Customer reviews for "Whitbarrow Village"

There are 99 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mrs Gander who stayed here on 26/08/2017 Language Flag

the apartment we stayed in had such squeaky floors that if anyone got up in the night to go upstairs where the living accommodation was it disturbed everyone downstairs who were trying to sleep, it was annoying during the day also. It was no 13 Troutbeck so beware.

Review No: 2 by Mrs Jude who stayed here on 26/08/2017 Language Flag

Staff were friendly and helpful especially when I requested an alternative apartment as the one originally offered did not meet my needs. The resort is set in a perfect location for views and access to all of the lakes. The bar and restaurant were furnished well with the bar food being good value for money, though the restaurant food was average it was didn't have the wow factor or justified the cost. The pool area was brilliant and along with the outside activities as a family of 4 they kept us all busy. The apartment we end up in was much better than the first, though some furnishing were past their best. There was plenty of room and my 12 year old loved the mezzanine bedroom. We were based in the original phase and I can't help but feel that the newer phases would be better proportioned, lighter and easier to access. I would recommend staying here but don't expect 5 star standards.

Review No: 3 by Mrs Wallace who stayed here on 26/08/2017 Language Flag

Very enjoyable stay even the weather was good for the Lake District

Review No: 4 by Mr Aylott who stayed here on 19/08/2017 Language Flag

My heart sank when I saw the bed. There was a foot-board which meant that my husband, who is extremely tall, would not be able to stretch out fully. So each night we made up the sofabed for him and I slept in the bedroom. In future I shall enquire about the bed situation when making a booking!

Review No: 5 by Mr & Mrs Hughes who stayed here on 22/07/2017 Language Flag

We were in a unit called Martindale 3 .Although this unit was supposed to be a two bed for 6,it was a double bed and two singles , one of them up a terrible set of steps,very dangerous especially at night having to come down to use the only bathroom.It also only had one wardrobe in the unit.We did ask to be moved but they said the complex was totally full.We arrived on the saturday with our two grand children and on the monday the daughter and son in law were going to join us for the rest of the week but we stop them coming as this unit should never be for six people,very disappointed.

Review No: 6 by Mr Ward who stayed here on 15/07/2017 Language Flag

cottage derwent 2... we found the seating very uncomfortable and needs replacing. there is damp mould on the bedroom wall around the electrical sockets at the side of the bed. we found the gas cooker/ oven does not come up to temperature as indicated causing us to spoil 2 meals. in the first 4 days of occupation we killed approx 30 flies and went out and bought fly killer spray.......all in all it rather spoiled what was otherwise a lovely break...

Review No: 7 by Dr Lamb who stayed here on 15/07/2017 Language Flag

A very enjoyable week although in spite of a request when contacted by the staff the week before for any provision that would help us ,we stated that both of us being in our creaky 80s, it would greatly help us to avoid stairs and yet found ourselves in accommodation with living quarters upstairs and bathrooms and toilets downstairs. Nevertheless we coped!

Review No: 8 by Mrs Green who stayed here on 20/05/2017 Language Flag

Easy journey up to Whitbarrow and were pleasantly surprised by the resort itself. It is really quite unique with the original layout of the village being made up of quite different styles regarding the dwellings which are quite small and cottagey. The new units are much bigger with a large outdoor area. Our unit Bowscale 7 was a sleep six but it wasn't really big enough for six people. There was a double bed and a desk in what you might call the attic/enclosed mezzanine. The room with bunk beds really was tiny too. We were lucky to have absolutely gorgeous weather and it was nice to sit out on our own lawned area. The reception, pool and bar/restaurant areas are beautifully done and there is a huge outdoor sitting area offering views as fas as the eye can see. All in all a very nice timeshare swap.

Review No: 9 by Mrs Harrison who stayed here on 20/05/2017 Language Flag

A great resort in a beautiful area. Highly recommend Whitbarrow Village for excellent facilities and everything including the restaurant is of a high standard.

Review No: 10 by Mr Howarth who stayed here on 20/05/2017 Language Flag

Very good site.The restaurant was excellent and the staff first class. I would recommend it for a holiday.

Review No: 11 by Mr Harrison who stayed here on 29/04/2017 Language Flag

3 bedroomed town house that has been recently refurbished together with new kitchen furniture. Bedrooms consisted of 1double with en-suite shower room, twin room and room with bunks beds plus large family bathroom. Plenty of seating area for 6 if required. Grounds are well maintained with pleasant lawn areas. The ducks and ducklings were a delight to see. Feed was available at reception. The pool area looked to be well used but not by us. We ate in the restaurant twice and found the meals to be very good and well priced compared to outside venues. A car is definitely needed as the resort is isolated but not to far away from places. The staff that we met including reception were very pleasent and cheerful. The welcome meeting was a bit of a let down. Was not happy about a phone call trying to tempt us into the seasons sell. A very pleasant stay at this well run resort and would have no hesitation in a return visit when we visit the Lake District again.

Review No: 12 by Mrs Musker who stayed here on 29/04/2017 Language Flag

The lodge we stayed in had rather small rooms and we would have appreciated a second wc/shower for our party of five adults. Apart from that, we were very happy with the resort facilities. We stayed in a lodge that had character like an old stone barn which added to the quality of the experience at the resort. There were other features which also helped to create a pleasant environment, such as the gardens and duck pond. We particularly enjoyed the swimming pool and table tennis. The resort is conveniently located near to stunning lakes, hills and mountains. We were lucky to have good weather all week and enjoyed walking up the fells and exploring the lakes in this beautiful part of the country.

Review No: 13 by Mr Branston who stayed here on 29/04/2017 Language Flag

We had Calder 6 an old cottage, down the cobblestone drive in the resort, the cottages are very old with very poor lighting in the upstairs living room , but we only spent time of an evening, so it did not affect us that much, the living room furniture is all new Leather sofas, and a large flat screen Television. The kitchen had all new units and a large fridge freezer that a lot of the new units we have stayed in the past , have only added a fridge and no freezer , so this was a good bonus. Seasons are trying to sell a unique low risk investment of only £35650 pounds for a new type of unit with a hot tub, it's a hard sell and the staff entise exchange guests with a free restaurant voucher £50. After nearly two hours of waffle on their part, if you don't want to buy, the sales team then try to sell you another deal, So think tiwce, of anything free, as it comes with conditions.

Review No: 14 by Mr Romanelli who stayed here on 22/04/2017 Language Flag

Lovely clean unit in a beautiful village. A good location for visiting the Lake District and very near to Carlisle and Gretna Green for shopping. This was our second visit and we would not hesitate to go again.

Review No: 15 by Mr Fylan who stayed here on 22/04/2017 Language Flag

I was more than satisfied with this resort which is well placed for exploring Northern Cumbria. Accommodation, resort staff, facilities and particularly the restaurant, which provides bar meals and a takeaway service, were all well above average.

