Customer reviews for "Scandinavian Village"

There are 108 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mrs Roberts who stayed here on 19/09/2020 Language Flag

Excellent location, comfortable beds and furnishings. Well maintained grounds

Review No: 2 by Mr Edwards who stayed here on 19/09/2020 Language Flag

Covid-19 measures in place were excellent and we felt perfectly safe during our stay.

Review No: 3 by Mr McBride who stayed here on 12/09/2020 Language Flag

Good accommodation. Easy walking distance to public transport. Good amount of appliances but a washing machine was not included. This would have been good to have as resort laundry was not in service. Resort gardens are good but no bar or restaurant in resort. However plenty of bars, restaurants and cafes in Aviemore. Overall a good , clean resort.

Review No: 4 by Mrs McCall who stayed here on 12/09/2020 Language Flag

A lovely resort in pleasant grounds close to the village centre. Very comfortable accommodation with everything needed for your stay.

Review No: 5 by Mr Murray who stayed here on 12/09/2020 Language Flag

Have stayed at the Scandinavian Village before and pre Covid. Communication before, during and after my visit has been excellent. Before going on my break the Scandinavian Village emailed me with guidance on procedures introduced as a result of Covid. These were all very clear and contact was made with the reception staff with information required, such as car details. Access to the unit is now by key safe and the access code was sent to me prior to the visit. All worked well. During my stay I had to contact the reception staff to advise that there was no tea pot in the unit and having stayed there before knew there should be. We had gone out for the day and when we returned a tea pot had been delivered to the unit. Departure instructions were clear and again because of Covid key drop off was different. But can say I was very impressed with the guidance provided and how the Scandinavian Village have adapted to deal with the current situation. Many thanks to those working at the site. Back early next year, all going well. Cheers Mike & Stu

Review No: 6 by Mr Greenfield who stayed here on 05/09/2020 Language Flag

Due to corona virus, nothing was quite the same.

Review No: 7 by Mrs Owen who stayed here on 05/09/2020 Language Flag

Scandinavian village resort was most enjoyable walking distance to most amenities such as shop railway station.

Review No: 8 by Mr & Mrs Knapp who stayed here on 05/09/2020 Language Flag

The Scandinavian village in Aviemore is well situated in the town and there are many beautiful walks round lochs and along rivers. The apartment was compact and only really suitable for two people, but it was well equipped and warm.

Review No: 9 by Mrs Davidson who stayed here on 29/08/2020 Language Flag

Another great exchange in Scandinavian village.Actually own 3 weeks here but keep coming back for extra.never disappoints. Location for walking biking perfect.plenty selection of restaurants fir dining out(cairngorm hotel and a new Chinese restaurant). But enough good shops for those wishing to dine in. Biggest drawback was the midgies. Eaten alive😒😒take a good repellent or suffer.

Review No: 10 by Mrs Ewing who stayed here on 22/08/2020 Language Flag

Perfect location. Very accessible to all amenities whilst also within a stone's through of the beautiful Craigellachie Nature Reserve. Accommodation was very clean, comfortable and met all our expectations. And dog friendly! Would definitely visit again.

Review No: 11 by Mrs Kitson who stayed here on 22/08/2020 Language Flag

Having had 2 holidays cancelled due to lockdown we were glad to have the opportunity to visit The Scandinavian Village in Aviemore. The resort sent clear information before the holiday giving instructions as to how to work heating, TV, dishwasher etc. The resort supplied plenty of bin liners, kitchen toll, toilet roll, liquid soap, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets and cleaning solutions. The resort is situated a few minutes walk from the retail park- Aldi, Superdrug, Costa and a further few minutes walk to the town centre where there are lots of shops, restaurants and a Tesco Metro. No physical contact with any resort staff though able to phone reception with any queries. Plenty of parking in the resort though not always outside your apartment. Lots of opportunities for walking and beautiful places to visit with fabulous scenery. Plenty restaurants to choose from. Best to book in advance. We enjoyed Ski-big Doo, Royal Tandoori and The Winking Owl. All staff following social distancing protocol and all friendly and polite. Visited the Wildlife park which we enjoyed. Went to Inverness- the Botanical gardens and a Jacobite cruise on Loch Ness. All in all we had an enjoyable week and would definitely return in the future

Review No: 12 by Mr Burton who stayed here on 22/08/2020 Language Flag

This exchange vacation was most unusual because of Covid 19 there was no face to face contact with any members of staff. All contact was by phone, E mails or text. I was fortunate to have arranged an exchange through DAE to a two bedroom villa because the one bedroom apartment does not have its own washer dryer and currently because of the virus the laundry room is closed. The weather was disappointing for August with highs of about 13C and quite a lot of rain. Scandinavian Village is located only minutes from numerous shops and Aviemore railway station which has direct rail services to Glasgow,Edinburgh and Inverness. This timeshare resort has little in the way of on site facilities for example it has no indoor swimming pool or sun loungers on site.

Review No: 13 by Mrs Ashcroft who stayed here on 15/08/2020 Language Flag

We have stayed many times at scandanavian village and love it. From walking in to the town and local areas to location for visiting the area (and Golf). However due to the current ( Covid) situation maybe just a few too many kitchen requirements taken out. The booking in and out system being used is really good too. Overall a really great week as usual. 😃👍

Review No: 14 by Ms Ford-Miah who stayed here on 15/08/2020 Language Flag

For those looking for an outdoor pursuits holiday, this is perfect. Right in the centre of Aviemore with an Aldi, boots, etc next door so you have everything you need to hand. I wouldn’t go here without a car. The only draw back was it was two singles and a bunk bed for a family of four but we made-do. We will certainly be going back.

Review No: 15 by Mr Lappin-smith who stayed here on 15/08/2020 Language Flag

We exchanged a lovely, spacious two bedroom apartment with a rather basic one bedroom flat. The complex looks tiered and the furnishing is in need for an upgrade. The flat was very small, the beds uncomfortable - very basic indeed. Aviemore is a nice town - so the location was great. But Scandinavian Village is located next to the motorway and we found the traffic noise quite disturbing. The complex was a real disappointment. Luckily the weather was nice so we spend all day outdoors. We will go back to Aviemore but definitely not to Scandinavian Village.

