No: 14 by Mrs Wood who stayed here on 07/06/2019 Language Flag

We were particularly pleased to have a balcony ocean view from our apartment at WimPen El Marques. A great view always makes a holiday! The apartment and resort facilities were good, with easy access to local shops and supermarkets. Found some great places to eat locally and also at the onsite restaurant. We didn’t hire a car, but took advantage of booking a couple of organised trips to travel further afield. All in all no complaints, except the Welcome Meeting didn’t take place in the end, Apparently we were the only ones waiting for the meeting and weren’t spotted! Would definitely recommend a stay!

Review No: 15 by Mr & Mrs Dossor who stayed here on 28/05/2019 Language Flag

Well appointed resort with excellent views of the town, cliffs and sea.

Review No: 16 by Sr Teotonio who stayed here on 24/05/2019 Language Flag

Bom dia acabei de chegar de uma semana de férias em Tenerife posso garantir a todos que queiram passar umas férias tranquilas aconselho o resort EL MARQUES em Tenerife cinco estrelas para mim se quer disfrutar de um repouso total opte pelo resort EL MARQUES em Tenerife.

Review No: 17 by Mrs Mackinlay who stayed here on 14/05/2019 Language Flag

Many stairs- few lifts. Apartment quite far from pool and bar area. Apartments at top of steep hill from resort centre

Review No: 18 by Mr & Mrs Helstrip who stayed here on 26/04/2019 Language Flag

We had daughter 9 months old with us and a cot and high chair was in the apartment waiting for us. We were allowed to stay in the apartment extra time so our daughter got a nap about lunch time which was really useful.

Review No: 19 by Mr Nicklin who stayed here on 02/04/2019 Language Flag

This is a fantastic resort. Wonderful staff and a great apartment. It’s situated in a lovely spot, a real sun trap, with great sea views, you can see the island of la Gomera and the cliffs of Los Gigantes. Onsite restaurant with entertainment. Pool with separate toddler area. Playground onsite. Plenty of good eateries nearby a close to the bus stop for public transport to Los Cristianos and Playa las Americas. Other routes also available. Time to airport 30-40 minutes by taxi.

Review No: 20 by Mrs Wilkinson who stayed here on 08/03/2019 Language Flag

Lack of power points in kitchen. On some afternoons/early evening a lot of loud music from a nearby location. Having said the above we really enjoyed our week at this location.

Review No: 21 by Mrs Mitchell who stayed here on 01/03/2019 Language Flag

Extremely disappointed with unit 33, confirmation picture showed apartment with sea view, so imagin our dismay to find we were at back of the building on ground floor, facing a wall, opposite a noisy main road. It was so dark inside it was like a dungeon. The shutters had to be kept closed for security reasons when we went out, so when we went back in it was pitch black and depressing. The shutters in the main living area were jammed so remained closed. Thank goodness we moved to unit 54 for our second week, a lovely airy apartment on 3rd floor with sea view.

Review No: 22 by Mr Allibone who stayed here on 15/02/2019 Language Flag

Apartment 68 Unfortunately the 'balcony' was very small and opened up on to a walkway between the apartments which did offer any form of privacy, there were no sea views or sunsets. Our view was of the back entrance doors of the block in front, which was in the shade for most of the day. We can provide a photo if required. This was the disappointing aspect of the holiday. There appears quite a lot apartments which had no views or are very restricted. The mattresses are very firm, they did provide a topper which helped a little. The resort restaurant, pool and bar area was very good, the reception staff were very helpful and welcoming.

Review No: 23 by Mr Harris who stayed here on 05/02/2019 Language Flag

Everything excellent. Would like to stay again.

Review No: 24 by Mr Pumphrey who stayed here on 05/10/2018 Language Flag

An excellent resort with very helpful staff. If you have a car you may find it difficult to park but this seems a problem in Tenerife. If you want a day trip we recommend going to La Gomera it was a wonderful experience.

