Customer reviews for "Kilconquhar Castle Estate"

There are 27 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr & Mrs Hastie who stayed here on 19/09/2020 Language Flag

Our week's stay was in the Gatehouse which was full of character and amazing furnishings. However we found the house cold as the heaters were not very effective. We were pretty unhappy with the state of the bathroom as the blind was grubby as was the floor area near the bath. It most definitely needs updating. There was a picnic table outside but its condition was too poor to use. The kitchen was bright and had most requirements for our stay and the hob, oven and dishwasher were all easy to operate. The bedding we felt could do with updating. WiFi was a big issue as it fell off frequently and had to be reconnected often. Reception staff were very good on our contact over the telephone due to Covid. We enjoyed our meal at the Bistro. The village of Kilconquhar is lovely and is a great area to stay.

Review No: 2 by Mr Forrester who stayed here on 28/02/2020 Language Flag

The estate has around 40 bungalows well spread out with good parking. Ours was a three bedroom with plenty of room and well equipped. The castle has flats and dining room and function room. The food was excellent. WE had the steak night and the full Scottish meal in the baronial hall which also included a breakfast the following day. Lots to see and do within 20 miles, the nearest beach is about 3 miles and the villages along the Fife Coastal Path are beautiful. St Andrews is worth a day. A bit further away is the Falkirk Wheel and the Kelpies. Most places have free parking which is a bonus. An excellent exchange.

Review No: 3 by Mrs Horner who stayed here on 22/02/2020 Language Flag

Had a nice week at Kilconquhar Castle. All staff were very pleasant and helpful, nothing too much trouble. There's a shop in the leisure centre where you can get fresh bread rolls and newspapers (order day before at reception). Extra toilet rolls, dishwasher salt, tablets etc are available at reception if needed. The grounds were lovely and well kept and activities (except for the pedal cars and bicycles) were free of charge. It's very dog friendly and they are allowed in the Bistro (until 5pm)staff even allowed in the leisure centre. The food in both the Bistro and the Lyndsey Room restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. We ate in the Lyndsey restaurant (only open on a Wed & must be booked in advance as popular), and at £22.50 each for 3 courses & a free full breakfeast next day was excellent value. The unit we were in (CS1) was large and the furnishings and appliances were very good quality but dated and could do with a makeover. Some appliances didn't work very efficiently i.e. electric runs, and the microwave could do with replacing as it had some rust patches.some crockery, cutlery etc were mismatched no measuring jug or small mixing bowl (for baby's bottle etc) which would have been useful. The unit is all electric & downside was the cost. Kept heating as low as possible & were out & about during the day but still cost around £70 even though 1 bedroom unused for 4days. Overall really enjoyed our time at Kilconquhar which is a lovely place & a picturesque area - St Andrews & surrounding villages worth visiting. Would definitely go back but probably in spring/summer to make best use of the extensive grounds and activities like the putting green & extensive adventure playground.

Review No: 4 by Mr Baker who stayed here on 09/11/2019 Language Flag

No real adverse comment. Bistro restaurant, good food and variety, service. Large apartment, well furnished and equipped. Staff every where cheerful and helpful. Very welcoming to dogs. Large estate for local walks. Good area for golfers - 57 golf courses in Fife. Close to walks on coast path and food and drink in pubs good and cheap. Very enjoyable week.

Review No: 5 by Mr Turnbull who stayed here on 01/11/2019 Language Flag

very comfortable accommodation and the bonus of a bistro on site with imaginative menus was much appreciated

Review No: 6 by Mr Connell who stayed here on 05/10/2019 Language Flag

Furniture and fitting a bit tired and kitchen area particularly not very clean. Also there was only one 7 inch frying pan supplied for a self catering 8 berth apartment

Review No: 7 by Mr & Mrs Swindlehurst who stayed here on 13/09/2019 Language Flag

