Customer reviews for "Cwm Chwefru Country Cottages"

There are 35 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr & Mrs Skidmore who stayed here on 02/11/2019 Language Flag

Beautiful views from the cottage and well equipped. Lovely walks in the area and friendly staff

Review No: 2 by Mr & Mrs Mckinley who stayed here on 12/10/2019 Language Flag

Been there 14 years ago it was exactly the same so we new how quiet it was . Just what we were looking for

Review No: 3 by Mr & Mrs Mckinley who stayed here on 12/10/2019 Language Flag

These cottages are set in a very beautiful location which is very quiet but suited us. Pillows and towels were a little tired and due for replacement but the living room was comfortable. Coffee table had games inside to play, e.g. chess and draughts. Good games room for those with children but also good for adults. Large T.V., computer games, DVD's, toys, pool table, books.

Review No: 4 by Mr Hart Venn who stayed here on 12/10/2019 Language Flag

If one is seeking a tranquil and peaceful break “away from it all “, there is nowhere better. The helpfulness and friendliness of Amy and the staff is outstanding. Our second autumn visit to the cottages and “just what the doctor ordered “!

Review No: 5 by Mr Pepler who stayed here on 28/09/2019 Language Flag

We had a very warm welcome from the friendly & efficient staff. The grounds and lake are beautiful and peaceful with lots of wildlife. Access to our 1st floor apartment was via a rather steep outdoor staircase which could be a problem for some guests, particularly during rough weather. We had everything we needed except for a deep freeze which could be a drawback particularly for more than 2 guests. If not self catering every day the fridge which has a small freezer compartment would probably be adequate. The full size dishwasher and plentiful crockery would be particularly useful if more than 2 guests. Evening meals in the resort restaurant were only an option certain days of the week and only for a a minimum of guests pre-booking, probably because we were there off-season but that didn't bother us as we had planning to self-cater. We enjoyed the remote location of this resort which could only be accessed by a narrow 1¼ mile lane on the hillside with only 7 or 8 passing places and several blind corners! However, we only saw one other vehicle and lots of sheep on the lane during our stay. We were told that WiFi was only available in the club house / reception area but we manage to get a strong enough signal in our apartment most of the time. However that was probably because there were not many other guest there during our low-season (October) visit. Also be prepared for zero Mobile phone signal until you are at least a mile away from the property. However there are a couple of pay-phones available 24/7 at reception. In spite of keeping the heaters on during most of our stay and cooking every evening we were very pleasantly surprised that our electricity bill at the end of our week was a mere £13 ! We didn't use the swimming pool or sauna which were also available 24/7 but they both seemed well maintained and popular with the other guests.

Review No: 6 by Mrs Sagar who stayed here on 13/04/2019 Language Flag

Ideal for those who value peace and quiet in a small community nested in a beautiful Welsh valley.

Review No: 7 by Mr Robinson who stayed here on 23/03/2019 Language Flag

The staff are excellent and facilities comfortable. The area is simply stunning and the property is located in a picturesque, narrow, quiet valley so that the holiday is ideal for those who like hills and solitude. I walked for over 4 hours and saw a variety of birds but only one person, a farmer driving a van. The bird life is interesting, with lots of buzzards and red kites. Take a short car ride and you can enjoy the rural towns / tourist sites of mid Wales.

Review No: 8 by Mr Ripton who stayed here on 02/03/2019 Language Flag

What a fab place! out in the welsh countryside,miles from anywhere,just the birds (all kinds) to watch.very quiet albeit out of season.superb place to relax.Thank you DAE for sending us there!Looking forward to another jaunt with your company .cheers Jeff Ripton.

