Customer reviews for "Whitbarrow Village"

There are 53 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr Punton who stayed here on 29/08/2020 Language Flag

Our big complaint was lack of information in the apartment. 2 laminated sheets one with with safety information which said see you information pack for further details of the resort. We had no information pack, reception was closed. When we spoke to someone from reception they blamed covid-19. The other sheet was a takeaway menu, which led us to believe that the restaurant was closed. We found out from a neighbour the second last day that it was open! We suggested to reception that they could leave photocopies of resort information and destroy it when we leave, like restaurants and pubs are doing at the moment. She said that she would put our suggestion forward.

Review No: 2 by Mr Collier who stayed here on 29/08/2020 Language Flag

The resort itself was excellent. It was difficult to fault it in any way considering the restrictions imposed by Coronavrus. We struggled to find suitable eating facilities in the local area since many pubs were closed or not yet serving food but otherwise it was a very enjoyable break.

Review No: 3 by Mr Drysdale who stayed here on 25/07/2020 Language Flag

Enjoyed a five night stay here just after lockdown. Have visited here before some 12 years ago and still delighted with place. Accommodation we had was adequate for the two of us and kitchen well equipped. Have eaten in the restaurant a few times and they appear to be coping well with current constraints. Used the swimming pool once in our one visit of 30 minutes allocation per week which was nice and again done well considering the constraints in place. Whitbarrow do appear to be busy and would not hesitate to recommend the resorts to couples and families alike a pretty good location to enjoy the lakes.

Review No: 4 by Mr & Mrs Cooper who stayed here on 07/03/2020 Language Flag

My wife and I were quite disappointed with our lodge No B7. It was very small and “tired”. The quality of some of the household items were poor and require replacement. Dining chairs were very wobbly and old. The bedrooms downstairs were so small we had to remove one of the bedside tables by the door. The duvet on the double bed was smaller than normal. In the lounge, which was small but ok, the floorboards were so bad I was unable to get up in the morning before my wife for fear of waking her. Very loud and creaky. The coffee table had cup rings all over it. The place mats and coasters were disgusting and old. There were no incidental lights, only downlighting, on or off. In the “ bathroom “ the pull cord was filthy and we had to cut off the end 6” to be able to use it. The handle on the door inside was all scratched and neglected. The heating was very efficient. Electric appliances were adequate as were utensils pans etc. I have spoken to Michelle and will be sending some photographs of some of the issues in due course. The hotel facilities were very good as was the restaurant. The staff were excellent. I have reported some of these issues to the reception staff. With the weather being so bad it wasn’t the sort of place one could comfortably go back to during the day really. We left a day early.

Review No: 5 by Mrs Mottley who stayed here on 07/03/2020 Language Flag

We were most impressed with the accommodation and resort. Good food and friendly staff. It would have been helpful to have had a service once in the week. We had to ask for toilet rolls. Also the oven was difficult to light as the pilot light button was missing and applicants needed levelling, pots tilted.

Review No: 6 by Mr Severn who stayed here on 22/02/2020 Language Flag

Our second visit to Whitbarrow and we found the same high standards and attention to detail as on our first visit some five years ago. We so enjoyed our visit even though the weather threw everything at us - snow, hail and heavy rain, having said that the paths were cleared, salted and the snow plough did its rounds. Even in the middle of winter there are so many lovely walks to suit all abilities and places of interest within a few miles.

Review No: 7 by Mr & Mrs Prats who stayed here on 01/02/2020 Language Flag

On entering Whitbarrow reception we were welcomed by a lovely young lady, unfortunately I didn’t get her name. As we checked in we could see the pool which looked very inviting. We then went to our home for the week, we found it to be really nice, good sized rooms etc. Everything we needed was there, lovely & clean, really comfortable beds, we slept so well. The bar & restaurant area is in a lovely position, unfortunately we didn’t get to eat there as the weather was so good we were away every day. We used the pool, steam room & sauna & really enjoyed it. We would certainly recommend Whitbarrow, loved it.

