Customer reviews for "Mullacott Park"

There are 39 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr Westwood who stayed here on 08/08/2020 Language Flag

Good base to visit north devon.

Review No: 2 by Ms Pettinger who stayed here on 25/07/2020 Language Flag

Had an excellent week at Mullacott Park. Only drawback was the coffee lounge and shop being closed, we just had to think ahead for shopping. Bus stop on the door step if required, but only a short drive into Ilfracombe and Woolacombe. Lodges are well presented and very comfortable. We would certainly like to return in the future.

Review No: 3 by Mrs Spencer who stayed here on 18/07/2020 Language Flag

We enjoyed our stay at Mullacott Park the unit was very modern and very clean but needs a bit of TLC the beds were comfortable with crisp white bedding but the WiFi wasn’t very good. The cafe and shop were not open due to COVID and the restaurant next door was open we only went once because they only had burgers,nachos ,pizzas and wings which was good but prefer a better menu.

Review No: 4 by Mr Forman who stayed here on 22/02/2020 Language Flag

Unit occupied Ocean Terrace 4 Very basic 2bed unit. Upholstery & beds soft & spongy, equipment minimal ie. 4cups, 4plates etc. no teapot or coffee maker. Rooms small but clean & warm. Unit needs updating and re-equipping to meet the usual DAE standards. Other units on site were much better. Site clean & tidy but units very close. Many had no views. Site café was good & serves food at realistic prices. Management & staff were efficient & friendly.

Review No: 5 by Mrs Neuff who stayed here on 15/02/2020 Language Flag

We had a very comfortable stay during storm Dennis and felt very warm and safe. This is a lovely site and well situated between Ilfracombe and Woolacombe resorts. We still found plenty to do despite the rain and recommend this as an excellent holiday destination.

Review No: 6 by Mr Smith who stayed here on 11/01/2020 Language Flag

Stayed here 2nd week in January. On arrival was informed that the pub next door, which is not part of the complex, was shut for the week. In fact it is shut for a few weeks. As Mullacott Park is in the middle of nowhere, this was disappointing as there was nowhere else to eat in the evening unless we drove or caught a bus into one of the towns. However the staff at Mullacott Park were not given any notice of the closure so cannot blame them. The cabin was of a good quality and was nice and warm despite the wet and windy weather we had all week. It was very clean when we arrived and smelled fresh. It was quite well appointed and certainly comfortable for two people to stay there for a week. There were two bedrooms so would suit a small family as well. 2 X bathroom. Good shower. Linen & towels were of good quality . Electric fan oven and a gas hob. Microwave and a small dishwasher, which we did not use, in the kitchen . Crockery, glassware and cutlery sufficient but all appeared to have had some replacements over time with other makes and shapes etc. This was not a problem but worth a mention. There is a cafe on site which we tried once. It was ok but we felt more inclined to go out or have meals in the cabin. There is a very good bus service, roughly every 30 minutes during the day or hour at night. There are bus stops within a few seconds walk of reception. The 21 or 21A run by Stagecoach goes to Ilfracombe, Westward Ho, Barnstaple and most places in between. If driving into Ilfracombe or Woolacombe (less than ten minutes drive) parking can be a problem this time of year because some of the car parks are shut. Both are hilly places as well. Parking in Barnstaple was not a problem. Great for a quiet winter holiday. We would go back to Mullacott Park but would not be our first choice of exchange. We prefer South Devon as it seems busier this time of year.

Review No: 7 by Ms Barbary who stayed here on 04/01/2020 Language Flag

Thoroughly enjoyed my week here. My companion was ill whilst staying and staff could not have been more helpful. It was the first week in January, so very drab weather, and out of season. My only developmental comment would be that the outside of the laundry area looks like it could do with some TLC . We walked the whole site and even in the rain it looks pleasant. Good view of the sea from our lodge. Lodge well equipped and nicely decorated. Really a good place to stay, I would go again, beautiful area.

Review No: 8 by Mrs Knapp who stayed here on 30/11/2019 Language Flag

Excellent venue only drawback you have to drive to the sea otherwise excellent.

