Customer reviews for "Sutton Hall Club"

There are 53 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr & Mrs Roberts who stayed here on 05/09/2020 Language Flag

This is a lovely resort. The small swimming pool was available for guests to book in time slots. There was always availability as there are only 14 units at the resort. It was great to have the pool and whirlpool to yourselves. The same arrangement was in place for the gym, sauna and hot tub but we didn’t use these facilities. The grounds of Sutton Hall are large and well maintained with a stream running through and picnic tables. The gardens are beautiful. We had good WiFi in our apartment (Pennine) and the tv had streaming services available eg BBC iplayer, Netflix and Prime. There was a free selection of DVDs and books available in the Hall. The resort is ideally located near to both North Yorks National Park and the Yorkshire Dales. We highly recommend this resort and would like to return next year if possible.

Review No: 2 by Mr Walker who stayed here on 01/08/2020 Language Flag

My wife and I both loved the accommodation and the area as plenty of walks. Given Covid I was very impressed with the new outdoor sauna and hot tub and booking process for these and small pool which meant each household could book them separately. Only thing I would suggest was a couple of lockers or similar for sauna/hot tub so u can put any clothes/towels in if it rain. We were in a cottage which was well furnished and had individual WiFi. Very large comfy super king bed. Would definitely go back

Review No: 3 by Ms Batey who stayed here on 25/07/2020 Language Flag

We stayed in the York suite. I was pleasantly surprised to find that most of the apartment had been refurbished with new furniture, carpets and curtains. The apartment was very spacious and we had no problems as a family of six. It was nice having a bath with shower over plus another shower room. A shame there was no dishwasher but that’s no real hardship for a week. The apartment and all other facilities were extremely clean. The grounds are lovely with a selection of seating areas. Plenty of equipment to play tennis, basketball, mini golf etc. We enjoyed using the pool which although small was a lovely temperature and nice having it to ourselves. The outdoor hot tub and sauna added to the relaxing experience encountered at Sutton Hall. The week flew by! We would stay at Sutton Hall again.

Review No: 4 by Mr Cole who stayed here on 14/03/2020 Language Flag

Prior to our visit to Sutton Hall, we called the resort to advise them that we were happy to move into a cottage on site if they needed to use our allocated unit within the manor house for any disabled guests (website indicated bathroom catered for the disabled), Linda was great & immediately amended the booking for us to have Elkdale cottage which was fantastic news to us. The location of Sutton Hall is ideal for those wishing to experience the North Yorkshire National Park as it's right on the doorstep. Due to the Coronavirus situation, we chose not to visit the bigger towns like York etc., & instead, found a different walk each day without having to drive too many miles from this resort. We also found a super pub called Old Oak Tree in nearby South Kilvington (just outside Thirsk), which produced one of the best Sunday Roasts either of us had experienced before (apart from my wife's home cooked version of course ha ha!). This pub is a 'must' for any food lover & the local beer was great too. The cottage was great with it's own small patio too. Although getting a mobile signal was near impossible on-site, they had installed WiFi throughout, so using the internet (& WhatsApp) allowed us to communicate with the outside world & therefore, caused us no problem at all. Also, they had installed 'streaming' services like iPlayer etc., on the TV, thus offering us more choice during our stay (this was a 'first' for us within a UK exchange & in our opinion, more resorts should follow suit! We experienced only one issue whilst staying here, that being the shower - it would only run boiling hot or ice cold. We reported it to reception & the maintenance guy came over immediately & stated that it would need replacing. Rather than get any disruption, we agreed to use the bath during our stay thus allowing them to fix the shower after we had departed. So, well done to all the staff that we spoke with during the week & we will return some day.