Review No: 8 by Mr Ainslie who stayed here on 11/01/2020 Language Flag

Lovely place with lots of things to do in the surrounding area. This was our third visit and really disappointed with the quality of our accommodation. The unit was very tired. The curtains throughout were old and marked with age. So much so they hung in set folds of brown even though that was not their original colour. The main bed was so lumpy my husband called it a wrap around! The three piece suite was also very old and uncomfortable. Small items needed attention eg curtain tie back hook missing, sink plug hole in en suite was rusted and took ages to drain. Would return as we love the area but would not stay in Troutbeck 11 until it has been refurbished.

Review No: 9 by Ms Pooley-Smith who stayed here on 11/01/2020 Language Flag

Once we had arrived and settled in, we tried to prepare our supper but the oven wouldn't work. Maintenance came very quickly but couldn't fix it at the time, so we were treated to a free meal in the beautifully appointed bar. Very impressed! Maintenance came back the next day and discovered that the cleaners, in their enthusiasm, had disrupted the connection by moving the free standing stove to clean around it! It was then quickly fixed and normal service resumed. We were very pleased with the response and efforts to solve the problem - nothing was too much trouble. Top Marks!!

Review No: 10 by Mrs Hughes who stayed here on 04/01/2020 Language Flag

A good location - just off major roads so when staying in winter its still fairly accessible - and with lots to places to visit within easy access.

Review No: 11 by Mr Brewer who stayed here on 14/12/2019 Language Flag

Excellent exchange had a wonderful week with friends and family. The lake is stunning anytime of the year but a snowfall in December made out of this world. Whitbarrow village is brilliant.

Review No: 12 by Mrs Churchill who stayed here on 07/12/2019 Language Flag

We have used this resort for the last 3 years , and always in December. The 3 different properties we have stayed in have always been very clean, and well supplied with linen etc. The houses are fabulously warm which is what you want after a day on the fells. The grounds are well maintained and whilst you can unload at your front door, it is very nice having a no car policy within the ‘village’ itself. The furnishings are a little dated but the beds are comfortable and the kitchen is very well equipped, with dishwasher, large fridge freezer, and plenty of good qualityglasses, plates etc which is a very pleasant change from some places we visit. Overall a very enjoyable place to spend a week, and on wet days the spa and decent sized swimming pool are an added bonus.

Review No: 13 by Mrs Morris who stayed here on 30/11/2019 Language Flag

Lovely area and resort. Sat nav took us to farm rather than resort, follow signs for Whittborrow Village, not sat nav. Lovely reception and staff, including fresh farm eggs. Spa area very good, we used all facilities and they worked very well, especially the jacuzzi!! Flagstones do get slippery when wet and not lit very well, we used the gravel rather than the slippery flags, but it was December. Unit had everything we needed, we cooked most days which worked well for us. We did take all food with us, as no local shops nearby, even in Keswick no large supermarket available. Sofas could do with renewing as leather cushions had collapsed!! Lounge was large enough for the 3 of us. Only 1 bathroom would have been difficult for full occupancy but was fine for 3/4. Bath was very long!! Shower was different, as it was over the end of the bath with no curtain or shield, and was very low on the wall, quite unique!!! Unit was warm and welcoming when we arrived, and continued to be warm throughout our stay, even though several nights were frosty. Lovely long dining table. Good road access to Keswick about 20 mins away, with lovely old cinema with gallery, Alhambra in the main street, showing up to date films, and coffee and tea available free of charge on arrival!!! Theatre by the Lake did an excellent production of A Christmas Carol, which we all enjoyed. Lovely chocolate and sweet shop also in main street. All in all a lovely relaxing pre Christmas week.

