Customer reviews for "Whitbarrow Village"

There are 72 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr Mehta who stayed here on 20/07/2019 Language Flag

Dated unit and unit apparatus. Hefty utility fee of £40 during hot summer months. Would be fairer if on a meter. Unit was not clean and kitchen facilities poor. I agree that exchange members appear to get a worse unit than Seasons members. Would not recommend the unit we were put in. The resort grounds are pretty and well maintained, however.

Review No: 2 by Mr Anderson who stayed here on 27/04/2019 Language Flag

Lovely resort in picturesque area. Staff attentive and responsive to requests. However we were in a converted barn. Bedrooms downstairs. Every noise, walking on floorboards, tv etc could be heard downstairs, not conducive for sleep, definitely needs to be sorted. Spoilt time there somewhat. Reported to maintenance unable to sort.

Review No: 3 by Mr McLaren who stayed here on 27/04/2019 Language Flag

Well maintained, very pretty accommodation.

Review No: 4 by Mr & Mrs Thomas who stayed here on 20/04/2019 Language Flag

A lovely resort with good facilities, e g pool, bar and some outside play equipment. The staff were very friendly. My only slight surprise was that there was not a small shop on site to buy basics, the nearest shop which we could find was about three miles away. The surrounding area is beautiful, with Ullawater about ten minutes away, Penrith about fifteen mins and Keswick ten in the other direction. A perfect spot!

Review No: 5 by Mr Hoyle who stayed here on 02/03/2019 Language Flag

The unit was very well maintained with all of the requisite appliances. It was stated that it slept 6 and bedroom wise this was correct but with only one bathroom and a relatively small lounge it would be a bit of a struggle for six people to comfortably stay there. The lounge furniture was comfortable but fairly basic with no side table(s) or cushions. We were fortunate that only 3 people were staying. The grounds are well maintained and inviting and the bar/ restaurant was excellent as were the staff. Previous visits to timeshares have usually meant a welcome meeting taking place and some form of activity/ entertainment. At Whitbarow we were pretty much left to our own devices with the only entertainment being on the Saturday evening. This is a place that we would recommend to others because of its location close to many attractions( a car is a necessity) but our unit is was such that a maximum of four would find it comfortable.

Review No: 6 by Mrs Mccallum who stayed here on 23/02/2019 Language Flag

In the kitchen would have found it useful to have - - enough bowls for soup AND desert - a wooden spoon - a pudding basin /bowl ( whisk is already supplied) - a measuring jug THAT STILL HAS A LEGIBLE SCALE - an airtight plastic storage container for biscuits/leftovers etc. The long drive would benefit from occasional lights at night - especially when it is foggy (as last week} and the white edging boulders, which protect the borders, would be better (from a safety aspect) on the side of the deep ditch. The restaurant menu was fairly restricted although did have options for allergies. We only used it once, whilst we ate at the nearby pub/restaurant three times although it meant we had to drive there. ( an agreement with the farmer to walk a much shorter route across the field would avoid the need for the car- extra pollution /fossilised fuels etc - and would comply with the "rights to roam laws" without causing upset) None of the above items were important enough to spoil our holiday. Overall, we had an excellent holiday in a good resort.

Review No: 7 by Mr Bucknall who stayed here on 23/02/2019 Language Flag

We spent a week at this lovely resort as the result of an exchange of one of our timeshare properties. The apartment - C5 - was inverted with the double, twin and single bedroom and bathroom on the ground floor, the kitchen and lounge on the first and a further single bedroom in the attic. Wi-Fi reception in the lounge was excellent, plenty of TV programmes available and a very well equipped kitchen including a dishwasher. The extract fan in the bathroom was faulty and replaced immediately - excellent service from the on-site maintenance team. The pool was excellent as was the well equipped gym. I enjoyed sampling a few pints of hand pulled real ales in the bar but did not use the restaurant although the food looked very nice. The reception team were very efficient and had fresh eggs on sale on the counter - £1 for 6 - beat that. There are no nearby shops so arrive with all your provisions if self-catering. Hopefully another week for exchange will appear - if so we will book again without hesitation.

Review No: 8 by Mr Pearson who stayed here on 26/01/2019 Language Flag

Returning once more to Whitbarrow and as a reminder to us, it snowed again ! Evidently, its a bit of a cold spot and very local localized amount of snow. It added to scenery and the wonderful views that only snow on mountains can offer. It was rather a quiz to find our apartment and we were not alone in getting lost on our arrival. This was despite being supplied with a plan. However, once we found our first floor unit we were relived to find it was warm and inviting. The unit was super and very well appointed. The little niggle was the TV remote that needed a fork to switch the set off. On a more serious note, the hand rails that we used to access our apartment were loose and one came away when I went to support myself. The maintenance team fixed it later, but the whole lot needed a good looking at. They were very steep stairs, and in the snow they were a hazard we could have done without. Pleased we did not have grand children with us. The reception and restaurant staff were super and the waiting on team could not have been more helpful. However, the restaurant menu was unchanging and very limited. Think if you were to dine every night you would soon get rather bored. On balance we enjoyed or stay at Whitbarrow. Would have liked a mid week clean being provided and more choice in the restaurant, but on balance a very good resort. We shall return.