Review No: 9 by Mr Hilditch who stayed here on 02/11/2019 Language Flag

Some of the lodges are a bit tired on the decking outside, but the inside of the lodges are excellent. The site did make a note on their web site that washing up liquid might not be there. There was none of that, plus there there no soap, shampoo, shower gel. Fortunately we took enough. There were towels provided - nice fluffy ones. The other thing I noticed was no hooks anywhere so nothing to hang things on. The lodge was very warm (we went in November). The wifi provided (for free) only allowed 2 devices - enough for 2 mobile phones, I guess. Not fast but good enough. The on-site cafe was excellent, and the cream teas were amazing.

Review No: 10 by Mrs Smith who stayed here on 05/10/2019 Language Flag

Mullacott Park was good on the whole. Not a particularly attractive site, with Units looking a bit like prefabs. But once inside our Unit was spacious in the living area, with good views across to the Bristol Channel (when it wasn't raining, which it did a lot!). The carpet was badly stained. The two double bedrooms were very small, making negotiating around the bed quite difficult. The shower room en suite was well equipped. The 'family bathroom' was well fitted and quite big. The twin bedroom was miniscule. with no storage space to speak of, and about one foot between the two beds.. The Unit was warm and comfortable. This is not a timeshare, and the Reception office could not supply a cafetiere or a rubber shower mat. The units are owned, and furnished and equipped according to the owners' taste. This resort does not come up to Gold standard in my opinion. We were in Meadow View 8.

Review No: 11 by Mr & Mrs Farrell who stayed here on 05/10/2019 Language Flag

Needs new furniture Ie settees and hooks for outdoor clothing and bath towels on doors in bathroom or shower otherwise very good .

Review No: 12 by Mr Olliffe who stayed here on 21/09/2019 Language Flag

Bearing in mind we visited at the very end of the season, with a week of rain and heavy winds (and a little sunshine inbetween) we enjoyed having a well appointed lodge in a good position in the section called Ocean View. The lodge was very comfortable apart from the mattress in bedroom one, and the central heating was excellent, which is not always the case with this type of holiday let. Although only the two of us, we were given a three bedroom lodge with bathroom and en-suite, so loads of space and plenty of storage for clothes etc, and parking just outside the front door. We appreciated the Cream Tea provided on our arrival and found all the staff to be very friendly and efficient. The small shop is very good for odds and ends, although for a main shop you do need to visit Tesco in Ilfracombe, which is only about two miles away. We did use the Coffee Lounge on a number of occasions and again were very pleased with the service and standard of the food. We did find it a little strange that the 'management' seemed to use a corner of the lounge as an office and thought there might be a better place to discuss their business, particularly when there are just a few people in the room - one couldn't help overhearing plans for future development of the site!! The pub "The Depot" next door is an excellent place to eat, a good menu choice and great service, one can imagine they will be packed out during the peak season. Very useful that the site is on the main bus route to Ilfracombe and Woolacombe, with what seemed a regular service and just outside the entrance to the Park. We don't think we would visit during the peak season, as we are sure it would be great for a family, but a little busy and 'not so quiet', for retired people like us.....but enjoyed our stay - Thank you

Review No: 13 by Mr Braley who stayed here on 14/09/2019 Language Flag

This will be a true reflection of the venue. Where to start, was allocated a three bedroom lodge for 6 people, but only five seats in the living area, the arms of the seats were broken, and between the cushions was enough crumbs and bits of crisps to feed your kids for a couple of days, we cleaned this ourselves. We reported the cooker hood didn't work and there were no markings on the oven so had to guess temp settings and oven and grill. The fridge door fixings were also broken so could not store bottles upright or butter eggs ect. Although these were reported nothing was done or any acknowledgment of the fact. I went to BxQ and fixed the hood and the fridge. Onto the mattresses i think they were the same one's used by Noah, in all three rooms they had the old metal springs trying to escape from said beds, very uncomfortable. Shower doors didn't close correctly so wet floors. To sum up we're not fussy people but the accommodation was poor. The area itself is lovely, but stay somewhere else. We won't be going there again.

Review No: 14 by Mrs Tostevin who stayed here on 14/09/2019 Language Flag

This site is excellent for sightseeing in North Devon. The bus stop is convenient should you want a day free from driving. The coffee shop on site offers a variety of goodies to eat in or take away. The pub also offers good food and a takeaway service. This resort has something for all ages.