Review No: 14 by Mrs Kokborg who stayed here on 30/11/2019 Language Flag

Whitbarrow Village is a lovely, welcoming property in a wonderful setting. Even though it was December and either freezing cold or raining we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was like a winter wonderland when we arrived . The cottage was very cosy and comfortable. The furnishings are good quality but a bit well worn now, just needs a bit of refurbishing. The facilities are great and we used most of them. The menu for breakfast, lunch and snacks was very good. The evening menu is a little limited. The location is excellent with many places to visit within a short distance. One thing we would have appreciated was a shop on site, even if only for basics and newspapers as there aren't any local shops. All in all a brilliant place to stay and one we would hope t return to.

Review No: 15 by Mr Jones who stayed here on 30/11/2019 Language Flag

The village is very clean and grounds well maintained. The swimming pool and adjoining facilities are excellent. The restaurant was very nice and welcoming lovely views. The house was very spacious and lovely bedroom accommodation. The settees were rather sad and very uncomfortable to get out of i.e, sagging! Could do with being updated. The kitchen area was very spacious with lovely worktops. The crockery and eating utensils were adequate. The cooking utensils were lacking and if I had known before I would brought some of my own. Maintenance department were called upon a couple of times and they dealt with our requests promptly. A good area for visiting North Lakes with plenty to do in the area. We even caught the train to Glasgow to do some Christmas shopping which was very easy from Penrith. Keswick very close and lovely shopping area with market. Windermere was not far and well worth a visit.

Review No: 16 by Mr Buxton who stayed here on 30/11/2019 Language Flag

On the whole an enjoyable week Staff were excellent Entertainment was limited to Saturday and Wednesday and then Wednesday was cancelled

Review No: 17 by Mr Mehta who stayed here on 20/07/2019 Language Flag

Dated unit and unit apparatus. Hefty utility fee of £40 during hot summer months. Would be fairer if on a meter. Unit was not clean and kitchen facilities poor. I agree that exchange members appear to get a worse unit than Seasons members. Would not recommend the unit we were put in. The resort grounds are pretty and well maintained, however.

Review No: 18 by Mr Anderson who stayed here on 27/04/2019 Language Flag

Lovely resort in picturesque area. Staff attentive and responsive to requests. However we were in a converted barn. Bedrooms downstairs. Every noise, walking on floorboards, tv etc could be heard downstairs, not conducive for sleep, definitely needs to be sorted. Spoilt time there somewhat. Reported to maintenance unable to sort.

Review No: 19 by Mr McLaren who stayed here on 27/04/2019 Language Flag

Well maintained, very pretty accommodation.

Review No: 20 by Mr & Mrs Thomas who stayed here on 20/04/2019 Language Flag

A lovely resort with good facilities, e g pool, bar and some outside play equipment. The staff were very friendly. My only slight surprise was that there was not a small shop on site to buy basics, the nearest shop which we could find was about three miles away. The surrounding area is beautiful, with Ullawater about ten minutes away, Penrith about fifteen mins and Keswick ten in the other direction. A perfect spot!

Review No: 21 by Mr Hoyle who stayed here on 02/03/2019 Language Flag

The unit was very well maintained with all of the requisite appliances. It was stated that it slept 6 and bedroom wise this was correct but with only one bathroom and a relatively small lounge it would be a bit of a struggle for six people to comfortably stay there. The lounge furniture was comfortable but fairly basic with no side table(s) or cushions. We were fortunate that only 3 people were staying. The grounds are well maintained and inviting and the bar/ restaurant was excellent as were the staff. Previous visits to timeshares have usually meant a welcome meeting taking place and some form of activity/ entertainment. At Whitbarow we were pretty much left to our own devices with the only entertainment being on the Saturday evening. This is a place that we would recommend to others because of its location close to many attractions( a car is a necessity) but our unit is was such that a maximum of four would find it comfortable.

