Customer reviews for "Slaley Hall"

There are 32 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Ms Hutchison who stayed here on 24/11/2019 Language Flag

Excellent lodge and excellent location. Would go back like a shot. Following our reviews we were careful with the heating especially in the bedrooms and the cost was not too bad. We did keep the public areas warm though and were very comfortable. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

Review No: 2 by Mrs Tonge who stayed here on 31/08/2019 Language Flag

The only downside was the bathroom didn’t have a proper shower.

Review No: 3 by Mr Hall who stayed here on 04/08/2019 Language Flag

My thanks goes to Keya for recommending Slaley Hall to us. The lodge was HUGE and had it's own sauna and jacuzzi. We used to spa facilities nearly every day and the high light of the holiday was quad biking in the rain. We visited Newcastle, Whitely Bay, Tynemouth, Corbridge and Hexham. We also spent the day in Edinburgh choosing to drive up the A68 there and coming back down via the A1 - both have stunning views.

Review No: 4 by Mr Dyson who stayed here on 09/06/2019 Language Flag

Excellent property and resort except for the heating. Didn't expect to need heating in June but did as it was wet and cold - electric radiators do not heat the space - apparently was supposed to have the heating on low all the time (electricity is charged) but was not told about this until the end of our stay.

Review No: 5 by Mr Mara who stayed here on 04/05/2019 Language Flag

A delightful place with excellent golf courses. Although we did not use the Leisure Centre facilities they looked very inviting. The restaurant and bar areas were very relaxing and provided very good food. The lodge itself was first class and extremely comfortable. Finally, the staff in all areas of the complex were very welcoming and helpful. Thank you.

Review No: 6 by Mrs Davies who stayed here on 27/04/2019 Language Flag

We were expecting a resort of high quality and it is. The extensive grounds are immaculately kept and the surrounding countryside is delightful. There are many fascinating places to visit, especially the Farne Islands and the developing gardens at Alnwick Castle. Hexham Abbey is a delight and there are many sites linked to Hadrian's Wall to discover. The lodge itself (Villa 3, 4 bed/4bath) overlooks the moors, is light and spacious and takes full advantage of its situation on a sloping bank, which also means several short flights of steps within the lodge. There are plenty of crockery/cutlery/utensils. Newspapers can be delivered, and the wifi is good. We made use of the hotel facilities - good gym and pool - although the standard of the changing rooms needs improving. On Sunday evening we ate in the Claret Jug at the hotel, which was a mistake since there were several raucous golfing parties making it impossible to have a conversation; the service was slow and the food mediocre. However, 5 minutes away, in Slaley village, we later discovered The Rose and Crown, the popular community pub where the food and service were excellent and the welcome was warm. The only niggle of the week was the cost of electricity - which is detailed in the lodge information - but we still felt that £59 for 2 people for a week was excessive especially since we made a point of heating only those few rooms we needed to use, cooked infrequently and didn't use the sauna, the washer/dryer or the golf buggy. Having said that, we would like to go back. There is still much to explore in the area and it is good to be in a timeshare where the staff take pride in their work and are helpful and welcoming to their guests.

Review No: 7 by Mrs Tonge who stayed here on 02/02/2019 Language Flag

Wow, wow, wow. Slaley Hall is by far the best timeshare exchange we have ever had. We stayed in lodge 54, a 2 bedroom for 4. The lodge was extremely spacious and everything was of a high quality. A good size hallway for coats, boots and outdoor clothes. The kitchen/ diner was large and everything needed, certainly home from home. Plenty of crockery, plates, dishes, glassware and a fabulous pod coffee maker. A large fridge and freezer and efficient dishwasher. It was a pleasure to eat and cook in this area. The lounge was very comfortable with beautiful quality furnishings. The main bedroom had a very large comfortable bed and was a good size. The bathrooms were luxurious with a good power shower with plenty of hot water. The golf course was excellent and the spa pool warm. We enjoyed following the coloured waymark walks around the estate and enjoyed a drink in the 19th hole bar. A car is needed to explore the area. We enjoyed Housetead and Hadrians Wall, Hexham, Corbridge, Durham and the waterfalls at Bellingham, Hareshaw Linn. A fabulous resort and would love a revisit.