Review No: 5 by Mr Olliffe who stayed here on 07/03/2020 Language Flag

Although we were booked into the Pennine apartment, on arrival we were told that we had been changed to the Mowbray Suite on the ground floor, just off the main hall. No reason was given for this, but having used the Mowbray suite for the week, we were more than happy for the change. The lounge is very spacious with good furnishings, and what looked like new carpets throughout and a 'huge' TV, which was needed for a room so large. Heating was by storage heaters in lounge and bedroom which were quite effective and you did have the opportunity to use the electric fire if a boost was needed, in our case just a couple of times. Those using the apartments in the winter should be aware of the £21.00 per week charge for the night rate heating, plus an extra charge for the day rate heating, which for us worked out about a pound a day, so quite reasonable. Heating for the bathroom was via the towel rail, which we switched on in the evening. The bedroom was a good size, with a built-in wardrobe and plenty of drawers for storage in the dressing table and the bedside tables. The bed itself was medium/hard but reasonably comfortable with a good duvet and pillows. The kitchen is quite small given the size of the suite, and you have to be very organised to use it, but there was everything you needed - all the crockery was stored in the lounge display cabinet, apart from the coffee mugs. For the management, I would and did suggest that the curtains in the lounge should have the headings correctly 'pulled in', which would make them easier to draw being so long, which I would have done myself if a ladder was available - I'm in the trade and that's my reason for mentioning it!! All in all, a very enjoyable holiday.

Review No: 6 by Mrs Brooks who stayed here on 07/03/2020 Language Flag

Lovely area for walking. However no local shop, you have to go into Thirsk for groceries etc, three miles away. Also local pub is closed, so again into Thirsk. Definitely need a car. They are building a hot tub at the moment ready for summer!

Review No: 7 by Mr Thompson who stayed here on 29/02/2020 Language Flag

Excellent, property located in an interesting area for walks and visiting places of interest. The only fault we found was that the storage heater central heating had not been on the night before so the property was extremely cold for the first night, until the heating kicked in properly. There was an electric fire which was not enough to raise the temperature by many degrees. Apart from the first night our stay was excellent.

Review No: 8 by Mrs McCallum who stayed here on 29/02/2020 Language Flag

Sutton Hall is a lovely big house in a hamlet near Thirsk. Unfortunately the only inn within the village closed after Christmas 2019, meaning one has to take the car to the nearest eating places in Thirsk - there are several -one being a very good Italian restaurant. (There is a Tesco there too.) The hotel between the Hall and Thirsk did not serve evening meals until March - despite having apparently, several residents! At this time of year with only a few residents ,the atmosphere was quiet and relaxed. We saw few staff at the Hall - They went home at 4.00 and during the day the reception personnel were often elsewhere away from the desk. There were lots of interesting photos on the walls and in a folder - I would have liked an identifying caption to say where they were and when they were taken as some looked quite old. The house was "quirky" - lots of doors and lots of internal stairs up and down throughout. We had an upstairs bedroom and bathroom within the apartment. The kitchen in our apartment was tiny (two people had to squeeze by each other to fetch cutlery etc.) with only a small freezer in the below counter fridge and little worktop space - we used the toaster in the lounge. Serving a meal on to six plates would be an inventive use of surface area!There was no dishwasher in our apartment. There were four of us for two days but the flat could have slept six. However with only one bathroom and toilet , that would be far from comfortable We enjoyed our stay, as a quiet time in February is what we were looking for and the weather was extremely kind to us. I'm sure the atmosphere will be different in summer when more guest can enjoy the outdoor activities. We did not visit the grounds due to the recent extreme weather conditions but what could be seen looked interesting! Travel around the area was relatively easy and there are a lot of places to visit, so as long as you don't mind driving there are lots of places to visit.

Review No: 9 by Mr Bentley who stayed here on 22/02/2020 Language Flag

Had a really lovely week despite the weather. Love Sutton Hall, only criticism would have been nice to have had a dish washing machine, though appreciate not enough room. Husband did a splendid job with the dishes!

Review No: 10 by Ms Rodgers who stayed here on 15/02/2020 Language Flag

Lovely stay in a gorgeous property .

Review No: 11 by Mrs Lymburn who stayed here on 08/02/2020 Language Flag

A very nice spacious apartment in The Main Hall. Nice grounds to explore. Enjoyed pool, small but a nice extra. Good base to explore country and coast.