Review No: 22 by Mrs McCallum who stayed here on 23/02/2019 Language Flag

In the kitchen would have found it useful to have - - enough bowls for soup AND desert - a wooden spoon - a pudding basin /bowl ( whisk is already supplied) - a measuring jug THAT STILL HAS A LEGIBLE SCALE - an airtight plastic storage container for biscuits/leftovers etc. The long drive would benefit from occasional lights at night - especially when it is foggy (as last week} and the white edging boulders, which protect the borders, would be better (from a safety aspect) on the side of the deep ditch. The restaurant menu was fairly restricted although did have options for allergies. We only used it once, whilst we ate at the nearby pub/restaurant three times although it meant we had to drive there. ( an agreement with the farmer to walk a much shorter route across the field would avoid the need for the car- extra pollution /fossilised fuels etc - and would comply with the "rights to roam laws" without causing upset) None of the above items were important enough to spoil our holiday. Overall, we had an excellent holiday in a good resort.

Review No: 23 by Mr Bucknall who stayed here on 23/02/2019 Language Flag

We spent a week at this lovely resort as the result of an exchange of one of our timeshare properties. The apartment - C5 - was inverted with the double, twin and single bedroom and bathroom on the ground floor, the kitchen and lounge on the first and a further single bedroom in the attic. Wi-Fi reception in the lounge was excellent, plenty of TV programmes available and a very well equipped kitchen including a dishwasher. The extract fan in the bathroom was faulty and replaced immediately - excellent service from the on-site maintenance team. The pool was excellent as was the well equipped gym. I enjoyed sampling a few pints of hand pulled real ales in the bar but did not use the restaurant although the food looked very nice. The reception team were very efficient and had fresh eggs on sale on the counter - £1 for 6 - beat that. There are no nearby shops so arrive with all your provisions if self-catering. Hopefully another week for exchange will appear - if so we will book again without hesitation.

Review No: 24 by Mr Pearson who stayed here on 26/01/2019 Language Flag

Returning once more to Whitbarrow and as a reminder to us, it snowed again ! Evidently, its a bit of a cold spot and very local localized amount of snow. It added to scenery and the wonderful views that only snow on mountains can offer. It was rather a quiz to find our apartment and we were not alone in getting lost on our arrival. This was despite being supplied with a plan. However, once we found our first floor unit we were relived to find it was warm and inviting. The unit was super and very well appointed. The little niggle was the TV remote that needed a fork to switch the set off. On a more serious note, the hand rails that we used to access our apartment were loose and one came away when I went to support myself. The maintenance team fixed it later, but the whole lot needed a good looking at. They were very steep stairs, and in the snow they were a hazard we could have done without. Pleased we did not have grand children with us. The reception and restaurant staff were super and the waiting on team could not have been more helpful. However, the restaurant menu was unchanging and very limited. Think if you were to dine every night you would soon get rather bored. On balance we enjoyed or stay at Whitbarrow. Would have liked a mid week clean being provided and more choice in the restaurant, but on balance a very good resort. We shall return.

Review No: 25 by Mr Preece who stayed here on 05/01/2019 Language Flag

The bar and restaurant was lovely but only had three choices of food,they are missing out on making money here. we had a three bedroom ,two bathroom and downstairs toilet just for the two of us.The kitchen was brand new and lovely.The living room area needs a bit of colour as the suite is brown and a bit dated. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and comfortable.you can only use wifi in reception, We had a lovely week with only one day of rain with glorious scenery

