Customer reviews for "Hilton Coylumbridge Highland Lodges"

There are 38 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mrs Cowie who stayed here on 11/01/2020 Language Flag

Really quite disappointed this time. Glad there was not 6 in lodge 2 due to lack of shower facilities. Lamp does not work, hairdryer fused but was replaced eventually, bulbs missing, draughty. Lounge very dated and chairs and couch needing replaced. On the whole a big regret given what it cost for the week. Would have second thoughts about booking again. The friendly staff thankfully made up for our total disappointment. Sorry about this review but had to say.

Review No: 2 by Mrs Devlin who stayed here on 04/01/2020 Language Flag

Lodge 12 was absolutely freezing and there was no way or heating it anymore. Very dated and tired, huge draughts coming in through windows. Lodge 25 was much nicer, much warmer and generally more comfortable. Poor that it took 3 days to be moved but thanks to Dial An Exchange we were.

Review No: 3 by Mr Morrison who stayed here on 23/11/2019 Language Flag

A beautiful relaxing lodge -a home from home.Very well appointed,everything you would need is there.The staff are so helpful and the Woodshed a very nice place for a nightcap!!

Review No: 4 by Mr Thompson who stayed here on 14/09/2019 Language Flag

Another excellent holiday at Coylumbridge - despite the current difficulties caused by the enforced splitting of the lodges from what used to be the Hilton Hotel (now owned by Britannia Hotels). The timeshare club has very successfully rearranged the reception facilities and the various housekeeping, cleaning, and maintenance service contracts and these were all working very efficiently. We did, however, suffer significant disruption to TV, telephone and internet services which have been turned off for around a month to facilitate the separation of those services from the hotel. Whilst that was not ideal, the fact that there is now a very good 4G mobile signal to the site (at least on Vodafone) meant that we were able to access the internet and the television through our laptop computers. Apart from these minor issues, we enjoyed, as always the long walks in the glorious countryside around Aviemore in the early Autumn sunshine. The lodges themselves are beautifully furnished , very well equipped and superbly comfortable. This was our 4th visit to what has been our favourite uk holiday destination for some years and we look forward to returning again in 2020.

Review No: 5 by Mr Reid who stayed here on 02/06/2019 Language Flag

Three 60 th birthdays celebrated with a week in Lodge 41. As a owner at Coylumbridge for many years our holiday was enjoyable despite mixed Scottish weather whilst we enjoyed 3 days of mountain biking with great bikes from In Your Element Rothiemurchus including a 25 mile circuit through Ryvoan Pass to Nethybridge where we discovered the Cairngorm site of Springwatch followed by a lovely 1 hour break in Nethy House for Tea and Cakes before our last 10 miles! Great steak pies and interesting cheeses from Rothiemurchus Shop. Happy Haggis takeaway good as usual and a last night meal at Winking Owl. Highly recommended road trip to via Braemar to Pitlochry and walk up the Falls of keeping of A9 for as long as possible.

Review No: 6 by Mrs Birch who stayed here on 25/05/2019 Language Flag

Lovely site. Hotel recently sold which meant that some of the onsite activities/facilities were not available (bistro, funhouse, diner). If you want to use the pool, be sure to get your pass for the week for the lodge (£48). This allows all in the lodge to use which is fairly good value. I had initially thought it was £48 per person which is pricey but it’s lodge price. Lots of activities within walking, cycling distance. And lots of nice hikes local too. Tesco deliver to the lodges so you can have a big shop delivered to save carrying on your travel. Recommend this site wholeheartedly and would go back.

Review No: 7 by Mrs Reid who stayed here on 18/05/2019 Language Flag

Beautiful chalet unit with 2 en suite bedrooms and extra toilet. Everything was very clean plenty lovely towels. This is our third time visiting Coylumbridge and each time it has been at a different unit. Each one has been great but this was the best .

Review No: 8 by Mrs Monkman who stayed here on 18/05/2019 Language Flag

Part of the attraction of Hilton Coylumbridge was the ability to make use of the dining and leisure facilities at the hotel. Although we had been made aware (after we had exchanged) that the Hotel was now run by Britannia, the leisure facilities were so run down (and there is now a significant charge), swimming pool was very cold and the tennis court was so run down it was not fit for purpose. In addition there was an obvious staffing crisis - very poorly trained and inexperienced (by their own admission) so there was only one dining room available and the waiting times were ridiculous.