Kilconquhar is a lovely place.We were in Villa 40 . A 2 bedroom sleep 6. The Villa was in a lightly wooded area with views over a lovely mown expanse of grass( frequented by the most rabbits we’ve ever counted ! ) We requested the twin beds to be put together , a request that was no bother at all . The staff that we met were brilliant . The beds comfortable ,kitchen had dishwasher and washing machine and good size fridge freezer, A good size dining table , 2 large leather settees (not over comfy ) plus a chair enough seating for 6. All the Villa was clean .The 2 things we had a small gripe about was the lack of vegetable knifes(sharpe) , for preparing vedge . And the lack of a shower in the main bedroom en-suite , just a basin and toilet, and a massive spa type round bath that takes up a large space in the corner of the bedroom. The bathroom across the hall had a shower. Wi-Fi wasn't too great , . But having said that it served our purpose. The surrounding area is lovely , walks , beaches , fish and chips at Anstruther are good . We were blessed with good weather as well ,so all in all a very enjoyable week thanks

Review No: 8 by Mr Dudley who stayed here on 23/08/2019 Language Flag

This is probably the best resort we have stayed in over many years. We were fortunate to have Castle Suite 3 which is within the main building. This is a very spacious & airy apartment with lounge/ dining room overlooking the well kept grounds. The kitchen was well equipped with another separate dining area. The bedrooms were large and both had en-suite facilities. We used the bistro on 3 occasions and the restaurant once - both are excellent. The food was well prepared and the service good.

Review No: 9 by Mr & Mrs Clemson who stayed here on 07/06/2019 Language Flag

Our tranquil Villa no. 52 was large and spacious with a view to a vast tree planted meadow on one side and a grass area with parking close to the front door on the other. A back door which was also to the front opened to reveal a strong heavy dustbin which was emptied three times a week. We stayed fro Friday to Friday in this beautiful resort. The three bedrooms each had ensuite facilities and here we found that between all three we had sufficient equipment although there was only one bath which was for the two single bed room. This bath was narrow and my husband had great difficulty in getting out of it and had to always have a shower after the first encounter. The jacussi also was difficult for him and he did not attempt it. There was excellent hot water and heaters which responded easily to being switched on, each one independently. After the weekend, we had the doorbell ring and maintenance man to ask if all was well. Our bathtowels were changed on Tuesday without charge. The tin opener in the kitchen was not working and had to be replaced. The eye level fridge with freezer below was good and the wide cutlery drawer spanned the width under the cooker and unit beside it. Some shelves were too high and unreachable with no steps provided. In one way the Villa was aimed at giants but in another, with the bath taken into consideration, we can only imagine it was for children. The furniture in the huge lounge was colossal armchairs and sofa in leatherette and heavy and immovable. The television was extremely big and very good indeed. Carpeted throughout with two shallow steps, the cat played in the vast space of the lounge and enjoyed viewing the rabbits and squirrels outside through the tall wide window. We used cushions to sit at table as again it was for tall people. The bistro provided an excellent evening meal and with very good service.

Review No: 10 by Mrs Hodgson who stayed here on 31/05/2019 Language Flag

Castle apartment 4 is not really suitable for people who have mobility problems due to stairs to access. Once inside only 2 steps into lounge & there is a good walk-in shower. However some hand rails would be helpful.

Review No: 11 by Professor Wardle who stayed here on 01/03/2019 Language Flag

Fabulous place to go. What more could I say, highly recommended.

Review No: 12 by Mr Dickson who stayed here on 23/02/2019 Language Flag

The 4 bed villa had plenty of room and the grandchildren loved the freedom. A few things missing but was resolved by the staff. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Took my grandson to the horse riding and again the staff were excellent. The gentleman was so friendly and exceptionally good with my grandson. Over all we had a great time. There was stairs coming off one of the bedrooms taking you to a massive room with nothing in it. What a waste.

