Customer reviews for "The Burnside Park Owners Club"

There are 32 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mrs Haymes who stayed here on 11/07/2020 Language Flag

Stayed in no. 46, a first floor 1 bed sleep 4 in the far corner from Reception, but right next to the path leading out towards the lake. From Reception it is just a short downhill walk into town, and from the apartment there was a largely traffic free walk down footpaths and one cul-de-sac to the lakeside park - a real perk as we have a dog. Given this was only the second week of re-opening following the Coronavirus lockdown, and the weather was typically wet, we were just grateful to get out of the house for a week, and enjoyed being out in the fresh air and seeing the Lake District without the usual hordes. We didn't venture into town or visit any attractions other than pre-booked NT properties. It was reassuring that much thought had clearly gone into Covid precautions in the resort and these seemed to be mostly adhered to by cleaning staff (we could have done without the dying bat on the doorstep on our arrival). Apartment was very well equipped (better than resort profile suggests) with full size oven, fridge and freezer as well as microwave. Only negative was a very noisy water pipe (mains inlet?) which kept me awake occasionally and was obvious during the day whenever another apartment (possibly downstairs) used their dishwasher, had a shower or flushed the toilet. Thanks to Hapimag/DAE for giving us such a badly needed week's break!

Review No: 2 by Mr & Mrs Taggart who stayed here on 04/07/2020 Language Flag

Considering the resort has been closed for 3 months due to the Covid lockdown, and that staff had had plenty of time to check the units, we were disappointed at the lack of cleanliness of the cutlery and crockery in the unit, from previous usage. Also the Dyson vacuum cleaner in the unit was crammed FULL and had to be emptied before we could use it, which was a struggle. The bar and swimming pool area we could not comment on as they were not open yet due to current restrictions. Other than that we were very happy with it, and would like to return.

Review No: 3 by Mrs Race who stayed here on 04/07/2020 Language Flag

We had a wonderful stay. Perfect location and great facilities.

Review No: 4 by Mr Honey who stayed here on 01/02/2020 Language Flag

Excellent resort...close to lake & shops, would recommend and would go back.

Review No: 5 by Miss Simpkin who stayed here on 18/01/2020 Language Flag

A superb resort providing a perfect base for a January week's stay in The Lakes. We could not fault anything at all, even the weather provided us with a dry week! The staff could not have been more helpful. We ate in the pub on the Hotel site and the food was very good and reasonably priced. The pool was lovely with plunge pool, jacuzzi, sauna etc but if you were wanting to do some serious swimming it was not the best as it was circular and difficult to swim in lengths. Thank you Burnside Park for a relaxing week and we hope to return again soon.

Review No: 6 by Miss Davies who stayed here on 30/12/2019 Language Flag

We spent New Year at Burnside Owners Club in a one bed cottage 31 which was spacious and looked larger than some of the 1 bed sleep 4 accommodation. A parking space was alongside but 3 steep steps into the cottage. An excellent, well equipped kitchen, a comfortable sitting area and table and chairs up a few stairs. A compact bedroom with plenty of space and small wall mounted tv. A lovely warm cottage with efficient heating which was unexpectedly included in our exchange fee. I used the leisure facilities in adjoining hotel but perhaps best at the adult only times. There was sympathetic low lighting but I was surprised to see they were serving drinks through a window from thd bar of the 'pub' A helpful and entertaining welcome meeting with plenty of useful ideas for places to visit, local walks, pubs and places to eat. All the staff were lovely, helpful and welcoming. Bowness on Windermere is a lovely small town. Definitely would like to visit again perhaps in the summer next time. Thank you DAE for this great exchange.

Review No: 7 by Mr & Mrs Parrington who stayed here on 23/12/2019 Language Flag

Very comfortable accommodation, cottage and grounds kept spotlessly clean. close to waterfront, and centre of Bowness .

Review No: 8 by Mrs Senior who stayed here on 14/12/2019 Language Flag

Excellent location

Review No: 9 by Mrs Muirhead who stayed here on 30/11/2019 Language Flag

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and it was ideal for us. Location is excellent and having the hotel with pool next door is a bonus. Only 5 min walk to town or lake. Would highly recommend.