Review No: 16 by Dr Williams who stayed here on 22/04/2017 Language Flag

Great situation for walking and mountain biking. The units are nicely finished and cottage in style. Ours was one of the smaller ones that slept and could have done with another loo. On site facilities are good and the restaurant above average.

Review No: 17 by Mr & Mrs Lloyd who stayed here on 22/04/2017 Language Flag

Stayed here in April 2017. Unit was very clean and well equipped. It was in need of a refurb but it was perfectly acceptable. It had everything we required. Bed comfortable and clean. Pool area was clean and warm. Didn't much like the unisex changing rooms as cubicles a bit cramped for me. Been several times to this resort and will go again.

Review No: 18 by Mr & Mrs Christian who stayed here on 22/04/2017 Language Flag

Fantastic,!! just what we needed. A very comfy warm unit, with everything you needed. The staff were so helpful and also the restaurant has stunning views towards the fells. ALL the staff were second to none, A truly welcome break. THANK YOU DAE

Review No: 19 by Mr & Mrs Woodington who stayed here on 22/04/2017 Language Flag

Would highly recommend Whitbarrow Village, the lodge was very warm and cosy which was particularly good as we had a little snow. The setting was very quiet and peaceful and quite easy to find. All the facilities were good and staff polite and cheerful and helpful.

Review No: 20 by Mr Bantham who stayed here on 22/04/2017 Language Flag

Lovely comfortable accommidation, in a high quality resort.

Review No: 21 by Mrs Harvey who stayed here on 22/04/2017 Language Flag

Most of the staff were very helpful. Particularly the maintenance staff. Generally the interior of lodge was fine but the carpet was very worn on the stairs. The position of Whitbarrow village was very good and it was lovely and peaceful.

Review No: 22 by Mr Draper who stayed here on 18/03/2017 Language Flag

A very good holiday with varied weather from frost, 4inches of snow, glorious sunshine. The apartment we were allotted was Ok but was second floor up a metal steps. Floor was creaky. Well equipped and comfortable. The position of the resort was outside the Lakeland but it is situated near the A66 which enabled you to get to most of the lakes. Facilities was where excellent and the evening meal we had was above normal standard. We were disappointed with some of the equipment which had not been well maintained. Otherwise we had an enjoyable stay and were able to visits many of our old haunts in the lakes.

Review No: 23 by Mr & Mrs Leonard who stayed here on 11/03/2017 Language Flag

Just returned from a week at Whitbarrow Village, accommodation was very average. Pool was excellent and we used every day. Food in restaurant was very good and staff pleasant. Would say Whitbarrow Village a good base for exploring the Lake District just feel the quality of our accommodation let it down as was a bit dated and in need of freshening up.

Review No: 24 by Mrs Lamb who stayed here on 04/03/2017 Language Flag

We chose the resort for its location in the Lake District and ease of access from the M6. We were disappointed that the immediate surrounding area is all private farming land with no woodland walks accessible for a gentle stroll before the sun went down. We always had to get into the car to go for a walk! In our two bed unit (B5), the living accommodation was excellent for two, but too cramped for 4. The bedrooms were very small; the twin beds were pushed against two outside walls (extremely cold). No view of the beautiful surrounding area from this particular unit. Heating system (and hot water) temperamental: very hot or noticeably cool. Clean and modern décor and furnishings, very poor pillows :). We didn't use the gym or the pool as we spent our time enjoying the fells and becks! Would we return? Yes, but I'd ask for a different unit, a Kirkstone or a Troutbeck unit both being later extension to the Village.

Review No: 25 by Mr Nuttall who stayed here on 04/03/2017 Language Flag

Pros: staff were friendly, kindly and helpful. Kitchen well equipped and the unit was clean. Heating and hot water were excellent. The village was quiet and we had decent views from our unit. Cons: the only seating apart from the dining room chairs was two large sofas. Both my wife and I found these exceedingly uncomfortable and it spoiled our evenings in. We had to bring in plastic garden chairs from the balcony to sit comfortably. The bed was fine for my wife but not long enough for me (1.87m tall) and because it had both a headboard and footboard I had to sleep with my feet out of the bed.

Review No: 26 by Mr Rees who stayed here on 25/02/2017 Language Flag

staff and accomkmodation were excellent.we had typical lakes weather for february but it did not prevent us from having relaxing break.

Review No: 27 by Mrs Tennant who stayed here on 25/02/2017 Language Flag

Well run resort, with friendly staff. Special help for the disabled, with good facilities. Good centre for touring the north Lakes. Hope to visit again in the Summer.

Review No: 28 by Mr Parker who stayed here on 11/02/2017 Language Flag

Great location with easy access from the M6 and to the two local towns of Penrith & Keswick. We are 'keen' cyclists and found many fantastic rides along quiet roads/lanes (visited during Feb Half-term week so will be busier in the summer) with a number of National Cycle Routes close by. Unfortunately the resort does not offer secure storage for bikes at this time - a shame we feel. The unit/cottage (Cardew 5) was clean, tidy and appropriately equipped for our needs (2 adults), however as it sleeps 6 it would have been a bit cramped and there would have been a queue for the one bathroom/toilet had the whole family been there! Yes, we would visit/stay again.

Review No: 29 by Mrs Currie who stayed here on 04/02/2017 Language Flag

A great base for exploring the Western Lakes. Units were very clean and of a great standard. Would definitely return for a holiday

Review No: 30 by Mr Tortoishell who stayed here on 28/01/2017 Language Flag

The unit we were allocated (D1) was looking & feeling it's age. For instance, the sofa we had was very sad & flat so we used spare pillows to try to boost it a bit. The dishwasher put items out worse than they went in for most of our week, then gave up altogether. We reported the fault to the office & the technician decided a new machine was required. Many other units on the very attractive site, were being refurbished but we were not lucky enough to be allocated one of them. Overall we had a good weeks holiday.

Review No: 31 by Mrs Sanderson who stayed here on 07/01/2017 Language Flag

Disappointing. First off head office assigned us the wrong unit, but quickly resolved at reception. Second unit characterful, but head height of kitchen was 5'10". We had a 6'4" member of the group, kept bashing his head. Boiler didn't work. Quickly resolved. Great staff. The creakiest floor I have ever heard, ever! (I renovate property for a living, this was seriously in need of my help!) The kitchen was a cheap, badly fitted and had rubbish quality appliances. We have had better appartments here before. Avoid E2 if possible. Badly designed. In need of a refit. The pool area is fantastic, but the pool manager doesn't understand the need for water in a sauna to make it hot! WATER PROHIBITED? ! COME ON SEASONS! Whitbarrow Village has so much potential and you are undermining your great staff!