Review No: 25 by Mr Macleod who stayed here on 28/09/2018 Language Flag

Very well maintained resort

Review No: 26 by Mrs Wise who stayed here on 31/08/2018 Language Flag

when we arrived at reception, we were greeted by an English speaking man, he was very helpful. told us we would have to pay for the safe key, and electricity used when we checked out. we were given a map of the resort, but the room was easy to find. The meals in the restaurant were good, and not expensive. entertainment that we saw was good. the accommodation was spacious, with one bathroom and an ensuite. the walks to and from the village were challenging as the area is very hilly but there are hand rails at the side of the steepest bits. the only criticism we had was lack of parking. we did manage to find spaces, but they were sometimes hard to find. all in all, we had a great holiday, even the rain kept off during the day, and only rained one night

Review No: 27 by Mr Mcguire who stayed here on 07/08/2018 Language Flag

Our Villa (151) had a good sea view from our terrace which was also nice and private, sun on it all day. Well placed resort with variety of supermarket's bar's and restaurants near by. Second time in the area, we stayed at Wimpen Las Rosas last time, which is next door, it's pool and bar area has a much better feel to it than the one at El Marques.

Review No: 28 by Mrs Fenwick who stayed here on 13/07/2018 Language Flag

Just returned from a week in a 2 bedroom apartment which was very spacious and clean. Some areas could do with a lick of paint but this did not spoil the stay. The staff are extremely helpful in particular the reception staff on arrival they had no record of our booking but dealt with this effectively and found us an apartment matching what we had booked. We also booked a fishing trip, boat trip and Siam Park all through reception and they were all excellent. Pool is heated which is great always found a sunbed and kids loved the table tennis and pool table area. Definitely would return here in the future.

Review No: 29 by Mr Traynor who stayed here on 10/07/2018 Language Flag

Well cared for resort staff could not be more helpful food & drinks well priced. Pool towels provided on arrival and can be changed for clean ones when required plenty of sun beds at pool area and also sun terrace away from pool if you just want to relax with a book Resort is at top of hill from main resort area this suited us as we had a car. Supermarket across road for any shopping parking a bit of a lottery but always found a space would return again ( we were during a festival on 14 th July and had a prime view of the spectacular fire work display at midnight by walking across the road)

Review No: 30 by Mr Bell who stayed here on 19/06/2018 Language Flag

We were looking for a quiet relaxing holiday and El Marques delivered the perfect location. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and approachable. The bar/restaurant was well priced and the waiters and bar staff lovely. All of the facilities were top class and well maintained. We will be definitely making a return visit next year. A fabulous experience all round.

Review No: 31 by Mr Goldspink-Collie who stayed here on 22/05/2018 Language Flag

We had another great week at el marques in unit 147 the only slight dis advantage was that the balcony was in the shade most of the day , the staff were great and very helpful the food in the on site restaurant was also very good we will hopefully be back next year

Review No: 32 by Mr Steen who stayed here on 18/05/2018 Language Flag

One of the best resorts we have exchanged into. We had two weeks, the first in a sleeps six which had a balcony - very good - the second was a sleeps four which did not, so we went to the terrace, or to the poolside, or to the other terrace instead. Staff were great, food was exceptionally good - snacks or a meal. If you like Tenerife, wonderful climate, friendly people, and don't mind that the entire island is either up or down hill - nowhere is flat and level - then would highly recomend this resort. PS. Los Gigantes is the first pick-up for excursions, so expect to sit on the bus for sometimes nearly two hours before starting off to see whatever you've signed up for. Teide starlight trip, submarine excursion, well worth it in my view. Also, if you're not good with hights, like me, you need to ask which excursions and bus rides are white knucle ones.

Review No: 33 by Mrs Watson who stayed here on 18/05/2018 Language Flag

These are very nice apartments, if you manage to get one with a balcony and sea views. We were in apartment 124, a one bed apartment, close to reception and with a lovely large balcony. The apartment was cleaned mid-week which we weren't expecting. Electricity charges were minimal and you can rent a safe for 8 euros a week. There are plenty of facilities onsite/nearby. The evening meals were very nice, although the breakfast left a lot to be desired. There are a number of stairs here and the apartments are set at the top of a hill a good 15 minute walk to the beach so not the best for those with mobility issues. There is a Lidl across the road, which is very handy for those self-catering. Would definitely return.

