Customer reviews for "St Mellion International Resort"

There are 40 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mrs & Mr Hunt who stayed here on 23/12/2019 Language Flag

We stayed in lodge no 4 which has an amazing view over golf course. The lodge was above our expectations with spacious kitchen and lounge area. A separate dining room with a large table and patio with table and chairsTwo huge bedrooms both with 2 double-beds and large en-suite with both shower and corner bath. Each bedroom had patio doors to a small patio. The pools in spa area were all really good. We had 3 meals in Restaurant, including Christmas dinner. All were very good indeed St Mellions is certainly a place I would visit again.

Review No: 2 by Mrs Woolfrey who stayed here on 16/11/2019 Language Flag

Accommodation in a lovely setting. However the downstairs was "tired" kitchen needs a refit and lounge furniture needs upgrading. We arrived after 4pm on a cold wet November day and would have appreciated it if the heating had been set to come on prior to our arrival. We assumed that the unit isn't in regular winter use so it was very cold and with just one radiator in the lounge (nothing in the open plan kitchen area) it took a considerable time for it to become comfortable. Can't comment on spa facilities as regrettably unable to use them due to an injury.

Review No: 3 by Mrs Shearn who stayed here on 16/11/2019 Language Flag

As usual we simply lived in the lodge, we did not use any of the resort facilities. Once again we found a place where no consideration is given to those of small stature! Shower heads, hooks on doors, bathroom cabinet, basic crockery well out of reach of two of our party, both max 5 ' tall. OK for me at 5'6" and reasonably athletic. Instructions for the microwave were completely incomprehensible and those for the heating timer did not apply to the clock supplied. Newspaper deliveries were unreliable: wrong paper one day, non-delivery another and argument re Telegraph vouchers. We were asked to produce them in advance of deliveries which we did but on checking out no-one seemed to know about this and they tried to charge for all. Superficially the lodge was well-presented but it didn't take long to find little bits of glass in the carpet catching the sun and plenty of dust gathered in less obvious spots. We weren't looking for faults but couldn't help noticing them. Several failed light bulbs were dealt with promptly tho' it took two visits by the electrician. The beds were very comfortable and we all slept well. The showers were excellent, tho' hazardous to get out of due to their plinths and no grab rails, but it took ages to get hot water out of the washbasin and sink taps, leading to significant waste or abandoning the idea and boiling a kettle! The dishwasher did a good job, providing its switches were pushed much harder than expected! We had a good week exploring the area and enjoyed ourselves despite some indifferent weather. It was good to come back each afternoon to a warm and comfortable "home". Despite the faults described this is probably the best place we have stayed through DAE.

Review No: 4 by Mr Williams who stayed here on 17/08/2019 Language Flag

The property is very old , kitchen has been updated but rest is old . View is great , bed is amazing very comfy , towels I think were new so they were great . Hotel very golf minded , 4* trying to be 5* , beer n food expensive. A few very nice pubs local with great food .

Review No: 5 by Mr Randon who stayed here on 08/06/2019 Language Flag

A unit (37) which sleeps 2/4 set in a good location with views over a valley with a lake. Good sized rooms which were clean. The furnishings and fittings were a little tired but overall we were pleased with the accommodation. A good location to explore the local area and Cornwall generally.

Review No: 6 by Miss Davies who stayed here on 30/03/2019 Language Flag

We stayed in Lodge 4 which was a superb lodge overlooking the golf course, so quiet and private. We had 2 large ensuite bedrooms and there was a third pull down bed in the separate dining room if required. It would perhaps be expensive to heat during winter months since very high ceilings. There was a very private outside patio with gas barbeque, lovely for summer months. We did not use the pool area but looked very good. Unless going for a golfing holiday a car is definitely necessary to visit the coast but be aware a satnav will lead down some very challenging narrow roads! It is possible to plan routes using main roads going via Callington where there is a large Tesco. We visited Looe and Polperro, Fowey and Polkerris, all well worth a visit. All sbout 45 minutes to 1hour away. Downderry, Portwrinkle and Rame Head on another day. Cotehele and Cotehele Quay very close National Trust property, interesting with lovely gardens. Llanhydrock House on the way to Bodmin is an excellent National Trust property also well worth a visit. Thank you DAE for arranging this great exchange. Hopefully we will be able to visit again.