Review No: 32 by Ms Elliott who stayed here on 24/12/2016 Language Flag

Couple booked into 2 bed, sleeping 6. We booked Whitbarrow for the proximity to Keswick for walking near the nth lakes & leisure facilities for an Xmas break. Having then read a few comments of Tripadvisor about the ongoing refurbishment we contacted DAE To request an updated unit. We weren't disappointed. We arrived on Xmas Eve, checked I a nod were swiftly directed to M3 overlooking the pond teaming with cute ducks. The unit was Immaculately clean, warm and well laid out. We couldn't have been happier. Ample dining space for 6 but sofa space might be limited for 6. Small dishwasher a bonus but the small fridge with freezer compartment rather limiting. We took our Xmas festivities with us so it was a challenge to fit enough in! The unit isn't ideal for anyone with mobility issues as the outside entrance is up a steep flight of stairs to the first floor and worth noting, there is a steep flight of loft ladders to one of the single bedrooms in the loft space (the other single room being at the rear of the unit). Assuming no mobility issues, the first floor location provides a nice view across the green space and adjacent units. Lovely good sized double bedroom with lots of storage. The indoor pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gym were well a mangled and spotlessly clean. Being Xmas we assume the resort was well booked up but it felt busy both. In the grounds, car park and leisure facilities. We didn't have a problem although we did heed the advise and avoided the busy peak times. We would like to add a note of thanks to all the staff we met (including ground staff) who were very friendly, chatty and helpful. A pleasure to meet them. Only few very small comments ; 1. door hooks for coats would be useful for wet and winter conditions. 2. We didn't use the bed in the loft space but did find the ladder rather daunting 3. We weren't advised about the Single rather than twin bedroom which may not suit some guests - best check. Overall - great

Review No: 33 by Mr & Mrs Pickles who stayed here on 23/12/2016 Language Flag

Good resort

Review No: 34 by Mr Smith who stayed here on 16/12/2016 Language Flag

Enjoyable stay at Whitbarrow Village. Beautiful surroundings. Staff friendly and helpful. Good facilities within the hotel grounds and the apartment. A couple of niggly little things eg. stair carpet quite worn in places, problem with the oven; both of which were reported to reception.

Review No: 35 by Mr Tarbet who stayed here on 27/08/2016 Language Flag

When we arrived the first impressions were good with nicely tended gardens in a location 15 minutes from motorway but in country setting. Reception staff were very friendly and efficient but pool located at reception looked much larger on the web site. Upon opening the door in our unit in Trout beck section of resort the smell of cooking fat was intense, The lounge suite was worn which you can put up with but was dirty to the point you did not want to sit on it. The carpets on the stairs were in patches worn through to the backing and the unit did not resemble the so called luxury description or the quality of unit shown on the web site which was what attracted us. This may be luxury in a third world country but not in Europe. We left the windows open to try and clear the fat smell but it was still very noticeable the next day. The double bed seemed small and the bed spread did not cover it properly. We complained to reception who said they would look at a solution but need to wait till next day. So we lived in the bedroom as it was much cleaner that the lounge area. We have an 8 month old baby and would not let it sit on the lounge suite perhaps I should have taken swabs and sent them to Porten Down they may have discovered some new organism. Next morning Big Steve the repairman arrived as the bathroom was leaking onto the lounge ceiling. He replaced the trap for the bath/shower unit also glass spray panel was sitting too high, Steve was a gentleman and fixed the unit. Next to arrive was the House Keeper who was very friendly she said they could steam clean the units but they would need time to dry and suggested we swop to another unit which was what we requested the night before. I also complained about the smell which smelt like a dirty cooker area, oven or hood. They moved us into another unit which was a bit of an improvement. Best part Gardens, Staff and Restaurant which served Lovely food. Our units were tired which was noted by other guests and not luxu

Review No: 36 by Mr Munro who stayed here on 23/07/2016 Language Flag

Lovely small resort in a secluded location. Staff clearly take a great pride in presenting the facilities in the best possible light. We visited during peak season when it was virtually full capacity and it did not feel at all busy. The on-site facilities are not huge but are adequate to entertain if required. The accommodation is spacious and comfortable. On site restaurant is very nice. Site is located at the edge of the national park, 10 to 20 minutes drive from Penrith, Keswick, Ullswater with access a number of walks and places to visit - a car is essential. in all a recommended base for a visit to the north lakes and we very much hope to be back in the future.

Review No: 37 by Mr Davies-Carr who stayed here on 23/07/2016 Language Flag

Great location for a holiday village. Unfortunately the pool was out of action for a few days; enormous disappointment as this is a much desired activity.

Review No: 38 by Mr Jones who stayed here on 07/05/2016 Language Flag

We had a wonderful week at Whitbarrow and the resort itself is in a splendid location from which to explore the northern end of the Lake District. The staff and facilities were excellent. Only a couple of minor things took the edge off our visit, namely that the non-functioning alarm clock and MP3 docking station were not replaced or repaired subsequent to our request and that the bed linen was inadequate, being too small for the bed. We ate once in the restaurant and the quality of the food was very good.

Review No: 39 by Mrs Edwards who stayed here on 30/04/2016 Language Flag

Having read various reviews of Whitbarrow Village, ranging from excellent to awful, I decided to contact the resort before our stay. I requested an updated unit and they said they would try to accommodate us with this. On arrival we were delighted with our allocated house. It had fairly recently been modernised and was very comfortable and homely. It was an 'upside down' terraced house with the bedrooms and bathroom on the ground floor and the open-plan living room/kitchen upstairs. We enjoyed the view of the duck pond and grounds from the living room and bedroom. The utility charge of £21 at the start of the week was worth it as you didn't have to worry about heating costs at the end. In fact it was a very cosy place and we had to turn the thermostat down often even although it was chilly outside. The main building where reception was also housed the pool, games room, restaurant and bar. Food and drinks were not too pricey which surprised us. The lounge is a lovely place to sit just to use the Internet with beautiful views. We found all staff helpful and friendly. A car is necessary here as Penrith is approx 8 miles in one direction and Keswick 10 miles in the other direction. A farm shop is a couple of miles away and many good pubs for meals are in the area. There are very few 'cons' to Whitbarrow but I'll give my opinion. The fridge is very small with a small freezer compartment. A side by side fridge and freezer would be better. There are no shops for miles hence the reason for a freezer. The shower pressure in our unit was very poor. The bath was high to climb in and out too to get into the shower. I mention this for anyone with mobility issues. Double bed felt very comfy but small. Wifi only in main building. Would we return? Definitely. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Review No: 40 by Mr Ward who stayed here on 23/04/2016 Language Flag

The only gripe we have was the seating was for three persons and the chair and settee very uncomfortable. The Chair was sagging and requires replacing - my husband had a struggle getting out of the chair - I sat on the settee and had the same problem. Otherwise everything else was fine