Review No: 34 by Mr & Mrs Dossor who stayed here on 15/05/2018 Language Flag

Resort standard is above average and staff helpful, however, we have now been advised that we can no longer swap a two bedroom for a one bed with possible better outlook. When asking why were advised it’s a new rule. Anyone any wiser on this one?

Review No: 35 by Mrs Swainson who stayed here on 13/04/2018 Language Flag

We had a great week at El Marques. The 1 bedroomed apartment was ideal for our needs although we did find the sofa (the only place to sit) to be extremely uncomfortable for relaxing. Our apartment was on the first level and had an outdoor seating area with table and chairs on the walkway to the other apartments. This was very cramped and not a private or attractive area to sit so we did not use it. Other apartments across the path (and those above us) had balconies that, given our elevated position, would have had magnificent views over the bay. This was a disappointment. Wifi in the apartments is very poor particularly in this day and age: connection speeds are very slow and during busy times it was not possible to load any pages at all. Only 1 device at a time can be connected with a 15 minute wait between disconnecting and reconnecting a different device - hardly 21st century! On the positive side access was free when we had thought that there would be an 18 euro charge for the week.There was also adequate free wifi at the pool, bar and lounge. The pool area had lots of sun loungers and was very quiet while we were there. Guests are issued with pool towels free of charge to allow staff to identify that beds are being used by residents. The resort is set on a steep hill and the number of stairs (and lack of lifts) means that if you have any issues at all with mobility this resort is not for you. There were many good restaurants and bars within easy walking distance and further choice if you were prepared to walk down and then back up the very steep hills. There is a Lidl supermarket across the road and a Mercadonna a short drive away so if you fancy cooking for yourself you can. We really enjoyed our break and were very impressed with Los Gigantes and Puerto de Santiago. The new road made access much easier than had been the case when we visited the island in the past. Not a resort for anyone with disabilities though due to the number of stairs and hills!

Review No: 36 by Mr Montgomery who stayed here on 02/02/2018 Language Flag

The 2 bedroom apartment was totally adequate and is due to be upgraded in the not too distant future. The El Marques resort itself was excellent with a good restaurant and entertainment every night. Los Gigantes is a lovely town with many good bars and restaurants. The walk from El Marques to these and the harbour area is quite steep. The local buses are good value but you may need to stand when the local market at Playa San Juan is open (Wednesday's and Sunday's 9am-2pm)

Review No: 37 by Mr Davies who stayed here on 15/12/2017 Language Flag

We stayed in unit 63. One to avoid at all costs. Understaffed and those that are there go through the motions rather than provide a service.

Review No: 38 by Mr Hartshorn who stayed here on 08/12/2017 Language Flag

Excellent friendly resort well maintained good facilities would definitely recommend and stay there myself again. Only minor negative I think the rooms should be cleaned more than once a week but understand the reasons as like everywhere there is a cost issue. But again excellent resort.

Review No: 39 by Mrs Raynes who stayed here on 21/11/2017 Language Flag

Stayed in a 2 Bed Apartment - 147. Balcony with view of Los Gigantes cliffs - but was shielded from the sun all day which was a shame because the pool area is very cramped ....sun beds rammed in very close together- fortunately is was very quiet as I would not like to be there when busy! Average furnishings, desperately in of a deep clean especially bathrooms with grubby sinks ,toothpaste splat and black mould on tiles. Floor tiles dirty. 18 euros for WiFi . Electricity Charge also.

Review No: 40 by Mr Hunter who stayed here on 03/11/2017 Language Flag

Resort well situated. Facilities very good. Could be doing with a bit of an upgrade, but this is already ongoing.
Please Wait
Please Wait