Customer reviews for "Ponta Grande Sao Rafael"

There are 23 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr McDonald who stayed here on 29/02/2020 Language Flag

We had a great stay at Ponta Grande .Not all facilities were open at this time of year but this did not detract from the enjoyment The restaurant and bar is operated separately from the resort but Paulo and his staff are very welcoming and the food is excellent The unit was in good condition but there was a musty smell from the cupboards in the upstairs bedrooms . This might have been due to the unit having been unoccupied previously but it was noticeable . Our unit (55) had a lovely garden area which got the sun all day . It has a hot tub which proved useful to help relaxation in the early evenings Would happily recommend this resort

Review No: 2 by Ms Price who stayed here on 21/12/2019 Language Flag

Town house had good internal and external space, sunshine on terrace most of day. Pool area not used - not heated and thus not in use for winter, but looked good. Grounds well maintained and parking easy. Need a car unless you’re there to do nothing, plenty then easily accessible. Would benefit from a little tlc inside unit and with external seating, nothing major, just attention to detail. Bar/restaurant good - reasonable choice and prices; staff very friendly. I’d like a gym - outside gym has no resistance - otherwise that would be helpful. Crazy golf and giant draughts fun - giant chess too. An enjoyable break, very quiet which we like.

Review No: 3 by Sra Montejano Casas who stayed here on 10/11/2019 Language Flag

Demasiado lejos para ir andando a la playa, ya que como indicamos, iba una persona enferma. Muy solitario por lo que para distraerse, hay que coger el coche. Y apartamento muy deficiente. Necesita remodelación. Dormitorio con ventana al salón. Falta de intimidad y azulejos de baño y cocina rotos. Muy descuidado para una estancia normal

Review No: 4 by Mrs Chattell who stayed here on 19/10/2019 Language Flag

The villa was clean and functional for a week away. Good shower and a nice sunny patio area. An easy walk to many beautiful beaches and coastal paths. Very friendly staff in the on site restaurant. Pool unheated and chilly. On-site shop closed but a small supermarket down the road. Beach bars/restaurants all still open this week and are great to sit in and have a drink/meal and watch the sea and the beach. Although half term we could always get a table in restaurants and plenty of beach loungers available on the beaches too (for a price). A 45 min brisk walk into the Old Town via The Marina. Good atmosphere and fish restaurants behind the beach. A very relaxing break in warm sunshine (late October 2019)).

Review No: 5 by Mr & Mrs Lockyer who stayed here on 21/09/2019 Language Flag

Once again this timeshare experience was not up to standard of ours banked! The townhouse needs to be refurbished with doors and surrounds falling apart. Shower and bathroom with mould and needing a better clean as shower screen and surrounds water marks not cleaned! The kitchen oven and fridge was rusty.As for trying to self cater you had minimum equipment.One medium sharp knife ,small dirty plastic chopping board and peddle bin broken. No oven glove, washing liquid, scourer! On the patio we had a hot tub which was also old and not properly cleaned as there was still sand in it. You can get skin diseases if they are not cleaned especially the filter. We had also old patio furniture but no sunbeds. We could have some if we paid €20 a day to have them! The washing line at the back of the house was old and rusty with the coating coming off for along time, so asked for a portable one which they supplied.Lots of sunbeds around the swimming pool were worn and needed replacing or cleaned and around the entrances showers were very dirty. There was an broken tile area with a sun umbrella put on it and plant pots with dead flowers. You can see there are some very nice accomadation at the resort but it is now private owned and been refurbished and you can hire them through various hire channels available. People from the outside can come into the resort and use the pool from coming into the resorts restaurant/ pool bar which served nice food but had loads of bid TV's everywhere. This is a has been a good Timeshare resort which is no longer having enough money spent on it. You need a car to get around properly but there is a bus service.There is some 4 restaurants within walking distance they are ok. Some beaches which takes a bit more walking to and some excessed with steep slopes so people with disabilities might find this difficult.