Review No: 16 by Miss Hamilton who stayed here on 01/08/2020 Language Flag

We have been to the Scandinavian Village many times before however this time was not so good. We had been allocated a downstairs apartment, but on arrival another party were moving into it. When I called the reception number, they told me we've been moved upstairs. For us this was particularly disappointing as we have a dog and I also have an illness that effects my fitness. They just said "we reserve the right to move people - some people can't manage stairs". They could at least have called me beforehand so we could plan for this - take less with us and leave the dog at home. The gate to the dog walking area has been taped off, and there are no dog litter bins in the grounds anymore. The first few days we were there the large bins in the complex were overflowing. One morning the rubbish had blow all over the car park. Also, they have reduced the amount of crockery in the apartments, presumably to make cleaning easier since Covid. There is now just enough and the dishwasher is surplus to requirements as there's not enough dishes to use it. Overall, I wasn't very impressed and very disappointed to be moved upstairs without consultation.

Review No: 17 by Mrs Irvine who stayed here on 25/07/2020 Language Flag

We had a fantastic stay at the Scandinavian Village in Aviemore. Very well organised in terms of cleanliness and strict policies in relation to COVID. Check in was later due to this, which was slightly frustrating but we have to understand the safety of everyone is paramount. The only down side for us was that the play park was not open due to their being adverse weather so this had made it unsafe for children to play on. We used the MacDonald play park in the next resort so wasn’t the end of the world. It just would’ve been handier with 2 small children to have it operational. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, such a fantastic wee resort which is very central for all amenities. We will definitely be back.

Review No: 18 by Mr Bone who stayed here on 29/02/2020 Language Flag

The place had obviously been built many years ago. Although called Scandinavian Village, there wasn't really a Scandinavian feel about the place apart from the weather and that most of the furniture and fixtures being made of pinewood. The windows, although double glazed, did not fit well as there were cold draught's blowing through the frames even with the windows and doors closed. Heating was a farce being fitted on the ceilings where the heat rises to. Consequently, feet were very often cold as the heat didn't get down there. With an exorbitant charge of 21p per Kwh of power used and every appliance using electricity, including the inefficient heating, the bill for the comfort of heating and cooking was constantly being considered. I understand the request that we remove all linen off beds etc., and put them in the lobby as it helps the cleaner, but it would help if they cleared away previous occupants belongings before they hand the property over to the next people. We even found blocks of wood left over from perhaps previous maintenance work. Signage for reception was not clear at all, causing us to wander to various places trying to find it. Overall, not a place I shall be returning to. By contrast we left here to go to another Lodge elsewhere and although also all electric, it was on walls where the air circulated and also there was a set charge for utilities whereby we at least know how much out final bill will be - and we are warm.

Review No: 19 by Mr Anderson who stayed here on 22/02/2020 Language Flag

Lovely relaxing resort nice and quiet within easy reach of main amenities of Aviemore. Will certainly stay there again.

Review No: 20 by Mr Campbell who stayed here on 18/01/2020 Language Flag

Nice area not far to shops and eating establishments, staff very friendly , grounds neat and tidy.

Review No: 21 by Mrs Beattie who stayed here on 18/01/2020 Language Flag

No heat in bathroom freezing cold when taking a shower - will not be going to this location again. We left early because of this..

Review No: 22 by Mrs McCallum who stayed here on 30/12/2019 Language Flag

It was good to be allocated a 2 bedroomed lodge this year instead of the usual 1 bedroom apartment. The extra space felt very luxurious! Whilst the "village" has limited facilities. It is well located right in Aviemore which means the car can be parked and forgotten about. The bedding and heating meant we were always "toasty" at night so much so that, no matter how we tried to reduce the temperature upstairs, it always came back up to 18/20 overnight!! The automatic setting could possibly be adjusted for those who do not like too much heat. All in all a good week

Review No: 23 by Mr Colman who stayed here on 02/11/2019 Language Flag

A very enjoyable holiday in a wonderful environment. Although the weather was 'challenging' at times, and daylight limited,it was possible to work around it. At this time of year unfortunately many of the attractions were closed and I would love to return in spring or early autumn. Fabulous forest and loch side walks. The Scandinavian Village was very well maintained and attractive, with easy access to shops, and the unit was comfortable, quiet and private.

Review No: 24 by Mr & Mrs Hudson-Peacock who stayed here on 26/10/2019 Language Flag

The Scandinavian village apartment is fairly basic and although comfortable it is not particularly inviting. Although pets are welcomed the upper floor of apartments is not really conducive to taking your pet. The heating is set at ten degrees so on arrival the guest then sets the temperature to the required heat for themselves. Whilst this is practical, in October it took 24 hours to reach a comfortable temperature in which to sit , and required the purchase of hot water bottles to keep warm for the first evening!!! The area is stunning and everyone is friendly but for the less active this is possibly not the best choice of resort.

Review No: 25 by Mr Harrison who stayed here on 19/10/2019 Language Flag

First trip made!! It was a long journey from Nottingham - but the welcome we received and ease of booking in, made it worthwhile. Situated in the heart of Aviemore, away from the main road but very close to all the town's shops and amenities. It is easy to feel relaxed. Used the apartment as our base, as we were out most of the day - either walking around the forestry and Lochs nearby, or travelling to Culloden, Loch Ness, and even as far as Applecross and Eilean Donan Castle - well worth the visit. Staff at the resort made you at ease and were more than happy to help with any 'tourist' travel queries. Bedroom had two single beds and a set of bunk beds in it. Would have preferred a double, as there was only two of us, but beds were comfortable, if not creaky (wooden framed and maybe need upgrading) You pay at the end for any electricity used, but we found that reasonable - and were only charged £16. Maybe if you were a larger family, more cooking/dishwasher use could impact on that. We had a ground floor apartment, which had patio doors opening out onto a patio, with wooden table/bench to sit out (weather permitting) and the communal garden area. One issue we had, being the ground floor. It is a wooden frame building and as such the floor noises/ and opening the patio door from the flat above can be quite loud - not the end of the world, but it can become invasive.