Review No: 15 by Mr Berry who stayed here on 07/09/2019 Language Flag

The lodge was very comfortable and clean, some of the utensils could do with updating. The grounds were well kept, the coffee shop was good, the staff were friendly. The only complaint I have is that the space for parking the car was quite tight, as the roadway was a little narrow, other than that everything else was fine.

Review No: 16 by Mr Curran who stayed here on 06/10/2018 Language Flag

A very enjoyable week in Ocean Terrace 33. Good three bedroomed lodge with hot tub out on decking. Nicely furnished with two bathrooms. All equipment was supplied but only 6 items of each (cutlery and crockery) so washing up required between courses if you needed two knives or forks or two large plates or bowls for each person for the meal. Insulation was excellent so the heating was not on very often. Beware when using the showers as the controls are not thermostatically controlled and if anyone runs water in the kitchen or pulls the chain the temperature can go from normal to scalding hot or freezing cold. Hot tub was excellent when you got into it but removing and replacing the cover took at least two people. The condition of the cover was to say the least poor but we understand from the site that a new one is on order. Parking for two cars alongside the lodge but the drive to it was very narrow with numerous other lodge parking areas feeding onto it. No problem for us as there were not many other lodges in use but it will be very congested in the summer. Staff on site could not be more helpful and friendly and the coffee lounge is very pleasant - we had a great breakfast there before we left. Pub next door was large and served a good range of food at reasonable prices (carvery on Sunday good at £10.95 per head). Squires fish and chip shop at Braunton very good for take-away and their sister restaurant SQ (across the road) was excellent.

Review No: 17 by Mr & Mrs Rowe who stayed here on 01/09/2018 Language Flag

We had a very enjoyable stay very clean quiet site every thing you need for a laid back rest. Lodge was very comfortable and had every thing we needed.

Review No: 18 by Mr & Mrs Puttnam who stayed here on 25/08/2018 Language Flag

Great quite, residential resort going on site cafe lounge helpfull staff, Thanks DAE for this one.

Review No: 19 by Mrs Durant who stayed here on 11/08/2018 Language Flag

We stayed in no 6 at the back of the resort. The resort itself was basic and exactly what we expected. There was a pub next to the site (most things with chips, not a great deal of healthy options) with a small kids soft play area which was ideal for us. Location wise its great 15 mins from the beach and within 40 mins of most of the attractions we visited. The lodge itself was ok but, the beds need replacing they were back breaking and the leather was peeling off the sofas and dining chairs and left our kids covered in small black bits of leather which was not pleasant. My husband and i both trapped fingers in the fridge as the door is attached with a strip of plastic so be careful it was extremely painful!! We did report all of these things to the site office who said they will speak to the owners but its their decision whether to replace or not. We would go back again but would make sure we had a different lodge or that it had been updated.

Review No: 20 by Dr Singh who stayed here on 04/08/2018 Language Flag

We were originally booked into a standard lodge, however we paid extra to upgrade to a VIP luxury lodge which was superb and in our view worth the extra money. A beautifully maintained, well equipped lodge, comfortable, cosy and quite spacious. The only gripe is that the WiFi was not as consistent as we would have hoped. The staff on site are pleasant and helpful, there is a little coffee, sandwich bar on site which looked pleasant though we didn’t use, preferring to hunt outside for cream teas etc which were easy to find! There is also a family pub next door which provides a carvery every evening throughout the summer, we had a decent lunch there. The area near Morthoe is beautiful and there are many lovely coastal walks to be found around the pleasant little village.

Review No: 21 by Mr Huitson who stayed here on 21/07/2018 Language Flag

The site is well placed to visit Ilfracombe bus every 30min takes 20minutes saves looking for car park lots to do a very good restaurant in the harbour area I recommend The Smugglers very good value in every way. The restaurant on site Cook Island. the site café is also good value and convenient. Buses to Woolacombe bay every hour. I was well pleased with my choice staying there. Another venue is Watermouth Castle be prepared for lots of walking, again great value for all ages

Review No: 22 by Mr Rigg who stayed here on 07/07/2018 Language Flag

On arrival first impression outside wasn't very good . The decking area and fencing need attention badly. Once inside we were really pleased with everything. Only thing missing was a TV in the main bedroom.