Review No: 9 by Mrs Bytheway who stayed here on 18/05/2019 Language Flag

Coylumbridge Hotel has been bought over by Britannia Hotels and have imposed charges for lodge guests to use the leisure facilities, which is disappointing. Lodge reception is now in a portacabin near the Woodshed Bar. If you require an early morning check- out the office doesn't open until 9 am, therefore check-out has to be done before 5pm on the day before departure. This is inconvenient if you happen to be staying out after office hours on the last day of the holiday. Currently if you are leaving early, keys have to be put through the letterbox in the vacated Timeshare Office as there is no letterbox in the reception portacabin. There has been some refurbishment to the lodge but I feel the carpets would benefit from being cleaned due to the resort being dog friendly. However Aviemore is a lovely place to explore.

Review No: 10 by Mrs Rees who stayed here on 20/04/2019 Language Flag

Comfortable, well equipped lodge in an outstanding area. There are so many lovely things to do within a very short distance of the resort. Glorious walks on exceptionally well maintained and signed paths. Would recommend a visit to the Reindeer Herd. Also Highlands Wildlife Park is excellent. But for an outstanding day out try the Highland Folk Museum. Free entry and such an interesting place. Lots to see there. If you want to drive a bit further ( no more than an hour), then Findhorn Bay is a wonderful beach, and the village pub in Findhorn, Kimberley, was excellent. Really nice atmosphere and lovely seafood. The National Trust property, Brodie Castle, can be visited on the way to Findhorn - another excellent visit. Distillery tour to Glenfarclas highly recommended. Only £7.50 and extremely friendly and informative. Taste of whiskey included!

Review No: 11 by Mr & Mrs Walker who stayed here on 09/03/2019 Language Flag

We were shocked on going to the swimming pool on day after arrival to find out that you now have to pay to use the leisure facilities due to Hilton having sold the hotel and the new owners now having removed leisure from grand vacation club. 2 bed lodge is £48 for a week and 3 bed £60. Having exchanged Into this holiday I feel it is u fair for us to have been charged to use pool as we had paid our exchange fee and also the week I had banked I have paid my maintenance so surely we should not have to pay any extra. The hotel staff are not interested in lodge owners/renters etc and can sometimes be extremely rude. I would advise especially at the moment not to exchange into the Coylumbridge but honestly I can not see a very bright outcome for the future with the new owners

Review No: 12 by Ms Hutchison who stayed here on 03/03/2019 Language Flag

Excellent resort. Love the lodges and love the area. Disappointing that due to hotel change of ownership swimming pool area chargeable but resort can't help that. Would love to go back.

Review No: 13 by Mrs Cowie who stayed here on 02/02/2019 Language Flag

We could not have wished for better. Our lodge was spotless, Staff in reception and at the swimming pool and the bar area were welcoming and courteous. We cannot rate Coylumbridge more highly as usual, and cannot wait to get back for a week! Many thanks.

Review No: 14 by Mrs Wason who stayed here on 27/01/2019 Language Flag

Beautiful lodge, far exceeded our expectations. Would certainly stay again.

Review No: 15 by Mrs Parker who stayed here on 15/09/2018 Language Flag

In spite of the weather being nothing special we had a great holiday. Coylumbridge has a lot to offer for holiday makers on the site and the surrounding area - and if the weather is kind the countryside scenery is beautiful. Would love to go back some time in the future. IAN & MARGARET.

Review No: 16 by Mrs Davidson who stayed here on 25/08/2018 Language Flag

Lovely week in a wee 2 bedroom lodge within grounds of columbridge hotel! Even although summer lodge like a fridge and had to have heating on! In the shade surrounded by trees! Had patio area but totally shaded too! But didn’t spoil holiday! Perfect location! Use of hotel facilities (pool and gym) and restaurants too! Will definitely go back again but would choose lodge in brighter area within complex! Thanks!

Review No: 17 by Mr Reid who stayed here on 18/08/2018 Language Flag

I’m a little biased as have been holidaying here for over 30 years. Good quality timeshare in fantastic scenery with walking and cycling from front door up the Logging trail to Glenmore for loch morlich beach views of Cairngorms a spot of fishing for wild brown trout, squirrel cafe with outside viewing area of red squirrels. Rothiemurchus shop deli and cafe worth a visit, hire good quality bikes from In Your Element at Inverdruie. Good restaurants inncluding the lunchtime Woodshed BBQ and meals in restaurants on site and try The Cross at Kingussie. ZipTrek nearby very well managed and great fun and for something more scary try river tubing with full on adventure!