Review No: 26 by Mrs Richardson who stayed here on 29/12/2018 Language Flag

It appears that there are 3 levels of accommodation, which is not disclosed, at Whitbarrow Village and exchange guests are the third grade, the lowest grade. We were allocated Unit E3 and as there were no empty units this was it! On the morning of day two I asked to speak with the Duty Manager who rang me during the afternoon when I asked her to call in to our unit, she arrived around 5.15pm. We were offered another unit that had previously had a leaky bath and now had a temporary repair, which they hoped to fix during that week, but we were warned it could be smelly and we decided to stay put. I had telephoned the resort early December to check if there was a fridge freezer and was assured there was. When we arrived no fridge freezer but we had one delivered into the unit within a couple of hours, well done to the staff for that. Several things were missing, in the unit, but the staff did bring most of the items I requested. E3 is described as a two bed, 2 bath unit to sleep 6. Yes there are 2 bedrooms but I would not describe it as 2 bathrooms. There is the ensuite with bath, hand basin and toilet, no shower and no extractor fan. There is a separate toilet and a separate very small shower room. The shower room is so small you have to be careful that you don't burn yourself on the radiator when you leave the shower cubicle. I would not have liked to have had 6 adults in the unit as there would be no privacy for the people sleeping on the sofa bed in the open plan lounge. This company advertises their Luxury Lodges, at Whitbarrow Village, but our E3 unit had nothing luxurious about it. When checking out I asked what the rental for E3 would have been for our week and the Receptionist told me E3 unit is one of the units not rented but kept for exchanges. All staff were excellent when we contacted them, it was just unfortunate that we had to contact them so often. We did stay the week and made the most of it but it was good to return home.

Review No: 27 by Mr & Mrs Matiya who stayed here on 22/12/2018 Language Flag

The resort is not as described, The appliances (dishwasher and fridge) did not function. The utensils were mismatched. We were placed in a 3 bed when wed booked a 2 bed which did no have an outdoor jacuzzi as described on the website. the staff at reception were not helpful at all and fobbed us off to say we had been upgraded to a 3 bed and that none of the dae properties were at the high spec that would have a jacuzzi anyway. the bathrooms had a damp smell. The staff refused to give us fresh towels after three towels, apparently we had to pay £1 a towel as its a self catering resort. I have stayed at many self catering resorts and been able to get fresh towels without issue. This was truly a waste of a week and ruined what could have been an amazing christmas holiday. Do not book based on the pictures on the website. The over promise and under deliver.

Review No: 28 by Mr & Mrs Archer who stayed here on 21/07/2018 Language Flag

A very large site in a good location about 10 miles from Keswick. Not too far from Hadrian's wall (or what's left of it - go to the info centre in Penrith to find out which parts of the wall to visit). If you have kids with you it will get them to realise what happened in our history, and there are some sites which give detailed displays of the history about the time). The lakes is a magical place and the waling is out standing. It does not have to be hard walking - go to Buttermere, there is a walk around the lake, its about 4.5 miles long with a very well constructed footpath and quite flat (it would be since it goes around a lake). The scenery is majestic. Go also to the Reged centre - there is a petrol station, a good coffee shop, a clothing etc shop, a cinema and free reliable wi fi. You have to pay for the wi fi at the timeshare. This place is accessed via the A66 at a round about 3 miles from the M6 junction. At the RAB you will only see the petrol station - the rest is behind that. There are cinemas in Keswick and at Penrith.

Review No: 29 by Mr Ramsay who stayed here on 14/07/2018 Language Flag

The whole resort is beautiful We particularly like the Kirkstone and Troutbeck cottages The gardens are well maintained and provide a lovely setting to have an enjoyable holiday We feel Kirkstone 27 could do with the carpets being replaced.

Review No: 30 by Mr Larkin who stayed here on 19/05/2018 Language Flag

We enjoyed two evening meals in the restaurant, lots of choice, beautifully served. The apartment was excellent in every way except that when the light, incorporating a fan, was turned on in the en suite bathroom it fused all the lights on the ground floor which included another two bedrooms a bathroom and the hall. It was reported and one of the maintenance team came and re-set it, showing my husband how to re-set it himself if it happened again. It did several times a day and my husband re-set it each time. We reported the problem several times though no-one came out again. It was a minor annoyance in an otherwise perfect holiday.

Review No: 31 by Mr Davies who stayed here on 12/05/2018 Language Flag

It is a bit of a building site at the moment with the ongoing upgrade but still delivers on an excellent holiday location. The staff are very helpful and the restaurant provides very good food.