Review No: 9 by Mr Preece who stayed here on 05/01/2019 Language Flag

The bar and restaurant was lovely but only had three choices of food,they are missing out on making money here. we had a three bedroom ,two bathroom and downstairs toilet just for the two of us.The kitchen was brand new and lovely.The living room area needs a bit of colour as the suite is brown and a bit dated. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and comfortable.you can only use wifi in reception, We had a lovely week with only one day of rain with glorious scenery

Review No: 10 by Mrs Richardson who stayed here on 29/12/2018 Language Flag

It appears that there are 3 levels of accommodation, which is not disclosed, at Whitbarrow Village and exchange guests are the third grade, the lowest grade. We were allocated Unit E3 and as there were no empty units this was it! On the morning of day two I asked to speak with the Duty Manager who rang me during the afternoon when I asked her to call in to our unit, she arrived around 5.15pm. We were offered another unit that had previously had a leaky bath and now had a temporary repair, which they hoped to fix during that week, but we were warned it could be smelly and we decided to stay put. I had telephoned the resort early December to check if there was a fridge freezer and was assured there was. When we arrived no fridge freezer but we had one delivered into the unit within a couple of hours, well done to the staff for that. Several things were missing, in the unit, but the staff did bring most of the items I requested. E3 is described as a two bed, 2 bath unit to sleep 6. Yes there are 2 bedrooms but I would not describe it as 2 bathrooms. There is the ensuite with bath, hand basin and toilet, no shower and no extractor fan. There is a separate toilet and a separate very small shower room. The shower room is so small you have to be careful that you don't burn yourself on the radiator when you leave the shower cubicle. I would not have liked to have had 6 adults in the unit as there would be no privacy for the people sleeping on the sofa bed in the open plan lounge. This company advertises their Luxury Lodges, at Whitbarrow Village, but our E3 unit had nothing luxurious about it. When checking out I asked what the rental for E3 would have been for our week and the Receptionist told me E3 unit is one of the units not rented but kept for exchanges. All staff were excellent when we contacted them, it was just unfortunate that we had to contact them so often. We did stay the week and made the most of it but it was good to return home.

Review No: 11 by Mr & Mrs Matiya who stayed here on 22/12/2018 Language Flag

The resort is not as described, The appliances (dishwasher and fridge) did not function. The utensils were mismatched. We were placed in a 3 bed when wed booked a 2 bed which did no have an outdoor jacuzzi as described on the website. the staff at reception were not helpful at all and fobbed us off to say we had been upgraded to a 3 bed and that none of the dae properties were at the high spec that would have a jacuzzi anyway. the bathrooms had a damp smell. The staff refused to give us fresh towels after three towels, apparently we had to pay £1 a towel as its a self catering resort. I have stayed at many self catering resorts and been able to get fresh towels without issue. This was truly a waste of a week and ruined what could have been an amazing christmas holiday. Do not book based on the pictures on the website. The over promise and under deliver.

Review No: 12 by Mr & Mrs Archer who stayed here on 21/07/2018 Language Flag

A very large site in a good location about 10 miles from Keswick. Not too far from Hadrian's wall (or what's left of it - go to the info centre in Penrith to find out which parts of the wall to visit). If you have kids with you it will get them to realise what happened in our history, and there are some sites which give detailed displays of the history about the time). The lakes is a magical place and the waling is out standing. It does not have to be hard walking - go to Buttermere, there is a walk around the lake, its about 4.5 miles long with a very well constructed footpath and quite flat (it would be since it goes around a lake). The scenery is majestic. Go also to the Reged centre - there is a petrol station, a good coffee shop, a clothing etc shop, a cinema and free reliable wi fi. You have to pay for the wi fi at the timeshare. This place is accessed via the A66 at a round about 3 miles from the M6 junction. At the RAB you will only see the petrol station - the rest is behind that. There are cinemas in Keswick and at Penrith.

Review No: 13 by Mr Ramsay who stayed here on 14/07/2018 Language Flag

The whole resort is beautiful We particularly like the Kirkstone and Troutbeck cottages The gardens are well maintained and provide a lovely setting to have an enjoyable holiday We feel Kirkstone 27 could do with the carpets being replaced.

