Customer reviews for "Regency Villas"

There are 40 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr Payne who stayed here on 29/12/2019 Language Flag

Sadly, this was not what we had anticipated and it was doomed from the start. We are owners at Hilton Craigendarroch and we banked a week where we could not attend (due to school holidays) with DAE. From the outset, we highlighted a few areas and times where and when we would like to be away to take advantage of our banked week and there was very little option other than to take this week. We decided that we had to (on a use it or lose it basis) and so we travelled to Kent. The mansion house itself is beautiful but we felt that they were not making the most of the wonderful building that they had at their disposal. The staff were ok but any sign of management was non existent. We overheard a barman talking to, what seemed like, a manager who was told that there was an entire file of complaints (ranging from waiting times for food to bad service) which had led to a raft of free drinks given out. The pool was ok - we were told to sign in each time we used the facilities so that we could get the code for the door (this was never changed for the duration of the week) The villa was warm and had parking. There was no wifi, it was dirty when we arrived (like it had been cleaned some weeks ago) and the heating stopped working half way through the stay (this was fixed almost immediately but we then had no temperature control and so it got extremely hot and I am certain that our electricity bill was more than it would have been due to this) The villa next to ours decided that it was a good idea to set off fireworks at the back of their villa at midnight on New Years Eve. This was around 5 yards from our villa, their villa and adjacent to some trees. Aside from this, we have 3 children under 8 who were all woken up because of the extremely loud banging. We are spolied with Craigendarroch but there is no way that our one platinum week there is worth a week at the Regency Villas. Sadly, we will not be returning nor will we be using DAE again for any future swaps.

Review No: 2 by Mrs Howshall who stayed here on 12/10/2019 Language Flag

These units are set within what was the walled garden of a manor house, now a hotel. they are extremely private and quiet. They would have been luxurious in 1960, but now although beautifully maintained are a little dated. The quantity and quality of crockery , glasses, cooking items is very good. The only negative we could find was lack of wifi in the unit and price charged for electricity. A leisure pass comes free with the unit. A good base for exploring Canterbury/Dover area.

Review No: 3 by Mr Scott who stayed here on 12/10/2019 Language Flag

beautiful spot,villas within a grassy area surrounding a pond and fountain. the Mansion House nearbye is well worth a visit with elaborate wooden carvings and beautiful surrounding gardens.Canterbury is only a 20min. bus ride away.

Review No: 4 by Mr & Mrs Steer who stayed here on 28/09/2019 Language Flag

We had a super week at Regency Villas in fact one of the best timeshare resorts we have been to in over 26 years.

Review No: 5 by Ms Walker-Reeves who stayed here on 03/08/2019 Language Flag

Regency Villas exceeded our expectations and we were happy staying there. In beautiful settings and the gardens are very well kept with many colourful flowers in bloom. A good location and we went to St Mary's Bay just past Dimchurch...excellent for the children and for making sand castles! Long stretch of sandy beach and car park runs alongside the beach. Perfect for our needs. Hotel has lovely grounds and an area outside to amuse the children ( table football, ping pong, garden chess, mini golf, croquet etc) . We would go again if it came up!

Review No: 6 by Mrs Campbell who stayed here on 13/07/2019 Language Flag

We had a fabulous week's stay at Regency Villa's which was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed, so peaceful and relaxing, we'd love to go back.

Review No: 7 by Mr & Mrs Williams who stayed here on 29/06/2019 Language Flag

A quiet, well-maintained resort. Our Villa was excellent and spacious. The Hotel gardens and golf course are well maintained, though our only criticism was the Hotel restaurant. This is quite expensive, and the food quality does not match the price. We booked for dinner on our first evening, and there was a disco in a separate room (This did not impose on us). However, after giving our order we waited 40 minutes before our waiter re-appeared and told us he had to do the bar at the disco as well. We ordered, waited another 20 minutes to be presented with a meal that did not resemble at all what it should have. We called back the waiter, not having touched the meal, and he agreed it was incorrect and poor value. By then we had been in the restaurant for well over an hour, so said that we were most unhappy, it was an incorrect meal, and was vastly overpriced. It was agreed that we should not pay! A car is necessary, especially to visit local pubs for meals - bearing in mind the previous comments. Our favourite was the Black Robin and Barham - only a few minutes drive away.