Review No: 32 by Mr Nobes who stayed here on 12/05/2018 Language Flag

The accommodation was well equipped. Everything in working order, except for one window that fell in on opening, and one where the double glazing leaked so that it was always clouded over. The bedroom furniture was strangely arranged, so that the person further from the window had no reading light within useful distance . this could be quite easily rearranged, even if it meant having a less tall wardrobe that would fit into a different corner so that the bedside table could be put beside the bed, with the reading lamp on it. But these are small points to help the organisers, and we found our stay enjoyable and entirely satisfactory . We did not sample the restaurant cooking; we tried a take-away from the restaurant, and found it so ordinary (!) that we were not tempted to go for a full meal.

Review No: 33 by Mr Burton who stayed here on 07/05/2018 Language Flag

The accommodation was very nice, we were in a Troutbeck cottage on the outskirts of the complex. There was a restaurant in the hotel however about 5 to 10 minutes away was the Sportsman inn which served lovely meals at a reasonable price. The staff were very friendly and if the weather was good you could sit out. There was ample car parking at the complex and we used to watch the ducks and rabbits walking around.

Review No: 34 by Mr Wright who stayed here on 28/04/2018 Language Flag

Wjitbarrow is a beautiful village of different types of houses,we had a small town house with three bedrooms and two bathrooms,a adequate kitchen ,nice dining area and comfortable lounge with television . We liked eating in t he restaurant where the food was good and very reasonably priced. We would like to return there soon.

Review No: 35 by Mr & Mrs Nichols who stayed here on 28/04/2018 Language Flag

The resort was very nice and the facilities were excellent. The cottage was a bit tired around the edges and a couple of appliances needed updating. The fridge part of the fridge freezer froze the contents even on a low setting. This appliance should have its doors changing round or moving to a more convenient place. There was a second fridge which was excellent. The cooker was good but needed stabilizing, it was a little wobbly. There were three bedrooms, the double was en-suite which was great, but the shower needed updating as it was impossible to wash your hair in there. The water flow was very poor. The other bathroom was really good. There was a twin room and a room with bunk beds in. The mattresses should also be changed and we felt they were past their sell by date. The restaurant was excellent and served good food. There was also a large outside terrace which had good views as well. We only used the pool, sauna and steam room which were excellent and would have loved to have used them more than once but as we were out every day, that was not possible as not enough time. All the staff in the resort were lovely and friendly and made you feel very welcome. It is somewhere I would consider using again.

Review No: 36 by Dr Williams who stayed here on 28/04/2018 Language Flag

Property sleeps 6 and has only 1 bathroom - poor. Jaccuzi out of action while we were there. Restaurant excellent.

Review No: 37 by Mr Green who stayed here on 21/04/2018 Language Flag

Whitbarrow Village is a lovely resort with a variety of properties ranging from the original smaller and more compact accommodation right up to 3 bedded large luxury houses with decking and hot tubs. I doubt very much if an exchange would be into one of the latter but we have been twice and enjoyed both units although our latest exchange was in a larger house and it was great to enjoy more space. The location is ideal for trips out whether it is just locally to places like Lowther Castle or further afield to the Lakes or Scotland. The local people are very friendly and the food at most of the attractions proved to be both tasty and great value for money.

Review No: 38 by Mrs Tonge who stayed here on 03/03/2018 Language Flag

An excellent resort. The accommodation is well arranged, plenty of parking and wonderful garden areas with a duck pond, crazy golf, children's playground, seating areas and marvellous views. The accommodation is very comfortable, well equipped and warm. The pool area is excellent, clean and well maintained. The restaurant and bar serve excellent breakfast, lunches and dinners at very reasonable prices. All the staff are efficient, friendly and very professional. We would certainly return to Whitbarrow