Review No: 18 by Mrs Bytheway who stayed here on 12/05/2018 Language Flag

I have not visited Coylumbridge for several years and was not disappointed with the resort which is suitable for all ages. The accommodation was very comfortable, lovely comfortable beds ensuring a good nights sleep to set you up for action the following day! There is a wide range of outdoor activities close by and Aviemore village appears to be thriving with a good range of shops, good news in the current economic climate. I would have no hesitation making a return visit to this resort.

Review No: 19 by Mr Spence who stayed here on 28/04/2018 Language Flag

Didn’t use facilities other than the unit itself. Weather was very cold and heating was required, but found the unit was difficult to heat. We were usually out every day, so turned heating off. Even so, limited use was , we believe , exceptionally expensive and not very effective. Unless you are keen on the winter scene, better visit in warmer times. It is a beautiful and interesting area and well worth a visit. I have travelled to that area almost annually for the past 40 years and never tire. Even viewed the recently born polar bear at nearby Highland Park!

Review No: 20 by Mrs Hodgson who stayed here on 21/04/2018 Language Flag

This resort is in a beautiful area, ideal for outdoor pursuits. The only issue we had with Lodge 12, was that the only toilet upstairs was in the en-suite main bedroom.

Review No: 21 by Mr Stewart who stayed here on 15/04/2018 Language Flag

This timeshare must be one of the best in the uk. Unrivalled facilities especially for children. The lodge we stayed in was very well equipped with everything you could possibly need for a 2/6 unit including unlimited fast Wi-fi. You won’t be disappointed whatever time of year you visit.

Review No: 22 by Mr & Mrs Jamieson who stayed here on 18/03/2018 Language Flag

We enjoyed our stay, and the situation of the lodge was amazing with nature on our doorstep. In our opinion what lets the resort down is the pool area, this hasn't changed in many years and is now showing its age. It is also far too small and we dread to think what it must be like at busy times of the year e.g.. school holidays.

Review No: 23 by Mr Rayner who stayed here on 17/03/2018 Language Flag

A beautiful apartment. Superb area. Excellent facilities.

Review No: 24 by Mr Hamilton who stayed here on 24/02/2018 Language Flag

Despite a large volume of snow which closed the road to the ski area it was always easy to get about the site. The staff did a great job keeping the roads and paths clear. We had a wonderful relaxing week in a winter wonderland.

Review No: 25 by Ms Hutchison who stayed here on 09/12/2017 Language Flag

Excellent resort. Really enjoyed the week. Electricity charges a bit on the expensive side - they quote £90-£100 as average for December which I find higher than most resorts I've visited. We didn't pay that amount but was still a good bit more than most places I've exchanged in to. House very comfortable and a great area. Red squirrels every morning outside the house an added bonus.

Review No: 26 by Revd Brown who stayed here on 18/11/2017 Language Flag

Very much enjoyed ‘Lodge 20’; a real “home-from-home”, nice & near the Leisure Centre, in late November 2017. Weather not great ( snowy & cold ) but it didn’t detract from a good week @ this pleasant, dog-friendly resort.

Review No: 27 by Mrs Rooke who stayed here on 21/10/2017 Language Flag

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in lodge 38 at coylumbridge looking out onto the river and hillside.The lodge was very peaceful,comfortable and well equipped, it will sleep 6 but with 2 double bedrooms it is perfect for 4. We did eat at the hotel restaurant but also found some excellent local cafe/ restaurants. A super holiday, we would be very happy to return to this resort and lovely area in Scotland.

Review No: 28 by Ms Robertson who stayed here on 30/09/2017 Language Flag

Great accommodation combined with a lovely hotel with extensive, high-quality facilities and of course a wonderful location.

Review No: 29 by Mr Swan who stayed here on 16/09/2017 Language Flag

This, at last, was an exchange approaching something of the quality we have come to expect from the many years of visiting our own timeshare in Melfort. The booking in was straightforward and the accommodation very comfortable. After the poor quality and stressful experiences of the places we have exchanged with in the past this was a breath of fresh air.

Review No: 30 by Mrs Williams who stayed here on 02/09/2017 Language Flag

September 2nd 2017. We stayed in lodge 31. All the lodges are in a beautiful position in amongst the forrest. We had a daily visit from red squirrels. The lodge was a sleeps six with a double bedroom with onsuite, a room with two single beds also with an onsuite and a large double bed settee down stairs. Plenty of storage and also a washing machine and tumble dryer. Kitchen and dinning room plenty big enough for six people. We did not use the swimming pool area so cannot coment on it however we did use the bar and bistro restaurant. The bar area is large and very clean, lovely staff. The Bistro was also very clean with a very good menu which suited all of us. The staff in the Bistro where very helpfull and the food was lovely. Lots of lovely walks from this site. You could manage without a car here as the bus stops right outside the site but it is also not too long a walk into Aviemore. Lots of lovely places to eat in Aviemore including the Bridge and the Cairngorm Hotel. We also had a lovely meal at The Rowan Tree but you do need to book in advance. Would we stay here again - yes we would.