Review No: 41 by Mr Robinson who stayed here on 16/04/2016 Language Flag

Very much enjoyed our week here - helped by fantastic weather. Well situated making access to both Keswick and Ullswater very easy (by car, which is essential). The staff were mostly extremely helpful and pleasant, and in the main our allocated accommodation (a 2 bedroom unit, Bowscale 4) was well equipped and comfortable, with plenty of space as there were just the 2 of us. The kitchen area was particularly good, with the luxury of a dishwasher and including a week's supply of detergent tablets (top marks for that). There is free wifi in the main building, and unexpectedly we even had 3G in our accommodation, We ate once at the on-site restaurant; the food was of very good quality though service could have been quicker. The swimming pool was lovely and warm, and a decent size, though I was unable to use it on a couple of occasions because there have to be at least 2 of you in it, no lone swimmers. However, a few things we were not at all impressed with. The paths / roads are made up of uneven flagstones and cobbles, not at all easy to walk on, you had to really watch your footing. There is no shop on the site, not even for essentials like milk, bread and newspapers. We expected that there would be a welcome meeting, always useful for gleaning information on the local area, but by the time I asked at reception whether there was to be one I was informed that I had already missed it! It would have been nice to have been told about it when we checked in; not sure how we were supposed to find out about it otherwise. Our main gripe was the bathroom in our unit, which was so badly designed it was a joke. The 'shower' was simply a hand-held showerhead fitted to the bath taps, with absolutely no curtain or screen, hence the floor, windowsill, walls and towels got wetter than we did. So we tried using the bath instead, only to find that it was so narrow that it was nigh on impossible to get out of unaided. Yet there was loads of unused space in the room!

Review No: 42 by Mr Lucock who stayed here on 16/04/2016 Language Flag

Another excellent holiday in a Seasons Resort site.

Review No: 43 by Mr Branston who stayed here on 16/04/2016 Language Flag

Overall a very good resort which we have visited numerous times. After swimming on my own for the first part of the week, suddenly the rules were implemented whereby "no one can be in the pool on their own (so you need a swimming buddy)!!!You are allowed in the Steam room and other various parts . The swimming pool is ajacent to reception with a glass screen overlooking the pool.Im mistified how this is a rule when you swim at your own risk. If you are on your own you could wait for hours to find a swimming buddy.

Review No: 44 by Mr & Mrs Gray who stayed here on 09/04/2016 Language Flag

Lovely resort staff friendly,pool and spa great used every day.,We were put into 3 bedroom when 2 bedroom booked accommodation was really nice and comfortable and very clean There was a £21 utility charge as we were there through D.A.E. this covered all electricity and heating which was on a lot as cold.As out of season no entertainment but relaxed in cottage.Car is essential to get about but close to both Keswick and Penrith.Would use this resort again on our own,as not a lot for teenagers at night at this time of year.

Review No: 45 by Mr Pepler who stayed here on 09/04/2016 Language Flag

My partner & I had a very enjoyable stay at Whitbarrow Village. We self-catered and toured most of the eastern half of the Lake District by car. Our one-bedroom (sleep 4) unit was very good quality, clean and well furnished - more than adequate for the 2 of us but probably not so good for 4, particularly if self-catering, as there were only 4 sets of crockery, glassware & cutlery. We had a decent cooker & dishwasher but no washing machine which didn't really inconvenience us as our building was located fairly close to the tiny laundry (which we only needed to use once during our stay) but could be an issue, particularly in high season, if all 100 units were occupied as the laundry only had 2 washing machines and 2 driers (both coin-operated). Our only other minor niggle was the lack of towel rails (apart from the small electrically heated one in the bathroom) but with just the 2 of us it was not really a problem. Check-in and check-out were the fastest and most efficient we have ever experienced anywhere and the standard utility charge which we paid at check-in was very fair. One thing to bear in mind if planning a trip to this part of the Lake District before the end of May 2016 is that a 3 mile stretch of the A591 between Thirlmere (just south of Keswick) and Dunmail Raise (north of Grasmere) is still closed due to damage caused by the December 2015 storms. Of course you can still access Windermere, Ambleside, Grasmere etc. via the more dramatic A592 alongside beautiful Ullswater and the stunning Kirkstone Pass but will not be able to include the A591 if planning a "circular tour".

Review No: 46 by Mr Crees who stayed here on 19/03/2016 Language Flag

The Lakes is a superb location and we had an excellent week. However the accommodation was poor in that # the exterior was in disrepair (walls in need of paint, windows blown and the garden furniture dirty and neglected) # the lodge poorly prepared (dust on the tv, for example) # the appliances were dated # after the second loo roll we had to buy our own (no housekeeping) # the shaver point didn't work # the shower ran hot and cold. We also had an awful experience with Guest Relations resulting in a written complaint to the general manager on day 2 but that didn't receive an acknowledgment let alone a reply. In contrast the leisure, bar and hotel areas were all very well presented. What a shame.

Review No: 47 by Mr Robertson who stayed here on 19/03/2016 Language Flag

Unit very cramped for six people. Second bedroom small with bunk beds. Carpet in the living area very worn with holes a trip hazard. Stains on the settee . Fold down bed poor comfort lstandard. No storage for sofa bed bedding and no wardrobe or drawer space for those sleeping in the living area . Overall disappointing.

Review No: 48 by Mr Parker who stayed here on 12/03/2016 Language Flag

Another excellent break at Whitbarrow. The unit has recently been refurbished and though this is generally to a good standard, the new settee and chairs are of a poor standard, with a lack of drinking MUGS in the Kitchen, these let down the overall rating of the unit and should be attended to and born in mind for future refurbishments.

Review No: 49 by Mr Chapman who stayed here on 12/03/2016 Language Flag

An excellent holiday at Whitbarrow. The apartment met all our expectations and we would certainly return if we can. The Lakes area fantastic location and the weather was again better than our expectations. Thoroughly recommended

Review No: 50 by Mrs Burn who stayed here on 05/03/2016 Language Flag

Whitbarrow Village is an excellent base to explore North Lakes. I enjoyed my small apartment (Derwent) which was well appointed, clean and quiet. Having the pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room on site was a bonus for sore muscles after fab days walking the fells in the snow. Also there is an on site bar and restaurant although i didn't eat there so can't comment. The only downside for me was that wifi is only available in the bar and my own 3G wouldn't work. I enjoy finding local amenities on line and felt that this limited my exploration of local facilities - I noticed the farm shop on the A66 only as I left when I would have enjoyed shopping there. Hopefully this will improve over time. A car is essential and the people I met were members of Seasons and felt that this was a site with a good range of facilities. I usually stay in self catering properties without amenities so this felt luxurious and although I felt it was rather a large 'village' when I arrived I didn't see many people so would consider going again (if the wifi position improves)

Review No: 51 by Mr Gibson who stayed here on 05/03/2016 Language Flag

Very spacious 3 bedroom unit with open plan kitchen/dining/sitting area. Plenty of room for us (5 adults). The grounds are well kept and the bar/restaurant area is very spacious and the quality of the food is very good.