Review No: 26 by Mrs Laing who stayed here on 21/09/2019 Language Flag

The Scandanavian Village is a small resort but very nice resort. It is within walking distance of all the amenities in the village of Aviemore and I would recommend it if you want a nice, peaceful break.

Review No: 27 by Mrs Dick who stayed here on 31/08/2019 Language Flag

The accommodation was 'bijou'. The one bedroom had twin beds and bunk beds so only suitable for a couple or young family. Because the room was so full of furniture the door didn't open fully. The shower didn't run hot, only tepid. The kitchenette was part of an open plan living area and had adequate appliances. Seating was limited to a two seater sofa (no easy chairs) and four hard dining chairs, so not more than two people could sit in comfort. The resort was within easy walking distance of the town.

Review No: 28 by Mrs Michie who stayed here on 31/08/2019 Language Flag

This was our second visit to the resort. We stayed in an upstairs apartment (no. 60) which had one bedroom with 2 single beds and a bunk bed. Unfortunately none of these were particularly comfortable. There was also a very uncomfortable bed settee in the living room. For one night of the seven we were 4 adults and it was a bit of a squeeze. Otherwise the apartment provided all that we needed, including WiFi. Patio doors opened on to a balcony overlooking the orbital walk. The location is perfect and is only a few minutes walk to the centre of Aviemore. We will visit again

Review No: 29 by Mr Burton who stayed here on 24/08/2019 Language Flag

This resort is convenient for Aviemore and its shops. It is only ten minutes walk to the railway station which was great for me as most days I took day trips to numerous destinations including Glasgow, Edinburgh, Kyle of Lochalsh and Newcastle upon Tyne. As mentioned in previous reviews the sleeping arrangements are rather unusual to say the least. The unit I am staying in has a balcony but has no chairs to sit on when the weather was warm and sunny as it was at the start of the week. I found the lack of chairs to be a rather unusual situation. The resort has a laundry room for guests to use free of charge including soap powder which I think is a nice touch and compares well with some resorts where it can cost several pounds to use the laundry facilities. I find the resort to be quiet and peaceful. I hope to be able to return next year on a further exchange through Dial an Exchange.

Review No: 30 by Mr White who stayed here on 24/08/2019 Language Flag

Well located for all local amenities. Excellent value. Would happily return.

Review No: 31 by Mr Bucknall who stayed here on 10/08/2019 Language Flag

We stayed a week in a first floor apartment and couldn't have wished for a better location. Since our last visit in 2008, Aviemore has improved with a new retail park offering a much wider range of shops than was previously available. All were within walking distance of the resort. The apartment was comfortable and warm (yes it was August!!) and well equipped to enable occupants to cook anything from a simple meal to a banquet. The TV had all the Freeview channels and a DVD player was also available with discs in reception for hire. The small balcony was useful because this enabled us to store non-perishable dry goods outside instead of using the small refrigerator. A dishwasher was also installed. There were plenty of towels provided and the on site laundry proved very useful being equipped with washers and dryers that were free to use for the apartment occupants. The reception staff were lovely and offered lots of advice if needed on local attractions and walks. There was plenty of parking space available. Other guests were seen relaxing in the immaculate gardens which were kept in pristine condition. Although in theory 6 persons could occupy the apartment, this would be a tight squeeze with 2 using the sofa bed in the lounge and the others sharing bunk beds and 2 singles in the bedroom. I think 2 people is a comfortable occupancy. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to return because this is an ideal base for exploring the Cairngorms and other parts of this beautiful region.

Review No: 32 by Dr Arrowsmith who stayed here on 27/07/2019 Language Flag

The village is in a delightful setting. It made a comfortable (though not luxury) base. Our apartment looked over well manicured lawns to a little gate leading to wooded area .....great for dogs and children. There are few site amenities but you have the whole of the Cairngorms at your disposal and plenty of outdoor adventure opportunities. We might have had a less wonderful week if it had rained all the time!

Review No: 33 by Mr & Mrs Blain who stayed here on 15/06/2019 Language Flag

Second time staying here. Great location within walking distance to main high Street with dog friendly bars/restaurants. This time had a One bedroom with a double and single beds and two wardrobes which made it cramped. Single bed mattress was very hard. Good views from the apartment although this time had the main road behind us but soon got used to the traffic. Again we asked to swap to a ground floor apartment due to our elderly dog and this was arranged. Free washing machines and driers with washing powder supplied which is excellent. Great swap. Thank you.

Review No: 34 by Mrs Davidson who stayed here on 08/06/2019 Language Flag

Usual excellent holiday in Scandinavian village marred only by poor weather conditions!holiday here 3 times a year and always happy with accommodation! Units well maintained and grounds too!

Review No: 35 by Mr Murray who stayed here on 08/06/2019 Language Flag

The Scandinavian Village is a great base if your in the Cairngorms area. Plenty to do locally and if your happy to explore its a great part of Scotland to see. Aviemore is a nice town with some good bars and shops to visit. Can recommend the Strathspey rail journey to Boat of Garten and Broomhill. Good fun being on a steam train. Some great walks in the Cairngorms area and if you want to try any water sports go to Loch Morlich. This time we tried paddle boarding which is really good fun.

Review No: 36 by Mr & Mrs Stewart who stayed here on 01/06/2019 Language Flag

We very much our week at the Scandinavian Village.This dog friendly resort is both within easy walking distance of the town centre and to a forest walk to the rear for exercising dogs.A well equipped property with a relaxing kitchen/ sitting area.If the weather had been kinder we would have made more use of the outside table and benches.In short we would be happy to return.