Review No: 14 by Mr Larkin who stayed here on 19/05/2018 Language Flag

We enjoyed two evening meals in the restaurant, lots of choice, beautifully served. The apartment was excellent in every way except that when the light, incorporating a fan, was turned on in the en suite bathroom it fused all the lights on the ground floor which included another two bedrooms a bathroom and the hall. It was reported and one of the maintenance team came and re-set it, showing my husband how to re-set it himself if it happened again. It did several times a day and my husband re-set it each time. We reported the problem several times though no-one came out again. It was a minor annoyance in an otherwise perfect holiday.

Review No: 15 by Mr Davies who stayed here on 12/05/2018 Language Flag

It is a bit of a building site at the moment with the ongoing upgrade but still delivers on an excellent holiday location. The staff are very helpful and the restaurant provides very good food.

Review No: 16 by Mr Nobes who stayed here on 12/05/2018 Language Flag

The accommodation was well equipped. Everything in working order, except for one window that fell in on opening, and one where the double glazing leaked so that it was always clouded over. The bedroom furniture was strangely arranged, so that the person further from the window had no reading light within useful distance . this could be quite easily rearranged, even if it meant having a less tall wardrobe that would fit into a different corner so that the bedside table could be put beside the bed, with the reading lamp on it. But these are small points to help the organisers, and we found our stay enjoyable and entirely satisfactory . We did not sample the restaurant cooking; we tried a take-away from the restaurant, and found it so ordinary (!) that we were not tempted to go for a full meal.

Review No: 17 by Mr Burton who stayed here on 07/05/2018 Language Flag

The accommodation was very nice, we were in a Troutbeck cottage on the outskirts of the complex. There was a restaurant in the hotel however about 5 to 10 minutes away was the Sportsman inn which served lovely meals at a reasonable price. The staff were very friendly and if the weather was good you could sit out. There was ample car parking at the complex and we used to watch the ducks and rabbits walking around.

Review No: 18 by Mr Wright who stayed here on 28/04/2018 Language Flag

Wjitbarrow is a beautiful village of different types of houses,we had a small town house with three bedrooms and two bathrooms,a adequate kitchen ,nice dining area and comfortable lounge with television . We liked eating in t he restaurant where the food was good and very reasonably priced. We would like to return there soon.

Review No: 19 by Mr & Mrs Nichols who stayed here on 28/04/2018 Language Flag

The resort was very nice and the facilities were excellent. The cottage was a bit tired around the edges and a couple of appliances needed updating. The fridge part of the fridge freezer froze the contents even on a low setting. This appliance should have its doors changing round or moving to a more convenient place. There was a second fridge which was excellent. The cooker was good but needed stabilizing, it was a little wobbly. There were three bedrooms, the double was en-suite which was great, but the shower needed updating as it was impossible to wash your hair in there. The water flow was very poor. The other bathroom was really good. There was a twin room and a room with bunk beds in. The mattresses should also be changed and we felt they were past their sell by date. The restaurant was excellent and served good food. There was also a large outside terrace which had good views as well. We only used the pool, sauna and steam room which were excellent and would have loved to have used them more than once but as we were out every day, that was not possible as not enough time. All the staff in the resort were lovely and friendly and made you feel very welcome. It is somewhere I would consider using again.

Review No: 20 by Dr Williams who stayed here on 28/04/2018 Language Flag

Property sleeps 6 and has only 1 bathroom - poor. Jaccuzi out of action while we were there. Restaurant excellent.

Review No: 21 by Mr Green who stayed here on 21/04/2018 Language Flag

Whitbarrow Village is a lovely resort with a variety of properties ranging from the original smaller and more compact accommodation right up to 3 bedded large luxury houses with decking and hot tubs. I doubt very much if an exchange would be into one of the latter but we have been twice and enjoyed both units although our latest exchange was in a larger house and it was great to enjoy more space. The location is ideal for trips out whether it is just locally to places like Lowther Castle or further afield to the Lakes or Scotland. The local people are very friendly and the food at most of the attractions proved to be both tasty and great value for money.

Review No: 22 by Mrs Tonge who stayed here on 03/03/2018 Language Flag

An excellent resort. The accommodation is well arranged, plenty of parking and wonderful garden areas with a duck pond, crazy golf, children's playground, seating areas and marvellous views. The accommodation is very comfortable, well equipped and warm. The pool area is excellent, clean and well maintained. The restaurant and bar serve excellent breakfast, lunches and dinners at very reasonable prices. All the staff are efficient, friendly and very professional. We would certainly return to Whitbarrow

Review No: 23 by Mr & Mrs Lawrenson who stayed here on 03/03/2018 Language Flag

the unit we were allocated grisedale 3 was in need of some T.L.C. did not come up to the standards of the one we own in Tenerife.very cold on arrival and had to call maintenance to a few problems.no shop on site but restaurant and food very good and pleasant staff swimming pool very good also having not used this resort before we were dissapointed