Review No: 10 by Mr Olivant who stayed here on 30/11/2019 Language Flag

Superb location in Bowness. You can walk everywhere from the resort. Bowness also a good location for the south lakes. We also went down to Morecambe and Arneside. This is a compact site so care needs to be taken driving about in the grounds. The hotel pool was fine, nice and warm but not large, very clean. Bar was good too We had a one bed sleeps 4, fine for the two of us, but would be very cramped for 4! The apartment was "bijou" to be polite, but fine for two. Had a great week with great weather, cold and crisp.

Review No: 11 by Mr Rhodes who stayed here on 16/11/2019 Language Flag

We stayed in number 6, and were delighted with it. Lovely well equipped kitchen, comfortable seating area for 4, lovely en suite bedroom although the second bedroom was rather small, but it does have 2 bathrooms, which makes life easier. Lots of hot water, and there was no charge for electricity, so this must be a new policy. We didn't use the pool so cannot comment. The small cinema in the hotel is no longer open. The apartments are in a great position, and we enjoyed walking in the local area . The ferry is useful for crossing the lake. Lots of restaurants in Bowness to suit most tastes. We didn't try the hotel as it had a function the evening we wanted to go. We did try Jackson's Bistro and The Albert. Both very different but excellent. If you want to get the most out of your stay go to the welcome evening. Lots of useful information. The staff are a real asset to the place. Welcoming, helpful, efficient. Altogether a super holiday. Would definitely go again.

Review No: 12 by Mrs Musker who stayed here on 28/09/2019 Language Flag

A well run resort with all the facilities needed for a good holiday. Particularly enjoyed the warm pool for a swim in the evenings. Bowness is a great centre for exploring the lakes and has scenic walks on the lakeside as well as places to eat. We loved the old cinema in the town.

Review No: 13 by Mr & Mrs Hemingway who stayed here on 28/09/2019 Language Flag

The decorators were there all week painting our block. Didn't think that was good enough. I complained because after the maintenance fee on our timeshare we swapped in bank of 550 your exchange fee plus electric that week cost us nearly £700. We were offered another apartment eventually but after packing up at home unpacking at barnside plus all shopping that was in fridge and freezer and a husband who is registered severely sighted and the weather that was horrendous I could not face packing and unpacking again ! I had to ask the lads at 7.45 to keep the noise down we were on holiday and still in bed plus our pup could hear them and barked! The only day we could have sat on our table and chairs because we got sun we were unable to, they were there all week. The apartment was freezing I rang about it and was told the previous people had not had the old style heating switched on it was all turned off so on the Saturday night we had the oven door open and it switched on all night. We were not offfered an electric blow heater or anything. There was a t-shirt left from before and the Dyson small hoover had to be emptied before I could use it.

Review No: 14 by Mr Bantham who stayed here on 20/07/2019 Language Flag

Apartment 40, Burnside Park. Although this is a sleeps 4 if there were 4 people this would be very cramped ,and nowhere for 4 people to sit at night other than dining chairs. The kitchen area was well equipped but there was no empty cupboards to put any groceries away other than the fridge. The bedroom was also very small with very little space around the bed. The bathroom was large and looked as if it had just been refurbished The resort itself is very nice and in a very good position for the lake and bus services around the area.

Review No: 15 by Mrs Dando who stayed here on 02/03/2019 Language Flag

Lovely one bed ground floor apartment (44) with parking outside the door. Made good use of our bus passes - 5-10 minute walk to Bowness Pier with excellent synchronized connections in Windermere to other locations.

Review No: 16 by Dr Ball who stayed here on 06/10/2018 Language Flag

Unexpected bonus week proved excellent. Close walking distance to most Bowness facilities and buses. We would recommend and return. First class resort.