Review No: 7 by Mr & Mrs Cowburn who stayed here on 12/01/2019 Language Flag

St Mellion is a lovely resort. The swimming facilities are some of the better ones, having a swimmers pool, family pool and a toddlers pool, as well as jacuzzi, steam room etc. We enjoyed some treatments on the Sunday followed by a light lunch in Bar 18. We are not golfers, but the greens seemed well looked after. Our lodge 39 was more than adequate for 2, the kitchen had recently been refurbished and had all you needed. As it was January we didn't use outside, but there was a balcony off the bedroom and a patio downstairs, both having a nice outlook/views. It has a drop down double bed in dining/lounge for another 2, but no privacy, which could be easily achieved with a little rearranging of the room by the resort. Plenty to do in the area. We took our bikes and rode the Drakes Way which goes from Tavistock to Plymouth, good surface and fairly flat. Would go again.

Review No: 8 by Ms McClelland who stayed here on 23/12/2018 Language Flag

Fab stay in Lodge 20 over Christmas. Lodges are very spacious (6 berth) clean, with excellent facilities & well maintained. Decor is slightly dated (certains etc) but this didn't deter our enjoyment of the lodge in any way. Leisure facilities are great, we used the pool and the gym. Would love to stay again, thanks for a great stay.

Review No: 9 by Mr Oakley who stayed here on 08/12/2018 Language Flag

Our Lodge was very spacious, with large rooms and a lovely kitchen. We were surprised to find there was a sauna in our Lodge, although we didn't use it. The swimming pools and gym were excellent. We had a really peaceful week, as there seemed to be no-one staying in any of the nearby Lodges. Our Lodge was quite a long way from the main Reception & hotel & throughout the week the outside lights along the road near our Lodge were not working. It was pitch black outside & the narrow windy roads made it difficult to park the car on the drive. We never attempted to walk to the main building because of this. We were told the lights were broken.

Review No: 10 by Mr Berry who stayed here on 24/11/2018 Language Flag

The lodge, number 8 was very comfortable in many ways, the heating was efficient, the grounds were well attended despite the weather not being too good for part of the week., The meals were expensive, which we did not have, the coffee and drinks were over priced, even one of the members said that, the biggest over pricing was the electricity at the end of the week, at £102.68 for a week compared with other Timeshare places was extortionate. This needs to be addressed.

Review No: 11 by Mrs Phillips who stayed here on 03/11/2018 Language Flag

Superb location for exploring Devon and Cornwall. Lodge 1 was spacious, well equipped, warm (although £60 electric bill) and good in all respects. Pity about the Cornish weather as rained all week but can recommend visits to Lost Gardens of Heligan, Cotehole and Eden project even on a wet day.

Review No: 12 by Mrs Stanton who stayed here on 08/09/2018 Language Flag

Stunning location and fabulous property in terms of design and size but let down by poor standard of cleanliness, i.e. cobwebs throughout property, dirty windows and floor areas not exactly clean especially in bathroom areas, some TLC required in bathrooms, areas of mould are not particularly inviting, and someone had left a large amount of tissue paper on the floor in the sauna. Staff where very courteous in reception but let down by maintenance, 3 times we had to report a water leak issue in the main bathroom and even when supposedly attended to was still not satisfactory and not fully resolved. Some shortages on inventory not dealt with after previous occupants vacated and hassle over electricity readings as form not left as stated. Improve in these few issues and would be 5 star without doubt

Review No: 13 by Mrs Richards who stayed here on 23/06/2018 Language Flag

Firstly I must thank those at DAE who found us this swap. Based at the St Mellion International golf resort, the timeshare area is sadly ( in my opinion) unsuitable for elderly people and those with limited mobility unless they have their own transport or can afford taxis. That aside, the only negative side for me (note I don't say us !!!), was the poor wifi connection (even though the property had its own router).. A few minutes drive from the main resort and down a hill we came to our granite lodge (Lodge 2 Warleggan). It was so large we initially thought we would be in a semi detached lodge. However it was all ours for a week. Through the front door and on the left a utility room including a washing machine and toilet. In the foyer a telephone and router. Then into a massive lounge/breakfast bar/kitchen area. Off to the left, 2 massive en suite bedrooms - each with TWO double beds and its own patio area accessed via french doors. On the right from the open plan area a large dining area with a pull down bed. This area also had a patio which included a barbecue. The resort facilities including swimming pool are available for those in the lodges. Staff all very friendly and helpful. So many places to go nearby. One day we drove the 11 miles to Liskeard, caught the train to Truro, then another train to Falmouth. Later we took the boat upriver to Truro to catch the train back to Liskeard, but not having had enough of the day, drove the dozen or so miles to Looe where we found a superb, reasonably priced seafood restaurant. Other places within short(ish) driving distance are Eden Project, Charlestown, Fowey, Polperro, Plymouth, Morwellham Quay, Bude and Padstow.