Review No: 39 by Mr & Mrs Lawrenson who stayed here on 03/03/2018 Language Flag

the unit we were allocated grisedale 3 was in need of some T.L.C. did not come up to the standards of the one we own in Tenerife.very cold on arrival and had to call maintenance to a few problems.no shop on site but restaurant and food very good and pleasant staff swimming pool very good also having not used this resort before we were dissapointed

Review No: 40 by Mr Oakley who stayed here on 20/01/2018 Language Flag

Whitbarrow is a great location to explore the Lake District, Cumbria and Carlisle, set close to the A66 between Penrith and Keswick. We had no issues with location and we were confortable out of season. There is so much to see and do in the surrounding area and several great pubs a short drive away. However, our expectations - based on the website description - were not met by our Troutbeck “Cottage”. It was more holiday village than country cottage. Furnishings did not match the description and while functional would not deserve the term ‘luxury’. The double bed was too short for even my 5’ 5” partner, and the sofas had no cushions. Meanwhile, in the kitchen there were chips on crockery and the microwave was not working. There was certainly no private hot tub or floor cushions as we were led to believe online. It was great to have pool and gym facilities on site but with one running machine and limited space in the gym I think it might be very busy peak season. None of this is to say our stay was ruined. It was a functional, restful space which could simply do with some more realistic description on the website. We were disappointed upon arrival yet the “cottage” was clean and we did not really want for anything during our stay.

Review No: 41 by Mr & Mrs Cranston who stayed here on 13/01/2018 Language Flag

We have been to whitbarrow many times and have always received a courteous welcome. All the lodges are immaculate and the pool is fantastic. We had very heavy snow and was surprised to wake up to find the paths and drive had all been cleared...we look forward to many more holidays.

Review No: 42 by Mr & Mrs Rushton who stayed here on 06/01/2018 Language Flag

Had a wonderful holiday,all the staff were very helpfull ,and could not do enough for us,the restaurant was very nice and clean , the service was excellant and the food was very nice.A little moan is that there was no bottle opener/corkscrew or potato peeler in the kitchen, we nearly went teetotal.

Review No: 43 by Mr Ibbetson who stayed here on 06/01/2018 Language Flag

Great location, with good facilities.

Review No: 44 by Mr Sylvester who stayed here on 06/01/2018 Language Flag

Wow what a find, it's a little piece of paradise where time just saunters by. It is isolated but there is everything that you need, though you require a car to get from the resort to town only ten minutes away. I can see now why it is very hard to book the place in peek season, will definitely visit again, very soon.

Review No: 45 by Revd Brown who stayed here on 23/12/2017 Language Flag

8 of us stayed in 2 units over Christmas 2017. Weather wasn’t brilliant ( no surprise there ! ) and all of us {4 adults + 4 youngsters} seemed to be ‘under that weather’ in one way or another with coughs and colds & suchlike. One huge benefit of our accommodation was that we could keep really warm. Most T’share resorts make a utilities charge based on actual fuel consumption. I can think of one in Scotland where £100+ per-week in the Winter is perfectly normal & you still can’t get warm. “Seasons” @ Whitbarrow have a Winter rate & a slightly cheaper one for the Summer months. And, believe me, when it’s cold & miserable outside the Winter rate is an absolute bargain.!! Incidentally some nice ‘touches’ were in evidence. Mulled wine on arrival. A generously sized tin of quality sweet biscuits in the units with a charming Christmas greeting etc etc. Well-done Whitbarrow and THANK YOU ONE & ALL. PRB.

Review No: 46 by Mrs Hunt who stayed here on 23/12/2017 Language Flag

We welcomed the quick, pleasant check-in and found the unit nice warm and cosy. The resort has a village feel and is in a really convenient location. The one bedroom unit had a good sized lounge/kitchen/diner. The bedroom had limited storage space but was cosy with a nice comfy bed for a good nights sleep.

Review No: 47 by Ms Jones who stayed here on 16/12/2017 Language Flag

Fantastic size property and quality of furnishings. Handy farm shop close by too .