Review No: 23 by Mr Nash who stayed here on 07/07/2018 Language Flag

Lovely location just outside Ilfracombe, a 15 minute bus ride from the camp entrance into Ilfracombe near the quayside £2.70 return and every half hour. Nice pub at the entrance to the park and food available in the pub and coffee bar onsite. Also a small shop. Situated within driving distance of the main sights in North Devon. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

Review No: 24 by Mrs Brown who stayed here on 30/06/2018 Language Flag

We've had a fabulous week here. The studio lodge far exceeded our expectations with two bedrooms, shower room and bathroom. The cutlery was minimal in that there was just enough for 4 people but having a dishwasher helped. Having the decking when reading a book in the sun was relaxing. Exceedingly quiet resort - lovely. Convenient bus stop outside. Look forward to a return visit.

Review No: 25 by Mr & Mrs Redvers-Tapp who stayed here on 23/06/2018 Language Flag

Lovely location for links to local areas,. Frequent bus service at entrance to lodges.

Review No: 26 by Mr Rayner who stayed here on 26/05/2018 Language Flag

We had a standard lodge for 2 adults and 2 children. It was better than we'd thought from the unit facilities section of the website. It had a full electric oven/grill and gas hob, plus toaster and kettle, when the description indicated it only had a microwave and fridge/freezer (both of which were excellent). It had a double bedroom with en suite shower room plus a twin bedroom with adjacent bathroom, plus a large lounge/kitchen/diner. However, the site is run more like a caravan site than a high quality resort of luxury lodges. The shop is very poorly stocked (and there is no nearby supermarket), the reception and shop are only open 9 am to 5 pm, and there are no recreational facilities unless you count one sloping patch of grass. Although the description says the lodges are fully equipped, they do not supply soap, washing up liquid, or tissues and only supply 2 toilet rolls for the week - when we asked for more we were told we had to buy them (however as I made a fuss the receptionist gave me two more). Also as we read in other reviews there's not enough cutlery, so we brought a second full set of our own. So the lesson is bring as much food and drink as you can, and bring cutlery, soap, washing up liquid, tissues and toilet rolls. Finally, the TV and DVD player were a challenge that we managed to overcome but there are no instructions and some people would be really baffled. To use the DVD player you must first plug in the SCART plug at the back but then you must remove the plug again if you want to be able to access more than one channel on the TV, but even then you sometimes need to flick through various settings before the TV starts working properly to access Freeview.

Review No: 27 by Mr Nock who stayed here on 26/05/2018 Language Flag

I have taken 12 weeks from DaE in the past 6 months and this complex is the only one to merit a positive comment. We stayed for 2 weeks and enjoyed North Devon. The complex itself offers a coffee bar and nothing else although there is an adjacent restaurant chain which provides meals all day. However I fail to understand how even this complex qualifies as timeshare - as it offers virtually no facilities and none for children. Surely a timeshare offers more than just cottages and chalets? Why have I put overall cleanliness as below AVERAGE? We paid for 2 weeks accommodation - the first week was fine s the unit was presumably cleaned and prepared. But for our 2nd week what cleaning did we receive - none! Why - we have paid for 2 weeks but only received 1 week's cleaning. Yes the linen was changed and the rubbish removed but not what I'd call a cleaning service. If the service is reduced for those of us who stay longer than a week then surely there ought to be discount for longer term stays. Would we go again - most definitely! I might even use DaE for this complex, despite my resentment at DaE claiming to promote quality holidays - my other 10 weeks were not remotely quality holidays. So well done Mullacott for passing muster.