Review No: 14 by Mr Stacey who stayed here on 12/05/2018 Language Flag

We have stayed before at the 2 bedroom lodges and this was our first time in a one bedroom lodge. No 35. The whole house is badly in need of refurbishment. The leather suite is badly worn. The kitchen hood is old fashioned, sticks out into the very small kitchen and we frequently banged our heads on the cooker hood which was not clean. The bowls were so small they were infant children size, as were the small plates and mugs. The second bed if four people were staying would be impossible to put down as the dining table is directly in front of it. There would be nowhere to move it to. To negotiate suitcases up and down the staircase is dangerous. The lighting in the bedroom was dreadful and not possible to just have just a side light on. There was no furniture to enable sitting on the large balcony upstairs. Overall very disappointing.

Review No: 15 by Mr Martin who stayed here on 12/05/2018 Language Flag

Just returned from an excellent week at St.Mellion International Resort. We were in lodge 2 Warleggan, we were blown away when we walked through the door! it was much more than we had expected. The only thing lacking was a small shop to be able to pick up a few essential's as and when, however Tesco's was just 3mls up the road at Callington so no great detriment. We would certainly enjoy another visit their in the future.

Review No: 16 by Mr Fursman who stayed here on 28/04/2018 Language Flag

We had a lovely stay at this resort which is conveniently situated for visiting many attractions. With so much history on offer, together with NT places and other stately homes, coupled with glorious countryside, all one needs is some good weather! Our weather was reasonable but unseasonably cold. Consequently, our lodge was cold and we struggled to operate the night storage heaters which didn't seem to correspond to the instructions for storage heaters found in the lodge. Hardly surprising as they turned out to NOT BE storage heaters at all! Surely, a few words on arrival along the lines of, "By the way, the heating in the lodge is not storage heaters but instant heating so just set the units to..." would have been very helpful and would have made our first few days a lot more comfortable. Nevertheless, a lovely stay at an excellent resort. Neil and Pat Fursman, Midsomer Norton, Somerset

Review No: 17 by Mr Jossaume who stayed here on 31/03/2018 Language Flag

Lots of space in the 2 bedroom lodge including a pull down bed in the dining room. The lounge and bedroom furnishings are tired and in need of modernising (although there is a modern SMART TV). There also appeared to be only one double power socket per bedroom. The kitchen has clearly been recently refurbished and is excellent. Whilst there is WIFI in the lodge we did have some issues with the connection dropping out. Our lodge number 5 was in a quiet location overlooking part of the golf course. The swimming pool was very good and kept in a clean condition apart from the gents changing area needing the floors swept a bit more often. We only ate in the resort on one night however it was good food and good value. Overall we had a very enjoyable week and found St Mellion a good base for exploring Cornwall

Review No: 18 by Mr Whapplington who stayed here on 17/03/2018 Language Flag

A very relaxing week. Ideally situated for South West attractions.

Review No: 19 by Mr Southgate who stayed here on 10/03/2018 Language Flag

Very good 4* resort.

Review No: 20 by Mrs Taylor who stayed here on 17/02/2018 Language Flag

I've been here a few times, and love it here. Ideal location for touring, or just relaxing by the pool. The staff are really helpful. I hope to return soon.

Review No: 21 by Mrs Hall who stayed here on 03/02/2018 Language Flag

We stayed in Lodge 4 which was very spacious with lovely views of the golf course. The bedrooms were huge with 2 double beds in each of them. The kitchen was very well appointed with good appliances and lots of utensils. The swimming pool was lovely and warm with jacuzzi and sauna. We ate at the grill restaurant which was very good. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming. As stated in previous reviews, be prepared to pay quite a lot for electricity if you go during the winter months as the lodges take a lot of heating. You definitely need a car to get around in this area. All in all a lovely break.