Review No: 37 by Mr Tickner who stayed here on 01/06/2019 Language Flag

We have just returned from a week at Scandinavian Village, our first trip to Aviemore which was excellent. The lodge we had, number 5 had two bedrooms, the master had a double bed and a single bed and the other bedroom had two sets of bunks. The bathroom was spacious with bath and shower - only one bathroom unfortunately (as there was enough room to have made an en-suite for the main bedroom) but there was a downstairs toilet and a washing machine and tumble dryer in the hallway ( I don't think that all lodges have washing wash Ines so it's worth checking). The location of Scandinavian Village is very convenient for all the shops ( Aldi, Tesco, etc) and the railway station. It was quite a wet week so we were really pleased to be able to borrow dvd's ( free of charge) from reception. The staff were very helpful and there is also an excellent tourist information office in the town. We spent one of the dry days on a visit to Loch Morlich - amazing to see the sandy beach there and on another day we walked from the lodge to loch an Eileen which was approx 6/7 miles but nice and flat. The charge for electricity we felt was quite reasonable as we did a fair amount of cooking - 20p per unit which was under £20 for the week. Luckily we didn't need much heating on so not sure what a winter stay would be like. Overall a great stay despite the weather!

Review No: 38 by Mrs Holmes who stayed here on 01/06/2019 Language Flag

Excellent week. Many Thanks

Review No: 39 by Mr Coleman who stayed here on 01/06/2019 Language Flag

Really enjoyed our stay, great location plenty to do in Aviemore and surrounding area. 1 bed Apartment was clean and comfortable for 2. Would be to cramped for 4 people. No shortage of utensils cooking equipment everything worked. Would go back again.

Review No: 40 by Mr & Mrs Cooper who stayed here on 01/06/2019 Language Flag

We arrived a little early but were greeted by the reception staff who were helpful and cheerful. They gave us a brief on what to do when we went into the apartment and within 10 minutes of us arriving we were in the apartment. Beautiful views of the mountains from the patio window. We couldn’t really fault this resort, it was very well maintained and the gardens were lovely. The apartment had a friendly feel about it and we thoroughly enjoyed our time in it. We felt that the bed in the master bedroom was a bit small as was the duvet on it. However we slept well as it was comfortable. It was a few minutes walk to Aviemore centre and all we needed was there. A long journey but well worth it. Don’t feed the cat!

Review No: 41 by Mr Denham who stayed here on 01/06/2019 Language Flag

Reception staff varied in levels of friendliness but we're efficient. Unit was not ready before advertised time of 5pm on arrival day. Our one-bedroom first floor apartment was a little crowded for 4 adults but was clean, comfortable and welcoming. Heating is provided from the ceiling and powered by electricity. Fortunately, it was fairly mild weather and our bill of £14 was acceptable at the end of our stay. Scandinavian Village s located in the centre of Aviemore, within walking distance of grocery stores, coffee shops, restaurants, buses and trains so is a really convenient location. There is no pool on site, but a very nearby leisure centre has one. We emailed our boarding passes for our flight home to reception the night before departure and they helpfully printed them off for us to collect at check out. All in all we would be very happy to return to this resort.

Review No: 42 by Mr Marsh who stayed here on 01/06/2019 Language Flag

We stayed in a one bedroom sleeps four apartment during the first week of June. As other guests have commented, this size of apartment is fine for two people but far too small for four. The bedroom is very small with twin beds and very limited storage space - suitcases had to be piled onto the unused bunk beds. The beds were comfy however. The shower in the bathroom was very powerful and we appreciated the heated towel rail. The living area is rather cramped with one settee barely large enough for two people. Kitchen appliances and utensils were of good quality. On arrival, the whole apartment smelt musty and damp, and this didn't lift at all during our stay. It improved when the window and door to the tiny balcony were opened but as the weather wasn't brilliant, we kept them closed most of the time. Comment has previously been made about the high charges for electricity so we kept an eye on our usage. The heating was used for the first night when it was rather chilly but not for the rest of the stay. As we only cooked a meal the first night, we didn't use the cooker much and the dishwasher not at all. Our bill for the week came to just over £11 so quite reasonable. We and others had problems in locking and unlocking the door to the apartment which was reported to reception. Apparently the doors were put in only two years ago and some locks have already been replaced. The location of the site is set back from the main street of Aviemore so it's fairly quiet but we did experience some road noise from the A9 at the back of the apartment. There are good shopping facilities in the village and some fairly decent places to eat. We enjoyed our stay - Aviemore is quite centrally placed for visits to attractions such as the Culloden Battlefield, Loch Ness, NTS castles etc and the RSPB Insh marshes and Osprey Centre.

Review No: 43 by Ms Liddell who stayed here on 25/05/2019 Language Flag

Microwave too small to take a serving dish, we could manage but not really acceptable had there been 6-8 persons. We found Reception quite unhelpful, first time anyone has ever refused, at a timeshare, to make a restaurant booking! The accommodation was quite acceptable, I wish anyone, at either Scandinavian Village or Dial-an-Exchange, had told me there were two bunk beds in the second bedroom!! When I explained about this on the phone before departure, although everyone knew that I was worried that an 85 year old would have to climb into a top bunk, no-one bothered to tell me that it would not be necessary as there were TWO bottom bunks! This would have saved a great deal of concern to us all beforehand and I do think Dial-anExchange should include this in their records.

Review No: 44 by Mrs Hargreaves who stayed here on 18/05/2019 Language Flag

This is the second time that we have stayed at this resort. The accommodation is getting a bit tired and dated and needs refurbishing. I believe this is in the pipeline. It is only a 4ft 6 inch double bed in a very cramped room and is an uncomfortable mattress. The other room has 2 bunk beds.

Review No: 45 by Mr Hood who stayed here on 18/05/2019 Language Flag

good location for town site tidy grounds also tidy units suitable for us as a base in area

Review No: 46 by Mrs Leigh who stayed here on 18/05/2019 Language Flag

A lovely place to stay and very close to local amenities. We would happily return.

Review No: 47 by Mr Wagstaff who stayed here on 11/05/2019 Language Flag

Well maintained and presented. Ideally situated with a well stocked Aldi across the road and within 10 min walk of the town centre. Highly recommend, but beware the one bed room has two single beds and a large set of bunks.

Review No: 48 by Revd Brown who stayed here on 04/05/2019 Language Flag

The are sadly few facilities at this Resort. But units okay with some really good quality kitchen equipment & general pleasant ambiance throughout. More than adequate heating for our decidedly chilly week at the beginning of May [ 2019 ] but the electricity bill surprisingly less than we were expecting; a nice surprise!! Biggest disappointment must be the BEDS. Perhaps bearable for a young family { There are 4 bunks in the smaller bedroom which four youngsters might well enjoy } - but the double in main bedroom plain awful/thoroughly uncomfortable for a couple of OAPs now in their mid-70s.