Review No: 28 by Mr & Mrs Garner who stayed here on 21/04/2018 Language Flag

I would describe this accommodation as minimally adequate. The living room was adequately furnished but the TV puzzled us all and had no instructions. The dining area had four chairs but although visitors were allowed on the site there were no chairs for them. The same situation applied to the kitchen. There were 4 large plates 4 small plates, 4 sets on cutlery. This meant that if we used a fork for our main course we had to wash up before we could use them for dessert. There was no washing up liquid. The bathrooms similarly had no soap at all. One of the bathrooms had a shower over the bath. The bath taps were non functioning so we had showers in the bath. However there was no non slip mat there so an accident could easily have happened. The heating came on at about 4 in the morning and in the twin bedded room my bed was place lengthwise right beside the radiator with the result that every morning at about 4.30am I woke boiling hot. The shop on site had none of the essentials for those starting a self catering holiday eg bread, milk etc.

Review No: 29 by Mr Dayman who stayed here on 10/03/2018 Language Flag

We had a winter week, with poor weather. We upgraded to a VIP chalet which was possibly the best UK accommodation we have stayed in. The on-site pub was good with excellent drinks but food was rather basic. We did find some very good restaurants, all within a short drive. Altogether a very good winter holiday with lots of places to visit.

Review No: 30 by Mrs May who stayed here on 17/02/2018 Language Flag

We enjoyed our stay at this resort the Lodge was clean and warm which was very welcome as it was February.We was quite surprised that the basic items wasn't provided like washing up liquid ,kitchen roll, washing up sponge , extra toilet rolls,cups in the bathrooms for toothbrushes. It would also benefit if hooks was provided for on the back of bathroom doors etc .

Review No: 31 by Mrs Perry who stayed here on 03/02/2018 Language Flag

The cafe was shut throughout the week. No facilities in the shop The lodges are very close to each other, affording no privacy if sat outside or when inside with the windows and patio doors open It is a good location for seeing the N Devon coast

Review No: 32 by Mr Rowley who stayed here on 03/02/2018 Language Flag

Nice lodge, excellent condition, be a great place to stay in the summer, very cold with snow and rain while there but it did not detract from relaxing break, good pub and food next door also Weatherspoons that served good food

Review No: 33 by Mrs Smith who stayed here on 27/01/2018 Language Flag

Excellent bus service. Some wear on the covering of the dining chairs and a LOT OF WEAR on the seats of the 2 settees!! ALSO ABSENCE OF USABLE CUSHIONS!! Very quiet area as expected at this time of year. Only suitable for lovers of the great outdoors!! We did find the snowdrops at Weddon Cross after a very very muddy steep walk!! but the magic lift at Lynton was closed for maintenance.

Review No: 34 by Mr & Mrs Criddle who stayed here on 13/01/2018 Language Flag

Great week at Mullacott Park. First time in a lodge and it was really warm and cosy during what was probably the windiest week of the winter so far. Nice site and the staff were friendly and helpful. Only two miles from Ilfracombe which we enjoyed even in January. The Starters bar in the harbour area was open and did a fantastic roast Sunday lunch and we ate there three times. The pub next door was also a great plus and we ate their twice. Would definately want to visit Mullacott Park again.

Review No: 35 by Mr Gold who stayed here on 06/01/2018 Language Flag

Great quality accommodation in a great location to explore the wonderful area. So much to do and see, all within easy reach of Mullacott Park. Although lodge is a fabulous standard of accommodation, the level of fixtures and fittings in the kitchen is limited, although this would not stop us staying there again. It is easy to see why these weeks are not readily available and get booked up quickly. If you get the chance, stay at Mullacott.

Review No: 36 by Mr Greenacre who stayed here on 09/12/2017 Language Flag

Really enjoyed a winter break. Weather was kind. Site was well maintained and Lodge was very clean. Heating was very effective. Would certainly return.

Review No: 37 by Mr Nash who stayed here on 02/12/2017 Language Flag

Plot 51, Road noise from main road at night. Kitchen furnishings like plates, tea towel, baking tins very sparse. It ment plates had to be washed up during the meal for another course. Could do with kitchen rol l,toilet rolls and bin liners. Recycling bin only, one on site.

Review No: 38 by Mrs Riddell who stayed here on 02/12/2017 Language Flag

A nice relaxing pre Xmas break.

Review No: 39 by Mrs Dando who stayed here on 04/11/2017 Language Flag

Cosy and very comfortable lodge. Left the car parked all week as excellent bus service from entrance which we used every day to visit the area using our senior bus passes.
Please Wait
Please Wait