Review No: 22 by Mrs Rolston who stayed here on 09/12/2017 Language Flag

A lovely resort. This was our sixth visit and enjoyed our holiday very much as usual. The kitch area had been upgraded and was well equipped. We were warm on a very cold week. Heating charge quite high but we wanted to be warm. Beautiful views across the golf course. Comfortable beds. Free wifi. We look forward to going back next year.

Review No: 23 by Miss Sweett who stayed here on 25/11/2017 Language Flag

Lovely lodge well appointed. Would not be so easy to find in the dark! A thoroughly good break in beatiful surroundings. Thank you Dae.

Review No: 24 by Mr Avery who stayed here on 18/11/2017 Language Flag

Reception very good, a few errors on pick up's, dinner bookings and the time were allowed into our unit. Towels not changed in our unit during our stay and was quite difficult to keep our unit warm small details !. Pool area and staff Lovely. Restaurant staff and food V/Good. A BIG PLUS, I contacted Steven Moss And Laura, who sorted us out with a 2 Bed, very kind, we were made very welcome at their cream tea afternoon, the new Manager joined us very open and friendly. We wish them all well !!! and pass on our thanks !. Kind Regards Tim And Sue Avery.

Review No: 25 by Mr Northcott who stayed here on 18/11/2017 Language Flag

Site as described. Well used and busy golf resort. Very good Restaurant, bar and leisure facilities. Ideal location for touring the area.

Review No: 26 by Mr & Mrs Samuel who stayed here on 18/11/2017 Language Flag

Although we had stayed at St Mellion before, it was the first time we had stayed in a 2 bedroom unit. It was amazingly spacious with a sauna & we had a wonderfully relaxing week. Considering the time of year, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay & found plenty to do within a short distance. On one day we caught the bus from the entrance to St.Mellion to Plymouth, which saved us the hassle of parking. On our last evening we dined in the restaurant on site & could not fault the food or the service & would definitely recommend. We would not hesitate to return.

Review No: 27 by Mr Stacey who stayed here on 28/10/2017 Language Flag

The three piece suite in our lodge was in need of replacement with well worn arms but apart from that the overall standard was well above average.

Review No: 28 by Mr Schofield who stayed here on 21/10/2017 Language Flag

Excellent accommodation,lovely views from the lodge,brilliant in all respects. Lots of interesting places to visit nearby,would definitely stay at the resort again

Review No: 29 by Mr Castle who stayed here on 23/09/2017 Language Flag

Ever thing was 1st class. I could quite happily live in the lodge permanently. You do need your car as the loges are quite remote from the main buildings.

Review No: 30 by Mr & Mrs Shelley who stayed here on 16/09/2017 Language Flag

The lodges provide a very high standard of spacious accommodation. They are however away from the main facilities. To get to the facilities necessitates a fifteen minute walk (not an option if it's pouring down!) or a car ride. However to park the car in front of the hotel is difficult - car spaces are very much at a premium. There is an option to request free transport from the lodges but this is reliant upon staff members being available to provide this service. Towels for the swimming pool, for lodge guests are available at a charge (£2 at the time of our stay - Sept 2017) If it is cold during the stay it can be expensive (heating wise) because the electricity is metered, to be paid at the end of your stay. We did not skimp on the heating and the cost for one week was £16.13p. These are points we thought we would mention for future guests. Otherwise we had a wonderful stay, the resort is close to many National Trust properties and other interesting areas. The staff at the hotel are exceptionally friendly and extremely helpful. The resort itself is peaceful and in very pleasant surroundings.

Review No: 31 by Mr Dancy who stayed here on 19/08/2017 Language Flag

We were delighted with the accommodation, which was well equipped and very clean. The leisure facilities were first class and the No. 18 Restaurant very well priced with good selection of food, which was well presented. Ample private and secure parking is available, adjacent to each property. Located close to Saltash, it is ideally situated between Cornwall's North and South coasts. You would be hard pressed to fault this resort and we would not have any hesitation in recommending it and will certainly look to stay again. Without doubt, the best exchange we have had via DAE, and they have all been excellent to date !!