Review No: 12 by Mrs Michie who stayed here on 01/02/2020 Language Flag

Sutton Hall is in a great location. Easy access to the east coast and lovely towns and villages nearby If you enjoy walking, it’s just a few miles from the National Park. It was very quiet at this time of year. Only one other apartment in the house was occupied. Ours was a 1 bed ground floor flat with views onto their beautiful garden. In good weather you can enjoy a picnic and wander in the woods or walled garden. The living/dining room was extremely spacious with a very small kitchen off. Though small, it had all the appliances you would need. There is a gym and laundry in the grounds and a small indoor swimming pool in the Hall. There was a good sized communal area with pool table, TV and comfortable sofas. This was the best place to access WiFi. The WiFi in our apartment was poor and only really accessible in the hallway. We would definitely return

Review No: 13 by Mrs Dando who stayed here on 29/12/2019 Language Flag

Stayed in Mowbray - ground floor apartment in the 18th century Mansion - extremely spacious and very comfortable. Weather incredible for New Year - blue skies and sunshine all week - no need for warm hats, scarves, gloves. Car essential as no public transport through village, but only 8 minutes drive to Thirsk with good bus services which we used to go to Northallerton, Ripon, York - in addition unlimited free parking for blue badge holders in town car parks. Would be nice to return at a different time of year when more attractions open.

Review No: 14 by Mr Forshaw who stayed here on 29/12/2019 Language Flag

Staff very friendly, we were lucky to have good weather for the time of year, the gardens must be lovely in the Spring/Summer. The cottage would be cramped with four adults. The heating system took a little time to get used to, (storage heaters). We would return, but to a larger apartment. Good base for visiting Yorkshire.

Review No: 15 by Mr Wilson who stayed here on 23/11/2019 Language Flag

Very pleasant staff, site is very nice. Unfortunately our week coincided with some general refurbishment that included TVs installing to bedrooms, carpets, etc, so we probably had the end of the old order. We didn't spend too much time on site. Even in a cold, wet November there's much to see in the N Yorks area. However, in summer it would be nice to explore the 24 acres of well-maintained gardens. In place to visit, the area is brilliant. We'll be going back.

Review No: 16 by Mr Savage who stayed here on 12/10/2019 Language Flag

well fitted and well kept, but very little storage space in kitchen, position of cooker hood very dangerous, very quiet location, very peaceful

Review No: 17 by Mr Cook who stayed here on 05/10/2019 Language Flag

Good location for many attractions within half an hours drive.

Review No: 18 by Mr & Mrs Curran who stayed here on 21/09/2019 Language Flag

Sutton Hall is a lovely old country hall, with excellent kept gardens. Our unit, Pennine, was spotlessly clean, but the lounge furnishings were quite tired. The unit was on the first and second floor (like a duplex) after walking up a grand staircase. It would be nice in the future to be advised where the units are situated, as some are not suitable for older less mobile people. Would we return? Yes, but only if we could guarantee a ground floor unit.

Review No: 19 by Mrs Moutrey who stayed here on 07/09/2019 Language Flag

Always a pleasure to go back to Sutton Hall. Such a lovely place

Review No: 20 by Mrs Cooper who stayed here on 31/08/2019 Language Flag

Our second stay at Sutton Hall. This time in an apartment in the main house, last time in one of the cottages in the grounds. Sutton Hall grounds are a delight, beautiful gardens matched with woodland. Staff are lovely. Small pool adequate for leisure. The cottage, plenty of equipment & space for meal preparation, the living room is small for 4. It was cramped sitting 2 at the table. The bathroom is huge. The only heat, a towel rail, was inadequate, out of a hot shower into a cold room was not ideal. The heat everywhere is by night storage heater which everyone agrees are a pain. The semi private garden lovely & watching birds, wonderful. The house appt: living room is huge, the sofa bed is also comfortable settee. Again beds excellent, firm but good support. Microwave & TV were simple (as in cottage), no frustration of complicated electronics. As before, plenty of bedding, fluffy white bath sheets, lots of hot water. The appt space! huge lounge diner too big for 4 was matched with a kitchen that was no more than a narrow corridor. Just wide enough for units with sink/fridge & one person to stand. So crockery & glasses in a lounge dresser. A bath instead of just a shower meant a cramped bathroom. The wardrobe was so close to the bed that one door could not be opened & for the larger less agile squeezing round was impossible & crawling over was the only option, we could do it but others may not. The staff know this & apologetic but are planner errors. A refit, one corner of the lounge into a decent kitchen. Enlarge bedroom into old kitchen, remove bath, & then 5* all round. Wardrobe changes are planned. Superb area, highlight - a glider flight from Sutton Glider Club. WOW. Thirsk a decent little town, The Herriot Museum is interesting. Helmsley more up market. Ripon Cathedral & museums. Go to Eden Camp, fantastic WW2 museum on old POW base near Malton. Ryedale Folk Museum. And the Moors scenery, wonderful. Overall, excellent resort & area.