Review No: 49 by Mrs Hibbert who stayed here on 27/04/2019 Language Flag

We enjoyed our stay at the Scandinavian village. The accommodation was spacious and well located in Aviemore. There are lots of excellent walks (long and short) within easy reach of the village. Would return

Review No: 50 by Mr Parsons who stayed here on 27/04/2019 Language Flag

The units only have single beds which we found very comfortable. The towels in the bathroom were quite small. When we checked out the staff didn’t even ask if everything had been alright.

Review No: 51 by Mr & Mrs Cameron who stayed here on 20/04/2019 Language Flag

Unit was high quality in an excellent central location.

Review No: 52 by Mr Ramsay who stayed here on 06/04/2019 Language Flag

Location to local services excellent,within easy walking distance. Area well served with venues for eating out, recommend booking . Plenty of attractions to occupy all age groups. A great place for a family holiday.

Review No: 53 by Mr & Mrs Scott who stayed here on 09/02/2019 Language Flag

The apartment we had was excellent, it had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. One downside was the high charge for electricity (£38) for 6 days, bearing in mind we were out all day and did not use the dishwasher. Heating was switched off in the bedroom and only on in the living room when we got in each evening. We also did no washing or drying as we did not have these machines.

Review No: 54 by Mr Somerville who stayed here on 02/02/2019 Language Flag

The villas at the Scandinavian Village are really nice, spacious and very clean. I have noted everything above as excellent. However, there is one drawback. The electricity charges are horrendous. We paid £76.96 for one week. We pay less for one month at home in a property that is more than double the size of this villa. The bulk of this charge is likely to arise from our first and second days at the property when we felt as though we were defrosting the unit. When we arrived the temperature in the house was 12c. Outside it was -2c and it took us over a day to bring the temperature up to exceed 20c. The staff at reception advised us that the housekeepers are instructed to turn the heating down to 12c at the end of every stay. This clearly needs reviewed. Our 4 year old twins were not comfortable during this period. We complained to the staff at reception but got the impression that they were just following the rules. The unit price for the electricity recently increased from 16p to 20p, which is 25% and I hadn't realised that electricity costs had increased so substantially in recent months! They obviously haven't increased by this much and therefore this is profiteering by the owners of these properties. Unless the charges are reduced substantially I would not recommend staying here, which is a shame as it is a lovely resort.

Review No: 55 by Mrs Hogg who stayed here on 02/02/2019 Language Flag

The resort is suitable for people wishing to ski or walk in the area but there are no facilities offered apart from being able to borrow DVDs and books. The welcome meeting was cancelled so there was no information given about the area. Fortunately I had been at another resort in the area so had some information previously. I felt the least they could do is put up some bird feeders as there are many birds in the area who were suffering in the snow and they are lovely to watch. We put out some bird food for them when we were there. The second bedroom had four bunk beds so very good for a young family but for my age group not great. The electric panels in the ceiling were effective but left the floor level a bit cold and warm slippers and socks necessary to be comfortable. I think this place would suit a young active family but not so good for women of a certain age! Despite it being a winter resort many guided walks etc were not available and the little steam train does not start til later in the month as does live music at the nearby Bridge Inn so just be prepared to make your own entertainment.

Review No: 56 by Mr Bremner who stayed here on 12/01/2019 Language Flag

The resort is within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Accommodation and appliances are good,had one problem that was dealt with immediately.

Review No: 57 by Mrs Forbes who stayed here on 05/01/2019 Language Flag

Our villa was well equipped clean and comfortable with adequate space for the six adults in our party. Unfortunately we had been expecting to have the use of the facilities at a neighbouring hotel as had been told this was the case when booking. On arrival we were informed the hotel in question had stopped this. Disappointed as we had all expected to swim daily. The alternative offered was 3mls away and would cost us £10 per day each. We did enjoy our stay and would book again as we liked the central position of Scandinavian Village.

Review No: 58 by Mrs McCallum who stayed here on 30/12/2018 Language Flag

this is a fairly basic site for exchange purposes -- but it does the job

Review No: 59 by Mrs Rennie who stayed here on 03/11/2018 Language Flag

Excellent place for a stay in Aviemore. Convenient for shops, pubs.restaurants etc. Lots of things to do & see, though some attractions are closed end of October as the season for them had finished. However did not stop an enjoyable holiday.

Review No: 60 by Mr & Mrs Nicoll who stayed here on 03/11/2018 Language Flag

The unit was well located in the village and had everything you need the only fault l had was the duvet was too small for the bed and there should be a double bed fitted in the second bedroom in case you invited guests to join you regards Mr A Nicoll

Review No: 61 by Mr Tidy who stayed here on 13/10/2018 Language Flag

Not what we thought we were signed for Only stayed 1 night out of 7 Cost us a lot of incremental money to stay elsewhere Our first DAE holiday very disappointing

Review No: 62 by Mrs Moore who stayed here on 08/09/2018 Language Flag

Spent a week here with our two dogs. Really enjoyed the holiday and our well equipped unit. Very well placed to shops and walking trails. Will return again

Review No: 63 by Mr Simms who stayed here on 08/09/2018 Language Flag

Excellent place to stay with lovely views of the Cairngorms and a short walk to Aviemore shops. Beds were a little firm for us but the facilities were all good. Very Scandinavian feel to the furnishings but very comfortable and plenty of good quality kitchen equipment. We would stay here again.

Review No: 64 by Mr McHattie who stayed here on 08/09/2018 Language Flag

I stayed here with my toddler grandchild and elderly mother. The unit was perfect for us. A stair gate was provided which is a necessity as the stairs would be lethal for anyone unsteady of their feet. Accommodation was good. There is a play park close to the chalets. The chalets themselves are a short drive into the centre of Aviemore. You can walk it unless you have a toddler who won’t go into a buggy and an elderly person in your party! 😂 We went on the steam train for afternoon tea. We all loved it. We also went to the Highland Wildlife Park. It’s smaller than I expected but you can drive round as often as you want. There are plenty shops around to pick up food and drink. Support the local economy and shop there instead of taking it with you. All in all a very enjoyable week, despite some changeable weather.