Review No: 17 by Mrs Ford who stayed here on 16/06/2018 Language Flag

Compact but comfortable apartment. We didn't use the swimming pool and spa facilities so can't comment on them. Meet and Greet evening was very informative and would highly recommend it. All reception staff were exceedingly helpful and friendly. Burnside Park Owners Club was an ideal location for our first visit to the Lake District. Just 5minutes walk from the centre of Bowness and a short easy drive to Windermere, lake Connistion, Ullswater, Derwent etc. The Beatrix Potter Exhibition in Bowness and the Pencil Museum in Keswick are well worth a visit. As a Nespresso machine was provided in the apartment - capsules on sale in reception at just £3.50 for 10 - we were converted. A trip to the home of Lakeland Plastics in Windermere was essential to purchase our own Nespresso machine. The Lakeland Plastics Store was just amazing - a wonderland for anyone who is a fan of their products. Don't miss it. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Review No: 18 by Mr Edwards who stayed here on 10/06/2018 Language Flag

Very pleasant site that was efficiently run by the local staff. All the staff were very helpful. We would be happy to return to this resort on other occasions.

Review No: 19 by Mr Kent who stayed here on 19/05/2018 Language Flag

Burnside, in Bowness-in -Windermere is a great holiday destination to book an exchange. After reading reviews there was a doubt that it would appear to be very hilly as we are both 75+ and not so sure footed as we used to be. Checked with Victoria at DAE and feedback she gave was great. We had apartment 18 which is classed as Premier. Car parked right outside door and unit all on one level. Lovely little patio area which was a real sun trap. Never used car from day we arrived until departure. Local buses are very good especially open top ones. Great selection of eating places to suit all budgets. If you fancy fish and chips, look no further than Vinegar Jones.....Brilliant. Nice bakers, Brysons and if you're a supermarket shopper, there is a good (but small) Tesco. Will try for an exchange again in the future as a week is too short to see all attractions in Bowness.

Review No: 20 by Mr Henson who stayed here on 05/05/2018 Language Flag

Excellent resort and facilities in a great location. A fantastic exchange.

Review No: 21 by Mrs Geddes who stayed here on 05/05/2018 Language Flag

Property too small, disappointing exchange for our superb property in Royal Savoy during Christmas week. No daily maid service, no change of towels, had to pay for electricity. There are more luxurious properties on this site but we seemed to have been given the worst. Be aware of this when exchanging.

Review No: 22 by Mr & Mrs Roberts who stayed here on 14/04/2018 Language Flag

This resort is in an excellent location. Easy walking distance to Bowness on Windermere shops and restaurants and also to the lakeside. Our one bedroom apartment was lovely, with high quality furnishings. The kitchen was well equipped with oven, hob and microwave (even though the resort description from DAE said it would have no oven). The indoor pool with steam room, sauna & hot tubs is excellent, as is the 18 seater cinema which we had to ourselves while watching Dunkirk. I recommend this resort.

Review No: 23 by Mrs Mason who stayed here on 07/04/2018 Language Flag

We had a cosy 2 bed cottage which was perfect for our stay. The cottage was situated just a few minutes walk from Lake Windermere so an ideal position for walking in the south Lakes area. So beautiful. The property was spotless, and although worried how much the electricity would cost it came to under £20 for the week so perfectly acceptable, and we did have the heating on. We didn’t use the restaurant in the hotel so can’t comment on that but the small spa pool was excellent. There were plenty of places to eat within a few minutes walk. Staff were helpful and friendly. Would be happy to return here again.

Review No: 24 by Ms Sheeley who stayed here on 17/03/2018 Language Flag

Stayed at Burnside in March. Very clean and high standards. Cottage well located neat Bowness centre, and in hotel complex with bar, spa and a guest lounge. All together very good. Well equipped and comfortable. Spa a bonus with jacuzzi and sauna/steam rooms and pool not really suitable for laps but relaxing. Will visit again. Don't quite understand the exchange not permitted to take dogs but owner are?

Review No: 25 by Mrs Currie who stayed here on 17/03/2018 Language Flag

Had a fantastic week at the Burnside apartments. Very clean and comfortable and is in an excellent position near the centre of town.

Review No: 26 by Mr Howe who stayed here on 10/03/2018 Language Flag

Enjoyed a great exchange holiday here, easy to find and the office staff are truly excellent, the cottage was clean and tidy, it had really everything that you need for a comfortable break. A walk into Bowmore takes 5 to 10 minutes or so and the bus service to Windemere and beyond is great, the buses are all virtually new and trhe drivers I found happy to advise and give information, they depart at the advertised time and currently only run every hour, maybe more frequent duing the holiday season. Being a senior, my bus pass allowed me travel to lots of places free, in fact having parked my car car at Burnside, I had no need to use it until it was time to head for home. Good choice of restaurants within 5 or 10 minutes walk from a fish and chip restaurant to steak house restaurants. Be aware that all appliances in the cottage require electricity which has to be paid for, this includes boiling a kettle, drying towels and storage heating, the bill can be substantial if a number of peole are staying and one is not careful, however, I would happily stay here again.