Review No: 8 by Mr Wickham who stayed here on 26/01/2019 Language Flag

This is a golf resort and spa and although we didn't get around to playing golf we nevertheless had an extremely enjoyable week, albeit in the middle of winter. Our lodge was by far the most comfortable and best equipped we have ever stayed in (sauna and spa bath included, plus 3 televisions) with a superb view out towards the Scottish Border country from the lounge and large balcony. For children and adults the hotel with its comprehensive spa and gym, bars and restaurant was a great attraction for us. The surrounding countryside is magnificent and the pubs and eating places recommended in the info. provided in the lodge proved to be, without exception, very good.

Review No: 9 by Ms Pooley-Smith who stayed here on 26/01/2019 Language Flag

The quality of glassware and crockery was excellent - we usually take our own crystal glasses to drink from but they were not needed at this resort! Wonderful setting and views with plenty of walks nearby. Will definitely return.

Review No: 10 by Mr & Mrs Manning who stayed here on 18/01/2019 Language Flag

We very much enjoyed our winter week at Slaley Hall. We had a 2 bed roomed bungalow with an open outlook facing the golf course. Weather was surprisingly good for mid January and we found the lodge super, except for one thing. It was very difficult to heat because it was open plan. We left the heating in the main rooms at lowest setting all day and then put it on to highest setting when we returned each evening. Then lowered it again when we went to bed. We had realised that the heating cost would be high so tried to be economic as much as possible eg; did not heat bedrooms or hall. Despite our frugality heating cost 60 pounds for the week. When we mentioned how careful we had been the lady at reception said most people paid over 100 pounds. Thank goodness we were canny! Wouldn't stop us coming back again as it was a great holiday but beware if you arrive during a chilly spell heating is much more expensive than at home.

Review No: 11 by Mr & Mrs Russell who stayed here on 30/12/2018 Language Flag

Very enjoyable stay at this top quality resort.

Review No: 12 by Mrs Morris who stayed here on 16/12/2018 Language Flag

Timeshare rentals do not get better than this. I have travelled extensively over many years and I can honestly say that this is one of the most top resort in he UK. Wonderful manicured grounds complementing the breathtakingly beautiful Northumbrian countryside. Lovely hotel also set within the grounds. Staff and service are all first class. The only downside is the huge cost of electricity which is charged for your stay, You can expect in excess of 100.00 during winter in a large lodge. Loads to do and see around the area and thoroughly recommend a visit to Corrbridge - about a twenty minute journey. It is steeped in history, has a fabulous selection of artisan shops and plenty of places to eat.

Review No: 13 by Mr Green who stayed here on 25/11/2018 Language Flag

Slaley Hall is a beautiful resort and is well situated for Hadrian’s Wall, a trip to Newcastle, a visit to Corbridge - one of the prettiest villages we have ever seen with lots of cafés, interesting shops, pubs, antiques and more. The bungalows are fabulous and extremely well appointed with sliding and patio doors with a very private seating area overlooking the golf course. Plenty of wildlife to be seen including deer, bird life, squirrels etc. The countryside is vast and wild and driving is easy as there isn’t much traffic. Thoroughly enjoyed this holiday and would recommend it anyone!

Review No: 14 by Mr Godson who stayed here on 17/06/2018 Language Flag

Slayley Hall is a beautiful place to stay being situated close to the coast and many places for interesting days out. The Lodges offer first class accommodation and together with the hotel amenities make a favourite exchange destination.

Review No: 15 by Dr Russel who stayed here on 05/05/2018 Language Flag

One of the best resorts we've stayed in .Highly recommended.