Review No: 21 by Mrs Brown who stayed here on 22/06/2019 Language Flag

Lovely apartment with all the mid cons. Slightly dated but nevertheless comfortable and quiet. Gardens are beautiful and very well kept. Slightly confused about swimming pool as we had assumed it was closed but apparently you have to take off the cover yourself! Lots to see around Thirsk. We joined English Heritage whilst we were there. Riveaulx Abbey is a must. Took train journey to Whitby for a jolly day out and if you are energetic do climb Roseberry Topping for grand views. Look forward to a return visit!!

Review No: 22 by Mr Mcgibbon who stayed here on 22/06/2019 Language Flag

This adult only venue is situated in a beautiful area of Yorkshire where there are lots of places to visit especially if you have English Heritage (plenty of religious ruins to see) and National Trust membership. Sutton Hall is a lovely old building with lots of character however our accommodation (Pennine) was a disappointment and in need of refurbishment. The kitchen was very small and the only window was a skylight which didn't open. There are holiday cottages within the grounds which look fresh from the outside. But we did not view their interior. The large, well kept grounds are beautiful and a pleasure to walk through.

Review No: 23 by Mr & Mrs Hart who stayed here on 15/06/2019 Language Flag

Had a great holiday in Yorkshire with lots to explore. Accommodation was very clean albeit a little tired looking, where carpets were due to be replaced. The staff were very helpful and nothing too much trouble. An excellent week and will be happy to return

Review No: 24 by Mr Grant who stayed here on 18/05/2019 Language Flag

The 1 bed unit we stayed in was perfect for just the two of us. It would be very cramped for 4. Sutton hall is very well placed for touring and walking. The gardens are lovely for walking around and the are a couple of benches near the tennis courts that are great for eating out. There is an excellent pub just a couple of minutes walk away and we ate there on 3 evenings. The food there was very good and reasonably priced. A 2 mile drive away is Sutton Bank which has breathtaking views and a 30 minute walk to the White horse carved into the hillside. We would certainly return. Geoff and Susan Grant

Review No: 25 by Mr Bunyan who stayed here on 27/04/2019 Language Flag

We found this a delightful place To be It was relaxing and a good centre for North East Yorkshire We looked out on the well kept garden

Review No: 26 by Mr Wallis who stayed here on 13/04/2019 Language Flag

This is a small quiet resort in beautifully maintained grounds. Units are very well maintained and comfortable, staff helpful. The position is ideal for all areas of interest in the North York's and we look forward to another visit. J.& A. Wallis

Review No: 27 by Mr & Mrs Dyson who stayed here on 13/04/2019 Language Flag

My friends my husband and I have just spent a lovely week at Sutton Hall it is a lovely place staff could not do enough for us. It is in a small village no shop so need to buy in Thirsk before you arrive. There are lots of places to visit. Will definitely return again.

Review No: 28 by Mrs Setterfield who stayed here on 06/04/2019 Language Flag

We had a fantastic week in the Hambleton Suite. We were blest with good weather so were able to do all we planned but we did not find time to use the pool etc. The gardens are beautiful and worth a walk around, we had a lovely view of them from our apartment. All the apartment facilities were very good and spotless and very adequate. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Nice pub very close and very friendly. Lots of things to do and see in the area. James Herriot Museum, Thirsk and Fountain Abbey, Harrogate were our highlights. Look forward to returning in the future.