Review No: 6 by Sra Santos who stayed here on 29/06/2019 Language Flag

O Directório deveria indicar os dias de limpeza e de mudança de roupas.

Review No: 7 by Signora Burgio who stayed here on 25/05/2019 Language Flag

Posizione molto buona fuori dal centro. Spiaggia raggiungibile a piedi. Residence molto bello, personale molto gentile e disponibile. Piscina ottima. Bar, ristorante e minimarket nella media

Review No: 8 by Mr Pycroft who stayed here on 11/05/2019 Language Flag

I would recommend Punta Grande to anyone wishing to enjoy a relaxing holiday on The Algarve . It is close to Albufera and not too far away from the airport at Faro . The nearby beach of San Rafeal is very good too , not overpopulated . The resort tries to provide adequate entertainment in the evenings and there is a restaurant and bar at the resort which will be useful to all holidaymakers Car parking is entirely adequate and the small shop on site sells most of what visitors will need , but there are plenty of suoer markets nearby . Staff on the site are both friendly and helpful . In short , anyone wishing to enjoy a stay in Portugal will find Punta Grande a suitable place to stay .

Review No: 9 by Mr Rolston who stayed here on 27/04/2019 Language Flag

It is 25 miles from the airport and just out of Albuferia so I would suggest a car would be useful. There is a stunning beach about 15 minutes walk away with a bar/restaurant to sit and admire the view. The marina is modern and has lots of bars etc plus other activities and that is about half an hour's walk away. There are several bars and restaurants nearby but we ate in the restaurant on site mainly as it had plenty going on and the food was excellent and good value for money. The grounds were nice and there was a lovely swimming pool with sun loungers but there is no longer a jacuzzi. We had a lovely apartment with a sea view which had housekeeping three times in our week's stay. It is a little dated but comfortable. A basic welcome pack would have been useful but there is a Minimarket on site which sells all you would need unless you want to drive about two miles to the nearest Aldi or Lidl supermarket. We had a lovely holiday there and would go back. A special mention to Paulo and all his staff who made us feel very welcome.

Review No: 10 by Mr Perkins who stayed here on 20/04/2019 Language Flag

A very nice resort at this time of year. I imagine in the summer it would be too crowded for our liking. The accommodation is very large but a bit dated; the bathrooms could do with being refitted. That said, everything worked perfectly; plenty of hot water and it was very clean and tidy. I would be anxious if I had little ones as the stairs are very hard My big gripe is that there was only Wifi in the foyer and near the pool. It is so uncommon these days that Wifi isn't available in the units and seems out of date. The on-site mini market wasn't ever so well stocked, to be honest, and since there are no interim provisions (such as tea, coffee and milk) provided to "tide you over" until you can get to a shop it meant going off-site to purchase those items. I do think DAE or the resorts could "stretch" themselves to provide a few basics for arrival. I always resent having to buy cleaning cloths and washing up liquid when I'm away, too. Some resorts we've visited do provide these items but it's not consistent between the resorts. It was a good base for our week's holiday and our first time in Portugal. We didn't use the pool area as it was a bit too chilly but it looked well cared for and inviting for hotter days! The on-site restaurant provides good value, very generous portions of food. We ate there four times out of the seven nights we were there and were happy with what we ate. Very friendly staff.

Review No: 11 by Mrs Fisher who stayed here on 23/03/2019 Language Flag

The resort is in real need of some TLC. They obviously have dampness problems, which should be taken care of. Some of the furnishings need cleaning if not replacing, three of the dining room chairs were badly stained and the toilet seat was cracked. The sofa smelled of sweaty feet, altogether not a pleasant experience worthy of a “4 star” resort.