Review No: 13 by Mr Stevely who stayed here on 19/01/2019 Language Flag

The resort is set in beautiful grounds and very close to the villages of the East Neuk. We had Villa 6 which was a 4 bed sleeps 8. Big and spacious, clean but furnishings could be updated. The sofas were saggy, beds uncomfortable and fixtures and fittings dated. Kitchen equipment was reasonable but the crockery was horrible, stoneware plates in unusual sizes which didn’t keep food warm. As others have commented the electricity charges are astronomical. As there were only two of us we switched off the second hot water tank and also the panel heaters in all the rooms we weren’t using. Only putting on the heater in the bedroom we were using at night. As we have a stove at home we took our own coal & logs, our bill for the week was £49.81, If we had left everything on it would have been way over £100. I noticed that they were refurbishing villas but they didn’t appear to be changing the heating, it would likely be much better visiting in summer when heating isn’t required. The villa also has a sauna but I dread to think what effect using it would do to the bill. There is a sauna in the leisure centre which ch was very good and quiet during our visit. There’s also swimming pool, fitness room and tennis / badminton court. Outside there was a golf driving range, putting green and tennis courts. The resort also offers horse riding at all levels.

Review No: 14 by Mrs Chalmers who stayed here on 24/11/2018 Language Flag

Wonderful resort in a beautiful area of Scotland, close to St Andrews and some lovely beaches. We've stayed here twice and both units have been very spacious, with the 3 bedrooms units having 3 bathrooms. Grounds are well maintained, swimming pool, gym and leisure centre are adequate and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The White Cockade Bistro is a real gem ! We ate here on a few occasions, breakfast and dinner were reasonably priced and the choice and dishes were varied and well cooked. The bonus for us was pets are allowed - our dogs loved it and the resorts caters well for dogs welcomes them into the Bistro during the day. Will definitely visit again.

Review No: 15 by Mr & Mrs Dyson who stayed here on 02/11/2018 Language Flag

When we arrived it was dark and we were pretty tired we were in. Castle 6 it was a lovely three bed apartment only problem it was three flights up . It was so bad getting up with luggage and I have a disability my husband has angina.They were very good and moved us on the Sunday as there was a wedding on the Saturday.we ended up in a villa which was so good had a great holiday and look forward to the next. Must remember when booking again to find out if there are lots of stairs.

Review No: 16 by Mr Assitt who stayed here on 01/09/2018 Language Flag

Lodge 34 was lovely and spacious and very clean on arrival with good quality fittings we loved the midweek towel change at no extra cost and also the outdoor hot tub. If there was a slight criticism it would be that the bed we slept in was too soft and the settee a bit uncomfortable due to being well worn and the cushions having bottomed out. We loved the Fife coastal path walks ,Isle of May boat trip ,Fish and chips in Anstruther ,beautiful St Andrews,loch fishing and thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay in that lodge again. Thank you DAE for another fantastic exchange

Review No: 17 by Mr & Mrs Allison who stayed here on 08/06/2018 Language Flag

The staff were exceptional and could not help more. We ate in the Bistro one evening and this was very nice indeed. Whole estate is very clean, open and welcoming. The unit (Villa 52) was good but the beds and general fittings were showing some their age. Lighting is always difficult due to low wattage bulbs. Very good location for visiting the East Neuk of Fife which is very beautiful.

Review No: 18 by Mr Kemp who stayed here on 01/06/2018 Language Flag

Comfortable accommodation in convenient part of East Fife

Review No: 19 by Mrs Lay who stayed here on 04/05/2018 Language Flag

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Kilconquhar - the estate itself is in a beautiful location and the grounds are extremely well kept. However, I was slightly disappointed in the condition of our unit - Castle Suite 3 - there was a dangerous lurk in the kitchen flooring, in front of the dishwasher; whilst not unclean, felt it could have been cleaner; the living-room was comfortable; the master bedroom had curtains with rips in the lining, the pillows were of a very poor standard and there was a distinct lack of chairs in what was a very large bedroom, whilst the ensuite had a spa bath, it DID NOT have a shower - to have a shower, the ensuite in the second bedroom had to be used, which was not handy, especially with guests there.

Review No: 20 by Mr & Mrs Kerr who stayed here on 14/04/2018 Language Flag

Loved the location. We were in The Pines. Traditional cottage. Very spacious, quiet and private. Kilconquhar is well placed to enjoy walking the lovely coastal paths . There’s an hourly bus service , 95, between St. Andrews and Leven which you can get in Kilconqhar which takes you through all the coastal towns. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. There’s tennis courts, swimming pool, putting, golf range etc on site but we didn’t have time to use many facilities as we were out and about. If the weather is nice and the puffins are on the island I’d recommend the trip from Anstruther to the Isle of May. We’d a great day out there. Thank you DAE and Kilconqhar Castle Estates. We’d a great holiday and look forward to exchanging there again, hopefully in the near future.