Review No: 24 by Mr Oakley who stayed here on 20/01/2018 Language Flag

Whitbarrow is a great location to explore the Lake District, Cumbria and Carlisle, set close to the A66 between Penrith and Keswick. We had no issues with location and we were confortable out of season. There is so much to see and do in the surrounding area and several great pubs a short drive away. However, our expectations - based on the website description - were not met by our Troutbeck “Cottage”. It was more holiday village than country cottage. Furnishings did not match the description and while functional would not deserve the term ‘luxury’. The double bed was too short for even my 5’ 5” partner, and the sofas had no cushions. Meanwhile, in the kitchen there were chips on crockery and the microwave was not working. There was certainly no private hot tub or floor cushions as we were led to believe online. It was great to have pool and gym facilities on site but with one running machine and limited space in the gym I think it might be very busy peak season. None of this is to say our stay was ruined. It was a functional, restful space which could simply do with some more realistic description on the website. We were disappointed upon arrival yet the “cottage” was clean and we did not really want for anything during our stay.

Review No: 25 by Mr & Mrs Cranston who stayed here on 13/01/2018 Language Flag

We have been to whitbarrow many times and have always received a courteous welcome. All the lodges are immaculate and the pool is fantastic. We had very heavy snow and was surprised to wake up to find the paths and drive had all been cleared...we look forward to many more holidays.

Review No: 26 by Mr & Mrs Rushton who stayed here on 06/01/2018 Language Flag

Had a wonderful holiday,all the staff were very helpfull ,and could not do enough for us,the restaurant was very nice and clean , the service was excellant and the food was very nice.A little moan is that there was no bottle opener/corkscrew or potato peeler in the kitchen, we nearly went teetotal.

Review No: 27 by Mr Ibbetson who stayed here on 06/01/2018 Language Flag

Great location, with good facilities.

Review No: 28 by Mr Sylvester who stayed here on 06/01/2018 Language Flag

Wow what a find, it's a little piece of paradise where time just saunters by. It is isolated but there is everything that you need, though you require a car to get from the resort to town only ten minutes away. I can see now why it is very hard to book the place in peek season, will definitely visit again, very soon.

Review No: 29 by Revd Brown who stayed here on 23/12/2017 Language Flag

8 of us stayed in 2 units over Christmas 2017. Weather wasn’t brilliant ( no surprise there ! ) and all of us {4 adults + 4 youngsters} seemed to be ‘under that weather’ in one way or another with coughs and colds & suchlike. One huge benefit of our accommodation was that we could keep really warm. Most T’share resorts make a utilities charge based on actual fuel consumption. I can think of one in Scotland where £100+ per-week in the Winter is perfectly normal & you still can’t get warm. “Seasons” @ Whitbarrow have a Winter rate & a slightly cheaper one for the Summer months. And, believe me, when it’s cold & miserable outside the Winter rate is an absolute bargain.!! Incidentally some nice ‘touches’ were in evidence. Mulled wine on arrival. A generously sized tin of quality sweet biscuits in the units with a charming Christmas greeting etc etc. Well-done Whitbarrow and THANK YOU ONE & ALL. PRB.

Review No: 30 by Mrs Hunt who stayed here on 23/12/2017 Language Flag

We welcomed the quick, pleasant check-in and found the unit nice warm and cosy. The resort has a village feel and is in a really convenient location. The one bedroom unit had a good sized lounge/kitchen/diner. The bedroom had limited storage space but was cosy with a nice comfy bed for a good nights sleep.

Review No: 31 by Ms Jones who stayed here on 16/12/2017 Language Flag

Fantastic size property and quality of furnishings. Handy farm shop close by too .

Review No: 32 by Mrs Hughes who stayed here on 16/12/2017 Language Flag

Well located venue with easy access to both Keswick and Penrith and also to the more western lakes. Will visit again as too much to see and do in a week.