Review No: 32 by Mr & Mrs Turner who stayed here on 12/08/2017 Language Flag

Our first time at a St Mellion lodge and what an experience. The setting on a golf course, the accommodation which was beautiful so much equipment in the kitchen most of which I never got to use as there was so much to do in the area. The swimming pool and gym complex was so fantastic and catered for every need. It was so easy to reach and central to so many attractions.

Review No: 33 by Mr Buckley who stayed here on 27/05/2017 Language Flag

Our lodge (no. 2) proved to be a very large and well-equipped unit, comprising two double bedrooms (each housing two double beds and with its own ensuite), a huge open-plan lounge and kitchen area, a separate dining room and a utility room with a washer-dryer, WC and washbasin. An unusual touch was that the management will, if you wish, deliver your newspaper evry morning. All in all, the lodge is attractive and very comfortable and I have no hesitation in recommending it to other DAE clients.

Review No: 34 by Mrs Lee who stayed here on 06/05/2017 Language Flag

superb accommodation, the view from this lodge was delightful, and surrounded by immaculate kept golf course.

Review No: 35 by Dr Neale who stayed here on 29/04/2017 Language Flag

The upstairs bathroom : holder for shower over bath was broken and so had to be held all the time, although that was irrelevant as the bath did not drain anyway so you had to stand in dirty water. This problem was rectified after the bank holiday so had to use the downstairs shower until then which involved walking down a cold spiral staircase to access it from the bedroom which was upstairs. The mattress covers looked grubby. The furniture looks very worn and leather sofa in particular badly scuffed by previous guests' sitting perhaps with belts ,zips etc. otherwise the lodges are very nice and the staff too. We enjoyed our stay despite the few irritations and the swimming pool complex is excellent

Review No: 36 by Mr Cansdale who stayed here on 29/04/2017 Language Flag

Resort is well kept and is tied to the hotel complex. The units are dated as many timeshare resorts are. We had some issues with the unit, which despite reporting through to the reception on more than one occasion were not resolved, during our stay. On the final night we booked into the An Boesti restaurant only to find out from the restaurant manager our arrival that the restaurant was not going to open that evening after all. He did offer his apologies and partly redeemed the situation by booking us into the 18 restaurant with a gratuitous bottle of wine but we would have preferred to eat elsewhere had we known that the restaurant wasn't going to open. Overall an enjoyable week, visiting National Trust properties/gardens and playing golf.

Review No: 37 by Mr & Mrs Kendle who stayed here on 08/04/2017 Language Flag

One of the best resorts we have stayed at in the UK since 1989. Very spacious, fantastic views over the golf course, excellent swimming pool complex. Could not fault anything at all.

Review No: 38 by Mr Russell who stayed here on 25/03/2017 Language Flag

Lodge is not sutable for anyone with walking difficulties, There are 2 steps up to the front door and a sprial staircase to the bedroom and upper bathroom. Four of the appliances did not work, hob, extractor, microwave and washing machine, light at top of stairs out, broken boards in Sauna with nails protruding. Hob was fixed by calling reception Tuesday AM., who talked me through the procedure for removing the "Child Lock", Hob now OK. Microwave, maintance called in whilst out and fixed. Extractor still not working after call (5 days) Washing machine, Called reception 9:30am, called again 10:30am and was told the maintance had been informed and would come in due time, no time given so had to unload machine. Still not working when returned on Thursday PM., had to go on the web to find a manual to be able to apperate it. The in lodge manuals were for appliances not in the lodge. i.e. in lodge Whirlpool, manual Hotpoint. The furnishings are sad to poor, The heating is electric and needed to be on all the time to make the rooms liveable. Expect the electricity bill be high. Good point WiFi godd and free.

Review No: 39 by Mrs Wagstaff who stayed here on 18/03/2017 Language Flag

A very restful and enjoyable holiday.

Review No: 40 by Mr Smith who stayed here on 25/02/2017 Language Flag

Relaxing stay. Meal in the brasserie was very good .Loved the place but unit 35 does need updating and is on the lists to be done next year. Loved the swimming pools and the whole ambiance of the place. It was lovely to be invited to a cream tea meeting, which was very pleasant and a nice idea.
Please Wait
Please Wait