Review No: 12 by Mr Parkinson who stayed here on 09/03/2019 Language Flag

Ponte Grande is a very nice quiet resort with great staff who are always willing to help and advise with whatever the problem is. the resort properties are always kept clean and tidy together with the well cared for and attended garden and shrubbery areas by all the polite staff. The Seasons on site restaurant run by very welcoming and friendly Paulo, wife Loopa, ( please excuse spelling ) and other staff, serve a well cooked, good selection of both English and Portuguese food at very competitive prices, the restaurant also incorporates a fine sports bar for anyone who has an interest in Football. We hope to return again later this year. Many thanks to all the staff at this resort.

Review No: 13 by Mr Dempsey who stayed here on 24/02/2019 Language Flag

The staff were friendly and helpful on arrival and the bar and restaurant staff were excellent throughout the week. The unit was a bit dated and there were routine maintenance issues that were not addresssed - holes in walls, toilet seats were cracked and MDF had swelled. The glass panel by the patio door was cracked ( indicating that there had been an attempted break-in) and this was cellotaped rather than replaced. The safety deposit box was charged as an extra which we felt should have been offered free as the unit was not secure. No internet in apartment, which is considered as standard these days. There were positives though the apartment was clean and so were the public areas. The resort is close to the most beautiful natural beaches and you are close to Albufeira Old Town and supermarkets. The on-site bar restaurant offered good value food and drinks. We would stay again but perhaps raise issues with the management straight away.

Review No: 14 by Mrs Judd who stayed here on 22/12/2018 Language Flag

When over the Christmas break so restaurant shut for 3 days but we already knew that. Area very quite 4kms from Albufeira so best to have a car. The bathroom and downstairs shower room need a bit of updating but the rest is reasonable. We did struggle with keeping it warm, it is probably nice in the summer. Would go back at a better time of year.

Review No: 15 by Mr Roux who stayed here on 22/12/2018 Language Flag

Christmas break in a 6 sleeper double storey 2 bedroom, 2 showers/1bath and 2 wc. Very quiet resort out of season. The unit is very spacious and clean. There is AC in each room and lounge-dinner, it is very cold without it. Large comfortable kitchen (but cold) with full fridge/freezer and induction stove/oven, kettle and micro. Coffee machine 20€ deposit. TV with many channels. Housekeeping once during our stay. Blankets on beds no duvet. 6 sleeper had no double bed. Pillow and mattress was poor quality, black out curtains helped alot. Safe in room but cost extra. 1€ for games in entertainment room. Restaurant good with large affordable meals with pleasant staff. Free Wifi in main building only. Overall great experience. Easy drive to beaches. Many places closed during this time. Temperature during our week was 18degC, no rain, little breezy.

Review No: 16 by Mrs Carpenter who stayed here on 15/12/2018 Language Flag

Our first time here and it was very good. Would come again. The Hot tub on the Patio was a great addition to the townhouse. We very much liked the fact that there wasn't an electricity charge - very unusual.

Review No: 17 by Mrs Beetlestone who stayed here on 08/12/2018 Language Flag

Stayed in Unit 51. Simply furnished but comfortable and clean. Large kitchen with cooker, hob and fridge freezer. No washing machine (there is a launderette on site at 7 euros a time). No washing up liquid/sponges provided although there were tea towels, nor a small welcome pack (coffee/tea/sugar sachets) so come prepared. Kitchen not particularly well-equipped for self-catering, compared to other resorts. Large lounge/dining area. One television with limited British channels. Two bedrooms upstairs and two sleeper couches in lounge. Main bathroom upstairs and smaller shower room/toilet downstairs. Large patio area with 4 chairs and small round table. No loungers, etc - would have been useful as had sun all day and it was warm enough to sit/sunbathe outside. Good many loungers around swimming pool which didn't seem to be open. Can only get wifi at main reception but can pay to have it in unit - 15 euros for 3 days and an additional amount per day after that. Mini market onsite but expensive. Also a bar/restaurant. Looked nice but didn't use. No organised activities. December is quiet month and reception was only open during the day. Beach is not far away but it is downhill and a steep walk back up. Some restaurants in area but most were closed (normal in December when often closed until Xmas or until January). Really need a car to get around. There is a bus service that runs along road by resort and goes to Gale and Albufeira but not frequent - may be more in busier months.