Review No: 8 by Mrs Jenkins who stayed here on 29/06/2019 Language Flag

Very clean but interesting to find a sock and pair of pants which had slipped behind a radiator so not sure how thoroughly it had actually been gone over. Electricity charge unit price pretty high. Also incredible that no WiFi in accommodation of this quality. Lovely grounds, squirrels and rabbits. Lovely mature trees.

Review No: 9 by Mr Cartwright who stayed here on 15/06/2019 Language Flag

We had the WOW factor as soon as we went into our Villa. Everyone was friendly and welcoming. Plenty of room to walk around the site and explore. The wild life of the area kept us interested too. There were lots of different places to visit nearby as well. We had a wonderful week.

Review No: 10 by Mr Kerr who stayed here on 08/06/2019 Language Flag

Accommodation a bit dated but clean and tidy. Great secure garden area for grandchildren to run free! Stunning Mansion house with bar, restaurant swimming pool and golf course and outdoor games area within the grounds. Also very good food at Jackdaw Inn in nearest village of Denton. Good location for exploring Kent attractions and coastline. We enjoyed trips to Canterbury, Folkestone, Margate, Sandwich (French market day), Deal and Hythe to Romney miniature railway all within easy reach. Further afield but good for full a day visit are Leeds Castle and Chatham Historic Dockyard.

Review No: 11 by Mr & Mrs Cranston who stayed here on 08/06/2019 Language Flag

We have just had a great holiday despite bad weather. Perfect location . Friendly helpful staff. The villas were homely . Very clean. The beds were comfortable. We used the bar and leisure area in the hotel which also had a restaurant. This was a beautiful building and well priced. The only downside was wifi could only be accessed in the hotel . Canterbury is easily accessed using the new Dover road park and ride about 15mins drive away. Even though we dony play golf it would have been free to residents at Regency villas.

Review No: 12 by Mr Jackson who stayed here on 01/06/2019 Language Flag

The lodges are nicely set in Broome Park and handy for lots of places. However, they could do with a tidy up and modernising. For example there is no dishwasher or wi-fi.T he lodge smelt musty (like a charity shop) all the time we were there. The patio furniture had bird muck on it and hadn't been seriously cleaned for a while. Not sure if this is a 4 star rating or 3+ holiday.

Review No: 13 by Mr. Vadher who stayed here on 11/05/2019 Language Flag

Regency Villa is a lovely quiet place to relax.This is my third visit and I find that it is about time the mattresses are replaced as the present ones are not comfortable. Secondly the shower head needs to be cleaned /replaced...Unfortunately there is no WiFi ..Overall a very satisfactory stay...A.Vadher

Review No: 14 by Mr Harding who stayed here on 27/04/2019 Language Flag

We had a wonderful stay at Regency Villas. The location, in a quiet walled garden, was perfect. The only sounds we heard were birds singing! The area is one of outstanding natural beauty and there are so many different things to do and places to go. We enjoyed a lovely four mile walk to Barham and back, with a pint in the Duke of Cumberland to refresh us. Canterbury is delightful, so full of history, and the Cathedral was awe inspiring. We had a superb pizza in Zizzi's ---- it's in a really old building with a sunlit garden behind. (01227 634012). Our bed in the unit was so comfortable and the sheets were spotlessly clean. We really couldn't fault it and would definitely recommend Regency Villas to anyone!

Review No: 15 by Mr Cripps who stayed here on 02/03/2019 Language Flag

Nice place to visit other places

Review No: 16 by Mr Chapman who stayed here on 02/03/2019 Language Flag

Great location Great holiday

Review No: 17 by Mr Ball who stayed here on 16/02/2019 Language Flag

We had a great time here, exploring the local area all around Kent on the buses. The weather was fantastic, which always helps.

Review No: 18 by Mrs Rainsbury who stayed here on 09/02/2019 Language Flag

Really lovely villas within a well kept garden . Ducks came for breakfast every morning, then returned to be fed as soon as we got back each day. We loved it and it’s very close to Canterbury, whitstable, Dover etc. Manor house was very elegant with huge log fires and spacious dining room, and surrounding woods and golf course added to this excellent timeshare.