Review No: 33 by Mr Coley who stayed here on 02/12/2017 Language Flag

Very enjoyable stay , with the snow it was pretty

Review No: 34 by Mrs Churchill who stayed here on 02/12/2017 Language Flag

This 2 bedroom house was wonderfully warm and cosy and well equipped and we would go again. The upstairs lounge /diner /kitchen was particularly attractive with exposed beams and stone walls etc to add character. We were a group of 5 adults. In brief, there were two main issues. The biggest problem was the one combined bathroom/toilet and the second issue was that this is not designed for 6 adults, let alone 5. The fridge could have been chosen more carefully to allow better access and storage of food. The sofa bed was poor quality and would not suit 2 adults. there was little/no storage for bedding etc. in the lounge or anywhere else for that matter. The bathroom, though clean and with an outside window for ventilation, was close to 1 star quality with old fittings and a useless showerhead over the bath (my wife referred to it as third world standard). The queue for the bathroom and/or toilet every morning and evening begin to wear thin for 5 adults. The solution would be a) not advertise it as suitable or 6 adults, b) rip the bath out and put in a decent shower and c) make it abundantly clear to guests that there is only one integral bath and toilet. A smaller improvement could also be made by putting thermostatic rad valves on all the radiators because whilst we visited in Dec and the weather was bad/very cold, we could not control the heating in the house at all. We were glad that it favoured the warm side but it was difficult to sleep at night and a waste of money. we had a very good week here once we had all lowered our expectations and got used to regime we used to have 50 years ago as children growing up in one bathroom houses but for such an otherwise beautiful site and complex, it was a real shame and way over priced if you are paying the going rate of £6/700 per week.

Review No: 35 by Mr Heald who stayed here on 02/12/2017 Language Flag

We stayed in a Troutbeck cottage. Very spacious, comfortable, clean and warm. Maintenance staff on the ball, clearing snow/ice very quickly. Reception staff helpful and efficient. Bar area very pleasant. Good WiFi in Troutbeck. Only negative factor was damaged shower controls in the swim pool cubicle showers. Reported this to Reception. Chris and Anne

Review No: 36 by Mrs Ransley who stayed here on 02/12/2017 Language Flag

Enjoyed the holiday, all the staff were pleasant, went out off their way to help, when we asked any questions. Lovely area even in winter. The local towns are great, people very friendly. comfy and cosy house we stayed in, very quiet, Nice pubs all very welcoming.

Review No: 37 by Mr Lester who stayed here on 25/11/2017 Language Flag

This resort was easy to find and check in was well organised and quick. The unit, a two bed with the bedrooms and bathroom on the ground floor and living accommodation on the upper floor was well worn but clean and comfortable and well equipped. The weather was bitterly cold but the central heating was very efficient and controllable. As a party of four adults the cottage was roomy enough but would probably be a little pushed for space for 6 occupants. The unit has a dishwasher but no washing machine. A coin operated laundry is available on site but I would happily swap the dishwasher for a washing machine however it is not a huge detraction from the overall experience. The bar/restaurant is comfortable friendly and reasonably priced with a good selection of Beers, Wines and snacks. The Bar meals and takeaway service are also a useful facility for less formal dining. No delivery service is available. Whitbarrow is a pleasant place with village like appeal, the cobbled and flagstone paths can get slippery but adequate warning is given to guests. One of our party who is lame and walks with difficulty found getting around was no great problem as the site is mostly flat. We did not use the swimming and exercise facilities but the pool and Gym looked superb. We enjoyed our stay and would visit again. There is no public transport to from or around this remote location so own wheels are necessary. A walk to the nearest pub would require an early start.

Review No: 38 by Mrs Gander who stayed here on 26/08/2017 Language Flag

the apartment we stayed in had such squeaky floors that if anyone got up in the night to go upstairs where the living accommodation was it disturbed everyone downstairs who were trying to sleep, it was annoying during the day also. It was no 13 Troutbeck so beware.

Review No: 39 by Mrs Jude who stayed here on 26/08/2017 Language Flag

Staff were friendly and helpful especially when I requested an alternative apartment as the one originally offered did not meet my needs. The resort is set in a perfect location for views and access to all of the lakes. The bar and restaurant were furnished well with the bar food being good value for money, though the restaurant food was average it was didn't have the wow factor or justified the cost. The pool area was brilliant and along with the outside activities as a family of 4 they kept us all busy. The apartment we end up in was much better than the first, though some furnishing were past their best. There was plenty of room and my 12 year old loved the mezzanine bedroom. We were based in the original phase and I can't help but feel that the newer phases would be better proportioned, lighter and easier to access. I would recommend staying here but don't expect 5 star standards.

Review No: 40 by Mrs Wallace who stayed here on 26/08/2017 Language Flag

Very enjoyable stay even the weather was good for the Lake District

Review No: 41 by Mrs Wynne-Hughes who stayed here on 26/08/2017 Language Flag

I was disappointed as a time share resort. It was really more of a holiday camp.atmosphere for me . The highlight was the. Restaurant staff and their meals. The receptionist was very helpful too

Review No: 42 by Mr Aylott who stayed here on 19/08/2017 Language Flag

My heart sank when I saw the bed. There was a foot-board which meant that my husband, who is extremely tall, would not be able to stretch out fully. So each night we made up the sofabed for him and I slept in the bedroom. In future I shall enquire about the bed situation when making a booking!