Review No: 65 by Mr Beresford who stayed here on 01/09/2018 Language Flag

In the centre of Aviemore, the heart of the Highlands, this is an excellent resort in Summer or Winter. Nicely furnished apartments and locally so much to see and do, beautiful walks, dog friendly, this is our fifth visit and won't be our last! Excellent!

Review No: 66 by Mr & Mrs Gillanders who stayed here on 01/09/2018 Language Flag

Most enjoyable week here. Plenty to see and do in the area. Apartment 60 small but well appointed. Our one suggestion would be to remove the plastic mattress protectors which would give a cooler night’s sleep in the rather hard single beds.

Review No: 67 by Mr Burton who stayed here on 01/09/2018 Language Flag

The unit and resort is one of the better places that I have stayed at in over thirty eight years of timeshare ownership. The resort is just five minutes walk from the local shops and ten minutes walk to Aviemore railway station. Aviemore has a direct rail service to Inverness, Edinburgh and Glasgow. I was able to visit Glasgow for a day trip for just eleven pounds with advance tickets and using my senior rail card. There is also a steam train that runs from Aviemore on most days of the week. I am looking forward to returning next year on exchanges booked through Dial an Exchange.

Review No: 68 by Mr & Mrs Donnelly who stayed here on 01/09/2018 Language Flag

Great location for touring around the Scottish Highland area. The apartments are just a short walk from shops, restaurants and bars with an area of open ground just behind, ideal for those taking dogs. The apartment itself was very clean and modern with lovely comfy beds. The only surprise was 4 single beds in the bedroom instead of a double bed, with a sofa bed in the lounge, although we understand some units are like that. As there were only 2 of us, it wasn’t a problem. We would have no hesitation in revisiting this property nor in recommending it to others.

Review No: 69 by Mrs Grimes who stayed here on 01/09/2018 Language Flag

Very close to all amenities in Aviemore. As you would expect, all furnishings, etc. are very Scandinavian, and charming. The sleeping accommodation for four people is two single beds and a bunk bed in one room. It has a with small wardrobe and large drawers under each bed and a bedside table between the two beds. The bathroom, with shower, is adequate. The main "living" area has a very well equipped kitchen, dining table and chairs, sofa and TV. Outside on the patio is a picnic table, with bench seats. There are no restaurant facilities. We certainly enjoyed our week there.

Review No: 70 by Mr Brooks who stayed here on 25/08/2018 Language Flag

This was our first exchange . We compared it with the resort we swapped and it was nowhere near the same quality . Consequently our week at this resort was not good value for money. One bedroom with four beds in the same room would have been unacceptable if we had decided to take any other adults . There was no washing machine or ironing board in the unit , we have in “ our “ resort , one two seater sofa in a unit for four is inadequate . The drawers for clothes were loose drawers placed under the beds , consequently we lived out of our suitcases for the whole week , not something we have ever done . The unit was clean and central for the local amenities but because of the difference in standards to what we are accustomed we were left with a feeling of having not had a good experience . We will be exchanging again , but we will be asking many more questions before accepting an offer . It should be noted that we had only just joined DAE , and this week became available within a week of signing up . As we were keen to experience the “exchange “ mindset , we may have agreed to this offer a little too readily . We were very satisfied with the way the exchange was arranged and the fee charged , but for us , this was an expensive week for the amenities available in this resort compared with “ our “ resort .

Review No: 71 by Sr & Sra Pintos who stayed here on 18/08/2018 Language Flag

Las habitaciones ridículas, el entorno bien. las camas inaguantables. El confort inexistente. De hecho al tercer día nos marchamos, era imposible dormir en ese lugar.

Review No: 72 by Mrs McCormick who stayed here on 18/08/2018 Language Flag

Had a lovely week at this complex Although it claims to accommodate six and there is six beds there is not living space or comfortable seating for this number My husband and I were comfortable though Well situated for Aviemore and beautiful walking in close proximity Dogs loved it

Review No: 73 by Mrs Hodgson who stayed here on 11/08/2018 Language Flag

A tiny apartment which was supposedly suitable for 4. I would not have liked to have had 4 people in here. Difficult for all to sit comfortably. 1 sofa and 1 small wooden chair. Bedroom 2 single beds and 2 bunks. Glad we didn't invite another couple! Fridge was exceptionally small. Tiny balcony suitable for 2 to sit on only. Balcony uneven with split and holy wood. When we arrived the upper outdoor corridors had ben left with piles of debris on them. The dishwasher had a fistful of pasta in it and the frying pan was dirty with food inside and out. There are limited facilities on site. No bar, games room, restaurant pool etc. Though there is a small play area for children. DVD's available are old. No games to borrow. We took our dog but exercising the dog on site is not allowed. Also you are not allowed to leave your dog in the units at all. What the guide forgets to tell you is that there is a nice woodland walk near a river very close by. A lovely local lady told me. The site is quiet which is a bonus. However we still had a nice holiday as there are some beautiful places to visit and the weather was kind to us.

Review No: 74 by Mr Pounder who stayed here on 11/08/2018 Language Flag

Great place to stay for a holiday and to get to most of the places in Scotland you would want to visit

Review No: 75 by Mr Lennon who stayed here on 04/08/2018 Language Flag

Proximity to Town Centre was a plus point. Sadly we found the seating to be very uncomfortable in the lounge area.

Review No: 76 by Mr & Mrs Blain who stayed here on 07/07/2018 Language Flag

We were taking a dog with us and had been allocated a one bedroom apartment on the first floor. I rand the Village prior to travelling and informed if there was space they would try to give us a ground floor apartment. They were able to transfer us and the ground floor was excellent. It had a door from the living area onto the small patio areas with a table and bench. We were lucky the weather was good to be able to sit outside and look at the views. Staff extremely helpful and polite. The accommodation is only suitable for two adults and two children as the one bedroom as two single beds and bunk beds. Only problem was the dining table which was OK for two but due to the table legs would have been uncomfortable to fit four around it. Would have no hesitation returning as the Village is within walking distance to the dog friendly bars and restaurants but in a quiet spot away from the high street.