Review No: 9 by Mr Williamson who stayed here on 23/12/2018 Language Flag

The single beds in 'Kite 1' were only suitable for children - 2' 6ins wide. So we had to use the sofa bed - these are rarely up to the standard of a 'purpose made bed' and this was no exception:- mattress too hard and very low on the floor (for someone in their 70's this is rather difficult). We had a quite mild week for the time of year, Christmas week, so were fortunate but had this been a snowy week, we believe that the heating would not have been adequate. Larger bowls for soup and pasta would have been good and also a larger number of drinks glasses. Hot water was only available after our first night, the 'boost' control on the immersion heater had no effect, so we had to boil a kettle to wash up that evening. Because of the mild weather, the beautiful surroundings and the warm welcome of the local population in central Wales, these details (above) are, in our view, quite small and we hope to return to Cwm Chwefru Cottages. Central Wales is outstanding!

Review No: 10 by Mr Hart Venn who stayed here on 10/11/2018 Language Flag

For a week to unwind the stress of normal life, this is paradise! Set in a wonderful scenic area and with amenities to drive away the stress, supported by an excellent manager, Amy, could not have found better. To find one is out of range of mobile connection and with limited Wi Fi, what more could we ask? Not everything is perfect but for perfection one needs an upstairs apartment if you do not wish to be disturbed by stomping feet. The on site cafe was closed but there were a number of hostelries near by. The "club" room is well equipped and stacked with books and DVDs. For nature lovers, there are many good features, especuially birdlife. We were lucky to experience a tawny owl, who seemed to like the locality, and the sighting of the red kite and a hen harrier. The sheep are extremely friendly! There are two red kite feeding stations within striking distance and the Elan Valley is a must see. All in all, this holiday was a step back in time particularly when visiting Builth Wells and the surrounding villages. Amy is the most welcoming of managers, totally focussed on making a holiday a success. Her helpfulness is second to none. If the opportunity arises, we would like to revisit in the summer. Thank you, DAE for finding this resort for us and to Amy for a great week at Cwm Chwefru Country Cottages in the Cambrian Hills below Drum Ddu. Thank you Frank & Bev (Hart-Venn)

Review No: 11 by Mrs Brown who stayed here on 22/09/2018 Language Flag

Just returned from a fabulous week at this resort aided by the glorious sunshine! Apartment was overlooking the lake which was a real bonus. Every morning we were greeted with views of Sun rising over lake with mist rising! Well equipped kitchen. Comfortable lounge - the heating was on most of time (in lounge) and our bill, with daily showers, amounted to £18. The bedroom and bathroom were at rear and I imagine could get quite cold in winter. The hall was traditional flag stone and no heater so I would suspect be very cold in winter. We were bemused by the fact that we had an ensuite and a bathroom for a 1 bedroom but there was a sofa bed in lounge. However, the resort was beautifully situated. Very peaceful and quiet and we walked every day. If you walk up the nearby hill there is a great view of the cottages. Games room available and WiFi had reasonable connection here. Cwm Chwefru is a lovely retreat if you just need peace and quiet. We just did that and would love to return again sometime.

Review No: 12 by Mr Sargent who stayed here on 15/09/2018 Language Flag

Very nice cottage. Well equipt for our needs if you want a quiet break this is the place to go.

Review No: 13 by Mr Beck who stayed here on 15/09/2018 Language Flag

Stunning position and area. When we were there, the weather was poor, so it had an effect on what were able to do. The reception manager was very helpful , and always polite and happy.

Review No: 14 by Dr McDonald who stayed here on 11/08/2018 Language Flag

Very helpful and courteous manager and staff. The apartments are in a fantastic remote location, and ideally suited to a walking holiday. There is a small indoor swimming pool and sauna but we did not use these to be able to comment. We would certainly use the resort again should the opportunity arise. The website does suggest that catering is available on Saturdays, Tuesdays and Thursdays but this is no longer the case - this was not an issue for us but anyone arriving on the Saturday without making provision for meals may be inconvenienced so we would suggest that the website be updated.

Review No: 15 by Mr & Mrs Starling who stayed here on 14/07/2018 Language Flag

An excellent resort to get away from things, based off the main thoroughfare. Nice quiet site with good facilities for its size, with plenty of wildlife around the small lake on-site. A car is essential for getting around. Possible downside is no mobile signal on site although there is wi-fi broadband near the games room.