Review No: 43 by Mr & Mrs Hughes who stayed here on 22/07/2017 Language Flag

We were in a unit called Martindale 3 .Although this unit was supposed to be a two bed for 6,it was a double bed and two singles , one of them up a terrible set of steps,very dangerous especially at night having to come down to use the only bathroom.It also only had one wardrobe in the unit.We did ask to be moved but they said the complex was totally full.We arrived on the saturday with our two grand children and on the monday the daughter and son in law were going to join us for the rest of the week but we stop them coming as this unit should never be for six people,very disappointed.

Review No: 44 by Mrs Ward who stayed here on 15/07/2017 Language Flag

cottage derwent 2... we found the seating very uncomfortable and needs replacing. there is damp mould on the bedroom wall around the electrical sockets at the side of the bed. we found the gas cooker/ oven does not come up to temperature as indicated causing us to spoil 2 meals. in the first 4 days of occupation we killed approx 30 flies and went out and bought fly killer spray.......all in all it rather spoiled what was otherwise a lovely break...

Review No: 45 by Dr Lamb who stayed here on 15/07/2017 Language Flag

A very enjoyable week although in spite of a request when contacted by the staff the week before for any provision that would help us ,we stated that both of us being in our creaky 80s, it would greatly help us to avoid stairs and yet found ourselves in accommodation with living quarters upstairs and bathrooms and toilets downstairs. Nevertheless we coped!

Review No: 46 by Mr Green who stayed here on 20/05/2017 Language Flag

Easy journey up to Whitbarrow and were pleasantly surprised by the resort itself. It is really quite unique with the original layout of the village being made up of quite different styles regarding the dwellings which are quite small and cottagey. The new units are much bigger with a large outdoor area. Our unit Bowscale 7 was a sleep six but it wasn't really big enough for six people. There was a double bed and a desk in what you might call the attic/enclosed mezzanine. The room with bunk beds really was tiny too. We were lucky to have absolutely gorgeous weather and it was nice to sit out on our own lawned area. The reception, pool and bar/restaurant areas are beautifully done and there is a huge outdoor sitting area offering views as fas as the eye can see. All in all a very nice timeshare swap.

Review No: 47 by Mrs Harrison who stayed here on 20/05/2017 Language Flag

A great resort in a beautiful area. Highly recommend Whitbarrow Village for excellent facilities and everything including the restaurant is of a high standard.

Review No: 48 by Mr Howarth who stayed here on 20/05/2017 Language Flag

Very good site.The restaurant was excellent and the staff first class. I would recommend it for a holiday.

Review No: 49 by Mr Harrison who stayed here on 29/04/2017 Language Flag

3 bedroomed town house that has been recently refurbished together with new kitchen furniture. Bedrooms consisted of 1double with en-suite shower room, twin room and room with bunks beds plus large family bathroom. Plenty of seating area for 6 if required. Grounds are well maintained with pleasant lawn areas. The ducks and ducklings were a delight to see. Feed was available at reception. The pool area looked to be well used but not by us. We ate in the restaurant twice and found the meals to be very good and well priced compared to outside venues. A car is definitely needed as the resort is isolated but not to far away from places. The staff that we met including reception were very pleasent and cheerful. The welcome meeting was a bit of a let down. Was not happy about a phone call trying to tempt us into the seasons sell. A very pleasant stay at this well run resort and would have no hesitation in a return visit when we visit the Lake District again.

Review No: 50 by Mrs Musker who stayed here on 29/04/2017 Language Flag

The lodge we stayed in had rather small rooms and we would have appreciated a second wc/shower for our party of five adults. Apart from that, we were very happy with the resort facilities. We stayed in a lodge that had character like an old stone barn which added to the quality of the experience at the resort. There were other features which also helped to create a pleasant environment, such as the gardens and duck pond. We particularly enjoyed the swimming pool and table tennis. The resort is conveniently located near to stunning lakes, hills and mountains. We were lucky to have good weather all week and enjoyed walking up the fells and exploring the lakes in this beautiful part of the country.

Review No: 51 by Mr Branston who stayed here on 29/04/2017 Language Flag

We had Calder 6 an old cottage, down the cobblestone drive in the resort, the cottages are very old with very poor lighting in the upstairs living room , but we only spent time of an evening, so it did not affect us that much, the living room furniture is all new Leather sofas, and a large flat screen Television. The kitchen had all new units and a large fridge freezer that a lot of the new units we have stayed in the past , have only added a fridge and no freezer , so this was a good bonus. Seasons are trying to sell a unique low risk investment of only £35650 pounds for a new type of unit with a hot tub, it's a hard sell and the staff entise exchange guests with a free restaurant voucher £50. After nearly two hours of waffle on their part, if you don't want to buy, the sales team then try to sell you another deal, So think tiwce, of anything free, as it comes with conditions.