Review No: 19 by Mr Nolland who stayed here on 17/11/2018 Language Flag

The units are of a good size and well laid out, with ensuites to each bedroom. Kitchen is rather tiny and not well supplied. Cleaning had not been properly checked. Check in had forgotten to give us what we needed to access leisure facilities. In the area there is much to see. Really enjoyed our week.

Review No: 20 by Mrs Jenkins who stayed here on 03/11/2018 Language Flag

A superb property in tranquil surroundings. Lovely country walks, great facilities and so much to do just a short drive away. A very relaxing stay.

Review No: 21 by Mrs Moore who stayed here on 11/08/2018 Language Flag

Pleasant unit with some quality features but far from five star. Things that it let it down for us were that there was only one bedside table in the bedroom with the double bed. No chests of drawers or dressing tables in either bedroom. Small kitchen area with limited worktops and only a small fridge with ice box - no freezer. Bathroom fittings were fairly basic but the shower was excellent.- hot and powerful - almost better than our power shower at home. Despite the criticisms we enjoyed our stay as Recency Villas provided an excellent base for visiting Canterbury and its wonderful Cathedral, Dover Caste, Leeds Castle, Chatham Historic Dockyards and the Kent Coast. We found that much to do in the area that we never used the on site facilities so cannot comment on them. We would definitely be happy to return despite the £10.70 charge for electricity.

Review No: 22 by Ms Hartopp who stayed here on 04/08/2018 Language Flag

Grounds at Broome Park are beautiful. Mansion house is very grand, food and drink are reasonably priced. Unfortunately the swimming pool was out of action while we were there so didn't get to go swimming. We did have a look at it though and it is small. We stayed at Villa 20, it was well equipped and clean but very dated, reminded me of the comedy Hi de Hi. Needs bringing up to date. That said, staff were polite and very friendly and it's a great base to explore Kent. Canterbury isnt far, neither is Herne Bay or Walmer Castle.

Review No: 23 by Mr & Mrs Lemmon who stayed here on 21/07/2018 Language Flag

Villa No 12 was not, in our opinion, located in a good position on the site and it sadly lacked sufficient means of ventilation and daylight which, during a period of extreme heat of 30 degrees plus, we found quite intolerable & depressing. We did try leaving the front door wide open to bring in some extra daylight & ventilation but this led to a lack of privacy as several other residents had to pass us by to access their villas. There was also no comfortable means of sitting outside the villa in the garden area as we were exposed to the full heat of the sun. As temperatures were set to rise even higher later that week, we made the right decision to rerurn home early on the Tuesday. We would not wish to revisit Villa 12 again.

Review No: 24 by Mr Edmund who stayed here on 23/06/2018 Language Flag

On request, in advance, a ramp to assist entry in a wheelchair had been installed before arrival.

Review No: 25 by Mr & Mrs Kirk who stayed here on 09/06/2018 Language Flag

Staff were lovely. Couldn't fault them. It would appear Regency Villas is not part of Broome Park Hotel and golf course any more. The occupants of the villas are still allowed to use the facilities at the hotel. We thought that the villas were on the point of needing refurbishment in the not too distant future. It is a shame; but this is really a nice spot and the villas are set in a spacious old walled garden. The areas at the back of the villas were not kept very well and did not receive as much attention. These parts were a bit untidy. Don't know what the future holds for the villas as matters seem to be on going with regards to the hotel and golf course being bought over separately. Not too sure if we would go back again. We don't want to give the villas any bad reviews as such; but there is room for improvement if the money were available. Thank you so much DAE Regards Dorothy Kirk.

Review No: 26 by Mr & Mrs Johnson who stayed here on 26/05/2018 Language Flag

These villas are set in beautiful well kept grounds in a very peaceful setting. Kitchen equipment was the only thing that lacked. It was a shame that towels were not changed mid week unless you paid extra. This did not spoil the holiday or the villa the later being of excellent standard. If you do not want children running around remember to book out school holidays. The staff were wonderful and having a trolley to take your luggage from the car park to your accommodation was an excellent idea. Will look to go back.