Review No: 31 by Mrs Davidson who stayed here on 02/09/2017 Language Flag

Stayed in a beautiful lodge in the hotel grounds of columbridge hotel! Was an exchange fir us as we own at Scandinavian village Aviemore! Lodge was spacious and near to all our walks and cycling routes! Half hr walk into aviemore town fir eating out and tescos! Lodge so comfortable and restful we actually only ate out once in our week! Only downfall was as in the treees Scottish midgees out in force! Great holiday and would go back again! Our lodge had jacuzzi bath and we also had full use of swimming pool and sauna in the hotel!

Review No: 32 by Dr & Mrs Winton who stayed here on 17/06/2017 Language Flag

Although we had a nice time and enjoyed all the facilities the resort and surrounding area had to offer, lodge 13 was very dated and in need of a refurbishment. Resort very good for families.

Review No: 33 by Dr Gregson-Green who stayed here on 27/05/2017 Language Flag

Excellent resort. We stayed here for the May 2017 half term holiday. Lodges are spacious, there was plenty of room for two adults and a 3 and 5 year old. Appliances are high quality, great washing machine/dryer and dishwasher. Made life easier while staying. Sky TV in both the lounge and master bedroom. Nice to have a downstairs toilet and shower. 2nd sofa in lounge was a bed settee. Kitchen is well equipped with most crockery, cutlery and pans you would need for a week away. There is a nice porch area with a table chairs to sit out. We didn't eat in the hotel but there are plenty of restaurants to choose from. We enjoyed a drink and lunch at the woodshed pub on site. Highly recommended resort and will look for another exchange here

Review No: 34 by Dr & Mrs Bury who stayed here on 13/05/2017 Language Flag

Very drab interior with 70s style dark furniture/furnishings. On a positive note, the beds were very comfortable and both bathrooms good. Pool area and changing facilities poor. Probably wouldn't go back, though the surrounding area is scenic.

Review No: 35 by Miss Davies who stayed here on 13/05/2017 Language Flag

Loved this exchange and would definitely like to visit again. We were allocated Lodge 1 which was perfect for us on the edge of woodland overlooking trees and grassed area where squirrels visited regularly looking for food and nesting materials. We threw peanuts out onto the treetrunks, rocks and grassy areas which meant they came very close for photographs. The lodge was well equipped, comfortable and warm. Beds so comfortable one bedroom ensuite, twin bedroom had to use downstairs shower room but may be different in other lodges. We had oldest lodge 2bed but had been refurbished recently and would request this one again. Older lodges are timberclad. New lodges brick built not in woodland. Fuel costs for week including cooking every day only £17.50 but was a warmish week. Welcome meeting very relaxed, bacon baps, juice and tea/coffee. Informative, presenters spent time at individual tables and no push to sell. Plenty to do in the area visiting Cairngorm, walks in Rothiemurchas forest and around Loch an Eilean (3.5 ish miles), Loch Garten to see osprey on webcam and sometimes flying off nest. The Potting Shed is recommended teashop with viewing area for birds and red squirrel. Lovely cakes! Thank you Keya and DAE for this exchange.

Review No: 36 by Mr Gauld who stayed here on 09/04/2017 Language Flag

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Coylumbridge. Would like to go back next year.

Review No: 37 by Mrs Davidson who stayed here on 02/04/2017 Language Flag

Absolutely fantastic break in the highlands staying in the columbridge lodge within the hotel complex! Lodge luxury! Ample space comfortable seating two balconies fir viewing the scenic area! Three bathrooms! Every kitchen appliance needed! Lodge in a wee quiet cul de sac! Very private! Weather was dry and sunny which made all our planned walks possible! Perfect location as a base! Would definetly return to these lodges! Nothing to fault!

Review No: 38 by Mrs Stewart who stayed here on 11/03/2017 Language Flag

Lodge 39 is in an excellent location overlooking the river and ideal if you are staying with a dog. Perfect for a week's outdoor pursuits with fantastic walks and cycle routes within walking distance of the resort.
Please Wait
Please Wait