Review No: 77 by Ms Liddell who stayed here on 30/06/2018 Language Flag

Certainly somewhere to which I would return. Good atmosphere, great to have timeshare where dogs are welcome although we did not have one with us - they presented no problem. Plenty to do in the area.

Review No: 78 by Mrs McCall who stayed here on 23/06/2018 Language Flag

Nice quiet location but close to village centre.

Review No: 79 by Mr Williamson who stayed here on 09/06/2018 Language Flag

Our 2nd stay - as before, we found the allocated apartment (17) very good with excellent equipment etc. The site is kept very tidy and looks great. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Downside: next door is the dormitory block for staff from the hotels - very noisy one night, screaming and shouting through to 4 am in the morning . . . . Plenty of shops locally and locals are friendly and helpful. Now even better with 'Aldi' - 'Home Bargains' (incl foodstuff) and 'Superdrug' right by the resort. The only downside is that there's a minimum £2 car parking charge at most local forest and loch-side car parks (except at the base of the Caingorm where it is voluntary). We had been 'up the mountain on previous occasions, so finding the funicular railway out of use for maintenance was no hardship - others were disappointed, so check their website if that is a main reason for your visit. This visit was the first time we found the Inverness Botanical Garden - quite small, but a good cafe ('Cobbs' - a cafe group found elsewhere as well) The Gardens are free to visit but you can donate if you wish and also buy various plants. Our usual visit to Berghead - harbour and headland, - was concluded with a late lunch at 'The Bothy' - slightly above our usual price range but lovely mixed seafood (crab, crayfish tails, herring, smoked salmon) salad and a bowl of chips for two = £34 Scenery here is 2nd to none, and there's a nature reserve across the A9 - actually you walk under the A9 via a tunnel. Some great birds, butterflies and dragonflies here for the birdwatchers etc. We will return as soon as possible

Review No: 80 by Mr Barrass who stayed here on 26/05/2018 Language Flag

Scandinavian Village is a very good place to use as a base for the Aviemore area.There are plenty of places to visit and we had great weather all week,

Review No: 81 by Miss Williamson who stayed here on 19/05/2018 Language Flag

Has a fabulous stay. While the apartment was quite compact in terms of floor plan, the furniture and appliances were if excellent quality and substantial. There was a dishwasher, cooker with double oven and fridge with a sizeable freezer box. Thus is an excellent opportunity to use as a base to explore the sort valley and only a 10 minute walk from the main Street with its selection of shops, bars and cafes. The apartments also set adjacent to the Aviemore Orbital which takes you on a lovely walk that skirts the village and down by the river. There was parking outside the apartments and an overflow car park nextdoor. As we were a ground floor apartment you could hear people moving around the apartment upstairs but this did not detract from our enjoyment as we were out enjoying the scenery and fabulous weather mostly.

Review No: 82 by Mr & Mrs Hirst who stayed here on 19/05/2018 Language Flag

Very good resort close to the town centre and shops

Review No: 83 by Mrs Powell who stayed here on 12/05/2018 Language Flag

Had a great week. All the people in neighbouring villas were very friendly and helpful with suggestion of places to visit.

Review No: 84 by Mr Silverthorne who stayed here on 12/05/2018 Language Flag

A lovely unit on a very nice resort, well equipped and clean except for the carpets which were stained and needed replacing. The upstairs floor boards creaked it was impossible not to disturb people who were sleeping.

Review No: 85 by Mr Poole who stayed here on 28/04/2018 Language Flag

The resort was well located to the centre of Aviemore, all facilities needed were nearby. I was in apartment No29 which was a two story building, the footsteps from the apartment above were most annoying constantly walking around thier apartment always seemed to be in when I was, otherwise everything else was ok

Review No: 86 by Ms Pooley-Smith who stayed here on 28/04/2018 Language Flag

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Scandinavian Village and will definitely be returning!

Review No: 87 by Mr Morrison who stayed here on 14/04/2018 Language Flag

A beautiful lodge with all the comforts of home. We were in a villa but saw an apartment which was every bit as comfortable. Stunning views and beautiful gardens.Very convenient for town and grocery shopping. Will defiantly recommend and will book again.

Review No: 88 by Mrs Weaver who stayed here on 14/04/2018 Language Flag

This was our second visit to Scandinavian Village. Clean and tidy. Well positioned in Aviemore in close proximity to restaurants, bars etc. Enjoyable time spent in lovely area.

Review No: 89 by Mr Thompson who stayed here on 14/04/2018 Language Flag

As always an excellent exchange to Scandinavian Village. Well equipped units and any problems dealt with promptly. Our waste pipe under the sink had a leak, this was sorted immediately while we went to the pub! As we prefer to eat in , the huge range of pots and utensils makes this easy. The grounds are beautifully tended and pleasing to the eye. All local shops are very well stocked and a good few pubs make our dog welcome, in particular McDuies near the station.

Review No: 90 by Mrs Coyne who stayed here on 07/04/2018 Language Flag

The resort is small and quiet but close enough to the village for shops and restaurants. So much to do in the general area, and a good central location for travel to other highland destinations. The appartment was small and dated but adequate for our needs and was spotlessly clean. Heating and water a bit of a faff, but efficient once understood!! Would probably go back.

Review No: 91 by Mr Mair who stayed here on 31/03/2018 Language Flag

Really enjoyed our break, nice area and close to centre,would have preferred a double bed but singles were comfortable. Reception staff were friendly and very helpful, thankyou everyone

Review No: 92 by Mr Somerville who stayed here on 24/03/2018 Language Flag

Lovely small site - very friendly and helpful staff and ideally situated for walks (including walking the short distance into the main part of town).

Review No: 93 by Mrs McNab who stayed here on 17/03/2018 Language Flag

Comfortable, cosy and warm villa. Everything you need including a dishwasher. Lovely well kept grounds. Close to shops, pubs and restaurants, all within 10 minutes walk. Easy drive to areas of natural beauty. Free WiFi. We really enjoyed our week there.