Review No: 18 by Mr Temple who stayed here on 17/11/2018 Language Flag

Spacious well laid out apartment. Firstly the negatives. The overall experience spoiled by constant penny pinching mentioned by other members. No washing up liquid/cloths despite no dishwasher - no salt & pepper in cruet set - most basic patio furniture -split toilet seats - having to 'borrow' a coffee machine on deposit - every item of site entertainment (mini golf, tennis etc) is chargeable - no pool towels. Very basic cooking equipment. Only drinking glasses are stemmed wine. TV is interesting because Portugese channels often show english 'speaking' films with Portugese subtitles but otherwise very limited English speaking channels. In our view a DVD player & library should be a basic essential in a rental property. Good gated access control for vehicles but no control over pedestrians or dogs. Despite this we liked the property, which was in good structural & decorative condition, & the site was well run & set in a nice locality. Very quiet in winter season, only about 10 or 15% occupancy. Although there is a bus service you would struggle in the winter without a car. Many outside restaurants are closed out of season. Property is within comfortable walking distance to an excellent beach. Small onsite shop for basics. Apolonia supermarket - very Waitrose - for treats & interesting take away food a short drive or Aldi & Lidl on the outskirts of Albufeira for more everyday items. Like most tourist spots restaurant prices are driven by position. Exception to that is Mainheiro restaurant which is in walking distance of resort & very upmarket. Wonderful place for a treat but need to book even in winter. Albufeira is a town of 2 halves - beautiful old town & lively new side but seems to come together really well. Wonderful beaches all along this part of the coast. Do get a proper local map. The free tourist one is a help but you can miss some great things too. For example there are miles of timber walkways just back from the beach which link to beach cafes.

Review No: 19 by Mr & Mrs Parker who stayed here on 20/10/2018 Language Flag

intially given 1 bed apartment when 2 bed had been booked reported to reception and problem resolved next day

Review No: 20 by Mr Harpham who stayed here on 06/10/2018 Language Flag

An excellent resort for relaxation but with evening entertainment also provided.

Review No: 21 by Mr Collins who stayed here on 07/04/2018 Language Flag

Overall pleased with this he accommodation but cushions on the settee and bed mattresseses very hard and need replacing.

Review No: 22 by Mrs Thomas who stayed here on 24/02/2018 Language Flag

A rather tired house with no wifi, dishwasher or washing machine. In fact we moved out after one night into a privately owned one. The resort, however, was very good. Bar, restaurant and staff were fine. Directions were not easy to follow.

Review No: 23 by Mr Petran who stayed here on 05/11/2017 Language Flag

Ponta Grande Sao Rafael is a very nice resort, with large apartments, clean and quiet. Of course the position of the resort requires a car to move around. Staff is very polite and helpful. Our vacantion was in November and we didn't use the pool in the resort but you can play tennis, go to the beach and also take a bad since in the middle of the day is still very warm. There are a lot of things that might be visited in the region. Restaurants are good and portions are enough for the price you pay but choose those on the beach or those from Albufeira Marina, the others near the resort are French stile cuisine: nice atmosphere, big plates, less food, high prices, low satisfaction. (my opinion). Since I moved around every day and had a late lunch I couldn't find an evening to tray the local restaurant at the resort but I saw a lot of people over there. The apartment has a TV set and a satellite receiver with a plenty of music, films and sport channel choices. The only thing that might be a minus is that you don't have free internet in the apartment. You have free internet in the reception hall and for the apartment is available for rent an internet receiver for 5 euro a day. I warmly recommend this resort to all those who are looking for a nice and quiet place to spend a week.
Please Wait
Please Wait