Review No: 16 by Mr Silvester who stayed here on 17/02/2018 Language Flag

Very enjoyable week: excellent accommodation,beautiful grounds, very helpful staff and excellent weather! Thanks

Review No: 17 by Mrs Ealey who stayed here on 10/02/2018 Language Flag

This was a remote resort in a beautiful area of Wales. The cottages were lovely with good furniture and a lovely warm , homely feel. The lack of phone or WiFi in the cottages may put some off but it was possible to connect in the reception or games room which were accessible 24 hours . Lots to do in the area but also walks available at the resort. A variety of facilities available but disappointed the little bar wasn’t functioning for meals. All in all a great place and one I have just recommended to friends . Would be amazing in the Summer with light nights but was beautiful in the snow.

Review No: 18 by Mr Higton who stayed here on 27/01/2018 Language Flag

These cottages are in a beautiful location and are pleasant and well kept.Although the weather was cold and sometimes wet we were very warm and comfortable. The heated swimming pool was clean and warm too. The Manager made us welcome and we had no problems with our cottage but were disappointed to find that the advertised on-site bar was not open at all. It had been very wet before we arrived so it was not good for walking nearby but there were plenty of places to visit by car. We spent most days exploring the towns along the wye Valley and the beautiful reservoirs of the Elan Valley. The local pubs were very quiet or closed so we mostly ate in and watched TV,but we did have 2 trips to the local cinema in the Arts centre in Bluith Wells. We also had a lovely meal at The Bell on the road to Llandindrod Wells. A lovely resort for a peaceful holiday even in Winter.

Review No: 19 by Mr Hanmer who stayed here on 20/01/2018 Language Flag

If you want a quiet away from it holiday then Cwm Chwefru is ideal. Although the weather was wet and unsettled when we were there there was still plenty to do in the surrounding area and its not far to places like Hay on Wye, Brecon etc. I could imagine that a holiday in spring or summer here would be amazing in terms of walks, wildlife etc. The cottage facilities are very acceptable and of good quality but wi fi, as you would expect in such an isolated location, is very poor. Our only criticism is that the cottage was very cold on our arrival (13.7 centigrade) and it took three days to get the room temperature to 20 degrees because the cottage had not previously been preheated to an acceptable level.

Review No: 20 by Mr & Mrs Fleetwood who stayed here on 02/12/2017 Language Flag

Prior to Holiday we received NO joining instructions whatsoever, I telephoned and was told they did not send out any information and it was the responsibility of Direct Exchange. The resort is way out in the sticks along a very narrow road/track. about 1 and half mile long, no other buildings around. no lights. we arrived in the dark at about 6.45. due to the fact we could not find the place, even on Sat Nav on arrival the reception office was closed . no one available to give us any information. Tried the Office and found a key had been left on the counter with our name and cottage no on it . no lights around the cottages, Kitchen poorly equipped and there was no instructions anywhere on the use of the various electrical appliances. there were a number of problems from broken light fittings to equipment failure. I made a list of the problems for the office the next day, a man called who said he was maintenance staff, did not speak very good English, This is definitely NOT a winter resort. it is miles from any where and there are no shops for about 5miles to get basic supplies. We would not be likely to go there again.

Review No: 21 by Mr Groos who stayed here on 02/12/2017 Language Flag

Beautifully situated in a quiet valley down a narrow lane, an ideal escape. A good place from which to visit the Brecon Beacons and Snowdonia. No or very little internet connection or mobile signal- bliss!

Review No: 22 by Mr Wickham who stayed here on 25/11/2017 Language Flag

An idyllic location for those who love peace and quiet, beautiful countryside and bird life. Facilities on site are fairly basic but although the pool is looking pretty tired it was warm and clean, so good to relax in after a long walk. NOT for those who are tied to their phone or tablet. No signal or wifi on site apart from a very weak wifi in the games room (from time to time!) Loved it.