Review No: 27 by Mr & Mrs Hopper who stayed here on 12/05/2018 Language Flag

The Villas were built 1982/83 and although re-furbished are showing their age. Our's had one large lounge, 2 large bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms but only 3 radiators. Although the weather was not cold we found the heating inadequate. The kitchen area was very small, with a small fridge and oven. It was fine for us but too small for 6 guests. The dining chairs and table were old and rickety, and the beds were old and one of the single beds creaked making sleep difficult. Cars are not allowed into the area of the Villas although trolleys were available to take luggage from a car. However the car park for the Villas was also used by golfers despite notices to the contrary so it was full during the day. There are no disabled parking spaces, and as my wife has a Blue Badge we were advised to park in the nearby woods - meaning that the car had to be cleaned every day because of sticky residue from the trees, and bird deposits. There were 2 quite steep steps to our Villa which was not ideal for someone with walking difficulties. We ate in the hotel restaurant a couple of times and had good meals which were reasonably priced. The restaurant was full on our first night because of a Wedding Reception, and we were lucky to get a table at the Jackdaw pub in the next village - so book ahead or self-cater if you arrive on a Saturday. We are not golfers, but the course is excellent but busy for those who do play. However there is a dispute between the hotel and the Villa Owners which may impact use of the course, and is the subject of litigation. We were not impressed with this resort and will not be returning.

Review No: 28 by Mr & Mrs Black who stayed here on 05/05/2018 Language Flag

A very useful situation to see the county of Kent The apartment was very clean and had everything you would need for an enjoyable holiday especially if you play golf. There is a bus that you can catch just outside the resort which will take you into Canterbury . It runs every twenty minutes. Nearby but there are two pubs which serve a variety of good food.

Review No: 29 by Mr Price who stayed here on 21/04/2018 Language Flag

The kitchen area was very small - we didn't feel we could prepare a meal for 2 there because of the lack of preparation space. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was plenty of wardrobe space. We were very glad to have the carts provided to bring our luggage from the car park. Being short people, the chairs and sofa were on the large side, so not so comfortable.

Review No: 30 by Mr & Mrs Roche who stayed here on 24/03/2018 Language Flag

Our second visit to Regency Villas, villa 9 had a large double bedroom with ensuite, and a second family room with two single beds and a bunk bed, with ensuite. Plenty of space for the three of us! Large living space with small kitchen and dining area served us well. We used the small pool daily - at 1.1 m deep throughout entire length it was perfect for a seven year old to practise his swimming. Plenty to do in the area - Deal Castle and Walter Castle are worth a visit, we had a sandwich in Sandwich, did a two hour walking tour of Canterbury, and spent a day at the fabulous Dover Castle. Join English Heritage as all three castles are included! Ashford Retail park was a fall back on a rainy day too. Regency Villas provided a great base, furnishings were a little dated but all good quality. Helpful staff in reception too. Plenty of TV channels for the evening, a DVD player, and a good heating system which was easy to turn up or down (needed in the cold March weather). My only small complaint was the lack of recycling facilities - we took a large bag of recycling home!!

Review No: 31 by Mr Hart Venn who stayed here on 10/03/2018 Language Flag

The resort was very quiet and is very peaceful. Soft furnishings are good. The facilities at the main house are not so good if you are not a golfer . Tthere were no bar meals in the evening. Perhaps to be expected at this time of the year, Staff at the main house not so friendly as at the Regency villas. The bathrooms are showing their age but are clean. Plenty of interesting palces to visit, however the roads in the area are suffering from many potholes which, with the heavy lorries arriving at and leaving Dover port, probably contribute to a high number of accidents in the area.

Review No: 32 by Mr Rees who stayed here on 10/02/2018 Language Flag

Great location, close to Canterbury. Spacious accommodation in rural setting. Sporting activities include golf course; small gym; small swimming pool; pool table.