Review No: 52 by Mr Romanelli who stayed here on 22/04/2017 Language Flag

Lovely clean unit in a beautiful village. A good location for visiting the Lake District and very near to Carlisle and Gretna Green for shopping. This was our second visit and we would not hesitate to go again.

Review No: 53 by Mr Fylan who stayed here on 22/04/2017 Language Flag

I was more than satisfied with this resort which is well placed for exploring Northern Cumbria. Accommodation, resort staff, facilities and particularly the restaurant, which provides bar meals and a takeaway service, were all well above average.

Review No: 54 by Dr Williams who stayed here on 22/04/2017 Language Flag

Great situation for walking and mountain biking. The units are nicely finished and cottage in style. Ours was one of the smaller ones that slept and could have done with another loo. On site facilities are good and the restaurant above average.

Review No: 55 by Mr & Mrs Lloyd who stayed here on 22/04/2017 Language Flag

Stayed here in April 2017. Unit was very clean and well equipped. It was in need of a refurb but it was perfectly acceptable. It had everything we required. Bed comfortable and clean. Pool area was clean and warm. Didn't much like the unisex changing rooms as cubicles a bit cramped for me. Been several times to this resort and will go again.

Review No: 56 by Mr & Mrs Christian who stayed here on 22/04/2017 Language Flag

Fantastic,!! just what we needed. A very comfy warm unit, with everything you needed. The staff were so helpful and also the restaurant has stunning views towards the fells. ALL the staff were second to none, A truly welcome break. THANK YOU DAE

Review No: 57 by Mr & Mrs Woodington who stayed here on 22/04/2017 Language Flag

Would highly recommend Whitbarrow Village, the lodge was very warm and cosy which was particularly good as we had a little snow. The setting was very quiet and peaceful and quite easy to find. All the facilities were good and staff polite and cheerful and helpful.

Review No: 58 by Mr Bantham who stayed here on 22/04/2017 Language Flag

Lovely comfortable accommidation, in a high quality resort.

Review No: 59 by Mrs Harvey who stayed here on 22/04/2017 Language Flag

Most of the staff were very helpful. Particularly the maintenance staff. Generally the interior of lodge was fine but the carpet was very worn on the stairs. The position of Whitbarrow village was very good and it was lovely and peaceful.

Review No: 60 by Mr Draper who stayed here on 18/03/2017 Language Flag

A very good holiday with varied weather from frost, 4inches of snow, glorious sunshine. The apartment we were allotted was Ok but was second floor up a metal steps. Floor was creaky. Well equipped and comfortable. The position of the resort was outside the Lakeland but it is situated near the A66 which enabled you to get to most of the lakes. Facilities was where excellent and the evening meal we had was above normal standard. We were disappointed with some of the equipment which had not been well maintained. Otherwise we had an enjoyable stay and were able to visits many of our old haunts in the lakes.

Review No: 61 by Mr & Mrs Leonard who stayed here on 11/03/2017 Language Flag

Just returned from a week at Whitbarrow Village, accommodation was very average. Pool was excellent and we used every day. Food in restaurant was very good and staff pleasant. Would say Whitbarrow Village a good base for exploring the Lake District just feel the quality of our accommodation let it down as was a bit dated and in need of freshening up.

Review No: 62 by Mrs Lamb who stayed here on 04/03/2017 Language Flag

We chose the resort for its location in the Lake District and ease of access from the M6. We were disappointed that the immediate surrounding area is all private farming land with no woodland walks accessible for a gentle stroll before the sun went down. We always had to get into the car to go for a walk! In our two bed unit (B5), the living accommodation was excellent for two, but too cramped for 4. The bedrooms were very small; the twin beds were pushed against two outside walls (extremely cold). No view of the beautiful surrounding area from this particular unit. Heating system (and hot water) temperamental: very hot or noticeably cool. Clean and modern décor and furnishings, very poor pillows :). We didn't use the gym or the pool as we spent our time enjoying the fells and becks! Would we return? Yes, but I'd ask for a different unit, a Kirkstone or a Troutbeck unit both being later extension to the Village.

Review No: 63 by Mr Nuttall who stayed here on 04/03/2017 Language Flag

Pros: staff were friendly, kindly and helpful. Kitchen well equipped and the unit was clean. Heating and hot water were excellent. The village was quiet and we had decent views from our unit. Cons: the only seating apart from the dining room chairs was two large sofas. Both my wife and I found these exceedingly uncomfortable and it spoiled our evenings in. We had to bring in plastic garden chairs from the balcony to sit comfortably. The bed was fine for my wife but not long enough for me (1.87m tall) and because it had both a headboard and footboard I had to sleep with my feet out of the bed.