Review No: 16 by Mr Robinson who stayed here on 29/04/2018 Language Flag

A beautiful resort in a glorious part of the country, and the lodge was superb. The excellent free wi-fi, and the golf buggy were real plus points. What let it down was the totally inadequate heating system which ensured we were never warm until the weather took a turn for the better late in our week. Even so, and despite there being just the two of us and eating out every evening but one, the electricity charge was the equivalent of our total home monthly gas and electricity bills combined. We ate at the Claret Jug once, but as we like to dine early there were far too many unruly and noisy children to make it an enjoyable experience. There are, however, plenty of pubs nearby with excellent food - we would particularly recommend the Rose and Crown in Slaley, and the Traveller's Rest on the outskirts of the village. The take-away from the Corbridge Tandoori was absolutely delicious. There was a disappointing lack of tourist information in the lodge, so here are a few suggestions in addition to the usual, well known ones such as Beamish, Hexham and the Roman Wall. Durham is well worth a visit, and the park and ride service must be among the best around (totally free after 9:30 if you have a bus pass). The bus drivers were an absolute mine of information, Causey Arch and the Tanfield railway are interesting and historically significant, and can easily be visited on the same day as Beamish, only requiring a slight detour. Our favourite outing was a guided tour of Newcastle United's ground at St James' Park - a truly fascinating hour and a half, even if like me you are only vaguely interested in football. Tickets can be booked on-line, and there's an option to include lunch at the stadium pub. Not wanting to drive into the centre of Newcastle, we used the park and ride Metro station at Kingston Park, to the north west of the city and well signed.

Review No: 17 by Mr Ramsay who stayed here on 28/04/2018 Language Flag

sleep 8 lodge but tight parking for 3 cars. Car needed to appreciate the area golf courses in magnificent condition

Review No: 18 by Mrs Fiske who stayed here on 14/04/2018 Language Flag

Lodge was superb, very private and quiet. Everything was of the highest standard. We did think the electricity charge was a bit steep but that didn't spoil our time there.

Review No: 19 by Mr & Mrs Hodgson who stayed here on 10/03/2018 Language Flag

Little difficult to find initially. The lodge itself was of a very high standard.

Review No: 20 by Dr & Mrs Winton who stayed here on 24/02/2018 Language Flag

We had a good time at Slaley Hall with our little boy the only problem was the heavy snowy weather which was not the fault of anyone but it meant we weren't able to enjoy the surrounding facilities and the area and there are only so many snow ball fights and sledging you can do with a little one before they are frozen! The cottage was beautiful, eating in the restaurant was ordinary and quite expensive and the service of staff was limited due to a shortages because of the extremely bad weather. However, we would return without hesitation providing we weren't going to be completely snowed in!

Review No: 21 by Dr & Mrs Perkins who stayed here on 24/02/2018 Language Flag

We were completely snowed in all week so were unable to use the facilities. The lodge was very cold and we had to have a supplementary electric heater. The lodge is not suitable in a cold winter and if we have any outstanding requests they need to be removed. We realise this was an exceptional period of weather but we believe the heating in the lodges is insufficient. Without the additional heater the dining area was unusable.

Review No: 22 by Miss Roberts who stayed here on 09/12/2017 Language Flag

This was our second visit to Slalely Hall in the same villa and we love it. It’s extremely large and well equipped. The pool facilities are excellent and a golf cart is provided to drive to and from the main hotel. There are several bars, restaurants and a golf course but we didn’t use them. The only issue is the cost of the electricity. We have been twice in December and the place is rather cold. The cost of using the heating for a week was £120. I don’t mind paying a little over the odds but this is too much.

Review No: 23 by Mrs Williams who stayed here on 02/12/2017 Language Flag

Great facilities at the hotel. The lodges are well equipped however some of the furnishings are worn and tired. The big negative is the cost of the electricity to heat the lodge. The electric heaters are wholly inadequate (particularly in the master bedroom) and only just took the chill off even when on max setting.