Review No: 33 by Mrs Ainsworth who stayed here on 14/10/2017 Language Flag

Regency Villas apartments are very comfortable and the 'resort' is attractive, quiet and well located for exploring this part of Kent. We have stayed here before and would do so again. Our only criticism is that there isn't wifi in the apartments and that you have to go to the main house to use it then either pay £6 for 24 hours or buy drinks or a meal to get internet access!

Review No: 34 by Mr & Mrs Morgan who stayed here on 14/10/2017 Language Flag

Regency Villas is an absolute gem. The villas are set in the old walled kitchen gardens of the original estate. The gardens are beautifully and simply arranged with a small circular water feature near one end, a water feature much enjoyed by the large duck family who regularly comb the lawns for tasty morsels. In the early mornings the ducks were usually joined by a cock pheasant strutting his stuff. We enjoyed 2 rounds of free golf on a well-maintained course, the first of which proved a bit too strenuous for our aging limbs so that a buggy was necessary the second time we played the course. Having bus passes proved to be a boon as the Canterbury to Folkestone bus runs past the entrance gate at 20 minute intervals throughout the day . Thus we were able to visit Folkestone, Dover and Whitstable as well as spending much time exploring Canterbury - I would thoroughly recommend the 11 o'clock meet guided tour. There is so much of Kent to enjoy that a week is no where near long enough - my bid for a week next year is already in. If only the M25 could have been avoided this would have been the perfect holiday.

Review No: 35 by Mr Hannaford who stayed here on 19/08/2017 Language Flag

Setting of the units is beautiful, in an old walled garden. Grounds and gardens immediately round the units are kept immaculate. On the whole the bungalows are quite spacious and comfortable, but some of the furniture is a bit tired and seating could do with re-covering (could I suggest another colour but cream next time!!!). Kitchen is a bit on the small side for two (no dishwasher in most units), you would have to eat out if you were at capacity with six adults, or spend all your holiday washing up. Having said all that, I'd happily book again, and looking forward to trying for Spring or Autumn next time!

Review No: 36 by Mr & Mrs Casson who stayed here on 05/08/2017 Language Flag

Another lovely stay at Regency Villas. Use of facilities at big house were great. Staff there were very pleasant. We were at the furthest end of the kitchen garden villas which had the sun most of the day. Only downside was even being that far away from the big house and marquee, we could still here the music from any weddings going on in the evening and night. The staff at the villas as usual could not have been more helpful, thanks Colette and Co.

Review No: 37 by Mr & Mrs Heider who stayed here on 15/07/2017 Language Flag

Regency Villas are in a lovely setting of lawn, some flowers and visiting ducks. Our villa was spacious, and tastefully and comfortably furnished, but fridge rather small for such a big apartment. The big house (where Lord Kitchener lived for a while) can be used for bar, restaurant and small swimming pool, also the golf course. There used to be a useful information meeting, but this is no longer offered. There are lots of interesting places in easy driving distance eg Sandwich ,Deal and Dover on the coast, Whitstable for its harbour and fish n chips, Broadstairs with its sandy beach and Charles Dickens connection, Goodenstone Park Gdns (Jane Austen connection), the pretty village of Chilham, Faversham with its shrine to St Jude.

Review No: 38 by Miss Hewerdine who stayed here on 01/07/2017 Language Flag

I was pleasantly surprised at the attractive architecture of the villas and the garden setting. The villa was comfortably furnished and had a door at the rear opening onto a lawn with table and chairs. We missed one or two items in the kitchen (tea-cosy for example) and also there was no dressing-table in the bedrooms. There was good wardrobe space, with mirror doors. The grounds are extensive and include a golf course and duck ponds, as well as a croquet lawn. As the weather was hot all week, we decided not to travel out of the estate on two days, but to take it easy enjoying the grounds. We had one evening meal in the restaurant in the manor house, which was very good.

Review No: 39 by Mrs Senior who stayed here on 10/06/2017 Language Flag

Ideal location for visiting East Kent and also if you want to do a day trip to France as within easy reach of the Channel Tunnel and Dover Ferry terminal.

Review No: 40 by Mr Gill who stayed here on 25/02/2017 Language Flag

Resort was quiet, as it was out of season. Situated in the grounds of a stately home, it met our requirements for a peaceful rest.
Please Wait
Please Wait