Review No: 23 by Mrs Mann who stayed here on 18/11/2017 Language Flag

Beautiful location, friendly staff. Well equipped, but mice seen in living room.

Review No: 24 by Mr Karlinski who stayed here on 18/11/2017 Language Flag

A warm welcome from "Amy" cottage was lovely and warm. very clean and comfortable chairs. Views of the welsh mountains from all windows. Bed excellent many "good nights sleep" We would highly recommend this stay.

Review No: 25 by Mr & Mrs Relf who stayed here on 18/11/2017 Language Flag

Very remote location, but lovely walks when it doesn't rain. Very helpful and cheerful reception staff (Amy). Pool area could do with a little money being invested with new lighting and pool furniture etc.

Review No: 26 by Mr Newton who stayed here on 18/11/2017 Language Flag

Very welcoming lady in the reception could not make up for the very tired accommodation. The cottage we were given was small and dank with a smell of mothballs to disguise that. We did not stay

Review No: 27 by Mr Harris who stayed here on 11/11/2017 Language Flag

A delightful site with everything you could need. Amy was helpful and friendly and the apartment was warm with a delightful view of the lake and surrounding mountains.

Review No: 28 by Mr McIntyre who stayed here on 11/11/2017 Language Flag

Pool lights were not working so made evening swims difficult. Wifi did not work most of our visit. When reception staff present they were very friendly and helpful. Lovely home baking available to buy. Onsite restaurent not open out of season.

Review No: 29 by Mrs Mullin who stayed here on 04/11/2017 Language Flag

The location of this resort is outstanding but the accommodation did not match up. The heating was totally inadequate for an autumn break. The apartment smelled damp probably due to the mould caused by condensation on the windows. The furnishings were old and tired - holes in the carpet where storage heaters had been removed, saggy chairs and sofa. The doors on the en-suite shower did not meet - over an inch gap which probably contributed to the damp smell. No means of communication in the apartment and reception closed at the end of the day so no way of being contacted in case of emergency. Surely a landline should be in each apartment. Wifi was extremely limited and slow in the one place where it was available so any contact had to be via a payphone in reception. It should have been an idyllic week but we were totally disappointed and left early.

Review No: 30 by Mrs Tostevin who stayed here on 14/10/2017 Language Flag

Complex was good. October meant we needed heating. This was reasonable. It would have been nice to have had some restaurant facilities. The lack of mobile phone and wifi was not good. This should be great in summer.

Review No: 31 by Mrs Drain who stayed here on 07/10/2017 Language Flag

Lovely first floor unit. Good quality standard of cleanliness and fittings. Staff helpful. The only criticism would be that the bedroom contained two 2'6" wide beds rather than a normal width 3' beds.

Review No: 32 by Mrs Leach who stayed here on 30/09/2017 Language Flag

Wonderful scenery, excellent accommodation and such a peaceful area. It was so restful we came back feeling very relaxed, thank you.

Review No: 33 by Mr Levis who stayed here on 23/09/2017 Language Flag

Extreme quiet. Very helpful staff. Many places to visit which in our case included Powys Castle, Aberystwyth, Llandrindod Wells, Elan Valley, Devil's Bridge, Builth Wells and Abergwesyn Pass.

Review No: 34 by Mr & Mrs Leach who stayed here on 08/07/2017 Language Flag

A lovely small development. Amy was especially helpful. However you do need a car as it is very isolated. We did drive up to the Snowdonia area and the coast and the Brecon Beacons. There is no solarium on the development and the restaurant was closed. You can't expect to get a strong wifi or mobile signal in such a lovely valley. We saw plenty of birds from our unit in the fields at the back.

Review No: 35 by Mr Hannaford who stayed here on 22/04/2017 Language Flag

Cosy cottages, wonderful surroundings and friendly staff! Ideal base for walking in the Elan Valley.
Please Wait
Please Wait