Review No: 48 by Mrs Hughes who stayed here on 16/12/2017 Language Flag

Well located venue with easy access to both Keswick and Penrith and also to the more western lakes. Will visit again as too much to see and do in a week.

Review No: 49 by Mr Coley who stayed here on 02/12/2017 Language Flag

Very enjoyable stay , with the snow it was pretty

Review No: 50 by Mrs Churchill who stayed here on 02/12/2017 Language Flag

This 2 bedroom house was wonderfully warm and cosy and well equipped and we would go again. The upstairs lounge /diner /kitchen was particularly attractive with exposed beams and stone walls etc to add character. We were a group of 5 adults. In brief, there were two main issues. The biggest problem was the one combined bathroom/toilet and the second issue was that this is not designed for 6 adults, let alone 5. The fridge could have been chosen more carefully to allow better access and storage of food. The sofa bed was poor quality and would not suit 2 adults. there was little/no storage for bedding etc. in the lounge or anywhere else for that matter. The bathroom, though clean and with an outside window for ventilation, was close to 1 star quality with old fittings and a useless showerhead over the bath (my wife referred to it as third world standard). The queue for the bathroom and/or toilet every morning and evening begin to wear thin for 5 adults. The solution would be a) not advertise it as suitable or 6 adults, b) rip the bath out and put in a decent shower and c) make it abundantly clear to guests that there is only one integral bath and toilet. A smaller improvement could also be made by putting thermostatic rad valves on all the radiators because whilst we visited in Dec and the weather was bad/very cold, we could not control the heating in the house at all. We were glad that it favoured the warm side but it was difficult to sleep at night and a waste of money. we had a very good week here once we had all lowered our expectations and got used to regime we used to have 50 years ago as children growing up in one bathroom houses but for such an otherwise beautiful site and complex, it was a real shame and way over priced if you are paying the going rate of £6/700 per week.

Review No: 51 by Mr Heald who stayed here on 02/12/2017 Language Flag

We stayed in a Troutbeck cottage. Very spacious, comfortable, clean and warm. Maintenance staff on the ball, clearing snow/ice very quickly. Reception staff helpful and efficient. Bar area very pleasant. Good WiFi in Troutbeck. Only negative factor was damaged shower controls in the swim pool cubicle showers. Reported this to Reception. Chris and Anne

Review No: 52 by Mrs Ransley who stayed here on 02/12/2017 Language Flag

Enjoyed the holiday, all the staff were pleasant, went out off their way to help, when we asked any questions. Lovely area even in winter. The local towns are great, people very friendly. comfy and cosy house we stayed in, very quiet, Nice pubs all very welcoming.

Review No: 53 by Mr Lester who stayed here on 25/11/2017 Language Flag

This resort was easy to find and check in was well organised and quick. The unit, a two bed with the bedrooms and bathroom on the ground floor and living accommodation on the upper floor was well worn but clean and comfortable and well equipped. The weather was bitterly cold but the central heating was very efficient and controllable. As a party of four adults the cottage was roomy enough but would probably be a little pushed for space for 6 occupants. The unit has a dishwasher but no washing machine. A coin operated laundry is available on site but I would happily swap the dishwasher for a washing machine however it is not a huge detraction from the overall experience. The bar/restaurant is comfortable friendly and reasonably priced with a good selection of Beers, Wines and snacks. The Bar meals and takeaway service are also a useful facility for less formal dining. No delivery service is available. Whitbarrow is a pleasant place with village like appeal, the cobbled and flagstone paths can get slippery but adequate warning is given to guests. One of our party who is lame and walks with difficulty found getting around was no great problem as the site is mostly flat. We did not use the swimming and exercise facilities but the pool and Gym looked superb. We enjoyed our stay and would visit again. There is no public transport to from or around this remote location so own wheels are necessary. A walk to the nearest pub would require an early start.
Please Wait
Please Wait