Review No: 27 by Mrs Wannop who stayed here on 03/02/2018 Language Flag

Despite the weather doing it’s worst we all had a wonderful time. Due to road closures we went over the tops taking our friends to the Ratty, the views were absolutely stunning, out of this world all white with snow. Of course the ratty was closed open next week! But we had a lovely lunch in the ratty arms. Came home the long way by Whitehaven lovely day. We have stayed at the Burnside many times and never been disappointed, the update to the pool and spa is first class, and we hope to have many more stays here

Review No: 28 by Mr & Mrs Fox who stayed here on 27/01/2018 Language Flag

Jan 2018: Burnside Park Owners Club is up there with the best of timeshare resorts. It is very efficiently run with very smooth check-in and check-out. Great entertaining and comprehensive Welcome party with cheese and wine! The unit (Number 10, sleep 6) was the best equipped we've ever been in, I was even able to bake as there were weighing sales, scone cutters, pastry brush etc! The place was very clean and very comfortable (except the bed which was very uncomfortable. However we were offered a board to go under the mattress which helped somewhat). The leisure facilities were also some of the best on offer with a beautiful, albeit small, pool, 2 jacuzzi, steamroom, sauna, plunge pool and a bar that could be accessed poolside which was fab! There is also a small cinema and it is all free to use. Overall, our stay was excellent and we would definitely like to go back again in the not too distant future!

Review No: 29 by Mr Newson who stayed here on 20/01/2018 Language Flag

A very nice break in a comfortable and very well-located resort. The unit we stayed in was very warm, comfortable, well-furnished and well-equipped with car parking immediately outside. Staff at reception were very friendly and welcoming, and provided a lot of information about the area, places to visit and what was happening. There was a comfortable residents lounge with books, dvds and coffee and tea facilities But staying at this resort is very expensive. Electricity charges are very, very high and using the spa faciltiies is very expensive - £1 for one game of pool is hardly an incentive to use the facilities. Pets are not allowed except for timeshare owners even though dog bins and dog notices are all over the site. All in all a very nice and comfortable stay (if you dont use much electricity).

Review No: 30 by Mrs Chadburn who stayed here on 20/01/2018 Language Flag

Well situated resort, walking distance of Bowness and lake. Plenty of restaurants, bars, pubs. Good facilities available at adjacent hotel, including pool, spa and gym. Our apartment was well equipped and warm (metered electricity.) Overall a very good resort, we would return.

Review No: 31 by Mrs Greenway who stayed here on 16/12/2017 Language Flag

The single bedroom apartment was very well presented and heating very efficient, although quite small for four of us. Furnishings were very comfortable including the fold out bed. Obviously expect some hilly terrain but very well situated within easy walking distance of Bowness with it's variety of shops and it's lovely little cinema showing four or five films in the week, quite nice for a winter break. Sadly it was very foggy on our stay and although we could walk down to the lake, the boats were not always able to take trips to Ambleside or Lakeside. We still found plenty to do without the need for the car and but for the fog there would have been several of nice walks to do. We would definitely stay there again.

Review No: 32 by Ms Charnock who stayed here on 25/11/2017 Language Flag

This holiday venue is very close to all amenities in the Lake District and a good base for visiting the area. The property is well maintained and has the advantage of offering access to the spa facilities in the hotel next door. Although it is in the town of Bowness it feels quite secluded as it is just off the main road and has a ‘village’ feel to it due to the property being surrounded by trees. Accessible by public transport but a car is useful if you want to go further afield and not be tied to a timetable. Bowness, Windemere and Ambleside are all within easy reach. The property is all electric and the bill is paid on departure. Also available is a residents lounge where you can borrow books and dvd’s and there are drinks and snacks, paid for on departure by an honesty box system. All in all a very pleasant winter week’s stay.
Please Wait
Please Wait