Review No: 52 by Mrs Sproats who stayed here on 05/03/2016 Language Flag

Loved this resort. As a family of 4 with 2 children under three, it's well situated. Great pool, nice to have the option of a children's splash pool as not many places have this any more. Lovely children's play space in the games room with train track, bricks and a few other toys : nice touch. Restaurant is nice, Al modem inside. Very friendly ducks which the children loved too. We were a bit hesitant that you can't leave your car right outside the apartment, especially with little ones in tow but it wasn't a problem and you can drive up to drop off which we did when they needed carrying in asleep.

Review No: 53 by Ms Watson who stayed here on 05/03/2016 Language Flag

What a lovely peaceful place to stay in. With an excellent central location Whitbarrow was close to Penrith, Keswick and Kendal and all villages inbetween. Which was good for both lazy tourists like us or for the more dedicated hill walkers. The cottage was very comfortable and the staff in the hotel were very helpfull.

Review No: 54 by Mrs Lane who stayed here on 27/02/2016 Language Flag

This was our third visit to Whitbarrow. This was our first stay in one of the Troutbeck houses. The house was very well set up, clean and comfortable. There were a few kitchen utensils missing but nothing drastic. As I have seen on other reviews - the frying pan does leave something to be desired and we set off the smoke alarms a couple of times. The restaurant and bar area has been refurbished and it is so much better now with the restaurant having a good atmosphere. We ate there twice and the food was superb and the staff friendly and helpful. really felt we were being spoilt. We shall definately be back again in the future as this is such a lovely resort. It is clear to see that money is always being ploughed back in to keep everything well maintained and in good condition.

Review No: 55 by Mr Middleton who stayed here on 23/01/2016 Language Flag

A lovely warm cottage exchanged in January so cold outside. Some of the decoration and furnishings a little tired and kitchen products a little 'shaky' probably due to abuse in previous exchanges. We didn't have any ongoing housekeeping, visits not essential for us but, be aware. None of this spoilt our holiday but with a little timely maintenance could easily be addressed. On site bar and restaurant which is useful as can't safely walk to and from a local pub in the dark evenings. Lots of beautiful countryside with Penrith and Keswick for main grocery shopping, Greystoke for morning papers and GPO (3 miles). Farm shop (1 mile) across busy A road.

Review No: 56 by Mr & Mrs Dolan who stayed here on 16/01/2016 Language Flag

Snowed in for one day due to unoccupied roads leading up to whitbarrow village not gritted but staff very helpfull. Found food very good but alittle on the expensive side.

Review No: 57 by Mr Winter who stayed here on 16/01/2016 Language Flag

The property was lovely, spacious and comfortable. Furnishings and facilities were above average. Everything about the resort was to our liking. The bar, restaurant and swimming pool were lovely. We didn't see much of the outside surroundings because of the snow. Staff were friendly and very helpful. We would certainly recommend Whitbarrow .

Review No: 58 by Mrs Osbaldiston who stayed here on 21/12/2015 Language Flag

Resort was well laid out and the grounds were well kept. The lodge was very clean and had everything we needed including hair dryer, airer, ironing board, full kitchen etc. The furnishings were nice, although one improvement would be to update the TV to a flat screen. The restaurant was cold and unwelcoming which was a shame as the food was excellent. The bar seating area looked like it was being used to store furniture. The bar and restaurant staff were very helpful. A car is essential as the only place in walkable distance is The Sportsman public house which would take around 20 minutes to walk - Would probably not risk it at night as there are no street lights. Although there are a few negatives noted above we still thoroughly enjoyed the holiday. We would return and recommend.

Review No: 59 by Mr & Mrs Holden who stayed here on 05/12/2015 Language Flag

We arrived the day storm Desmond deluged the Lake District. The resort was not unduly affected but the surrounding area was. In the circumstances we decided to cut short our stay at this really good resort and went home on the Monday whilst there was a break in the bad weather.

Review No: 60 by Mr Bremner who stayed here on 05/12/2015 Language Flag

Had to pay upfront charge of £42.00 for electrics,left early because of weather but no refund. Resort was well managed with on site facilities and well placed for exploring the Lake District.

Review No: 61 by Mr & Mrs Wynne-Hughes who stayed here on 29/08/2015 Language Flag

A very happy and relaxing holiday in a beautiful location.

Review No: 62 by Mrs Bryant who stayed here on 22/08/2015 Language Flag

The cottage we stayed in was very good everything we needed was in it .Bed comfy nice bedding .We had to call maintinence due to small problem with fridge they came so quickly first class service .Staff at reception very helpful .Very relaxing site only problem no bus service near but parking at site no problem and nice to drive around and stop when you want lots of great places to visit

Review No: 63 by Mr & Mrs Cole who stayed here on 01/08/2015 Language Flag

Lovely resort, stayed there before. Only fault we could find was the poor service in the restaurant. Had to wait nearly half hour for soup and then it was cold!

Review No: 64 by Mr & Mrs Leyland who stayed here on 01/08/2015 Language Flag

Restaurant menu could be better. No healthy food

Review No: 65 by Mrs Eastman who stayed here on 01/08/2015 Language Flag

We enjoyed our holiday staying at Whitbarrow Village. The onsite facilities were really good, my Grandchildren enjoyed using all the play areas on offer and were able to use their scooters safely because of the main car park. The whole area was kept in an immaculate condition and was quiet and peaceful, the accommodation was very comfortable and well equipped. The position was ideal for getting out and about to explore the surrounding area, the scenery is stunning - even in the rain!

Review No: 66 by Mr Buckley who stayed here on 18/07/2015 Language Flag

The Lake District is glorious. The setting of the village is lovely - it seems to be created out of traditional farm buildings - and the grounds looked lovely. But our unit, Caldew 5 (which we were assigned after rejecting Caldew 6 as dark and dank) was very poor. Badly designed, poorly furnished and lacking any appeal. The main bedroom had a single wardrobe - no dressing table, mirror or chair. But then there wasn't room for anything else. Other bedrooms had a small table but no wardrobe. It was impossible to open drawers as they were so tight up against the beds. The TV was fixed on the wall at an inconvenient height so you end up with a crick in the neck. And little things, like a crack in the bathroom basin, the bath plug chain was broken, lounge furniture was marked and seedy. There do seem to be some nice-looking modern units at this resort but stay clear of this one!

Review No: 67 by Mr Carroll who stayed here on 18/07/2015 Language Flag

Resort is good. Unfortunately we were put in a lodge right next door to one that was being renovated and sometimes the noise was unbearable. No one should have been put in this lodge. We were given a meal on the last night which was excellent but we still feel that we should have been moved. Apart from this the resort was very good and we had a good time.