Review No: 64 by Mr Rees who stayed here on 25/02/2017 Language Flag

staff and accomkmodation were excellent.we had typical lakes weather for february but it did not prevent us from having relaxing break.

Review No: 65 by Mrs Tennant who stayed here on 25/02/2017 Language Flag

Well run resort, with friendly staff. Special help for the disabled, with good facilities. Good centre for touring the north Lakes. Hope to visit again in the Summer.

Review No: 66 by Mr Parker who stayed here on 11/02/2017 Language Flag

Great location with easy access from the M6 and to the two local towns of Penrith & Keswick. We are 'keen' cyclists and found many fantastic rides along quiet roads/lanes (visited during Feb Half-term week so will be busier in the summer) with a number of National Cycle Routes close by. Unfortunately the resort does not offer secure storage for bikes at this time - a shame we feel. The unit/cottage (Cardew 5) was clean, tidy and appropriately equipped for our needs (2 adults), however as it sleeps 6 it would have been a bit cramped and there would have been a queue for the one bathroom/toilet had the whole family been there! Yes, we would visit/stay again.

Review No: 67 by Mrs Currie who stayed here on 04/02/2017 Language Flag

A great base for exploring the Western Lakes. Units were very clean and of a great standard. Would definitely return for a holiday

Review No: 68 by Mr Tortoishell who stayed here on 28/01/2017 Language Flag

The unit we were allocated (D1) was looking & feeling it's age. For instance, the sofa we had was very sad & flat so we used spare pillows to try to boost it a bit. The dishwasher put items out worse than they went in for most of our week, then gave up altogether. We reported the fault to the office & the technician decided a new machine was required. Many other units on the very attractive site, were being refurbished but we were not lucky enough to be allocated one of them. Overall we had a good weeks holiday.

Review No: 69 by Mrs Sanderson who stayed here on 07/01/2017 Language Flag

Disappointing. First off head office assigned us the wrong unit, but quickly resolved at reception. Second unit characterful, but head height of kitchen was 5'10". We had a 6'4" member of the group, kept bashing his head. Boiler didn't work. Quickly resolved. Great staff. The creakiest floor I have ever heard, ever! (I renovate property for a living, this was seriously in need of my help!) The kitchen was a cheap, badly fitted and had rubbish quality appliances. We have had better appartments here before. Avoid E2 if possible. Badly designed. In need of a refit. The pool area is fantastic, but the pool manager doesn't understand the need for water in a sauna to make it hot! WATER PROHIBITED? ! COME ON SEASONS! Whitbarrow Village has so much potential and you are undermining your great staff!

Review No: 70 by Ms Elliott who stayed here on 24/12/2016 Language Flag

Couple booked into 2 bed, sleeping 6. We booked Whitbarrow for the proximity to Keswick for walking near the nth lakes & leisure facilities for an Xmas break. Having then read a few comments of Tripadvisor about the ongoing refurbishment we contacted DAE To request an updated unit. We weren't disappointed. We arrived on Xmas Eve, checked I a nod were swiftly directed to M3 overlooking the pond teaming with cute ducks. The unit was Immaculately clean, warm and well laid out. We couldn't have been happier. Ample dining space for 6 but sofa space might be limited for 6. Small dishwasher a bonus but the small fridge with freezer compartment rather limiting. We took our Xmas festivities with us so it was a challenge to fit enough in! The unit isn't ideal for anyone with mobility issues as the outside entrance is up a steep flight of stairs to the first floor and worth noting, there is a steep flight of loft ladders to one of the single bedrooms in the loft space (the other single room being at the rear of the unit). Assuming no mobility issues, the first floor location provides a nice view across the green space and adjacent units. Lovely good sized double bedroom with lots of storage. The indoor pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gym were well a mangled and spotlessly clean. Being Xmas we assume the resort was well booked up but it felt busy both. In the grounds, car park and leisure facilities. We didn't have a problem although we did heed the advise and avoided the busy peak times. We would like to add a note of thanks to all the staff we met (including ground staff) who were very friendly, chatty and helpful. A pleasure to meet them. Only few very small comments ; 1. door hooks for coats would be useful for wet and winter conditions. 2. We didn't use the bed in the loft space but did find the ladder rather daunting 3. We weren't advised about the Single rather than twin bedroom which may not suit some guests - best check. Overall - great

Review No: 71 by Mr & Mrs Pickles who stayed here on 23/12/2016 Language Flag

Good resort

Review No: 72 by Mr Smith who stayed here on 16/12/2016 Language Flag

Enjoyable stay at Whitbarrow Village. Beautiful surroundings. Staff friendly and helpful. Good facilities within the hotel grounds and the apartment. A couple of niggly little things eg. stair carpet quite worn in places, problem with the oven; both of which were reported to reception.
Please Wait
Please Wait