Review No: 94 by Mrs Smith who stayed here on 24/02/2018 Language Flag

Lovely traditionally decorated apartment. Well equipped and comfortable. The only criticism we have is the bathroom was a bit chilly. We would like to go back again.

Review No: 95 by Mrs Barbour who stayed here on 17/02/2018 Language Flag

Aviemore has so many diverse attractions that a week in The Scandinavian Village just flies by. It's position in the centre of the village means that public transport, both bus and train, are readily available and sufficiently frequent, to transport you to the many attractions within 20/30/40 miles of the village itself. The Scandinavian Village is kept smart and inviting with walks, play areas, plentiful eating places and shopping on its doorstep.

Review No: 96 by Mr Wilkinson who stayed here on 17/02/2018 Language Flag

These units, although in a very nice location with lovely beach, were very poor. Furnishings were basic, there was no kettle, microwave, toaster, iron or ironing board. No basic cleaning products were provided, no toilet rolls, washing up scrubber or tea towels. Bedding and towels were provided at a charge of E18 per bed. The unit was advertised as a sleeps six, but there was 1 double bed and two bunk beds, the third bed consisted of a tiny pull out sofa that was situated across the main entrance to the unit.. so there was no access in or out when the bed was in use. The 'living' area was very poorly designed and mostly taken up by a large table and bench unit which was never used. Although a sleeps 6, the only chair was the pull out sofa which could seat 2 people. There was a small TV was placed on top of the fridge freezer that could only be seen from the sofa (i.e. by 2 people at a time), it could not be seen if sat around the table. The patio furniture provided was adequate with a table and 6 chairs but no loungers.

Review No: 97 by Mr Pickering who stayed here on 03/02/2018 Language Flag

It should be noted that the second bedroom was a room with 4 bunk beds and you could only reach a light from one of them. Very little space to store luggage or clothing. The crockery was very good and the frying pan was the best I have ever found in any timeshare property.

Review No: 98 by Mr Whapplington who stayed here on 03/02/2018 Language Flag

A very pleasant resort. Staff very helpful. We arrived early but given accommodation, and noted that others whose accommodation wasn’t ready, had their telephone numbers taken to allow notification as soon as accommodation became available. Accommodation modern, bright and clean. The heating was very efficient. We enjoyed the many and varied walks around Aviemore, and only used the car once to visit friends some distance away. A very relaxing break.

Review No: 99 by Mr & Mrs Tindal who stayed here on 03/02/2018 Language Flag

We were in no 9 lovely spacious apartment, but furniture and decor quite tired

Review No: 100 by Mrs Holton who stayed here on 20/01/2018 Language Flag

We stayed in Apt 62 upstairs which offers one bedroom and an open plan lounge/kitchen with a balcony. Lovely and cosy for 2 adults and possibly one small child. Certainly wouldn't consider it suitable for 4 adults all sharing 1 bedroom with twin beds and bunk beds - very cosy! Also, only drawe space for clothes were loose drawers under the twin and bottom bunk. Fine for 2 people, but ........ Lovely base for Aviemore and all its stunning surrounds. In summer with open windows etc you might hear the A9mwhich is quite close to the apartments! All in all an enjoyable week in a cosy apartment.

Review No: 101 by Mr & Mrs Richardson who stayed here on 20/01/2018 Language Flag

Excellent resort right in the centre of Aviemore. Despite heavy snow the apartment was very warm and comfortable. Excellent Freesat system on TV and Wifi speeds up in double figures. A super dog friendly resort with walks on the doorstep. Area will be greatly enhanced with the new retail park opening nearby in February. Will be returning here again.

Review No: 102 by Mr Frank-Keyes who stayed here on 13/01/2018 Language Flag

It is a nice resort in a very good interesting area. Our stay was cut short however by dental emergency suffered by my wife. We arrived on Saturday, on Sunday she felt bad, spoke by phone to emergency dentist, went to see him in Inverness on Monday, little benefit, so we came home on Wednesday through ice and snow on M74.

Review No: 103 by Mr Waterman who stayed here on 06/01/2018 Language Flag

Well located, for town centre and close to spectacular Cairngorm area. Quiet and above average accommodation. Very cosy in chilly winter weather.

Review No: 104 by Mr Devlin who stayed here on 04/11/2017 Language Flag

On arrival, the bedroom wastebin had not been emptied from previous occupants and it was pretty full of used tissues, cotton buds etc. Later while pulling out the sofa bed. I found a cleaning glove plus an old pair of socks underneath.

Review No: 105 by Mr & Mrs Lawson who stayed here on 04/11/2017 Language Flag

My only comment is that units should have twin beds (such as zip and link) which can be pushed together and used as a double or split apart and used as two single beds. Although the second bedroom had four bunk beds they are not suitable for everyone which means the only other option is to pull out the sofa bed in the living room every night and use that as the second bed.

Review No: 106 by Mr & Mrs Nicoll who stayed here on 04/11/2017 Language Flag

Overall a well organised site with the reception and maintenance staff very helpfull

Review No: 107 by Mr Andrews who stayed here on 28/10/2017 Language Flag

We where very impressed and would go there again

Review No: 108 by Mrs Darby who stayed here on 28/10/2017 Language Flag

The resort is very well situated, with good access to many of the attractions of the Highlands. Access to the resort by car, however, is bizarre, involving a long detour round a one-way system, which, considering the light load of traffic, seems quite unnecessary. Our stay was in an Apartment, rather than one of the larger Villas. It had all the facilities we wanted, put together in a quirky, cramped fashion. It was essentially an encouragement to get out and about for most of the day. The Wi-Fi service is good for everyday functions. The room heating, using ceiling panels, kept us nice and snug without costing a fortune. On arrival early our unit was not ready for us to go in. Several other couples came after us and went into their units straight away. The Reception staff were cool and unhelpful, pointing out the 5.00pm entry time for all occupants, but we all know that many good resorts do their best to let people in as early as they can. All of this said, we had an enjoyable week overall.
Please Wait
Please Wait