Review No: 68 by Mr & Mrs Jones who stayed here on 18/07/2015 Language Flag

It was a really spacious apartment which looked like it had been refurbished in recent times, I had rung up in advance asking for a refurbished one if possible. It is a place where you can't leave your car right outside, but can drop off your stuff there if you want. We were pretty close to the car park as it happened. You do need a car as it isn't close to any town. The whole resort is nicely set out, there are some renovations going on there presently. The clubhouse and pool area etc. wasn't far away and are really nicely appointed. The restaurant food was really nice and competitively priced as regards the other places in the vicinity. The other closest place a couple of minutes drive away is the Sportsmans and the food there was excellent. Overall we had a really enjoyable stay.

Review No: 69 by Mr & Mrs Brotherton who stayed here on 11/07/2015 Language Flag

good resort,spoiled by having poor wi fi , only in parts of main reception area.

Review No: 70 by Mr Spence who stayed here on 11/07/2015 Language Flag

Not happy with fixed 30 pound charge for electricity etc. Bedrooms , toilets have limited space.and felt a bit cramped. If you need firm to solid mattresses, forget it !

Review No: 71 by Mr Ramsay who stayed here on 11/07/2015 Language Flag

Everything about the resort excellent Unfortunately my husband and sister in law were ill all week My friend had to go back home as she is undergoing chemo so couldn't stay in known infection I spent the holiday on my own but thankful for beautiful grounds and leisure facilities that I could use

Review No: 72 by Ms Thomas who stayed here on 30/05/2015 Language Flag

The week we spent at Whitbarrow Village was very relaxing, the resort is very clean and very well set out, the apartments are extremely clean and comfortable, well equipped a thoroughly enjoyable holiday, thank you.

Review No: 73 by Mr Sutton who stayed here on 30/05/2015 Language Flag

I was extremely impressed by my dealings with the staff. I found them very helpful and understanding. We had two evenings in the restaurant where the meals were very good and reasonably priced. Again the service was excellent and the staff courteous. We would certainly visit this resort again.

Review No: 74 by Mr Breakwell who stayed here on 16/05/2015 Language Flag

We went to this place some years ago and the only thing to spoil the holiday was the weather, this year May 2015 we returned and the weather was good and the holiday was great, the accommodation had been refurbished , so overall 100% enjoyed. A beautiful part of our country.

Review No: 75 by Mrs Davison who stayed here on 16/05/2015 Language Flag

Upon arrival, having booked what we believed to be a 3 bedroomed property we were allocated a two bedroomed one with an additional bed settee in the lounge. One of the two bedrooms had bunk beds and the space between the bottom bunk bed and the top was relatively narrow. My 93 year old mother whould have knocked herself senseless on the bottom bunk had she had to use it. There was only one toilet/bathroom and a dark and relatively crowded lounge/diner/kitchen. We returned to reception and pointed out that we had booked a 3 bedroomed property. We were told that the one we had been allocated was a 3 bedded one for 6 people: apparently the three bedroomed property is meant to accommodate 8 people. Fortunately there was spare capacity in the resort and we were given a 3 bedroomed villa with two 'proper' bedrooms (one with a double bed, one with two single beds, and a third with the horrible bunk beds which we didn't need to use). There was also a sofa bed in the llounge/diner/kitchen. Future guests should be aware of the Whitbarrow policy re the issuing of accommodation i.e. a 3 bed equals two bedrooms only one of which has bunk beds and presumably the 2 bed has only one actual bedroom.

Review No: 76 by Mr Stewart who stayed here on 09/05/2015 Language Flag

On arrival we were allocated unit B2. This was a 3 bedroom unit for 4 of us. (We were 2 couples). The bedrooms were very small. The double room had a bed that took up nearly the whole room leaving the person on one side to climb over the other to get out of bed. The other 2 rooms were singles with 1 having a very old and lumpy mattress. The only furniture in the rooms was a very small built in wardrobe in each.One had bedding and towels in it with just enough space to hang a couple of jackets and you had to actually get into the one in the double bedroom to be able get anything out! There was no other furniture except a couple of tiny bedside tables with no drawers. No drawers were provided. We constantly had to step over our cases on the floor unemptied as there was nowhere to put the contents. Our friends commented that there wasn't even room to swing a mouse let alone a cat! As gold exchange customers we were amazed and very angry that we were allocated such accommodation and would like to know if it was the resort or yourselves that decides which unit is used by exchange customers. After complaining on the second day to the management we were given another unit which was what we would expect from an exchange. We were told that the resort was fairly full and we were lucky that it wasn't in the summer as we might not have been able to move. We hope that other members won't be given this unit in future as our holiday could have been ruined if we hadn't been able to move. We await your comments.

Review No: 77 by Mrs Barlow who stayed here on 09/05/2015 Language Flag

We have stayed at this resort several times now and have witnessed the ongoing changes over the years. The access road and carpark are now finished. No more waterfilled potholes! From arrival and check in to check out, the reception staff are efficient and professional. The standard of maintenance of the grounds and the planting are excellent. The housekeeping and ground staff are polite and efficient, and the level of cleanliness has always been of the highest standard. Any minor niggles have been dealt with quickly. Some of the furnishings are beginning to show signs of wear and tear, but the kitchen units and appliances had all recently been replaced. A couple of things that I would like to see are morning newspapers available at reception and the option of ordering a basic food package of bread, milk, butter etc. as there and no local shops. Overall, a great place to stay in the Lakes.

Review No: 78 by Mr Rose who stayed here on 02/05/2015 Language Flag

Natural light in lodge poor,power lighting not good Shower not good.no curtain. Needs a small shop on site weather not very good

Review No: 79 by Mr & Mrs Clarke who stayed here on 02/05/2015 Language Flag

We were allocated unit Cardew 2, a small, old and uncomfortable property. The exterior was jaded and unkempt. The interior was dark and outdated. The dark wood, interior, stable doors had noisy metal catches and hinges, the boiler was extremely noisy, leading to disturbed sleep. Independent control of the water heating was not possible without turning up the central heating thermostat. Some refurbishment had been started not finished. The bathroom was tiled but the windowsill had been left unfinished and there was no grab handle or rubber safety mat for the bath/mixer shower. Curtains and furniture had been recently replaced in the bedrooms but the mattress was hard and extremely uncomfortable. The pillows were flat. The shower room was dismal, we took one look and did not use it. 3 double cupboards fitted with hanging rails had 10 clothes hangers in total, apparently meant to be enough for 6 people. The kitchen did not have cupboard space for our food. The appliances were dire, the oven door did not close properly, wheels were missing from the bottom shelf of the very small dishwasher. The fridge was large, the freezer tiny and positioned so that access to the fridge was impossible if sitting at the oversize table. Items were missing e.g. dish, tray and china cracked. The decor and furnishings in the living room were dated, dominated by an ugly fireplace, without a fire. The copper chimney breast obscured the view of the TV screen from one of the armchairs. A large coffee table would have prevented the opening and use of the bed settee, moving the coffee table would be heavy and awkward as there was no space available. There were only seats for 4 in the living room. We were a party of 2, 4 would have been possible but this property was not adequate for 6, despite its marketing material. We were informed by reception that the property is due for refurbishment, it should not have been used for guests in its current state. It was very disappointing