Review No: 24 by Mrs Walker who stayed here on 19/11/2017 Language Flag

The Lodge was absolutely first class! The Hotel, Its bars & restaurants are fabulous - delicious food & fabulous cocktails & friendly, courteous & helpful staff. The grounds are very beautiful; the driving range & golf courses excellent! The only criticism is the cost of the electricity - it cost us £70 for the week! The area is very attractive & I can certainly recommend The Lord Crewe Arms at Blanchland for lunch & a mooch around the Village! We were extremely impressed by Slayley Hall & will definitely be returning!

Review No: 25 by Mr Smith who stayed here on 24/09/2017 Language Flag

If you are to holiday in the colder months then be aware the Lodges are very big and spacious and the metered heating costs can be a rude awakening !

Review No: 26 by Peter Clarke who stayed here on 23/09/2017 Language Flag

The quality and cleanliness of the Lodge could not be faulted. The Lodge is sited in the grounds of Slayley Hall hotel and golf course. The hotel is listed as 4 stars and the ambiance and restaurants truly reflect this high standard. We did not use the golf facilities but the course appeared to be in very good condition and would be a pleasure for golfers to use. So much to do in and around the area, wonderful Northumberland countryside, as well as being close to the attractions of Newcastle, Gateshead and Durham. Most visitors would I imagine visit the Beamish Museum, this is full of interest with early 1900's village and collerey. A small 1900's Town with shops and preserved homes. A farm and animals would interest the children. Trams and 'buses' run continually to transport visitors around the very large site and between the attractions. It was also pleasing to find that the entrance fee allows return visits to the museum for up to 12 months. A recommendation for lunch or dinner away from the hotel, a short drive to Slayley village and visit The Rose & Crown. This is a recent community funded project to save the Inn. The welcome is very friendly and food is very nice.

Review No: 27 by Mrs Jillings who stayed here on 03/09/2017 Language Flag

Excellent Lodge beautifully furnished with everything you need. Beautiful bathrooms and good quality towels. A real bonus to have a golf buggy to drive around the Estate.

Review No: 28 by Mr & Mrs Childs who stayed here on 19/08/2017 Language Flag

Outstanding accommodation and stunning surroundings. Complimentary buggies a great touch. Staff could not be more friendly, helpful or quick to respond. Bar furnishings were surprisingly and disappointingly grubby. Swimming pool area and changing rooms look as if they are next in need of refurbishment.

Review No: 29 by Mrs Stokes who stayed here on 13/05/2017 Language Flag

1) The golf buggy supplied with each lodge was useful for getting around the large site. Outside however was very difficult and it cost us over £100 in taxi fares just to get to & from Hexham, the nearest town/shop, 7 miles away. A CAR IS ESSENTIAL. Staff at the Reception did not seem to know anything about buses and gave us wrong information. 2). Although the lodges and grounds were excellent, we were surprised not to find recycling facilities Everything went into the one bin! 3). On our first night, we had a meal at the restaurant and was told that as we were in a lodge we would get 20% off the bill. Sadly this did not happen as the waiter got it wrong. Only owners at the hall had that.

Review No: 30 by Mr Godson who stayed here on 23/04/2017 Language Flag

This is a lovely resort. We last visited 16 years ago and the standard has been maintained. My only criticism is the cost of electricity. You have to be very careful using the heaters in cold or chilly weather.

Review No: 31 by Mr Eaves who stayed here on 26/03/2017 Language Flag

The chalet was superb in every way, one of the best we have stayed in. Our only criticism was the electricity charge which we considered exorbitant.

Review No: 32 by Mr Skilling who stayed here on 26/03/2017 Language Flag

Simply the best time share exchange we have done in over 20 years. Lodge excellent; staff excellent and courteous; grounds excellent and even the weather was kind!
Please Wait
Please Wait