Review No: 29 by Mr Abell who stayed here on 23/03/2019 Language Flag

An excellent base to explore the North York Moors, York City and Harrogate. The Hall is well back from the road and very quiet. Excellent gardens with some good footpaths in the area.No shops in the village, though there is one pub. However, Thirsk is only 3 miles away and a good market centre.

Review No: 30 by Mr & Mrs Turner who stayed here on 09/03/2019 Language Flag

We stayed in the Pennine suite in the main house which meant that we had Wifi in the apartment. The bedroom and bathroom were on the first floor and the living room and kitchen were on the next floor above - an upside down apartment. The heating was very disappointing - 2 storage heaters which were not able to warm either the bedroom or living room and the stairs and bathroom remained ice cold. It was a particularly cold and windy week that we were there and without double glazing it must be a trial to heat. Having said that the staff lent us another heater which made the bedroom a lot warmer and twiddled with the storage heaters to give us a bit more heat. Supplementary electric heaters were available in the bathroom and living room also. It is such a pity to make a negative comment about the resort because everything else was of a high quality and the location is right in the middle of many interesting places to visit.

Review No: 31 by Mrs Brooks who stayed here on 02/03/2019 Language Flag

Lovely old building, early c 1700. All areas were well maintained.Gardens and grounds also. Thirsk around three miles away for shopping etc. No village shop. Entrance to building off the main road , need to be careful when driving out, difficult to see cars coming up hill from the right until the last minute. Overall an excellent resort, lovely if you are going in the summer.

Review No: 32 by Mr Woolley who stayed here on 23/02/2019 Language Flag

A very good place to stay.Well maintained to a very good standard.Grounds were lovely in rural setting. Pool was small but convieniant if you were in the main building.Towels provided at the resort. Positioned close to plenty of interesting places to visit.

Review No: 33 by Mrs Cambridge who stayed here on 16/02/2019 Language Flag

I have stayed in many different timeshare resorts in the past 30 years and Sutton Hall would be one of the best, if not the best resort, in terms of comfort, ease and cleanliness. Every single item that we could possible want was in the unit so we did not need to ask for anything. All the information for day trips was provided to make our holiday easy, and the unit was spotless. We really appreciated the DVD's, games and Netflix provided for guests in the lounge area, and the indoor heated swimming pool. It seems to me that this resort takes its feedback questionnaire seriously and acts on it because there was nothing for me to complain about. Everything that we could possibly want or ask for was already provided, and we felt very welcome. The test of any resort is at the end of the week do you want to go back again, and with Sutton Hall we definitely want to go back.

Review No: 34 by Ms Brown who stayed here on 16/02/2019 Language Flag

Great base for exploring North Yorkshire. The apartment was well equipped (including the tiny kitchen), although the seating & bed could be more comfortable. The Hall is lovely & grounds are beautiful even in February with just hellebores & snowdrops out. Staff were friendly & responsive. We did not use the communal facilities or the pool area so can’t really comment on these. We would consider a return visit but this was our last banked week & the private rental costs are high in comparison to what you can get elsewhere in the area.

Review No: 35 by Ms Pooley-Smith who stayed here on 17/11/2018 Language Flag

Very comfortable unit and very clean and tidy resort with lovely grounds. There are opportunities for varied walks from the unit . Would definitely return!

Review No: 36 by Mr Webster who stayed here on 27/10/2018 Language Flag

THIS WAS A SUPERB ACCOMODATION AND LOCATION AND A FABULOUS BASE TO EXPLORE THE AREA, ATTRACTIONS AND COAST HOWEVER, ONLY ONE OBSERVATION TO MAKE IN THAT THE WIFI CHARGE WAS "FREE" IN THE RESORT LOUNGE, BUT IF REQUSETED A CHARGE OF £17.00 IN YOUR COTTAGE FOR THE WEEK WAS MADE> THEREFORE, ON TOP OF THE RESORT CHARGE OF £10 (PLUS VAT) PLUS ELECRICITY THE CHARGE FOR WEEK WAS £51.45 FROM SUTTON HALL

Review No: 37 by Mr Murrells who stayed here on 13/10/2018 Language Flag

There are loads of things to see and do around Sutton Hall with its beautiful grounds. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The swimming pool is adequate, but there are no changing facilities for guests not staying in the Hall. Danbydale Cottage, with its private patio, was perfect for two people, but would be very cramped for more. The cottage has storage heaters, which were fine for the middle/end of October, but we imagine it could be rather cold in the middle of winter. However, to boost the heat, there is a fire in the lounge. We had a most enjoyable week.