Review No: 80 by Mrs Swann who stayed here on 02/05/2015 Language Flag

We had an enjoyable week despite the weather's best efforts to spoil it. The scenery is superb. Whitbarrow is reasonably well located being between Penrith and Keswick. The unit was spacious and well furnished and appeared to be sound-proof as well - always a plus. We were warmly welcomed by reception staff and provided with local info at a welcome meeting the following morning. Parking was in a central car park but at least you could unload your car outside your unit before moving it. There is a restaurant on site where we had a good meal our first night. However, our last night was a less than positive experience. The staff were different and there is an obvious training issue. A shame really to mar an otherwise enjoyable time. Although wifi was only available in the bar area, there were plenty of sofas and tables to use and there was no pressure to avail yourself of the bar when using wifi. We would definitely go back.

Review No: 81 by Mr Palmer who stayed here on 25/04/2015 Language Flag

A great resort right on the doorstep of the lake's the only thing is if you want wifi you have to go the main building in this day and age you shouldn't have to its easy to set up but apart from that one of the best accommodation I've stopped in the UK.

Review No: 82 by Mr & Mrs Blain who stayed here on 25/04/2015 Language Flag

We had a two bedroom cottage - Skiddaw 5. Excellent location in the resort - close to the main car park and the main reception area. Bedrooms located on the ground floor with ample storage. Upstairs which was light and airy and views to the duck pond from one side. Only downside was pealing plaster by one of the windows which had had a leak and the bolier was very noisy and rattled. Have visited this resort before and stayed in a studio whcih was all very good but lacked space although had excellent views across the countryside. The bar area lacked atmosphere but that may have been due to our visit being out of season. Would visit again.

Review No: 83 by Dr Cheverton who stayed here on 18/04/2015 Language Flag

Lovely location on NE edge of Lake District National Park. Resort is a village of mainly traditional stone buildings arranged around a stone paved 'street', with a central building with reception, restaurant and activities. You need a car and be good on your feet to enjoy this resort. There is a swimming pool (only open if more than one person wants to use it), sauna, jacuzzi and small gym and games room, but everything else is at least 15 mins drive away. We couldn't find the clock tower, nature trail, nor the red squirrels mentioned in the resort description - neither had any staff we asked! Our apartment needed some love, and a short bed and low ceiling over sink made life awkward for a 6 foot man! Very noisy appliances overnight (perhaps the fridge or maybe the central heating), and workmen arrived with drills to remove and replace the plaster the outside of our apartment while we were there! There are some newer-looking apartment blocks which might be better and there is a big rebuilding project near Reception. Guests are invited to a 60 minute sales pitch to buy other holiday arrangements with Seasons; the staff say this is not high pressure sales but you have to make a decision that day to get the 'enhanced' package. Judging by our experience at this Resort, and remarks on 'Trip Advisor' this is not a good deal. You do get a £50 voucher for their restaurant for attending, which was not quite the good news it sound. We felt the food was average, and the service was cheerful but sloppy (wrong orders, spilt food and a belief that good service means asking half way through the meal 'is everything is OK?'). Also good view from the restaurant of dead moles lined up on the barbed wire fence by the local farmer; we don't think these were used by the chef!!

Review No: 84 by Mr Evans who stayed here on 18/04/2015 Language Flag

1. No toilet paper on arrival: Provided immediately on request. 2. The front door did not lock or unlock easily, consistently or securely. So on our arrival day, Saturday, a temporary repair was effected and a new lock was purchased and fitted on Monday morning. 3. The refrigerator was very noisy when in cooling activity phases so tv sound needed to be too loud. Also, freezer compartment door was missing. We put up with the noise but, to be fair, when we remembered to mention it to the Reception staff, when we were leaving, they said that they could have exchanged the unit with ease. 4. Some sections of the paths/roads between units were quite uneven for any sure-footed walking. 5. The restaurant furnishings and ambiance were very pleasing. The menu was excellent as was the service. 6. We liked the resort and all of the staff, who always wanted to please.

Review No: 85 by Mr & Mrs Eastwood who stayed here on 18/04/2015 Language Flag

Both my and my son's e-mails were disabled, as hotmail thought there was something wrong with the websight. We both had to go through hotmail security to prove that the sight was genuine before hotmail would allow us to send and receive e-mails. The shower partition in the bathroom would make it impossible for some elderly guests to satisfactorily shower or take a bath. Otherwise we rate the resort as very good and would not mind revisiting it in the future.

Review No: 86 by Mr & Mrs Lacey who stayed here on 21/03/2015 Language Flag

Although well appointed the unit we had was rather tired and could have done with a freshen up. Some small items that needed work were done efficiently by maintenance staff. Entertainment was handled well by staff member and the bar and restaurant were well appointed and comfortable.

Review No: 87 by Mrs Roberts who stayed here on 21/03/2015 Language Flag

An excellent resort well managed helpful staff holiday very restful and all the family enjoyed the week we stayed

Review No: 88 by Mr & Mrs Flynn who stayed here on 21/03/2015 Language Flag

Eventually our accommodation achieved the above status. This however was at the fourth attempt and could not have been achieved without the intervention of the manager. We feel that you should be aware, and make your clients aware, of the considerable differences and discrepancies existing between apartments and descriptions on this resort. We were a party of four adults ( originally it was to be six ) which the company were aware of through a telephone call initiated by them. Initially we were allocated an apartment both dark and dingy which had a small double bedroom and two small single rooms separated, one being up a ladder in the loft. The second was equally small and dingy but at least had two bedrooms, all-be-it, small. The third gave the impression of a converted barn ( which it probably was ) and was "tired" in outlook. Eventually we were shown the accommodation to which we thought we were going to when we booked the exchange and which corresponded to our "5 star" property which we had exchanged. This unit was number 10, Kirkstone and was in the "new" sections of the development whereas the others were in the older established area of the complex. This unit was a 3bedroom, sleep 6 type and was the one stated on your documents. However the third bedroom was a small box room and had two bunks in it. Fortunately the second couple could not come with us this time.