Review No: 21 by Mr Pearson who stayed here on 09/03/2018 Language Flag

Wonderful resort, great people and a warm welcome from all members of staff. We were staying in the Garden Flat. Whilst given a line on the map in reception it proved imposable to find. Our friendly receptionist came along to show us the way. Problem being, there was was no sign on the door. It should have been called the "Secret Garden Flat" after the "Secret Bunker" which went to visit during our stay. The appartment was comfortable and well equipped. It had a wonderful conservatory, which had there been better weather was potentaly a sun trap. We were but a couple of seconds from the bar/resurant and the same came be said of the pool and resort shop. We also had a designated car park space, Eveything was easy and verymuch to hand. The meals in the resturant were very good and resonably priced. There was a pre booking plan, which we used most nights. We set off each day and had a light lunch out and enjoyed our dinner at the resort each evening. We did enjoy the villages and the small shops that are all around the area. St Andrews was worth a visit and had some interesting walks round the town. Whilst there we also enjoyed watching Drag Racing, a country food fair, whisky tasting, the Secret Bunker (Well worth a visit, but do allow time to view the films) feeding the resort horses and seeing the huge waves as they crashed over the sea walls. We had a wonderful time dispite the weather. We would love to come back in the summer.

Review No: 22 by Mrs Lymburn who stayed here on 02/03/2018 Language Flag

We were at the resort during The Beast from the East. Jim Vance MD was exceptional in the running of the resort in exceptional circumstances. We were lucky to be able to obtain a bonus week which allowed us to stay the extra days until it was safe to travel. We preferred the 3 bed accommodation to the 4 bed as was much lighter. Facitilies on resort were excellent. Ideal position for discovering Fife. Would definitely visit again.

Review No: 23 by Mr & Mrs Gerrard who stayed here on 23/02/2018 Language Flag

Lounge / kitchen / dining area had been refurbished to a good standard. Bedrooms were partly refurbished. En suite bathroom was nice but main bathroom was dated ( dark blue corner bath ) and second bedroom had a sink, and shower with plastic curtain in the room and this looked ridiculous and was not practical. Swimming pool was lovely and warm and staff were very friendly and helpful. The area is beautiful and St Andrews is a must. Unfortunately, part way through our stay we experienced terrible weather ( heavy snow and blizzardconditions) and some services we're just not possible . The resort was cut off to deliveries of food and most staff were unable to get into work. However the staff who did make it into work did all that they could to make our stay as comfortable as possible at such a difficult time. We would like to revisit in warmer climes !

Review No: 24 by Mrs Terry who stayed here on 08/12/2017 Language Flag

An excellent location for exploring the Fife coast. Spacious villa but definatly not cosy, it was a cold week when we were there and electric heating is very expensive, also the lighting could be better. What a shame that the Bistro / Pub is not dog friendly as the resort is great for dogs. Villa was a little dated and a few maintenance issues should be dealt with, interestingly the resort does not seem to be interested in feedback.

Review No: 25 by Mr Dougall who stayed here on 03/11/2017 Language Flag

We were given an apartment at the top of the original castle building and there was no lift and we had to carry our luggage up three flights of stairs. The apartment was very tired and facilities poor. I can only assume we were given this particular apartment as it was a bonus week given to us for buying gold membership and paying in advance.

Review No: 26 by Ms Hutchison who stayed here on 28/10/2017 Language Flag

Great resort. Good location and lovely villa. Swimming pool and changing rooms need some tlc.

Review No: 27 by Mr & Mrs Gillanders who stayed here on 27/10/2017 Language Flag

Thoroughly enjoyable week. Staff all friendly and extremely helpful. Facilities on site good. Villa a little bit tired in some areas but as we were staying with two dogs we actually felt more at ease than in an immaculate property. Very dog friendly with walks on site.
Please Wait
Please Wait