Review No: 38 by Mr Lucock who stayed here on 06/10/2018 Language Flag

We stayed in Hambleton Apartment in October 2018. It is a one bedroom unit but meant to sleep up to four people. The extra bed is a sofa bed in the sitting room which when used as a settee is rather uncomfortable to sit on. The apartment is in a lovely old house in extensive grounds. The gardens are beautifully maintained and well worth walking around. Equipment-wise in the flat it is adequate for two people but I would have liked to have seen more crockery and utensils if there had been four people. Hambleton is heated by electric storage heaters and the guide clearly states that electricity is by meter reading chargeable at the end of your stay. I mistakenly thought that only applied to the electricity used by the domestic appliances but I found that it also includes the storage heaters which if they are turned up high as recommended in the apartment guide could result in a rather high bill. In all other respects we had a lovely holiday in a beautiful surroundings. We were also lucky to have lovely autumn weather with spectacular colourings of the leaves. In spite of my criticisms I would still recommend the apartment.

Review No: 39 by Mr & Mrs Jones who stayed here on 15/09/2018 Language Flag

Very large apartment with stunning views, wonderful gardens, could not have been better. Short walk of about 3 mins to a restaurant/ pub. A fantastic area to visit with loads of things to do.

Review No: 40 by Mr Barnett who stayed here on 08/09/2018 Language Flag

The resort is well located for visiting the North Yorkshire area and has a number of easy to get to visitor attractions whether they be National Trust properties, market towns, museums etc. and several places near by to eat to fit all pockets. Sutton Hall has a number of amenities, extensive grounds and hence caters for different interests, good car parking facilities and the staff are friendly and helpful. The accommodation is clean, well maintained and very comfortable. We would certainly make a return visit.

Review No: 41 by Mrs Collings who stayed here on 30/06/2018 Language Flag

Whilst staying at Sutton Hall with my brother Michael Fowle, we visited Alnwick, where tragically my brother died. On my return to Sutton Hall, the help and compassion shown to me was superb. I can't thank them enough. My brother loved Sutton Hall,

Review No: 42 by Mr & Mrs Gill who stayed here on 02/06/2018 Language Flag

The apartment was very clean. The furniture is dated but still comfortable. The same for the appliances older but efficient. The grounds are really beautiful and well worth walking around. The ladies in the office know the area well and willingly advise on restaurants. This was our second visit and we enjoyed it as much as the first.

Review No: 43 by Mr Dyson who stayed here on 12/05/2018 Language Flag

This property is in an excellent location for exploring the area. Staff and general character of the property are excellent. Our unit was a bit small, (esp the kitchen) old fashioned and 'tired' (could do with re-decorating) but comfortable enough as we were out most of the time.

Review No: 44 by Mrs Churchill who stayed here on 05/05/2018 Language Flag

I chosen this exchange as it had been recommended by two friends at as somewhere secluded, quiet and of a good quality. The reviews on this site were very positive. Also, the location was close to key tourist attractions and places of family significance. My experience was such that I had to contact DAE head office and discuss cancelling my holiday there. After consideration, I remained but only because I had family business in the area. The manager who was not on duty at the weekend did return and she moved me from the allocated unit to an apartment in the main Hall. My principle issues were not with the accommodation on offer because the unit and the apartment were both very clean and had some new items of furniture However, there seems to be a practice of offering units in the same way that hotel offer rooms but without the facilitates and staff to ensure that members/ owners on exchange have the experience that they were expecting and paid for. In my original unit , the only bedroom window was located looking out onto the courtyard Three different parties were checked into the unit next to mine in a three day period - their presence was intrusive and at times threatening. The bedroom window was looked into and late night drinking centred around the one picnic table next to that window. The bank holiday and the races meant that there were 5 units that were full with garden furniture in the courtyard area that consisted of one picnic table and 4 chairs , 2 zero gravity chairs and a small patio table with 2 patio chairs. The fact that there was no night porter on duty meant that there was a gathering of at least 12 strong that lasted until 1pm that ranged throughout the grounds. On Tuesday a night porter had been employed and then on Wednesday when all the units had emptied, the courtyard was filled with garden furniture. The only concession and acknowledgement of my issues at resort was that I was only charged for utilities in only one unit.