Review No: 89 by Mr Weston who stayed here on 31/01/2015 Language Flag

We were disappointed with the size of the unit. It is not big enough for 4 people. The bedrooms are very small with not much space between the bed and the unit consequently I have a bruised leg. The small bedroom with twin beds, one had to be right up against the radiator under the window and was the full width of the room. Very hot for the person sleeping there. There was only one bathroom/toilet with nothing en suite. There was no shower just a hand held shower head over the bath at waist height. I was unable to use it. We had to go to the swimming pool for a shower and as it is a mixed changing room with only 2 cubicle showers this was not very good. The kitchen was not well equipped. No space to store food taken as all the cupboard space was full. The cooker marks had more or less worn off and you could not tell what was what in the instructions. The written instructions in the book stopped after the first page re the cooker and did not contain any details of what the oven should have said. A very small fridge - nowhere near enough room to store basic food for four people. The upper shelf of the dish washer came right out unless you were very careful. There was no wi fi in the units. The television did not work properly at first but eventually it was replaced. When you went to the pool you had to put a deposit of £10 for towels and then keep them all week - unheard of anywhere else we have been - and dry them in your unit. The £10 was refunded when you returned the towels at the end of the week. The restaurant was very good, lovely food and good service. There did not appear to be a lot of people staying there last week and there seemed to be a lot of bigger units than the one we were allocated still empty. I would like to know why we were not allocated a unit of comparable standard to that we had exchanged.

Review No: 90 by Mr Heery who stayed here on 24/01/2015 Language Flag

Unit we stayed in was bit tired but we understand it is due to be refurbished next year. Lounge upstairs n bedrooms downstairs and with three youngsters under five would have been better other way round. Lovely place but could have done with on site shop. Sauna was out of use but not advised in DAE correspondence. Also baby pool out of use for over half of our stay and again not advised at time of arrival considering they had been having problems for around two weeks. On the whole lovely place. Rusted Centre close by and was great for the children.

Review No: 91 by Mrs Fisher who stayed here on 10/01/2015 Language Flag

This was a nice accommadation but felt a little isolated as you had nothing within walking distance and unfortunately a lot of snow. I am sure this resort would be much more enjoyable in the summer.

Review No: 92 by Mr Thompson who stayed here on 10/01/2015 Language Flag

A lovely resort but one disappointment was that unless there was another person in the swimming pool area I was not allowed to have a swim. I was unable to have a swim on four occasions as my wife was looking after my elderly mother who was with us. I was told by the people on the reception desk that it was an insurance issue. It seems such a pity that the excellent swimming facilities were not able to be used by myself when I was by myself. Whitbarrow village clearly advertises that they have a heated swimming pool which I am sure helps to attract many people to the resort, so feel strongly that the pool should be open to any of their customers during normal opening hours but they are certainly not putting customers first with their swimming policy. I'm sure that some sort of arrangement could be made so that guests can swim unaccompanied. Perhaps several employees could be trained to act as lifeguards when required. There were security cameras in the swimming pool area which I consider adequate for a staff member to watch swimmers. I did express my views while I was there and will follow up with a letter to the management but would appreciate if you also could put over a few words that would back up my point of view.

Review No: 93 by Mr Brierley who stayed here on 27/12/2014 Language Flag

we were very impressed by the quality of the apartment and everthing else during our stay at whitbarrow

Review No: 94 by Mr Severn who stayed here on 20/12/2014 Language Flag

We exchanged one unit and took an extra guest unit for our family of 5 from France for Christmas week. We were all extremely impressed with the quality and size of both units, the lovely linen and extreme cleanliness. In spite of typical Lakeland weather and extreme cold the heating in both units was excellent and we had a great Christmas together. Cooking for 7 I was worried that there would not be enough crockery and pans for a Christmas lunch but the cupboards were well stocked and we wanted for nothing. Thank you Whitbarrow.

Review No: 95 by Mrs Zacharias who stayed here on 20/12/2014 Language Flag

Staff very friendly and accommodating. Jacuzzi was out of order over Xmas which was disappointing and pool water very cold. Everything else was perfect.

Review No: 96 by Mr Greaves who stayed here on 13/12/2014 Language Flag

You must have a car to visit this resort AND you must also be fit as the majority of the apartments, houses etc. have NO place to park your car. You unload all of your luggage from your car and then have to take it to the main car park and walk back to your apartment. The check in was excellent and we had to pay £30 utility charge for our three bedroomed apartment. This seemed expensive but covered all heating and cooking and lighting. Compared with McDonalds resorts this charge was reasonable. Having a torn ligament in my right knee I was surprised to see that on the ground floor there was two bedrooms and a bathroom and separate shower and toilet. Upstairs was the kitchen and lounge and a further bedroom. I telephoned reception and explained my problem but they said that there was not another apartment available until Monday. This was in three days time so I managed to climb the stairs with difficulty and then due to all the hassle of moving clothes etc. we decided to stay put and manage the stairs as best I could. This was the worst apartment we have experienced for problems. I explained the various problems to a 'sales guy' who telephoned me to see if I wanted to have a chat with him and get the £30 utility fee refunded after his sales talk. I said NO. After three complaints to him I asked to speak to Julie the Manager at the resort who came to see the state of the apartment and took photographs on her iphone. She said it should not have been in this state and it was one of the older apartments. She never got back to us all week and we did not receive any compensation for the problems. On leaving my wife saw Julie in reception and she said that our unit had been taken off the internet!!. The problems in our unit were: Smashed lampshade in the main downstairs bedroom. Toilet roll holder situated in the downstairs toilet in a position that meant you could not sit straight on the toilet. Somebody had stolen pull switch toggles. Not enough space to explain all.

Review No: 97 by Mrs Dussold who stayed here on 06/12/2014 Language Flag

Stayed for 5 days the cottage Eaumont 2 was an upside down cottage with good views. The cottage was cosy and warm . Everything you need for relaxing and cooking if you wanted too. Enjoyed a drive into Keswick and Penrith . Would go again.

Review No: 98 by Mr Maryan who stayed here on 01/11/2014 Language Flag

A lovely resort and great location, need a car. Good thing is they have entertainment a couple of evenings per week, and the live music was very good, more owners should come along as it was very good. Restaurant was very good, and some nice specials. Pool area and gym very good, and a sauna and Turkish room. Staff are very helpful and there is needed. Maybe consider live music nights on a Friday for people leaving Sat. Prices at bar reasonable which is a nice change to some resorts, this resort seems to be more owner thoughtful. And another thing is you know what your utility cost will be for the week, no hidden costs like McDonald and a few other resorts with hidden meter read charges to hit you, and storage heaters with no heat control. Our unit was B5 and was for 4 persons, I did think we had swapped for a 6 person but it was ok as only 4 of us. And it was nicely located and well laid out, 1 double and two singles, few minor things to sort but good service, will return if I can swap for right week.

Review No: 99 by Mrs Owen who stayed here on 01/11/2014 Language Flag

We stayed in a two storey place on this complex. The build was probably 80 s but had had both bathrooms refurbished and new kitchen which was adequately equipped. The on site restaurant/bar lacked atmosphere but provided decent food. Maintenance was fast and friendly when called for and the resort staff were very kind, helpful and polite. A car is essential and the whole surrounding area is stunning. This is a resort which has year round opportunities. The leisure facilities were clean and well maintained. No wi-Fi in properties only in reception building.
Please Wait
Please Wait