Review No: 45 by Mrs Scott who stayed here on 31/03/2018 Language Flag

A wonderful holiday in the Yorkshire Dales visiting York and the Minster, Chocolate factory, Steam Railway Museum and Dick Turpin's grave. Some wonderful restaurants too. There is a river rushing through the gardens of the Resort and pretty wildflower woods are part of the grounds. We used the indoor pool and Jacuzzi every day and the pool table and lounge for netflicks for children A short walk from the Hall to the Whitestonecliffe Pub where we sat beside a log fire and tasted delicious food. The RAF museum is also nearby as is the Herriott Experience in Thirsk. Then a drive across the Moors to Goathland station to join the N Yorks Railway for a steam ride to Whitby. We visited Captain Cook's house and at the best seafood lunch at Trenchers at the dock. A very worthwhile holiday in a delightful location. We'll bring our bikes next time!

Review No: 46 by Ms Watson who stayed here on 24/03/2018 Language Flag

A Lovely place to stay with a comfortable apartment in the house and beautiful gardens to walk in or just sit and relax. Sutton Hall is close to Thirsk, a pretty market town and central for York, Harrogate, Scarborough, Whitby, Yorkshire Moors and Dales etc. This is our second visit here and we cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Review No: 47 by Mr Bird who stayed here on 10/03/2018 Language Flag

Lovely old property set in nice surroundings, a good base for visiting the surrounding countryside and places of interest.

Review No: 48 by Mrs Green who stayed here on 29/12/2017 Language Flag

We stayed over the new year period, and the staff were really accommodating to our requests. We had are brilliant time

Review No: 49 by Mr Parsons who stayed here on 25/11/2017 Language Flag

The cottage was clean and basic. The major problem was with the heating. We visited during the last week of November and it was very cold. Heating is provided by night storage heaters and they were very ineffective. The were warm in the mornings after they had charged up. They then give out most of their heat during the day when most people are out enjoying the countryside. In the evening when you need some heat they have cooled down. They need to be replaced with modern electric heaters with built in timers. The windows were not double glazed which resulted in draughts and were always covered in condensation. You can only get Wi-fi in the main building.

Review No: 50 by Mr Pearson who stayed here on 04/11/2017 Language Flag

Well situated to access a lovely part of Yorkshire. The grounds, pool and buildings are very attractive. We were in one of the cottages which was very peaceful but the absence of wifi or mobile phone signals (wifi only works in the main building) maybe made it a bit too peaceful. Although we had cold weather and it was generally comfortable the upstairs storage heater didn't work.

Review No: 51 by Mrs Harris who stayed here on 04/11/2017 Language Flag

We had a lovely week here. The accommodation was excellent, the bed was every comfortable. The only down side was the heating that were electric storage heaters which have been useless wherever we have stayed. Plenty to see around. Wonderful for fans of "All creature's great an small".

Review No: 52 by Mr Nelson who stayed here on 04/11/2017 Language Flag

Lovely place staff very good the only down side was the kitchen was a bit small and some of the utensils needed replaced but I would be happy to go again

Review No: 53 by Mrs Mackinlay who stayed here on 28/10/2017 Language Flag

Beautiful property, suite very dated, all furniture and decoration need refurbishment. The fridge door was very difficult to open and then could not be shut. Had to use a chair to keep it closed. When reported they provided a wedge to insert in the door. This was evidently not a new problem. We were invited to a coffee morning but no member of staff attended. It would be nice to have had some advice on places to visit etc. Gardens are lovely. This could certainly be a very upmarket property if it was updated. Not sure where the annual maintenance goes.
Please Wait
Please Wait